Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

PPD

Phone: (512) 749-5820 Fax: (512) 440-2952 View Additional Phone Numbers 7551 Metro Center Dr Ste 300, Austin, TX 78744 http://www.ppdi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from PPD


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PPD meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PPD include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PPD
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1985 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 02/01/2012 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Williams, Executive Director, HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Williams, Executive Director, HR
Business Category

Laboratories - Research & Development Health & Medical - General Foundations - Education, Philanthropy, Research

Alternate Business Names
PPD Development PPD Development, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 7551 Metro Center Dr Ste 300

    Austin, TX 78744 (512) 685-5820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 24 2014 I was scheduled an appointment for a screening in PPD ****** clinic as a volunteer for testing a new drug for the treatment of gout. The scheduled was at 3:00 P.M. we where 13 candidates, ******* ****** read all the documents that we require to sign such as " Informed Consent document", "Subject Rules & Regulations", "consent fro optional Genetic Testing" among other documents, after that we where transfer to the screening facilities in order to get "blood samples", ECG testing, and weight, height, pressure and other general data collected, after done all that we had to wait for the documents reviewed by ******* in order that everything was OK. ******* told us that we will require to return on Thursday for a Physical exam. Today I received a call from ******* ****** informing me that I was unable to participate in the study because there was no more spaces available for me. He told me that participation was not guaranteed. There is not such information on-line and the several calls by phone made me aware of this situation. I find this situation completely unacceptable because I had to travel from ******* to ******, fasting from 7:00 A.M. to 7:00 P.M. without offering us nothing, not even water! go back to *******, and now they are telling me that there is no more spaces available!. If I had known that there where the risk of not having a place after doing the screening (and pass it) I wouldn't schedule the screening testing procedure.

Desired Settlement: I want PPD to do the following as a desired settlement: 1- Extend me a letter with apologizing for the inconvenient and the unfairly treatment. 2- Have myself a priority in the next test available similar to the one I was unfairly rejected, after all PPD has already all my information and test results. 3- From now on to aware the future candidates that the "spaces" in the studies are not guaranteed even if they got scheduled and passed the screening tests. 4- To have some refreshments and snacks after the tests are done as a courtesy to the candidates. 5- To get a monetary compensation to myself for the inconvenience and the travel I had to make to PPD facilities in ******, **.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****,
Thank you for contacting PPD this week to share the feedback regarding a customer’s screening experience at our Phase I Clinic on November 24. 2014.  Upon further review with staff facilitating procedures that day, the recruiter informed our Subject Relations staff of the complaints regarding the screening outcome.   We reached out to the volunteer to respond to the concerns and offer clarity to any questions.  As part of the initial response steps, we determine whether or not the volunteer has been to the site before.  If the volunteer is new to the clinic, additional detail is provided about what to expect during the recruiting and study conduction process.   In these specific circumstances, our staff extended an apology for the frustrations and inconvenience encountered.  We offered to review actively recruiting studies for potential screening options that aligned with his availability.  The offer was declined.  During the medical history phone interview and before an appointment is scheduled, the phone recruiter makes the following statements, “There is no compensation for the screening process.  No one is assured a place in the study until the first dosing is completed.”   This is also conveyed in writing if the volunteer remains qualified upon completion of the initial phone interview and elects to schedule an  appointment for the on-site informed consent session often referred to as a screening appointment.  During the screening appointment,  the recruiter reviews the documents and includes a segment affording volunteers the opportunity to ask  questions, is issued a copy of the study dates  and the recruiter’s direct contact information should there be any questions after the screening appointment.  Before screening procedures are performed, volunteers must read and sign the Subject Rules and Regulations and Informed Consent documents.  By signing these documents, volunteers acknowledge their understanding of the content and confirm continued interest in pursuing the study opportunity.  Volunteers are also issued a set of these signed documents to keep for their records and retain for future reference.  This particular study required an eight hour fast which was conveyed during the phone interview.  Additional information about these specific references is noted below.

o Page 2 of the Subject Rules and Regulations states, “no other food or beverages will be allowed in the facility.”  Only water is permitted and is available in the screening area.  Outside food and drinks are prohibited.       
o Page 1 of the Subject Rules and Regulations states, “The decision to admit you into a study is based upon results of pre-study requirements.  There is  no compensation for the screening process.  No one is assured a place in the study until the first dosing is completed.”  Page 7 also states “No one is assured a place in the study until the first dosing is completed.”
o The Informed Consent states,  “Screening does not mean that you are in the study.  Entry into the study depends on the results of your lab tests, study guidelines, and the decision of the study doctor.  Even if you pass the screening tests, there is a chance that you will not be in the study.  There may be other reasons why you cannot be in the study.  The study staff will discuss that with you.”

Each study must have its own screening data reviewed by the study doctor to ensure the  volunteers meet the entrance criteria provided in the protocol.   In order to meet study enrollment timelines, it is necessary to continue screening procedures up until the required number of participants have been selected by the study doctor. 

PPD sincerely values and appreciates volunteers’ time and interest in clinical research.  It is of the utmost importance that volunteers encounter a safe, professional and courteous environment throughout the entire experience.   If there are any questions, please contact me at the number listed below.

Kind regards.

*** ***
********* ********* * ******* ******** 
Clinics-****** Operations
******,*****, USA
PPD
Phone +*** *** ****
Fax +*** *** ****
************


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This company is misleading the volunteers only for his convenience, first of all, I spoke several times with different personnel of PPD staff and I do not recall that any one told me
 "No one is assured a place in the study until the first dosing is completed.”  if I had knowledge about this situation I wouldn't had have the trip from ******* to ****** in the first place.
Second, when I arrived, PPD had me sign the Subject Rules and Regulations and Informed Consent documents, which I signed in good will, after all I was already in their facility and willing to proceed with the study, I never imagined that  "Even if you pass the screening tests, there is a chance that you will not be in the study" because the study was already full, so why they required us to go in the first place if they registered more people than the required for the study to be completed. 
From my point of view, the whole procedure is misleading, unclear and benefits only the PPD research company, without any consideration for the volunteer, as stated at the end of your notification "PPD sincerely values and appreciates volunteers’ time and interest in clinical research.  It is of the utmost importance that volunteers encounter a safe, professional and courteous environment throughout the entire experience". For these reasons, I do not accept your apologies and rejecting this response from the business involved.


Regards,

****** *******

5/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to PPD for the very first time in 2008 to participate in a research study. After completing the blood test the doctor called me in and said that I can not participate in any study because it was determined that I had HEP-C. She said that if I went to my primary physician and got tested and brought back the completed paperwork showing all of the Lab testing from the doctor that I could retest. I then went to Dr *** at the ***** * ***** ****** ****** & got Lab work done and it was determined that all of my blood work was negative and I could do any research that was offered to me(if I wanted to) so I took that paperwork back to PPD just to prove to them that I was clean & had no type of disease or infections(prior or other wise) So the Receptionist took my paperwork and gave it to the Doctor & said that they would call me. Needless to say I never recieved a call and I never tried to do another study, because the only thing that kept running through my mind is that they had messed up & got my Lab work mixed up with someone else's. So here it is 2014 & I finally decided that I wanted to try to do a study so I called PPD & I spoke with a representative that pulled up my records, saw where I tried in 2008 to do a study but couldn't ( I explained what happened in 2008) so she said she was going to transfer me to someone "NICE" that could help me. Once on the phone with the supposedly "NICE" lady she told me about 2008 & I explained everything about me getting my Doctors report & taking it back to PPD etc... AND that's when she informed me that I had tried to do a study in April of 2011 & that the Doctor had banned me permentantly from participating. I tried to explain to her that my husband had just passed in Feb. of 2011 & plus I had a 9month old daughter so there was no way that I could have or would have tried to do a study then, I even told her that I could prove it. And all the "NICE" lady kept saying is "I AM SORRY" So I ask her if there was anything that I could do or anyone that I could talk to to clear my name & she said" NO" I said ok thank you & we disconnected the phone.

Desired Settlement: I want not only an apology from PPD but I want them to right the wrong and the embarrassment that they have caused me with saying that I have ********* (take another blood test & or except the information regarding my blood work from ***** * ***** ******** and admit that they made a mistake about me coming in April of 2011 during the most devastating time of my life(the loss of my husband) & the father of my daughter. And please treat me like human beings & not just a study subject wasting their valuable time( or like I owe them something or they are doing me a favor) I REALLY WANT THIS VERY BAD SCREW UP RECTIFIED!!

Business Response:

From: *** New [mailto:********.***@ppdi.com]
Sent: Wednesday, April 09, 2014 3:15 PM
To: *** ********
Subject: BBB response for ID *******

 

Dear Ms. ********,

 

Thank you for making PPD aware of the feedback provided by the customer referenced to the assigned ID number.  I appreciate your time when we spoke earlier to confirm receipt of this letter.  After we spoke, the customer actually called me Wednesday 4/2/14 and conveyed the same information outlined in the letter which we covered in detail and seemingly at the end, to her satisfaction.   There were a few medical-assessment questions presented.   As with all of our customers who understandably present questions appropriate for a nurse or physician, they are encouraged to have a dialogue directly with their healthcare provider.    She understood and agreed that it would be best to consider that option.   I said I completely understood, agreed and that was always a customer’s option to reach out to BBB.   I stated I appreciated  the opportunity to help address the concerns and answer any questions she had.  We discussed the steps she would need to take if she decides she would like to have her eligibility status reviewed by the PPD study doctor.   She understood that the review itself would not result in an automatic approval from PPD’s doctor to reapply for studies.  I assured her that no matter the outcome of a visit(s) to our facility, all staff are expected to treat all customers with the utmost respect and professionalism.  If questions arise that are beyond their scope, staff is to take appropriate next steps by conducting internal research first or refer to appropriate department leader for a timely and informative response.

 

PPD very much values potential study participants’ time, interest and contributions to the programs that ultimately help make medicines available to patients and consumers.   I am thankful  she called and that we were able to work together toward a resolution.  If there are any questions or further action would be helpful in any way, please contact me at the number listed below.

 

Kind regards.

 

 

******
********* ********* ******* ********* * ***********

Clinics-Austin Operations
Austin, Texas, USA

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I never got a call from PPD so I called & talked to ***** & she DID NOT acknowledge that PPD had in fact mixed up my lab results with someone else, nor did she acknowledge that they made a mistake about me coming in or calling in during April of 2011 to inquire about a study. The only thing she said is that because of PAST high blood pressure & migraine headaches I would not be elligible to participate in ANY studies. I know that they were just looking for a reason to disclude me from ANY studies because they screwed up and they were looking for justification in their screw up. Which is also why *** New said that we talked & discussed that proof of my Lab Work not being tainted didn't mean reinstatement because to reinstate me would be admitting that they really messed up. But if it takes me forever I plan to send this to the the Integreview Ethical Review Board & higher because someone needs to know how these companies treat people. 
So whatever the BBB can do to assist me that's what I want.   PPD WAS WRONG!!!! And STILL IS!!!
Regards,

****** ****

Business Response:

Thank you for making PPD aware of the customer’s additional concerns presented in the April 16, 2014 letter and the opportunity to respond.  As mentioned in the April 9, 2014 response,  there was a professional, productive dialogue explaining PPD’s and the complainant’s options in detail.  PPD’s facts around this situation are not consistent with the customer’s account of our past and recent interactions. 

 

PPD’s focus is always on safety for all Phase I study volunteers.  Should the PPD doctors identify study results or receive new information about a study volunteer’s health  that warrant notification to the volunteer, it is always communicated in a timely manner and deemed of the utmost importance.    If a volunteer submits new health information, there is a dedicated department to facilitate that review by a study doctor.  The outcome of the review is communicated to the volunteer as well.  If results are not within the PPD Phase I study protocol criteria, PPD will always choose safety.  I appreciate the customer’s interest in clinical research and the opportunity to respond to the feedback.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: this business is not excepting responsibility for the error it made in health facts. PPD is not concerned about a persons health, but tries to justify their mistakes by past NOT PRESENT medical conditions. 
Meaning: Because my past medical history stated that I HAD hypertension & migraines then ***** tried to use that as justification that this is why I could not participate in a research study. This was AFTER I sent all of my medical records from my Primary Physician stating that I DID NOT HAVE ********* OR ANY OTHER SERIOUS ILLNESS. ***** NEVER gave me the chance nor did she ask me if I could show that I NO LONGER have problems with Hypertension or migraines( WHICH I CAN PROVE) 
I would like for the BBB to show this complaint on their website against this company & I guarentee more people will come forth with the complaints they have against PPD. 
THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO RIGHT A WRONG ONLY O COVER UP AND JUSTIFY!!
Even if I could do a research with them I wouldn't at this point because they might give me something to harm me or kill me because of my complaint.
PEOPLE BEWARE DON'T JUST O THIS BECAUSE OF THE MONEY THESE COMPANIES CAN REALLY HURT YOU PHYSICALLY AND EMOTIONALLY ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY GET YOUR LAB WORK AND OTHER TEST RESULTS MIXED UP. 
THINK BEFORE YOU VOLUNTEER!!!!!

Regards,

****** ****