Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Earthwise

Phone: (210) 355-7385 9322 Harvest Trl, San Antonio, TX 78250 http://www.earthwisehousecleaning.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Earthwise meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Earthwise include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Earthwise
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 2009 Business started: 01/11/2006 in TX Business started locally: 01/11/2006 Business incorporated 01/11/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michelle McKenna, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle McKenna, Owner
Business Category

House Cleaning Maids & Butlers Service Organizing Services - Household & Business Personal Services

Alternate Business Names
TayLon Inc

Additional Locations

  • 9322 Harvest Trl

    San Antonio, TX 78250 (210) 355-7385

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Interacting with Earthwise cleaning was an awful experience. We purchased the cleaning service through an advertisement on Angie's list. When the first cleaning team arrived (35 minutes later than the agreed upon time), they were unprofessional, disheveled, disorganized, and impolite. They did not bring all of their own cleaning supplies, and of the ones they did bring, none were special "eco-friendly" products as advertised on the website. They were given detailed verbal and written instructions as to what should be cleaned. They were in our home for 6.5 hours. Upon returning, it was immediately obvious that nothing on the list was completed. The baseboards and kitchen floor were actually dirtier than when we left with visible streaks and a scummy residue. Additionally, multiple picture frames were crooked, a plastic bathroom cup was completely missing, a glass bathroom fixture was broken with glass shards on the floor (they knew we had young children!), and they left our home unlocked when they left! Furthermore, they did some things that we specifically instructed them (verbal and written) not to do (changing bed linens, arranging stuffed animals). What makes it worse is they were given our contact information and specifically asked to call when they were finished; they never called, but told their supervisor they did. We contacted the owner to express our concerns. She arranged for a different cleaner to come the following day. Unfortunately, she never once apologized for the awful service or the inconvenience of having to arrange a second cleaning. The second cleaner, was given the same verbal and written instructions. Additionally, a walk-through was performed to highlight the mistakes of the first team. She agreed that multiple things on our list were not done at all, and others were done in a very sloppy way. She stated "[The owner] thought that you were being too picky." The second cleaner worked for 3 hours, and overall did a good job. We contacted the owner several days later with a detailed message about the service we received and asked that we pay only for the second cleaner's service (~$92), as the first team actually made more work for us. Again, there was no apology. She stated that she would contact Angie's list and let us know her decision. After three weeks and multiple messages, she finally offered to refund us only $30 for the broken item. She told us that she had contacted Angie's list customer service 3 times, but we later learned from Angie's list that they had no record of contact. In summary, the experience with the first cleaning team was absolutely awful, and expecting us to pay for it is absurd. "Eco-friendly" cleaning products were not used as advertised. But the most concerning part of this whole interaction was that the owner, has on multiple occasions refused to take responsibility for her business. Worse still, she blatantly lied about having contacted the Angie's list customer service department three times.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund for services not rendered to agreed upon standard to the amount of $107.15.

Business Response:

EarthWise House Cleaning has 10 hours in this job. Her complaint lacks the truth. The problem is she expected my staff to be at her home for 7 hours each. When in fact, it was 7 man hours total — 3.5 hours each. Even though she only purchased a 6.5 hour coupon I scheduled 2 people for 3.5 hours each. She misread the coupon and then she made up a story to get a refund. The coupon states "no refunds". My employees were rude, yet she was not even there for more than enough time to show them the home. She said we left her house open and she didn't know it. I called her and my staff called her multiple times for her to go home because we couldn't lock her house. I have text messages telling her we had left and she told me to run out the garage door after pushing the door button. I told her we were already gone. I contacted her after the 2nd time we were at her home and she was very happy with the job and even sent my staff a smiley face. She complained that my staff wore an oversized top. She had the audacity to send me a text telling me I should fire my staff. She complained their caddy was unorganized. How does she know what was used to clean when she was not even home? I did contact Angie's List 3 times. How would she know whether I did or not?


I have had this business for over 5 years with an impeccable reputation. I had to go to an attorney and have them send her a Cease and Desist letter to stop her bullying and threatening. I employ over 18 families that work for me. Many single moms. I could have given her a refund, but it's the principal of it. I will not bow down and allow someone to threaten me using the Angie's List venue or the Better Business Bureau. I will continue with my lawsuit for deformation of character and deformation of my business.

 

Thank you,

******** ********

 Owner, EarthWise House Cleaning