Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Key Depot

Phone: (830) 629-5397 388 Landa St, New Braunfels, TX 78130 http://www.thekeydepot.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Key Depot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Key Depot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Key Depot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2007 Business started: 02/08/1993 in TX Business started locally: 02/08/1993 Business incorporated 02/08/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Williams, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Williams, Owner
Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths Safes & Vaults - Opening & Repairing Safe & Vault Movers

Alternate Business Names
Denny's Lock & Key, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 388 Landa St

    New Braunfels, TX 78130 (830) 629-5397

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday June 16, 2013 my children and I lost our vehicle key in the Commal River in New Braunfels. At approximately 3:00p.m. a police officer contacted The Key Depot to come unlock my vehicle and to make a new key because the original set could not be retrieved from the river. The first employee arrived shortly after and unlocked my vehicle. I was then informed by the employee that he could not make the key, but another employee would be out in one to two hours to make a new key. As the time went on the temperature rose, and my children and I only had a tree to shade us while we waited. After two and a half hours I called and was told that the employee could not be contacted, but they were doing their best. Finally around 8:30p.m. I was able to contact a different locksmith from San Antonio. After the gentleman from the other company arrived the employee from The Key Depot called and asked if I needed a key. I told him that I already had another company on their way and asked why he would leave a woman and two children waiting in this heat with nowhere to go. He then hung up on me. On Sunday June 17, 2013 I called The Key Depot to speak with a manager about the issue and was told it would be about one to two hours. I am still waiting for the call.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the services provided, and the food and drinks I had to purchase for my children and myself so that we wouldn't die of a heat stroke. This company put my children at risk of serious health issues by not responding in the time they said they would be there. I also have medical issues and could not get home to take my medicine because The Key Depot never showed up.

Business Response: *****
I just left a message for you that I will be emailing my response to you; there a two and a third type pages.  I sincerely hope that this will address and resolve this complaint.
Thank you!
*****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The owner of the company contacted myself the same day the complaint was filed.  However, the issue at hand was not resolved and the owner only continued to make matters worse by calling myself, the New Braunfels Police and Dispatch liars.  I was also informed that his partner is an attorney, which is fine with me.  However, she cannot represent this matter due to conflict of interest.  I also do not appreciate this entire situation and the way myself, my friend, my children, and those who dedicate their lives to protecting and serving the New Braunfels area.
Regards,

********* ******