Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage Inc of Round Rock and San Antonio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage Inc of Round Rock and San Antonio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage Inc of Round Rock and San Antonio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1974 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 05/23/1985 in OK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mitch Dorn, General Manager Mr. James Freeman, President Mr. Larry Vinzant, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mitch Dorn, General Manager
Principal: Mr. James Freeman, President
Principal: Mr. Larry Vinzant, Vice President
Business Category

Movers Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing

Alternate Business Names
A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage Inc A-1 Freeman Relocation Services Inc
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a moving company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage Inc of Round Rock and San Antonio has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1618 Cornerway Blvd

    San Antonio, TX 78219 (210) 661-1404

  • 590 Greenhill Dr

    Round Rock, TX 78665 (512) 246-3706 (512) 392-7999 (512) 869-1536

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I are entering full time mission service. Although we planned to sell most of our furniture and personal possessions, we did plan to put some items into longterm storage. Based on the recommendation of a friend, we contacted *** ****** of A-1 Freeman Moving and Storage in San Antonio. Mr. ****** actually visited our house on two separate occaisions to provide estimates. After his first visit, we knew we could not afford his first estimate, which was over $8,000, and resassessed those items we planned to place into long term storage, cutting back considerably (we sold more of those things). Later we had Mr. ****** out to our house again, to provide a second estimate. At that time, the only thngs remaining in our house were the things we planned to put into storage and trunks with things we are taking to Zambia, where we will be stationed. We walked throughout our house, pointing out everything that we wanted to put into storage. Those are the items that Mr. ****** included in his estimate (those are also the things that the movers packed, moved and placed into storage when they came on October 1). After our efforts to reduce the number of things we would place into storage, we were pleased when Mr. ******'s second estimate came in well below his first, just over $5,000; based on this second estimate, we engaged A-1 Freeman to the moving and storage for us, and they appeared on Thursday, October 1, 2015. The move went as planned, without incident. Eleven days following the move, I was shocked to receive an invoice from Mr. ****** that was approximately 60% higher than his estimate. As I said before, the second estimate that we based our decision on was just over $5,000: the actual amount billed was $7,950.44. I have made repeated efforts to get Mr. ****** and A-1 Freeman to reach some compromise, given the huge discrepancy between his estimate and the actual invoice. Mr. ****** has gone as far as to state that "we must have put more things into storage than we told him we were going to do", which is untrue. But he refused to admit he made a mistake. Further, we have asked him to have his general manager call us so we can discuss this matter with him, and he has refused to to this. We understand an estimate is not a guaranteed price. But we do expect an estimate to be reasonable and we expect it to be in the ball park. We also believe it is reasonable that we are uspet by a 60% error on the part of Mr. ******. At this point, given the lack of response to our requests, we are left to believe that Mr. ******, knowing we were price sensitive, intentionally underbid the estimate to get our business, and then billed us the actual cost. We have been given no reason to believe otherwise, especially when he won't have his gm call us.

Desired Settlement: We would like to reach some compromise on the discrepancy between the amount of the second estimate and the amount invoiced, which is a difference of about 60%.

Business Response:

Prior to sending the invoice we reviewed it carefully to make sure that we were accurate.  Mr. ******s estimate was accompanied by a listing of all items that were to be moved.  That list contained 73 items.  When we loaded the shipment there were 120 items listed.   This alone would account for the additional weight.   Obviously there was a mis-communication about what was to be moved/stored with us.  This list of 73 items was given to and signed by the client.   We do regret that the charges went over budget but we are bound by our contract and not allowed by TX DMV laws to provide any concessions.   We already reduced our storage rate by 30% below tariff because of the long term storage.  It is never our intent to underbid the estimate just to get business.  In this case Mr. ****** actually worked with the client to find ways to reduce the weight of their storage weight and charges. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  

1. The only reason for the price reduction was because I offered to pay the cost up front, in cash, not because of the length of the storage.  Another inaccuracy from company.
  
2.  As stated previously, Mr. ****** was shown everthing that was to be packed and placed into storage.  His professional opinion was that it was 73 pieces apparently; if that was wrong, it was his mistake.  He is in the business, not me.  It is clear he made a very significant misjudgement in his estimate.  The company continues to make the claim that I increased the items that we decided to move and store.  My repsonse is that is impossible, as everthing but those things we showed  Mr. ****** had already been removed from our home.  He screwed up, he underbid the cost by 60%, and now we are expected to pay for his mistake, with no recourse to him or his company.  I beleive that is a dishonest way of doing business.  

As I said, I understand an estimate isn't a guaranteed price, but I would expect the general manager to be willing to discuss an error of this magnitude by one of his employees.  The fact that he won't seems to say something in my opinion.  That beging said, I still hope that there is some way we can reconcile this matter and meet in the middle.  I don't believe that is an unreasonable position to take.

****** *******

Business Response: The reduction was for both the length of storage and the lump sum payment.  As of now we have not received any payment for services performed. 

Mr. ****** uses a computerized inventory system that is usually very accurate.  At the time of inventorying he prints a copy that has a detailed list of items to be moved.  This is meant to be reviewed also by the client to verify its accuracy.

