This business is not BBB accredited.

First Impression Homes

Phone: (512) 442-7653 Fax: (512) 628-3088 PO Box 161811, Austin, TX 78716


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for First Impression Homes include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for First Impression Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Impression Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 2003 Business started: 01/27/2003 Business started locally: 01/27/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bill Harthcock, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Harthcock, Owner
Business Category

Home Staging


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 161811

    Austin, TX 78716 (512) 442-7653

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company first impression homes did not return my security deposit upon my move out of the home. The Contract I have with first impression homes clearly States they are to return my deposit within 30 days of Move out. It is now been 35 days and still no deposit or no resolution. I Am highly concerned I have just uncovered that I am not the first to be scammed by this company. I left the home in perfect condition as witnessed by the homeowner. First impression homes offered no itemization list or reason for keeping my entire security deposit. I Have made every attempt to contact the owner **** ********* who has only Offered more delays and unbelievable stories.

Desired Settlement: I would like my security deposit back that I entitled to.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon move-out of home tenders at **** * ***** in *** ******** **, the home tenders took an ***** vacuum and a cut crystal bowl belonging to the owner of the property. The home owner and real estate agent have contacted via e-mail, texts, voicemails **** ********* for the items to be returned to ***** *********. At the only contact with ****, he gave the phone number of the home tenders to the owner. The owner called and the home tenders told her that the items will not be returned until they receive their deposit back from First Home Impressions. ***** and her real estate agent have left numerous texts, voicemails to rectify the situation. She still has not received the items nor returned calls or texts. The home tenders are "holding hostage" the vacuum cleaner and cut crystal bowl until they receive their deposit from First Impressions. This is not the home tenders property nor are they allowed to use it as a bargaining items. **** has not made any effort in returning the items from the home tenders to *****. ***** ********* wants her vacuum and bowl returned.

Desired Settlement: ***** wants her vacuum cleaner and cut crystal bowl returned no later than Dec. 15, 2013. If not returned, then payment of $850 for the ***** vacuum cleaner and $150 for the cut crystal bowl for a total of $1000

9/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr **** ********* ***** of First Impression Homes agreed with an Attorney working on my behalf during a phone conference , that I a rent tenant was to sign a letter of agreement to move out of this rental property. 15 days before the end of the month . It was drawn up signed and sent via registered mail on **** April 2013 I was given 4 days to leave and have property cleaned . This was done. The reason why I had to move out is because on the *** of April 2013. Mr **** ********* in front of a witness employed by the landlord of the property hung up twice not wishing to deal with a major problem of a serious water leak and an existing black mold problem in the walls of the property it had been poorly covered up and was now exposed. Mr **** ********* was fully aware that I have two small children staying with me at risk to this black mold problem. A plumbing company was contacted by First Impression homes two days later. I was to pay $65 .00 charge under the conditions of my 3 month home management rental agreement. The First Impression Homes contracted plumbing company cancelled 8 times over a four day period creating considerable problems for my move out . I moved out and had the power water and refuge cancelled as it was in my name. Mr **** ********* contacted me the following day saying I had to get them reconnected. The service companies wanted a min of three months contract and to pay for reconnection I was not able to do this. On all occasions from April * th Mr ********* threaten to evict me if I complained or told anyone about the problems with the house including my attorney and the plumber and to keep the information from the landlord. Threatening to put me on a rental /realtor black list for 7 years. And he still is ! I moved out as per agreement made with my attorney and Mr ********* . He didn't show up for arranged walk through of property. He hasn't refunded my $1200.00 rental deposit paid to First Impression Homes on ** March 2013 or the $600.00 for leaving the premises on the ** th April 2013 half way through the month at considerable cost to me. I had only one choice to put everything into storage units. I moved twice in a two week period. Mr ********* is unwilling to resolve this dispute and has behaved like a spoilt brat from the beginning lying to landlords as a business method of working, listing agents, and myself the Home manager renting the property. This is not the first time Mr **** ********* has embarked on with holding deposits or threatening renters. On several occasions I found the listing agent standing in my front lounge as if it was her house, No appointments were made with me during the first two months of living there, and I wast not allowed to talk to realtors otherwise I would forfeit my deposit. Back doors were left open and items were now going missing! Which I informed First Impression Homes Mr **** ********* but nothing was done. Ive contacted Mr **** ********* by phone and e-mail several times in the last week as it has been over a calendar month and he is require to return my deposits. But have been told NOT to contact him via e-mail again" . ....Basically I am being told To GO AWAY (I've got your money and there's nothing you can do about it.!) Attorney Mr ..............can attest too irrational hostility during his conference calls. On the 10th and 11th of April 2013 and the drawing of a contract negotiated by Mr **** *********. As per agreement Ive had no contact with owners of the property never discussed the property with listing agent , any realtors, or previous tenant. I spoke to no one that had an interest in buying or selling the property as per home mangers contract. There was a major problem with a cat smell from previous tenant this became increasingly apparent when the warm weather came the water leak added to this. Mr ********* blamed the listing agent for leaving the back door open and used this as the excuse to lie to the owners of property asking for them to pay for pet clean up.The house was kept up in show room condition owners employee can attest to this. I'm actually sure that making this complaint providing you information is also in breach of contract. I don't believe Mr ********* should be allowed to get away with his business practice

Desired Settlement: First Impression Homes has the responsibility to pay me $1800.00 and make a firm commitment in writing not too black list me with rental /realtor agencies Please also contact Mr **** ********** ******** ** *** mobile ***** ******** email : ***************

Business Response: ****, 

 

I have read the letter below that you faxed me yesterday
concerning Mr. *******’ complaint.  First Impression Homes “generally
denies”  all allegations in that letter. 

 

Mr. ******* breached his contract with First Impression
Homes nine ways to Sunday.  Regarding some of his breaches, the law
address directly and clearly states the legally penalty for such actions of his
(which adds up to thousands of dollars). What I read in the letter below was
almost entirely untruths or half-truths.  If Mr. ******* elects to pursue
this issue, he will end up owing First Impression Homes thousands of dollars in
final judgment.  I have no other agreements with anyone concerning this
matter or the matter of Mr. ******* living in a home of First Impression Homes
except with **** ******* (in the form of a Home Manager Agreement).  I have
never made any agreement with his attorney. 

 

**** ******* should read the contracts he signs and comply
with the mutually agreed upon terms.  I would further encourage him stop
wasting many people’s time, including his own, by spending any further effort
on this frivolous matter.  There is no merit to his position.  At
this point, First Impression Homes does not intend on taking a plaintiff role
in this situation.





Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:First Impression Homes have withheld $1800,00 of my money, that's stealing and its not the first time from what I see on the Internet reviews.When trying to settle this dispute in an adult and professional manner Mr **** ********* became abusive to my attorney and but agreed to sign a letter / contract to move forward 

Regards,

**** *******




This a a little difficult as its not set up for mobile interaction. However I would like to see the BBB not to stop at this point and to resolve this problem. You cannot allow people to trade on your reputation and to continue their crooked behavior . Stealing is stealing I think you could at least talk to Mr **** ********** attorney at law who handled the contact.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on First Impression Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)