Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mike Palomo's Mongoose Martial Arts

Phone: (210) 912-6991 1726 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 106, San Antonio, TX 78201


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike Palomo's Mongoose Martial Arts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike Palomo's Mongoose Martial Arts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mike Palomo's Mongoose Martial Arts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 2012 Business started: 10/16/2010 in TX Business started locally: 10/16/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mike Palomo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Palomo, Owner
Business Category

Martial Arts

Alternate Business Names
Mongoose Martial Arts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mike Palomo's Mongoose Martial Arts has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1726 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 106

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 912-6991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: be released from the 2-year financial contract.

Desired Settlement: I signed up my two children for martial arts classes at Mongoose martial arts. I understood that I had to sign a two year contract and a two year auto draft for the services. What was not mentioned in the contract was I had to purchase everything needed for that class from mongoose martial arts which was a %100 mark up in price. Mongoose martial arts charged me $400 dollars for equipment that I could have bought for $150 dollars anywhere else. In addition, Mongoose martial arts has not water fountain in their dojo gym and force me to pay for their over priced water bottles. Mongoose martial arts would not allow me to bring water bottles in for my 3 and 4 year old children to drink. This was not in the contract so I refused to use their services any longer. I withdrew my children from the mongoose school but I am still paying $200 a month to keep this off my credit record. They fail to mention that you have to purchase their water during the contract signing.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

            When it comes to the situation concerning Mr. *** *****, I find his complaint baseless. In the information I received from the Better Business Bureau regarding the complaint, it was stated that his contract started in November 2014 and that he requested the cancelation in December 2014. This is not true.  Mr. ***** signed his kids up with Mongoose Martial Arts in the summer of 2014.   (I would very much like to see the contract stating those dates. Is that information that he has provided for you at any time?) It was also stated that the complaint is related to an advertising issue, but I fail to see how the complaint relates to that.

Before joining, every prospective student is given a free trial week.  This insures that all students (be they child or adult) like the program enough to commit to the contract. Mr. ***** not only brought both of his children in for their trial week, but he also signed a 24 month contract, which came with a free uniform for each child.  We also offer a multi program and family discount, which is why the cost of his contract was so much lower than the $4,800 that it would have been if charged full price for each child. (Enclosed is a price list for our various programs.)  While signing the contract, each financially responsible party is given a price list for all required equipment as well as the prices for the program of their choosing.  (Enclosed, also, is a price list for all of the required equipment/uniforms, as well as pages from the catalog that we/they order from, in case there are other items they may be interested in ie: weapons, specialty competition uniform, novelty t-shirts etc...)

To address the issue of refreshments and their pricing: prices are listed on the fridge, out in the open, for everyone to see.  It was never brought to our attention that he/they ever had an issue with our pricing.  We do not allow outside food or drinks, and the sign advertising that rule is always on display.  (Enclosed are pictures of the concession area, where you can see that prices are prominently displayed.) Though we do not encourage anyone constantly going in and out, as it is a distraction to the class, Mr. ***** was always more than welcome to keep a cooler in his vehicle and bring his children outside for their water breaks. Again, we do not encourage it, but there is always an option, no one has ever been forced to purchase our refreshments.

We require all students to purchase their fighting gear through us, for many reasons.  Our student’s safety is very important to us and we want to make sure that all padding meets safety standards. The gear that is purchased through Century is A.O.K. compliant and ensures that the padding is both thick enough to offer adequate protection and soft enough to ensure comfort while being worn.  Gear bought elsewhere at cheaper prices cannot make that guarantee. We also require our students to purchase their gear from us for insurance purposes.  If someone gets injured, at any time, while using gear bought elsewhere, we can be held responsible for knowingly letting a student fight/compete with inadequate protection.

When Mr. ***** brought it to our attention that he wanted to terminate his contract, negotiations were conducted.  He stated that the reason why was because one child was not benefiting from our program, though the other was.  He requested that his wife come in place of the child that he wished to pull out of the program, and we agreed.  Mrs. ***** came to a few classes.  When he stated that he wanted to completely terminate the contract, he was advised that the contract could not be terminated without penalty.   Many times, the agreement must be financially satisfied in full, but we agreed to let him end the contract for half of the cost of the remaining balance.  All we asked was that he come in to speak with us in person so we can make the arrangements, and he never showed.  We tried repeatedly to contact him with no response.  It is very frustrating that this complaint came so many months after their last attending, along with all of the slander. 

We are a small business and believe in being fair, but he has proceeded to tarnish our reputation, thus potentially causing us future business.  We ask that you take all of our information and documents into consideration when committing to a decision.  We were in no way trying to hurt, harm or cheat Mr. *****.  We have been operating for many years, with many students at a time and have never come across this issue until now.  Please let us know if there is any other information we can provide for you.

 

 

Thank You,

**** ******

Owner Mongoose Martial Arts

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,
*** *****

This posting is highly inaccurate; especially the part about receiving free uniforms. Mongoose martial arts did make us by uniforms through their dojo at a unfair price mark up. They did agree to dismiss one child's tuition which never was dismissed. I am still paying on one tuition which we had agreed on and we are still current with. The other tuition is not being paid on and is still posted on my credit report as negative. Mongoose is a martial arts school which does not have a water fountain and does not allow parents to bring water in for their children and makes parents purchase water from the school. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mike Palomo's Mongoose Martial Arts
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart