Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Austin Home Systems

Phone: (512) 293-3179 Fax: (866) 792-6240 1404 W 6th St, Austin, TX 78703 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Home Theater: Audio-Visual Consultants, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Audio-Visual Equipment - Supplies & Parts.  Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers; Home Automation

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Home Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Home Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2008 Business started: 09/01/2007 Business started locally: 09/01/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lucas Libonati, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lucas Libonati, President
Business Category

Home Theater Audio-Visual Consultants Home Automation Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Audio-Visual Equipment - Supplies & Parts Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Hours of Operation
By Appointment

Additional Locations

  • 1404 W 6th St

    Austin, TX 78703 (512) 293-3179


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased an expensive audio/visual system from this company less than one year ago. Promises made were not kept, installation botched from the beginning. Constant failure of system has caused days without it working, numerous trips from company to finally fix it. Still constant failures. Overheating of equipment in existing cabinet, which should have been anti pated and addressed from the start took months for them to figure out. Needless frustration and extra costs for us. Now the system is down again. Emails to company only result in anger from dealer. I am done with this mess. I would like equipment fully removed and refund given. Our tv and sound system sit gathering dust. Also a needless hole was made in my brand new shelving unit, doors to cabinets permanently damaged.

Desired Settlement: I want all equipment provided by Austin Home Systems removed and a complete refund given.

Business Response:

This was a job that was originally sold by **** ****** who was let go not long after this project was completed.  The client did not get along very well with the salesperson over her project, so I took over and completed the project.  I saw that there was a missing component to the project so I sent over a technician to install over $600 of equipment that I did not charge for since there where a few problems getting the system going.  After this point the system was working I had not heard back from the client until Saturday.  I received several emails in a short period of time and responded as quickly as I could, I did relay to the client that I was watching my 2 and 4 year old children.  Once my wife returned home I did attempt to call the client to no avail, now the client has filed this complaint and has asked for her money back.  There are 2 false statements here, 1 I was never irate with here because there was no communication, second $12,000 is not a correct amount.  I have attached the correct invoices that show the total amount and my email responses.  

I was happy to send someone over to her house today to get the system back online but she did not care for that.

Thank You,

***** ******


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The company has been out time and time again to fix the system the "final"time only to have it malfunction again within days or weeks. I therefore, do not trust having someone "fix" it for the umpteenth time. It WILL fail again.

I was offered a refund for equipment minus a 15% restocking fee and no refund for labor. I paid, in good faith $8272.59 to have this thing be installed and work 24/7. I should be refunded the full amount. I can't help if the labor I paid for was ineffective and the packaging was removed at installation by the company. I should not be charged restocking.

I got along very well with the salesman, ***** ******. Mr. ******** reports to the contrary, are completely untrue. I did not enjoy one of the installers, ****, who had no regard for trying to prevent damages to my home. I had had brand new cabinets installed prior to this installation which were chipped, a useless hole drilled in them and all 4 custom doors permanently damaged. The doors no longer line up or latch. I have paid people to try to fix them but to no avail. They will need to be replaced. When I mentioned the damage to **** during one of his numerous attempts (sometimes lasting well into the evening), he laughed and said, "Oops!" The cost to repair this damage will easily be $1000, if not more.

I was mistaken on what I paid Austin Homes Systems. Seemed I was shelling out lots of money beyond the original bid, therefore I lost track. 

Also, Mr. ****** didn't hear from us "for months" recently regarding problems because we were out of town since mid May and just recently returned to a non-working system. I emailed him on Friday. He suggested one action but it failed to help. That is what began our email communication on Saturday. I know they have the ability to analyze and "fix" things remotely and I was hoping either Mr. ****** could do that or one of his installers (who have done this on Saturdays and Sundays, during the months long saga.

Lastly, I did not use the word "irate" to describe Mr. ******. I said he "became angry" which is exactly the truth. I am fed up.


Thank you.


******* ******



******* ******

Business Response:

I have included in this response the email response I received on Saturday when I attempted to contact Mrs. ******.  As earlier noted I was taking care of my 2 and 4 year old children that require constant attention and make it hard to talk to clients, especially when service calls over the phone can be lengthy.  Mrs. ******s response was "if you called to yell at me, I don't have time", then goes on with "I'll file the complaint and find someone who knows what they are doing to fix this."

In this correspondence she has somehow perceived that I am angry.  This has never been the case, I have been doing Audio Video for 12 years now and I have learned not to get upset over electronics.  I was simply calling to help with the system.  I have included a snapshot of my Control4 dashboard that shows I have 88 automation systems online, all of which are working.  This system was also working for a very long time.  My conclusion is that while away from home for an extended period of time there was a power outage that got the network based system out of sync, a common problem with todays technology and a very simple fix. I have over 600 clients, all of which are pleased with my work and many have written great things on the internet about my teams extensive knowledge and professionalism.

I have made several attempts to call and come out and get the system working.  I do not believe that I owe a refund for this project.  The system has been in place since November of 2015 and there are elements of this system that cannot not be removed, like wiring infrastructure behind walls and speakers that are installed into drywall. In my contract it states that "


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We have been dissatisfied with this system and the service from the beginning.  Our concerns all along were met with assurances that the damage would be repaired and the bugs in the system would be resolved.  We initially believed that they could make the system work properly and that the damage to the cabinet doors and walls would be repaired.  They are unable to fix the system, despite repeated day-long attempts by their technicians.  The system is currently inoperable and we believe that they lack the ability to ever make it work like they promised us when we purchased it.  We expect a full refund and no further business with this company.


******* ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Home Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)