This is obviously where the discrepancy occurred.  The fact does remain that it was just an estimate.   We loaded only what our crew was asked to load.

If you don't want to keep your items with us and feel that we have acted dishonestly we can deliver to a facility of your choice after payment for services performed have been received.

It is not our business practice to deceive customers or improperly charge them.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:


It is nice to finally hear from Mr. **** after repeated requests, although I would have appreciated the courtesy of a telephone call to discuss this matter, which I requested several times.  Because of the fact my wife and I are entering mission service overseas, moving our belongings to another storage facility is impractical.  Since the payment due date isn’t until November 7, your implication that we are somehow delinquent in our obligation isn’t appreciated.  If we have to do so, we will pay the amount of the invoice; however, that doesn’t necessarily mean that we will stop trying to resolve this matter to our satisfaction.

This will be my last response through Better Business Bureau on this matter; I will make several points below:
1. I would like to reiterate that at the time of Mr. ******’s second visit, and estimate, the only items remaining in our home were the items to be packed and put into storage, and trunks that were segregated into one specific bedroom with our belongings that will be going with us to Zambia.  All of the items that were to be packed and placed into storage were pointed out to Mr. ****** as we walked through our house that day.  Those were the very same items that were in fact packed, loaded and placed into your warehouse.  Any discrepancy between the estimated number of pieces and the actual number of pieces was the result of poor work on Mr. ******’s part at the time of the estimate.
2. At the time of Mr. ******’s initial visit, he asked us if we were getting any other estimates; we told him no, since he was referred to us by a mutual friend, who he had moved on several previous occasions.  That was obviously a huge error in judgement on our part.
3. Since this issue came to our attention on Monday, I have researched such matters online and learned that such bait and switch tactics are not uncommon in the moving and storage industry.
4. In one of the emails from Mr. ******, during an ongoing exchange on Monday, October 12, he acknowledged his error in the estimate, stating “Not sure how I missed it so much.”

   On Oct 12, 2015, at 9:16 AM, ******, *** ************************ wrote:

I was a little shocked myself but the inventories support the weight. I know the statue weight can’t be included because Bobby got his lightweight ticket right by our warehouse, moved the statue, then got his heavy weight when returning to warehouse. Just so you know, these guys are hourly, they don’t get paid by weight like long haul drivers. There was additional packing of boxes also, if you look at the cost detail they left you can compare the quantities.
 
You have four full pages of inventories, shipments average 1,000 – 1,200 pounds per page but with your heavy furniture and the fact that most of you small boxes are books and papers, I’m not surprised at these fact at all. Shipments also average 45-50 pounds per item, I’m not in the office but if you look at your item count on the inventory sheets, this measurement tool supports the weight also. I just looked at my estimate, I had 85 items.
 
Not sure how I missed it so much. Your shipment is vaulted and packed away in our warehouse, all we can go on is the actual documentation. It’s a long time from now but the shipment can be re-weighed when it delivers out of storage. I don’t know what else I can say what we can do at this point? I can say one thing, the storage rate of $2.50 per 100 pounds per month is lower than any of the competition around here.
 
*** ******, CMC
*** ************* ******** *** ***** ************ ****** ************ *** ************ ****

5. In the company’s reply yesterday, they stated that a discounted rate was given because of the length of the storage term.  That is not true.  The only reason a discount was given was because I offered to pay the full amount of the moving and storage cost up front, in cash, if they would give me a better rate.

I have never asked that A-1 Freeman reduce the charge to the amount of the estimate.  I have only asked that they consider the huge discrepancy between the estimate made by their employee and the amount billed, and discuss some sort of reasonable compromise.  They are unwilling to even pick up the phone to discuss such a solution.  I find that hard to believe, when it is clear that their sales representative either did a poor job of estimating the cost or intentionally underbid the job.  I hope they will reconsider their position and work to reach a compromise.

Regards,
****** *******

7/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently moved from *** *******, ***** to *******, Ohio for a new job. I signed a contract with A-1 Freeman Relocation Services and North American Moving Services to move my household furniture and goods to *******. The contract contained a guaranteed delivery date no later than June 16, 2015. According to my contacts at A-1 Freeman and North American, my shipment has not been put on a truck, nor have I been given a date on which it will be shipped. I have paid $3,076.96 for a guaranteed delivery date, and the companies have breached the contract by their failure to deliver by that date.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to expedite the delivery of my goods, and provide a refund of (some) of the price I paid for the move. I chose this company specifically because my contract stipulated a guaranteed delivery date, but A-1 Freeman and North American have breached the contract and have not provided any sort of recompense for the breach.

Business Response:

We do regret that it took so long for delivery.   This is way outside of the normal service we get from North American Van Lines.  We worked diligently with North American Van Lines to get the shipment moved.  Unfortunately because of the size of the shipment it was bumped off of four different trucks.  Also because of the size of the shipment North American Van Lines will not offer any delay claim or inconvenience claim.    ***. ******** items are now delivered though almost three weeks later than anticipated. 

 

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on A-1 Freeman Moving & Storage Inc of Round Rock and San Antonio
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart