Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Home & Living Solutions

Phone: (254) 953-8259 Fax: (254) 953-8260 903 S Amy Ln, Harker Heights, TX 76548 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ahlscleaning.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Home & Living Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Home & Living Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Home & Living Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 2005 Business started: 07/01/2002 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/2002 Business incorporated 07/30/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Barbra Hartbarger, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Barbra Hartbarger, Owner/President
Business Category

House Cleaning Interior Decorators & Designers Maids & Butlers Service Organizing Services - Household & Business Cleaning Services Home Staging Deodorizing & Disinfecting

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Hartbarger Industries, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Home & Living Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 903 S Amy Ln

    Harker Heights, TX 76548 (254) 953-8259

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Home Living Solutions is not a business you want to hire; and I told them I would report them. I was cheated out of two cleaning fees of approximately $119.08. They do not pay their employees enough money to keep a consistent staff. And After several changes I asked that I be notified if there was someone new coming to clean my house but this did not happen. I came home from work one evening to find my house cleaning session totally insufficient. I knew it was a new cleaner because the window sills were full of little tiny bugs, my floors streaked, the bed linens not changed or washed, the furniture not wiped down, nor was any dusting done. I did not get my money back, or have another cleaning performed for free. The owner told me I should have called her right away and they would have come and cleaned it again. But because I did not call it was my fault and nothing could be done about it because I cleaned without notifying them. However, they were not open when I came home and only have an answering machine. Plus, I was having my Bible Study group in my house that night. The changes in staff in my home became very frequent and I was getting tired of this. The final straw came when I WAS notified that there would be another change after only two cleanings and only one cleaning prior to that one with another change. I was not going to be home for the new cleaner so I told the owner this was just not working out. She offered to come with the cleaner, but I refused. I did not want to continue with this pattern. I believe she could not keep her staff because she only paid about a fourth of that she charged her clients. And kept what little staff she had by threatening to fine them $1500 dollars if they quit, but went to work for someone on her client list for 2 years. She also threatened to fine the prior client the same amount. She did have a contract with both, but I if you treat your clients and staff with respect, this might not be necessary. I can even see a year with no contact, but 2 years seems a little excessive when the staff is so underpaid. I was also lied to when she raised her prices because of the price of supplies, as she told me. I wonder if she raised the staff pay because they had to pay for their own supplies they used in cleaning? Finally, when I did stop using the service I was billed the following for service. I called to asked why, and was told to provide proof as they had no records for me because I stopped their service. No records kept? Do they not pay the IRS for services previously rendered? so I sent my proof and was told I did not give a thirty day notice as required by contract. Okay they billed me at the first of the month and did not clean until the last week of the month. I did notify them 30 days before the last cleaning, but of course they were going to charge me for the next month in just a few days! She failed to remind me of this, and that I was gong to be charged for the next cleaning anyway. However, she did remind me I would be fined $1500 if I used anyone to clean for me that had been in my house in the previous two years! Let me tell you when this lady gets her hands on your money, she is not going to let go of it! So she cheated me out of about $238.16 total. I would like my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $239.16 I was charged for cleaning services refunded; since the duties were not performed.

Business Response: August 19,2015

Case # ********

***** * *******

Response:

American Home & Living Solutions has over the years refunded and reimbursed clients when we were in agreement that we had made an error.  We have reviewed this complaint, and feel we did no harm to the client directly, have not caused damages to her property, and were not negligent in our service agreement with her.

The timeline on **. *******’s cancellation: She was notified, upon her request, on 6/9/ 2015 there would be a new contractor and that I, (****** **********, the owner) would be with the new contractor to ensure a smooth transition.  It is in our notes she wanted to be notified when someone different would be cleaning her home. So, we were in compliance of her request.  Her previous cleaner was no longer available; she had taken a different job.  During her conversation with me, she did not mention cancelling her service.  I assured her that all the proper procedures were followed; back ground checks, risk assessment test, orientation, test house, etc.

On 6/10/2015 notice was given by phone message that she was cancelling her service.  In her message, she stated she had made other arrangements.  She received a billing statement mid May with her upcoming cleaning date 6/17/2015.  So, in our review- cancellation on 6/10 upcoming cleaning 6/17 is not 30 days notice.  AHLS charged the credit card on file 6/1/2015, charges were made to her account 6/3/2015 in the amount of $119.08, this was for the scheduled cleaning on 6/17/2015.
  
We have a signed service agreement that **. ******* acknowledged receiving a copy of our policies and procedures.  Signed and dated 1/24/2011 this was a new policy agreement.  We have a signed agreement from **. ******* acknowledging our no solicitation policy and that AHLS has the right to assess an Agency referral fee of $1,500.00 plus court costs and attorney’s fees in the event of breach of this agreement. Signed and dated 1/24/2010

We have a copy of the letter sent to **. ******* in regards to the price increase she made reference to in her letter.  Since 2010 she received one price increase of $10 for services, after being a client for 4 years.  All clients were given a 30 day notice of the increase.  At which time the client did not cancel service.  

To address **. *******’s accusations in regards to the amount we pay our contractors, their pay changes when our pricing changes.  Our contractors are all paid a commission rate of 43% on every job.  The rate of pay is not the business of a consumer, but I feel full disclosure is necessary since **. *******’s statements are false and damaging to the image of my company in her written complaint.  Contractors agree to the amount paid and many have earned well over $10.00 per hour on most jobs.

We have made extensive notes on **. *******'s account over the years including her preferences, and requests. We took great pride in providing services to **. ******* for over 5 years and considered her a very loyal and valued client. We have always done our best to accommodate her needs even when circu**tances were out of our control.

Several other accusations had been made in the complaint as well, such as the many changes in staff.  In reviewing her account she has had 6 cleaners in about a 5 year timeline.  This is a difficult industry to keep staff longer term; it is not a permanent career path for many.  One of the 6 cleaners was assigned to her home as a substitute for her regular contractor who was on vacation.

We keep excellent records and when I was called about the charges I could not find what I needed quickly, so I requested a copy of her statement and stated I would review her request and get back to her. I sent a letter the same day with our findings.  

We strive to meet our clients’ expectations on every visit, but sometimes we have fallen short.  All clients have been given my cell phone number and I make myself available as much as possible.  They also can leave a message on the office phone, email, or text.  It is our policy to be told within 24 hrs of a problem and it is our policy to go back as soon as possible.  In this case that **. ******* is referring to she already took care of the problem and a re-service was declined.  I do not feel I should reimburse her several months later, this is an unreasonable request.

Accusing me of threatening my staff is a gross misrepresentation at best.  My company has a service agreement with each contractor and it specifies all fees they can occur if they are in breach of the monthly agreement they sign.  No contractor has been threatened with a fine of $1,500.00 for quitting.  This is another false statement made by **. ******* and I feel is damaging to my company.  Contractors also sign as part of their agreement a no solicitation with the understanding legal action may result if they do breach the agreement which could be greater than $1,500.00 if they are soliciting more than one client.  We are within our legal rights and have passed a State audit by Texas Workforce Commission 2012.

In closing, I feel I have addressed most of the accusations made and if copies of signed agreements are needed they will be provided upon request.  Again, I do not feel a refund should be awarded to this complaint.


Sincerely,

****** **********
President
American Home & Living Solutions

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on American Home & Living Solutions
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart