BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers managed web hosting services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rackspace US, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rackspace US, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rackspace US, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 27, 2002 Business started: 12/31/1998 in DE Business started locally: 12/31/1998 Business incorporated: 04/17/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lanham Napier, CEO Steve Priolo Mr. Mark Roenigk , COO Mr. Graham Weston, Chairman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Steve Priolo
Business Category

Internet Services Internet - Web Hosting

Alternate Business Names
Rackspace Hosting, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5000 Walzem Rd  M.s. Us 109-2301

    San Antonio, TX 78218 (210) 312-4000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 312-4647(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At a previous company, I used my work email address and personal credit card to expense a recurring RackSpace service. After going through my personal credit card statement and noticing that I was being billed for a service that neither I nor my former company used, I decided to cancel the service. I called RackSpace with my credit card details and the transaction number, explaining that I no longer had access to my work email account. Instead of agreeing to cancel my account (or even asking for more information), they insisted on having me fill out a 'New Primary Contact' form, so they could they hit up another person at my old company for the service. They essentially wanted a referral so they could try to sell one of my former coworkers on RackSpace services, instead of just canceling the account. After I explained that I was unwilling to provide them a new point of contact, they refused to cancel my account. I since called my credit card, disputed the charge, and had it blocked from reoccurring. At this point, I'll never purchase a RackSpace service again.

Business Response: Due to our security practices, Rackspace would require communication from a person listed on the contact list of an account.  If Mr. ******* was not listed as a contact on the account, we are contractually barred from communicating about the account to anyone other than those persons listed on the account.  In an effort to assist Mr. ******* with his issue of requesting the account be canceled, we would require a Primary Contact Change form to be signed which would allow Rackspace to then speak with an authorized person on the account. 

While we apologize for the inconvenience, if Mr. ******* can provide an account number, or some other information (other than credit card information) to indicate he was indeed a customer of Rackspace and authorized to instruct Rackspace to take action, we will look into this matter further.  It should also be noted that anyone who has proper credentials to access their Rackspace account may close the account through their control panel.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10148190

Better Business Bureau:

I think Rackspace would agree that this policy/process is not customer centric.  In my opinion, the rep should have been able to ask for alternative pieces of information to confirm my identity, thereby allowing me to cancel my account.  I had the following available:  billing address, phone, credit card number, dates of all transactions, transaction reference #s, and the various amounts.  Was the rep supposed to ask for any of these details?

When a customer tells a service provider to stop charging them, that should be it - end of story.  Telling them "We'll keep renewing your subscription until you've jumped through our hoops." is doing your brand a disservice.  Apologies for bad grammar.

Best,

****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rackspace refuses to remove mailboxes from a disabled account and they do not honor MX records when a cus***er switches to a new mail host. They are effectively sending their other cus***ers emails destined for our domain to a black hole account instead of routing them properly. Their sole reason for doing this is for leverage in a dispute over a past due balance. When calling Rackspace to discuss their demands, I was placed on indefinite hold while waiting for the appropriate account manager.

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist the extortionate practices. Offer a fair concession toward the past due balance.

Business Response: The e-mail account “wkaustin.com” is past due, which is in breach of our Terms and Conditions.

Section 9.2 of the Mail Hosting Terms state:

9.2 
"Fees are due within five (5) days of invoice date.  If you have arranged for payment by credit card or ACH, Rackspace may charge your card or account on or after the invoice date.  Rackspace may suspend all Services, including services provided pursuant to any unrelated agreement if payment of any invoiced amount is overdue, and you do not pay the overdue amount within four (4) Business Days of our written notice to your billing contact.  You agree that if your Services are reinstated after a suspension for non-payment, you will pay a reasonable reinstatement fee.  Rackspace may charge interest on overdue amounts at 1.5% per month (or the maximum legal rate if it is less than 1.5%).  If any amount is overdue by more than thirty (30) days and Rackspace brings a legal action to collect, you must also pay Rackspace’s costs of collection, including reasonable attorney fees and court costs.  If
your check is returned for insufficient funds, we may charge you a fee up to the maximum amount permitted by law.  Fees must be paid in U.S. Dollars.  Invoices that are not disputed within 180 days of invoice date
are conclusively deemed accurate.”  http://www.rackspace.com/information/legal/mailterms

The past due amount are listed as:

04/06/14 - Invoice 2367885

$280.00

03/06/14 - Invoice 2310841

$280.00

02/06/14 Invoice 2255056

$280.00

01/06/14 - Invoice 2198633 1/6/2014

$280.00

Rackspace issued a credit in January towards the amount due for that month.

-$165.00 (credit) =  $115.00

Total still past due: $955

This account remains in a suspended status pending receipt of payment, which is why the DNS remains at Rackspace.  If, however, the cus***er wishes to terminate their account, they should adhere to Section 8 of the Mail Hosting Terms, which state:

8. TERMINATION FOR CONVENIENCE

“You may terminate the Agreement for convenience at any time on thirty (30) days advance written notice. Rackspace may terminate for convenience at any time on one hundred and twenty (120) days advance written notice.  If you terminate for convenience, we will refund any amount you prepaid for any period extending past your committed term.” 

If Rackspace receives the proper 30 days notice of non-renewal, we will immediately delete the subject mailboxes, which will in turn release the DNS associated with the MX records.  All other Terms and Conditions agreed to by both parties shall remain in effect.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Rackspace employees failed to inform me of my rights per the TOS during the numerous phone calls placed to Rackspace support.  This means that their extortionist tactics referred to in the original complaint will persist for another 30 days after I mail a formal written letter.  The only acceptable response would be the immediate deletion of all wkaustin.com data and removal of any reference to the domain in their DNS.
 
Regards,

*** *********

Business Response: Rackspace will take your response as a request to formally terminate your account, and will abide with any and all remedies available under the contract.  Consider your account terminated immediately.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up an account with Rackspace on January 17. I had a one-time project in mind. I had build a massive model in a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet with several million cells. My PC had too little memory to run the workbook. So I thought that if I just uploaded my Excel workbook to a Rackspace cloud server with access to 60mb of memory, I'd be able to get the output I needed. I had a webchat with Rackspace technical support on Jan 17. Later that day, I phoned Rackspace technical support. In that phone conversation, I learned that I would need to license a server-edition of Microsoft Excel in order to run my workbook. I told the Rackspace representative that I had no intention of buying this Microsoft license. At this point, she advised me that Rackspace would not be able to help me with my project. I was advised to log out of mycloud.rackspace.com. I asked, "Will I stop incurring hourly charges once I log off?" She responded, "Yes." After using the billing calculator on www.rackspace.com, I thought I had spent $6.40 or $9.60 (i.e., 2 to 3 hours) on my Rackspace experience. I hung up, logged off and never logged back into Rackspace again. On April 15, I logged into ******** ******* to pay my (overdue) bill. I was horrified to see that I had charges of $2,334.80 and $2,521.32 = $4,856.12 on my last 2 statements. With the assistance of Rackspace's ********* *********, I deleted my server instance. Until April 15, I literally had no idea that I was still using Rackspace's resources - or that I needed to "delete my server" (rather than merely "log off") in order to stop incurring hourly fees. In fact, my conversation with technical support led me to believe differently.

Desired Settlement: I was billed $2,334.80 for the month ending mid-February and another $2,521.32 for the month ending mid-March. In response to by phone calls, Rackspace agreed not to invoice me for the period ending mid-April. Unfortunately, I don't have a recording of my phone conversation with Rackspace technical support on Jan 17 - nor does Rackspace. However, it was this conversation that led me to believe that I would no longer be using Rackspace resources if I "logged off." I would like my bill to be adjusted to a total of $9.60 + tax, (i.e, the 3 hours that I spent using Rackspace on January 17 before realizing that my project could not be completed with their services).

Business Response: Rackspace has provided notice to this customer via our ticketing system that we will be issuing a full refund for services rendered. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is further to the original complaint *******. We were told by one branch of the company that a refund would be given for the lack of service. The refund of $350.00 was received on March 25, 2014. On April 21, 2014 , we received a payment demand for the same service from the Account receivable department that the other part of the company gave us a refund for. We are not sure what this means other then there seems to be a disconnect between branches of the company. We have attempted to contact AR and to let them know but our efforts have fallen on deaf ears.

Desired Settlement: We would like the Customer service department to let the Account Receivable department know that this case has been closed. Furthermore we would like this closure to be sent to us in writing so that we may close our file.

Business Response: Your account is closed and in good standing.  A notification generated yesterday in error regarding a balance on the account. This issue has been remedied, and no further correspondence should generate moving forward.  This notice will also be sent directly to you by our A/R Team.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi there, I noticed that you guys keep charging me even I have been deleted the rental server/host in the cloud service already. I called in and explained the problem; however, rather investigating thoroughly about the problem, the support person jumped right into conclusion that I ordered the storgage before and did not delete the storage when I deleted the host, therefore, the charge was for the storage (storageblock). I explained that I did not order the storage. In addition, I explained also when I deleted the server/host, there was NO alert or messages telling me that there was a storage out there that was part of the host that would need to be deleted as well. The support person was kind of rude and again implied that if I didn't know how to remove the storage, I could have called in and had someone walk me through. She also added that she was willing to remove the charge of 3months ($33 USD) in the good faith (but still with the same tone, the fault was still on me!). I told her that I appreciated the offer; however, I couldn't take the attitute or thought that it was my fault and told her that she was not really understand my feeling (in fact, she hurted my feeling). In writing this letter, I would like the management of Rackspace to credit back my money for the last 3months that the company charged for the service that I did not order. That was just simply the right thing to do. No nonsenses business here. God blesses you. Thanks, ***** ****** ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: Refund the paid charges and correct the business practices/processes in fault claims for the charges.

Business Response: On March 6, 2014, Rackspace credited/refunded $33.09 and closed this account. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I still have not received the refund credited to my bank account yet.  Today is March 10th, 2014.  I will allow couple more days to see whether the refund posted on my account in the next few days before closing the complaint.

Again, the complaint was not only for the refund of my money for the service that I've never used, but also for the sake of respectful to customer's integrity and honesty.  In my case, I was treated like a "criminal" and the company was kind of "blessing" me for my "mistake".  I am a small business owner as well as a customer and I don't not feel I was treated with a proper respect in our business engagement.

The incident have made me feel so bad and disgusting for a few more months and years to come.  I wish you and your company the best.


Regards,

***** ******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I briefly an account with Rackspace. I chose not to continue with them, verified that I had a zero balance, and closed the account manually. Now several months later, they are sending me demands for payment of $449.06. I wrote back stating I left and had not used their service and owed nothing when I severed the relationship. Their reply is that I have to call and arrange payment or face collection

Desired Settlement: I request that this bill be discharged.

Business Response: Mr. ******** began utilizing Rackspace services on December 15, 2013.  In the 30 day period of the billing cycle, Mr. ******** provisioned 26 virtual servers as shown in the attached invoice.  All of these servers were utilized for some period of time during the billing cycle.  Even though Mr. ******** closed his account with Rackspace and believed he had a zero balance, the fact is that he closed his account prior to his first invoice being generated.

Mr. ******** provisioned services from Rackspace in our Public Cloud offering and utilized those services.  Rackspace provided those services and billed the appropriate amount.  Rackspace asks that we be paid for the services provided.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
While true I did utilize the service briefly, I again retierate that my account was balanced upon my departure. 

My cessation of activity occurred several months ago.  During that time, I did not receive a single communication from Rackspace regarding this issue.  They now present a bill and demand payment of several hundred dollars.  I find it hard to believe that this is a genuine bill when the account was zero upon departure and no invoice or communication had been previously received, but they now produce a 'past due' bill and threaten collection

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RackSpace forced us to order their DDOS mitigation service for $6,000 one-time-fee. They basically took our servers hostage, they took our firewall offline and said our servers are under DDOS attack and the only way for us to resolve the issue is by purchasing their $6,000 DDOS mitigation services. We agreed to the mitigation because we had no choice. I made it clear to my account rep that I was unhappy with the decision. What drives me crazy is that as soon as we agreed to the $6,000 charge in less than 15 minutes everything was setup and surprise surprise the attack subsided (**** said: Currently the IP in protect is not receiving a lot of traffic and the firewall is currently stable and idle. It appears the attack has subsided but i will leave your IP in protect mode for now). This happened 15 minutes after we agreed to the charge!!!! I feel like we were held hostage to pay the fee and that is not the right way to do business.

Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment for amount of $6,000

Business Response: Rackspace has researched this issue and below is a short summary of the events:

On October 19, 2013, customer sustained a malicious attack (DDos), which is a violation of the Rackspace Acceptable Use Policy.  After being sent a whitelist of IP addresses by the customer, Rackspace attempted to have the firewall mitigate the attack, including nullrouting the malicious traffic at the firewall.  The firewall option failed, and the only other option to protect the Rackspace network was the utilization of the DDos Mitigation device.  In ticket number ************, customer ****** *******, agreed to the terms of the installation of the DDos mitigation device at the cost of $6,000.  The malicious traffic stopped once the DDoS Mitigation device was activated.  This is the sole purpose of the DDos mitigation device; to stop malicious traffic.  Therefore, the supplemental service provided by Rackspace and that the customer accepted on October 19, 2013 worked in accordance with the terms and conditions of such service.

However, in an effort to resolve this issue, Rackspace is willing to offer a one (1) month credit which equates to $3,326.  Please let us know if this is acceptable and we will issue the credit immediately.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a customer of Rackspace for a couple of years. About 6 months ago, I believe I manually cancelled my account. However, I am still being charged monthly. As I have not used this account in 6 months, I do not have the username and password. Because I do not have access to the original email address, Rackspace will not allow me to reset my password and refuses to assist me in doing so via phone. They also refuse to cancel the account via phone. I was able to provide all other relevant information, including the credit card information that they are charging, the "secret question and answer" for password resetting, etc... I have emailed them and notified in writing that they no longer have access to charge my credit card. However, they have indicated that they will continue to do so until the account is cancelled (which they will not let me do). At this point, my only other option is to cancel my credit card, at which point they will cancel my account anyways due to lack of payment. I only want my account cancelled, however, no one at the company will assist me in doing so.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account

Business Response: Rackspace has attempted to research this complaint; however, we cannot locate Mr. *******'s account based on the information provided in the complaint.  Please have Mr. ******* provide his Rackspace account number so we may confirm his account and look into resolving this issue.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

Hello,

The account # of my account is ******
Support Ticket #*******
UN: *******
Email Address: ************@******.com (this is the account that I no longer have access to, therefore not able to reset my password)
Secondary Email Address: ********@******.com
Security Question: What is the best town to live in?
Security Answer: Watertown
I also can provide the credit card number for which I want cancelled, as well as security code, expiration date, billing address, etc...

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Our Terms and Conditions state “You must follow Rackspace's non-renewal process accessible from the Rackspace Cloud control panel to give an effective notice of non-renewal.“
http://www.rackspace.com/information/legal/cloud/tos

However, since Mr. ******* provided additional information in his complaint relating to the subject account, we will make a one time exception to our contractual non-renewal process. Please note we consider Mr. ******* responsible for this request, and actions that we are taking per this request. The account has been closed.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you for your help.
 
Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company had been using a service provided by Rackspace for almost 3 years called **********. I started with the company a year and 1/2 ago and have been setting up new accounts regularly. There is an invoicing section on the administration page and it goes all the way back to 2010 saying "Success" next to the invoice. This morning the service stopped working. When i contacted support at first they said the card on file was expired, which is is not. What really happened was a mistake in their billing software deactivaed out account and deleted all our data so we didnt even have a chance to get it back, no notification was ever sent, one day we were backing up our data and the next it was inaccessible and unretrievable. They are not willing to help us get very important data that we used to store on their servers

Desired Settlement: I would like to recover the information they deleted. They admitted it was a mistake by their billing department, we did nothing wrong but they wont get us our data, which is extremely important to us. Its frustrating that they know it was a mistake in their ssytem but are unwilling to help us retrieve data we trusted them to keep safe

Business Response: Rackspace Support has reached out to Mr. ***** directly with an offer in good faith.  Since this account at issue here was a Trial Account, and all data associated with Trial Accounts is at this time unrecoverable and inaccessible, Rackspace Support has offered six (6) months free ********** services if Mr. ***** wishes to continue utilizing the ********** service under a non-trial account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for Rackspace.com and have used their services for month with a bill of $250.00 per month. Now I upgraded to a cloud db but when i contacted support on how to use it.. they said I couldn't because it had to be located at the same datacenter of the servers I was hosting my sites on. So I never used the service and when I realized I was charged an Additional $590.00 I contacted rackspace immediately to let them know I never used those services and it was clearly a mistake. They offered me credit for half of the amount I was billed for but isn't the same when you have bills that are due. I asked numerous times for a refund of the $590.00 amount because it's something I did not use. I plan on filing legal complaints about this matter. Such giant company who see's my average spend should at least let customers know if they exceed their bill by 3 times. This is not a service I would recommend because like others I'm sure I'm not the only one who has had money taken from his account for a service they did not use.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund

Business Response: Rackspace has reviewed all the information regarding this complaint and agrees to offer a refund in the amount of $591.90 for the DB services.  Furthermore, if Mr. ****** wishes, Rackspace will have a Support member contact him directly to propose which specific DB services would be best utilized for the particular product being used by Mr. ****** at Rackspace.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I established a cloud sites with Rackspace because I was informed by ***** ****** an employee with Rackspace whose cell phone # is ************ that this environment would be perfect for a ******* ********* store. Even though their plan was more expensive than the competition, I heard great things about Rackspace and decided to go with Rackspace. After numerous problems and numerous limitations on the server, we found that this cloud sites was not able to support a ******* ********* store whatsoever. The server was slow, there were numerous, "request timed out" errors, memory limit issues, and so on. I spoke to Jeremy Brown with Rackspace and he informed me that cloud sites will not work with a ******* ********* store and that I was misinformed when I signed up with Rackspace. I also spoke to my developer and we found it was best to get off cloud sites and Rackspace altogether and switch to a new server completely. I negotiated with my developer a $210.00 fee to transfer the site to the new server which I already paid for and I hold Rackspace accountable for that charge. Rackspace must reimburse all costs incurred from the day I signed up and must also reimburse me the transfer fee because of your negligence on the misinformation from ***** ******. I was charged $150.01 on 4-9-13, and on 3/11/13 I was charged $150.00. With the site transfer fee of $210.00, the total refund I must receive is $510.01. Jeremy Brown told me that he was able to get this refund of $510.01 to me and then I got another message from ******** ***** and **** * that they can only refund the monthly charges of $300.01 and not the transfer fee I incurred of $210.00. This company deceived me from day one and has continued to all the way to the end. They are deceitful and people need to know about this. I have had a horrific experience with this company. I generally would never go through this whole process but I feel that I was badly deceived by ***** ****** just to make a commission. This person caused delays in my project and unnecessary expenses that I would have never incurred hadn't I have been deceived. Jeremy Brown was extremely apologetic about it and understood the situation ***** ****** put me in because of it. I hold Rackspace fully accountable for the additional expenses incurred and Rackspace should take responsibility of their employees. I would appreciate it if this situation would be handled expeditiously so we can move on.

Desired Settlement: A total refund of $510.01 as agreed by ****** ***** with Rackspace including two monthly fees and the site transfer fee of $210.00.

Business Response: Rackspace US, Inc. has provided a refund for the two credit card charges and a wire transfer in the amount of $210.00.  With the credits and payment, the total amount provided back is $510.01 as per the release agreement agreed to by *** *********** on May 6, 2013.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ***********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1