Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alot for Less Moving

Phone: (210) 400-8925 Fax: (210) 592-1497 View Additional Phone Numbers 6200 Grissom Rd, San Antonio, TX 78238 http://www.alotforlessmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Offering a complete moving service,including a full line of packing material and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alot for Less Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alot for Less Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alot for Less Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2009 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David B. Morrow, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David B. Morrow, Owner
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Moving & Storage Company

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
H: Closed
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 6200 Grissom Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78238 (210) 400-8925 (210) 201-7575

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had hired movers. at the time I lived on a second floor apartment. The movers had a mattress and a box spring to take down the stairs. they had successfully taken down the box spring but had decided to be lazy and throw my mattress over the side of the balcony. There were nails in the balcony and by tossing the mattress over it had snagged and tore a hole in the mattress. I saw this happen and immediately advised the men. They disregarded the issue and then refused to write it up on the form. The biggest issue is that it was a mattress under 90 days old. The damage caused by the movers voided my 10 year warranty. When I had called the owner the next day, he yelled at me claiming that the movers had no other choice but to throw it over the balcony, and that all he was willing to do was see if he knew someone who would put a patch over the hole. I advised him that it was not necessarily the hole that was disconcerting but that i no long had warranty on my new mattress. I had requested he rectify the warranty issue, but either purchasing me the exact same mattress or purchasing a new warranty for the product. at that point he had said he was not willing to use his insurance and have his rates increase and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to do as i requested, with provide me with a new warranty or a new mattress of the same quality.

Business Response: Dear *******.....We once again want to start by saying we are truly sorry that this has taken place As you have stated,we did initially speak on the phone about this matter and at no point did I simply state we would be unwilling or not try to make the best of a unfortunate situation.Our very first response was that we would have someone come and get the mattress "repaired." This means at our expense,we would send an upholstery repair man(a experienced professional in his line of work) to go out and mend this tear.It was only at that point that this indeed was apparent that this was not what you had in mind as far as a "fix" to the problem.You made it very clear that we were going to buy you another mattress.No other options were given on your end.It was at this time we once again tried to explain how by law(DOT regulations and state) that we are not "obligated" to fix or repair anything.That the law states(per the certified DOT brochure that we handed you at the begging of the job) that all and any moving companies are only bound to a weight insurance set forth by the state.They are NOT held liable for replacement value or ever bound to have to repair or fix anything.These are the states guidelines,not something we make up.We never have fallen back on this type of insurance nor will we ever.We always go above and beyond to do the very best in our power(and financially) to repair or "fix" if you will any and all issues that happen on ANY of our jobs.We did offer this service to you,but again it was something you were unwilling to be acceptable with.As to my men being lazy,I assure you this is not a job for the non-assertive or "lazy bones" types.My men may have indeed made a less than better decision to flip this mattress over a railing,without indeed thinking it clearly through.An accident at best!We still stand willing to have someone repair this mattress at our expense.I honestly am having a hard time understanding how a small "tear" in the mattress,somehow has made the internal functions of this mattress no longer good due to the "tear" to the point where it it viewed as a internally damaged piece due to said "tear",and thus voiding any warranty of what I am to assume is still a very relatively new mattress(somewhere still under 90 days purchase.)We also have to state,that while in conversation with you,you were very quick to say very sinisterly,"how much trouble we were in" and "just how much fun it was going to be writing very negative things about our company on ALL forums you could possibly find!!These forums are indeed a tool for being able to speak freely of any legitimate issues one has had and the problems they may have experienced.But to simply use them in a manner for the sole intentions of "hurting" or "defacing"(tarnish) a companies online presence in neither called for or just.Especially when you have before you a company that IS INDEED willing to rise above the required guidelines and do all they can to solve and satisfy the problem.So again we truly apologize that we are even having to discuss this issue and additionally in this manner and forum.We are STILL prepared to have someone look at and "fix"(repair) the "tear" in question which by the way you made reference too as "disconcerting."We try to operate within all the regulated realms of our industry,and actually try to stay above.We pride ourselves on our desire to perform above expectations,and be extremely affordable to boot!We will continue to learn and grow from mistakes along the way,so to be better prepared for the next time around.We humbly request to allow us the opportunity to take care of our end of this matter.One more question that I have tho is....if with this "tear" the current warranty has been voided(and mattress deemed broken)unless the "tear" WERE to be fixed,how would the warranty company be able to produce and honor ANOTHER warranty on a mattress that according to them is "void" of warranty(broken) unless the "tear" which is is question of causing the voiding of the ORIGINAL warranty were to be "fixed" or "repaired?" Just curious on how that works?We are standing by to either be informed we WILL be able to attempt to "fix" or be left with no other options than to simply produce a compensation based oiff of the states guidelines.Thank you for your time,patience,and understanding.   Sincerely, ***** ******(Owner)/Alot For Less Moving


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alot for Less Moving
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)