BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apache Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apache Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apache Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 15, 1997 Business started: 05/15/1996 Business started locally: 05/15/1996 Business incorporated: 10/19/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Terry Oliver, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Oliver, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Apache Moving & Storage LLC
Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 250 North Bagdad Rd

    Leander, TX 78641

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Apache Moving on August 10, 2013 during the move of household goods they lost a container which held a sawzall and some other tools and equipment. They also damaged a leather couch during the move. We notified the owner ***** ****** of the incident and he told us he would check his security tapes to see if the container was brought back into the yard after the move. On Aug 10 he called and verified that the container was in their possession because it showed in his security tapes. He said the vehicle it was it was on a move in Dallas and he would need a few days to try to locate the items to return them to us. We called after four days and left messages for him. We repeated phone calls on additional days until we had called five times to find out if our property would be returned. Finally on Aug 20 we called twice more and only got through to him after advising that if we did not hear from him we would use social media to contact him and other potential customers. We were originally told by the owner Mr. ****** that the tool would be replaced by him if it couldn't be located. We were now told that we had to file a he claim for the lost items and he had 90 days to respond. He now accused us of "adding on" to the list of lost items. I advised him that originally the movers had damaged our leather couch but because they said they would have to pay for it, we told them we would put the damaged side against the wall, and we would forget about the damage.since the owner was so rude in not answering phone calls and in the way he insinuated that we were fabricating a loss we told him via email that he could now also pay for the damage done to the couch. He called immediately after receiving the email and said that he was now ( going back on his word) and NOT replacing the lost items and that he would only do the minimum required by law which was to pay a loss fee of .60 per pound. He became more agitated and then told us he is going to just deny our claim. Please advise all potential customers of our very negative experience with this company.

Desired Settlement: I think the owner has a responsibility to return phone calls after he tells the customer to call him back regarding lost merchandise. I want the full value of my lost and damaged items to be paid or I want my original items returned.

Business Response: In responce to Mr.********* letter.Apache Moving went to the ********* residence and did a walkthrough with the *********.We had a nice walkthrough and everything went well and I explained that all boxes and containers need to be sealed.Their move went well. At the end of the move the ********* asked if we could take the one open container that contained the tools in question.The crew went ahead and moved it for them to be as helpful as possible.The container ended up being left on the truck by mistake.The ********* called and made us aware of the missing container and we said we would try and locate it.Upon realizing that the container had made it back to our yard but then was misplaced Apache told Mrs.******* by phone that we would replace the items.Mr ******* started calling the office over and over demanding attention to his claim immedietly without ever reading his contract and understanding the claims process.I tried to accomadate Mr.******* and told him it would help if we could have a model number and as much info on the missing saw as possible for replacement.Mr ******* then started telling me about what items were in the container and remembering items that he did not previously tell us about.I explained that we have to have a complete list and cannot add things on after the initial claim.Mr ******* took that as Apache accusing him of a false claim.Things went downhill from there with Mr ******* then bringing up a sofa damage not previously  mentioned either.Apache told Mr ******* that we would take care of the sofa as well.I asked Mr ******* several times if he had read his contract's claim process and he kept ignoring the question.Mr ******* then proceded to tell me how he would write bad reviews on Yelp and THE BBB as well as the MLS and local community's Bulletin board as well as disputing the credit card charge simply because he would not read his claims provision in his contract and make himself aware of the process.I feel that it is wrong for an individual to be able to slander a company simply beacuse that person is unwilling to give the company due process.Apache sent a settlement letter to the ********* to expidite the claims process however if the credit card charge is disputed Apache Moving will not pay or repair any items on the claim.I also want to address the disputed amount of $364.00 in this letter.I am not sure what Mr ******* is refering to because this is the first mention of a disputed amount as far as Apache knew there was no mention of any problems with the bill .

Thank you,
***** ******
Apache Moving

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  the information as provided by the business is not at all accurate. The company has never sent us any settlement letter. If they say they did then produce it. In fact the owner told me that he was going to NOT replace my items because I was a "bad customer" He said he was going to deny my claim because he didn't like dealing with a bad customer. That response was after he told me that he was going to settle at .60 per pound which as low as he could settle under law. Then he changed his mind and said he was just going to deny my claim. Regarding the disputed amount on the credit card the $364.00 is what the replacement cost of the lost or stolen items come to as per **** ***** website. That amount does not cover repairs to the leather couch which was damaged during the move, and which damage was acknowledged by the employees at the time the couch was moved. Where is there a duty on the customer to personally notify the company owner of damage done by the employee? The first time we were told to send a written list  including model numbers was after Mr. ****** told us he was not going to replace the lost tools. He had seen the tools on his security camera and had told us he was going to either locate the container of missing tools or replace them. He told us to wait "a few days" for him to locate the missing items. He never said anything at that time about resorting to claim forms or anything of the sort. When we had not heard from him after 10 days we wanted to know where we stood. He is right that we called his company five times before getting him to call us back. His answer for that is that he gets 200 calls a day and he can't return phone calls. Nobody else we spoke to in the office could help us so we asked for him to call us. The only way I could get any response from him was to advise his employee that if he didn't respond then I would know that he was not going to replace our items and I would make other consumers aware of his company practices by use of social media. Regarding the conversation where Mr. ****** says that we only told him one item at first and then "added items on" I completely dispute him. When we first spoke to him and told him about the missing container we told him what it contained AND we wrote down the items in our notes regarding the incident. The only additional item I realized was in the container that we had not told him about during the original conversation was a combination square with a replacement value of approximately $20.00 Regarding the damage to the couch, as I originally stated the three men moving the furniture had told us the damages would come out of their pockets and we told them we would forego getting them in trouble. My letter to Mr. ****** which he should send you, shows that I stated that since he has made this a completely adversarial action, then I want the couch repaired also. Please note that true indisputable facts of a customers experiences with a company are not slandering a business.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Concerning Mr.********* claim.We are a company that is governed by Texas Dept.of Motor Vehicles.All moving companies in the state of Texas have a claims process.This process is well defined in the contract that Mr.******* signed but refuses to read.We are required to respond to a customers written claim within 20 days of the initial claim with a letter letting the customer know that we recieved their claim.We then have 90 days to either settle ,repair or deny a claim.Mr.******* is creating all of this because he thinks that he is above everyone else and deserves special attention.We respond to all claims in a timely manner and settle most way before the 90 day time limit.Apache did send a settlement letter in response to Mr.********* written claim which was only recieved on  August 20th and on August 21st ( one day later ) Mr.******* has started making all this fuss.We were never given time to even begin the steps of resolving his claim.Mr.******* by his own admission was happy with his move and everything else comes down to Mr.******* not reading his claims provision and believing for some reason that we should treat him different than everyone else.

Thank you,
***** ******
Apache Moving

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,


---------- Forwarded message ----------From: **** ******* <******************>Date: Tue, Aug 20, 2013 at 1:06 PMSubject: Loss of propertyTo: "************************" <************************>Cc: "**********************" <**********************>, ***** ******* <******************>, ***** <**************************>

Regarding the numerous phone calls that we have made to you and which you have stopped returning:We contacted you after our move on August 05 with information regarding the items which were NOT delivered to our home during the move which we contracted with your company.After the first conversation you told us you would check the security tapes to look and see if the box of items was on the truck used for our move. You called back on Aug 10 and told us you saw the box of tools in your security tape and that you needed a few days to contact the employees on a different job, because they had the vehicle which had our property down in Dallas on a move.Since that phone call of Aug 10 we have called five times trying to reach you and to verify what actions you were taking to replace my lost tools. There has been no response until today when I called two MORE times and finally explained to the person on the phone that if you were not going to return my phone calls then I would write this off as typical and then utilize all the social media to fully explain to other potential customers in the Cedar Park and Leander area that they should completely avoid your company. There are two neighborhood web sites in addition to ******** and ******* which would be used to alert other customers.Another alternative is through the Texas government regulating agency for moving companies, the Federal agency that does likewise and the utilization of small claims court.As you can tell, I am very annoyed that you never returned our numerous phone calls and that now you indicate that we are "adding things on" to the items which your company failed to deliver.I am retired, have plenty of time on my hands and am more than willing to contact and utilize every option available to either regain my lost property or get satisfaction by making sure that I have gone as far as possible to get you to keep your word.In an aside, your employees damaged a leather couch when they moved it and after they told us they would have to pay for the damage out of their pockets, we told them that we would put that section of couch against a wall and not to worry about the damage. To now have you insinuate that we are adding on fictitious items to our loss is completely insulting.Regarding your complaint that I was chewing out your employee on the phone, I told him that if I did not hear from you I would use the social media to get to you......the same as I told you. He kept giving me a canned spiel about state regulations allowing 90 days to settle disputes. He repeated that spiel at least six times until I finally told him to listen to me because it was my turn to speak. Try teaching him some customer relations skills, because all I wanted him to do was give me a chance to speak.

Lost ************** sawsall model ****** (as per **** *****)Two trailer hitch ball mounts and two different size balls (model ******** for each hitch mount and 2 5/16 ball model ***** and ***** for the 2" ball as per **** *****)One black and decker wire model (old) 1/4" hand drillOne set of assorted drill bits model number ****** ****** as per **** *****One combination square model ***** metal combination square ************ **** *****
Since you are being so rude as to returning our phone calls and accusing us of fabricating items lost, you can also repair the damage to our leather couch which I described above. The damage is legitimate just as the loss of items and we had told the workers that we would eat the money loss for that, but since your attitude has changed to completely adversarial then please note that we also want compensation for that damage.******* *********** ****** *** ******** ***** *****     *** *** ***

The above letter was what I sent to the company and which they chose to twist around. They have now sent me a letter offering me a settlement of about $200 which they base in part on weight of a couch at 120 pounds. The bill of lading shows that the couch was a double recliner couch. Has anyone ever seen a three seat couch with two recliners that only weighed 120 pounds? If you read my original letter this whole problem started because they admitted they had my property in their possession and then would not return my phone calls to tell me when they would return it. This company tries to fall back on saying that the contract was not read but that was never the case. There was never a contract issue there was a CONTACT  issue because he was too arrogant to respond to my questions about when my property would be returned. Mr. ****** told me he has a multi-million dollar business and he can't be bothered to return phone calls. I think this attitude on his part is very important for other consumers to be aware of.  Regarding the disputed amount of money, I called my credit card company and explained what happened and they told me he has been paid in full but they would try to resolve the issue because of the problems I have encountered getting compliance with Mr.******. Regarding his statement that he is governed by the Texas DMV, I am aware of that and I filed a complaint with them as soon as he told me on the phone that he was going to outright deny my claim because I was a bad customer.
******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My appointment was at 4PM on 27th July 2013. They arrived at 10:30PM. Apparently the clients before us made them move more stuff than they had initially planned. They arrived at 10:30. As soon as they arrive they enter the time in their logs. We were discussing about the delay for 15 minutes and eventually started the moving at 10:45. We were told that even if we cross the minimum 2 hour mark at 12:30 AM by 1 min, we would be charged for an extra half an hour. Even though I said that we actually started moving at 10:45, the guy did not seem to understand it. 15 minutes of their time is apparently more valuable than 6.5 hours of mine. When it comes to the actual moving, they made it very clear that they would move only sealed boxes. If the boxes so much as have a small tear in the cardboard or if there's any box that had an open top, they would not move it. It's probably their rule and I don't blame the guys that showed up for it. But for some reason these things are not clearly mentioned on their websites. All in all, they have extremely poor time management, they do not enumerate their rules clearly and their policy of logging the start time should be fixed. And finally they did give me a 20% discount for the 6.5hours delay which was " the best they could do ". Since it was the best they could do, I am filing a complaint here as a 20% discount does NOT do justice for a 6.5 hour delay.

Desired Settlement: The business has the responsibility to do the following: 1) Keep the promise about the time of arrival. In my case they were 6.5 hours late. It is unacceptable. 2) Advertize what exactly it is that they will move and what they wont. 3) Start the move starting time after the person reads the contract, signs it and the move actually starts. Not as soon as the movers arrive.

Business Response: Apache Moving does apoligize for being so late.Apache is not in the habit of telling customers that we cannot complete their move even when they have underestimated their inventory.The general policy of any Moving company is that no open boxes are taken.We always start the clock upon arrival on a job site however in your situation we could've worked with you a little more because of our tardiness.We discounted your hourly move by 20% in an attempt to satisfy, even though we do not discount hourly rates.

Thank you,
***** ******
Apache Moving

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled a move with Apache for 4:00 June10, 2013. They told me there was a 2 hour window. At 6:10, no one had shown up and I had not been contacted, and so I called. I spoke to a gentleman who said the driver was probably on the way, and he would call me right back. 10 minutes later, I still hadn't heard, so I called again. This time I spoke to a woman. She was unpleasant and aggressive. She said the movers wouldn't be there until 7:00 at the earliest. When I said that wasn't okay, she said they had a three hour window. I told her no, I had spoken with two different gentlemen, and they both said a 2 hour window. I have 4 children, including a 3month old, and I wouldn't have scheduled this for 7:00. I also said if they were running late, they should have communicated with me. She said she was communicating. At that point I said not to send people because it was too late. Apache confirmed the wrong time for the move the day before. I believe they scheduled this wrong, didn't have people available, and instead just lied to me that they could make the 4:00 appointment. They had good reviews, but my experience was horrible. I took off work to be there at 4:00' and they never even apologized.

Desired Settlement: Offer to perform for reduced price, in recognition of my wasted time and inconvenience

Business Response:

Apache Moving would have been very willing to offer a reduced rate however it never got that far.******** just said that she wished to cancell service because we were running late.Apache did apoligize several times and told Michelle that we would definetly be there however it would be at 7pm.

Thank you,
***** ******
****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Billing/Collection Issues