BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

AAA Discount Movers

Phone: (210) 821-6365 Fax: (210) 561-2272 View Additional Phone Numbers 6010 Woodway Pl, San Antonio, TX 78249 http://www.aaadiscountmovers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local & statewide moving services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AAA Discount Movers include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Discount Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAA Discount Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Chris Salinas, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Salinas, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing

Industry Tips
Regulatory Information Tips for hiring a moving company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6010 Woodway Pl

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 821-6365 (210) 454-6000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 454-6000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the company to provide moving services. The men that arrived to do the job were unprofessional and careless. I used the contact us link on the company's website to email them a complaint and allowed them time to respond to it, but have not been contacted by the company in any way. The following is the email I sent the company: Hello! First of all, we want to thank you for having the same day service available. After the first company cancelled on us due to weather conditions you were able to provide services within hours of contacting your company and also make an extra stop at a friend’s apartment to pick up a couch we were trading. When I heard the truck arrive and the guys coming up the stairs I went to greet them at the door only to hear mover 2 complaining about the fact that it was another move involving stairs, to which mover 1 replied 'it's okay we are going down the stairs so it's easier.' After seeing what all was going to be moved, mover 1 had me sign the paperwork and told me that if we were happy with the service and their attitude they appreciated gratuities and quickly got to work and was very efficient, mover 2 however moved very slow and would often just take small things down even after getting different instructions from mover 1. One of the largest items was a three seat sofa with two seats being recliners. When this had to be taken downstairs mover 1 struggled to get mover 2 to follow his instructions and thus had lots of issues getting the sofa down the stairs and the sofa was dropped a couple of times. Mover 2 was barely lifting the sofa and it dragged a couple of times. The entire time mover 2 was complaining and arguing with mover 1. At one point one of my neighbors went up the stairs before mover 2 and when he went back downstairs we heard him tell mover 1 'Man that lady has a fat (expletetive word used), mind you we were inside the apartment when he said that and he was outside. While they were loading the truck my husband and I were loading our car and I had asked about a chair that I didn't see in passing one of the rooms. I reminded mover 1 that the chair needed to be loaded up last as it would be exchanged for a sofa at the second location. Mover 1 stated they had not loaded that yet and made a snide remark "Yeah because this is my first day" It took over two hours to load mainly furniture from a two bedroom apartment. Once we were loaded we went to the second stop to pick up another sofa with recliners in exchange for a chair, again mover 2 complained about another recliner and the stairs and kept asking my husband where we were planning on taking it. Mover 2 was unable to help mover 1 very much and after dropping the sofa in the hallway my husband had to help on mover 2 end to bring the sofa down. The whole time both movers kept arguing and cussing at each other in a loud manner. Once we got to the final destination, mover 2 seemed to be moving slower and was overheard fighting with mover 1 about working past 5 o'clock. Mover 1 started planning and strategizing how to get everything in. We instructed that any small items/boxes would go in the garage and most of the furniture could go in the living room and dining area except for certain things we wanted upstairs. Meanwhile mover 2 was on his cell phone instead of maybe starting to bring in items he could get on his own. Then when it was time to bring in the recliners again I overheard mover 2 ask mover 1 if my husband was going to help out. Meanwhile both my husband and I were assisting with smaller items in an effort to speed up the process as we were nearing four hours. I asked my husband not to help move that as I did not want him to get hurt and this was the reason we hired movers in the first place, but again mover 2 either was having trouble or was pretending to so that he could get help and the sofa was dropped a second time. This time however I heard a loud bang and a rattling sound. My husband again had to help get the sofa indoors. Mover 1 asked my husband where the armoire was going and after being told it would be one of the items going upstairs, mover 1 sighed and said “really???” he then went on to state it would probably not be able to go upstairs because it wouldn't fit. My husband measured the area and the armoire and told mover 1 it would fit. Mover one then made comments about how it would be better if the house was this way or that way to make the move easier. Throughout the process items were pushed through doorways and just handled very roughly. Our intent was to have the smaller sofa/recliner upstairs but after all of the complaining and comments from the movers we decided for them just to leave it downstairs. The armoire, the bed and a smaller love seat which was the back up to the sofa/recliner we intended to have upstairs were the only things we asked to be taken upstairs to avoid hearing their complaints. Prior to completion we found two things broken. One was the TV tray stand and the other was one of the legs to a loveseat couch. I pointed both items to mover 1 and he simply apologized. Once the job was completed I gave mover 1 a tip and explained that we did not feel mover 2 deserved a tip but we would leave it to his discretion if he wanted to split it with mover 2. After a few minutes, my husband and I still had our cars to unload so we went outside to start that and the movers were still in the driveway of the house and could be heard arguing and cussing at each other again. My husband and I did an inspection of the furniture and the house and found a dent in the wall behind the front entrance, scuff marks on the stairs and banister in the hallway, and small dent in the wall behind the door of one of the rooms where the small loveseat was placed. As for the furniture again there was two items that were broken but there was other damage noted as well. The larger sofa/recliner couch had a few small tears and one of the recliners no longer works. The smaller sofa/recliner has a good size tear and scuff marks. The entertainment center was nicked in a corner. The footboard to the bed was chipped. A round chair was scuffed. Although we are grateful we were moved and able to take advantage of the same day service, I feel we should still be able to have a great experience as if it had been a planned move. The unprofessionalism demonstrated left a bad impression and was also not good advertisement for others around that could hear the movers arguing. Our furniture was damaged and we spent more money than we had budgeted for. We were very unsatisfied and feel we should be reimbursed for the damages to our home and our furniture. We have taken pictures of the damages and I would be happy to discuss this further if need be. We hope you will be able to resolve the matter to our satisfaction but in the event that it is not resolved we will be forced to take further action and report this to the Better Business Bureau. Thank you for your time!

Desired Settlement: We have attempted to resolve the issue directly with the company to no avail. At this time we are asking for a full refund to our credit card of $350.00. The total amount that we paid was $405. This was paid both in cash and on the credit card. $350.00 on our credit card and the remainder in cash. We believe this to be a fair amount given the extensive damage to our furniture, the unprofessionalism of the movers, and the fact that we had to assist them to prevent further damage and speed up the process.

Business Response: After reading your statement I apologize on behalf of AAA Discount Movers and looking forward to getting this resolve. I had no idea you even made a complaint till now. I never received any information from you regarding damages until i did a search on outlook and found your information in my spam.  For future reference might be a good idea to contact whoever your complaining about by phone instead of just email. That way miscommunications like this doesn't happen. As for your move I was not there so i got no idea what took place or what was said. Move job: 4 hours of labor is the average for a 2 bedroom apt. Could even have taken longer if you had a long walk from your front door to the back of our truck. Then with the extra stop well that put it right at 4.5 hours. If i do recall it was wet that day which could make careering and handling furniture up and down stairs and up the ramp a little more hazardous. As for the men moving your items i apologize if they were complaining. They were not supposed to do another  move job and be done for the evening. I explain to them that you hired a moving co who stood you up and was a no show. I told them that you needed to be out of your apt and into your new place that same day. I know what it like to be stood up and asked them to make sure it didn't happen to you. Let me remind you they had just got done with a 6 hour job before yours so they were probably not in the best of spirits with heavy items and more stairs. I'm not trying to make an excuse for there actions just hoping you can be a little understanding. Moving is consider to be the number one stressful things to do for everyone who is involved. When i read your statement you mentioned that you were on a budget. Though you never communicated that to me you agreed to the hourly rate. If you would have communicated to me about a budget we could have set a time limit for loading and unloading to commence with your budget. Im just hoping your not trying to ask for all this money to make up for the loss of budget. It does seem you are almost asking for the entire amount back. damage item. I like to know how you came up with the amount of money you are asking for. Please forward all documentation or bids that you have received for repairs. I would also need to validate your claim. So at your convenience please call our office to schedule an appointment.

Thank you,
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, this is **** ****** at ***** **** *** *******. We hired AAA Discount Movers to move us on 5-26-2013. We had three movers scheduled, one canceled because he was hung over, so it caused our move to take significantly longer than it should have. Then during the move several pieces of furniture were damaged including an entertainment center, antique Marble \"catch all\", and several other pieces. They also caused multiple damaged areas in our drywall. We provided food, beverages, and even tipped the workers and they promised to come out within a week to make all repairs. After multiple calls and complaints on my part and after several scheduled appointments where no one showed up this is beyond unreasonable and should be addressed.

Desired Settlement: I expect AAA discount movers to honor their agreement to repair what they damaged and a partial refund for the time they have wasted.

Business Response: I just found out when you all sent me this complaint that ****** did not show up to take care of these issues. I apologize and will do my best to make sure all of these problems get resolved to the best of my ability.

*****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, I have been in contact with ***** and though the problems still have not been fixed we are working on setting up a time to have all issues resolved.  and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues