Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ace Moving and Storage

Phone: (512) 990-5999 2904 Parker Dr, Georgetown, TX 78628

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Moving and Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Moving and Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2010 Business started: 07/10/2002 Business started locally: 07/10/2002 Business incorporated 08/06/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tom Cousins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Cousins, Owner
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • 2904 Parker Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 990-5999


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ***** about getting a bid to move a hot tub. He told me that the minimum charge would be $150.00 but he would need to actually go and see what the job would entail in order to give an exact quote. I gave him the address where the hot tub was currently located as well as my own address so that he could get a clear picture of what needed to be done. I told him that he would need to go down some steps with the hot tub and then lift it up onto a deck when he got to my house. I told him the hot tub weighed about 600-700 lbs. (It turned out that the tub only weighed 510 lbs). On Monday, Dec. 1st, he went to the location where the hot tub was located and then he called me and told me that it would cost me $225.00. He had not even come and looked at the final destination where he would be moving the tub and had already raised his bid by 50%. I was not happy that he raised the price that much especially since the tub weighed a lot less that I had previously thought. I asked him if he would agree to move it for the $150 bid if all he had to do was move the tub to my driveway. He said NO, he would not do any move for less than the $225. So, I told him that I would have to think about it and would get back to him later. Next, I called three other movers to find out what they would charge for moving the hot tub. Two of the three agreed to move it for $150.00 total. I called ***** back and told him that I was not going to use his services because I had two lesser quotes of $150 for the entire job. I told him that the other movers were in ****** and I had wanted to stay local in ********** but his charge was too much. He then told me that he didn't want his competitors to get the money so he would do the job for $150.00. We made an agreement and an appointment for 2:00 on Dec. 2nd to meet at the current location of the hot tub. On Tuesday, Dec. 02, ***** didn't arrive on time. He was almost an hour late. He didn't call to let me or the other person (where the hot tub was) know that he was on his way or anything. Finally, *****, the owner called ***** at 2:20 because the he was working his appointments around the scheduled move time and had another appointment by 3:00. Since this hot tub was located on *****'s private property (in his back yard) he needed to be present at for the entire move of the tub off of his property. ***** told ***** that he was on his way and would be there in about 20 minutes. ***** finally arrived at 2:50. Because ***** was so late, ***** had to cancel his 3:00 appointment. While ***** and I were waiting for ***** to arrive, we had moved parts of the tub (the steps and cover/bracket) to the curb to save some time. Upon arrival to do the job and even though ***** had previewed the job (at the current location), he came completely unprepared. He brought only one other person for what is a minimum 3-4 person job. Also, he brought a piano dolly with small wheels and two flimsy pieces of 1/4 inch pressed board type product. ***** had inspected the move. He knew that he was going to have to move the tub about 200 feet on grass and soft ground but he brought a dolly that was not going to work on grass. What he brought would work on concrete or solid flooring but not for this job. This dolly also was not adequate for the job because it was too small for the size of the tub. Since the dolly that ***** brought would not work, ***** got out his own tools and furnished screws and a drill to build supports for the dolly from some wood that was in *****'s truck. If ***** had not had the drill and screws, ***** would have had to leave and reschedule the move. It took another 45 minutes to get the tub to *****'s truck from the backyard due to the improper moving equipment. It took ***** and his helper, me and ***** to move it that far in that length of time. ***** then drove to my home to unload and move the tub to my deck. ***** and his helper unloaded the tub and then to speed things along, I helped them move the tub down my driveway to the back of the house. ***** started complaining when he got to the steps (that I told him were there) and he told me that he would take the tub down the steps but that he could not put it up on the deck without more help. I asked him to use a movers blanket as we were going down the steps to be sure that the tub wouldn't get scratched and he didn't need to. However he lost control of the tub because his helper's hand slipped and the tub would have hit my house (which is rock) if I had not been at the top between the tub and the house. At that point, ***** admitted that he was wrong and should have used the movers blanket but was relieved that no damage was done. (This is just another example of how unprofessional he is as a mover). We got the tub down the steps and sat it down on the ground and ***** said that he would need to bring more people and bring some pieces of wood the next day in order to get the tub up on the deck. I furnished some plywood at that point so that the side of the tub wouldn't be damaged by sitting on dirt. I followed ***** back to his truck and paid him $150 with the understanding that he was coming back to complete the job. He told me that he didn't have anything scheduled for the next day. ***** then told me that he would need to make some calls and that he would get back in touch with me later. I called him later that night to confirm what time he would be coming on Wed. and he then said that he couldn't come back without charging me more money. After I cooled off, I called him several times (he didn't answer) and finally I sent him a text asking him to come back and complete the job that he had agreed to do (which was a full move) so that his competitors wouldn't get the job. I told him that I would like to handle this in a professional and amicable manner. ***** finally replied saying that I had misled him about the number of steps and how high the deck was off of the ground. I had told him there were 3-4 steps. There are exactly 4. He claims there were 6. I told ***** that he have to lift the tub up to a deck off of the ground. The deck is exactly 4 ft 10 inches high. (I just measured it. ) ***** never asked me how high the deck was and when I told him about it, I recommended that he come see it which he took my address so that he could do just that. ***** claims in his text that the deck is 5 1/2 feet high and I didn't tell him how high. Once again, if he had come and looked he would have known exactly. ***** claimed (in his text) that he was only hired to move the tub to my driveway. That is not true. He had refused when I asked him about that option. I had contacted 3 other movers about doing the full job and that is what ***** agreed to do for the same price to keep them from getting the job. Why would I pay him the same amount for only a partial move when the others would have moved the tub and placed it on my deck? That claim from him is false. I gave him both addresses of the locations for the tub to be moved from and to so that he could look at it himself. He only looked at one place even though I recommended that he come and look. That is why I gave him my address before he gave me a quote. Final: *****'s website states that he is professional, honest, and that his company "will make sure that we meet or exceed the industry standards in licensing, consumer protection, and service." He did not. A professional mover would have brought enough manpower and the proper equipment to move a hot tub. A professional that meets or exceeds the standards would also have arrived on time or at the very least notified his customers that he was running late. A professional would have honored his quote no matter what. A professional would have gone and looked at the move before taking on a job that he was unprepared to complete. His website says that his company is "Movers you can trust!" Not true, professional or honest!

Desired Settlement: To be fair, I want half of my money refunded since he only did half of the move in a complete way. He didn't do any of the job as he advertises. He was late. He was unprepared. He was dishonest. I would never hire him or recommend him for moving anything and I will hire someone else to help me complete the job I paid him to do.

Business Response: Ace Moving would like to express our sincere apologies in Mr. ********
moving experience. Mr. ****** was contacted and we are issuing a
$75 reimbursement check as requested.

*** *******
Ace Moving

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Moving and Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)