BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Green Home Improvements include:

  • 17 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Green Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 10/01/1985 Business started locally: 10/01/1985 Business incorporated: 12/30/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris de la Garza, Owner Mr. Brian Clinton, Marketing Bill Macintyre, VP of Sales & Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris de la Garza, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Contractor - Insulation Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Energy Conservation Products & Services Glass Coating & Tinting Gutters & Downspouts Contractors - Gutters

Alternate Business Names
DLG Diversified LLC Green Home Improvements
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 12746 Cimmaron Path Suite 103

    San Antonio, TX 78249

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 493-2214(Phone)
  • (210) 767-2881(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 24, 2013. I signed an acknowledge receipt (JOB # *********) for environmental home improvements for my home for a total of $8931.00 and gave them a check for $2000.00 down payment. I had to make repairs (myself) to one of the bedroom ceilings and the attic before (GHI) Green Home Improvements could begin any improvements. I started on these repairs (myself) on August 30, 2013, and I found that there is to much current damage to the entire ceiling through out the house, and it is not financially worth it for me to invest $8931.00 in this house for environmental up-grades, I notified (called) GHI on September 2, 2013, that I did not want the contract / their services anymore. On the GHI (acknowledge receipt) contract it states "Owner may cancel this transaction at any time prior to midnight of the third business day after the date of this transaction" it was seven days later when I found/learned that the house is not worth GHI's services.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the down payment check of $2000.00 for I do not want to invest my income for improvements in this house.

Business Response: Mr. ******** purchased home energy products from our company on 08/24/2013.  He was contacted by and spoke with the administration office on 08/26/2013.  On 08/27/2013 he was contacted again by the administration office and an installation date was given to him.  He informed the office that he was having roof work done and would have to hold off installation for a bit longer.  He said he would contact the office 09/03/2013 to set install.  Contact was made with client 09/03/2013 and a new installation date of 09/06/2013 was given.  Mr. ******** again said he would have to push install back further.  On 09/04/2013 Mr. ******** contacted the office and requested to cancel his contract.  A representative of the sales department contacted Mr. ******** regarding this on 09/04/2013 and 09/09/2013.  Mr. ******** stated he wanted to cancel his contract on both dates.  On 09/18/2013 Mr. ******** spoke with the administration department and informed them that he would like Green Home Improvements to hold on to his money ($2000.00) until he can purchase a different home, and have the home energy products installed there.  He stated this would take place in the next 18 months.  On 09/25/2013 the wife of Mr. ******** came into the office and asked to cancel the contract she had with our company.  She was informed that since the contract was in her husbands name only, he would have to contact us regarding this.  Mr. ******** did not contact the company after that and did not answer any phones calls made to him by our company.  On 10/01/2013 Mr. ******** filed a complaint regarding the refund of his money.  Calls were made to Mr. ******** on 10/01/2013, 10/03/2013, and 10/04/2013 to fascilitate the refund of his money.  He returned a call on 10/04/2013 to discuss the refund.  The administration apologized for any misunderstandings or miscommunications, and a check in the amount of $2000.00 (full refund) was issued to Mr. ******** on 10/09/2013. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green Home Improvements charged me $4565.00 to install 1)Radiant barrier on the inside of the roof of the main house (not the garage). 2) Ridge caps on the peaks of the roof 3) added blown in insulation. The complaint involves the work done in the attic (radiant barrier and blown in insulation). Prior to the installation, my air conditioner unit worked well. After the installation, a pipe coupling was disconnected from the air conditioner condensing flow drain leading to the outlet above the front door. Prior to the installation, fluid flowed out the drain by the front door. After the installation, the fluid built up in the overflow pan. The installation was done around the middle of May. On June 23rd, water had saturated the attic and was starting to leak through the hallway ceiling onto the lower floor. The wet insulation had to be removed and a 3' by 3' square cut out of the hall ceiling. In addition, a plumber from ** ***** of San Antonio was called to fix the leak. He complained about the blown in insulation and said that it was an amateur job. He referred me to SA specialties, an air conditioning company. Aside from the cost of a new air conditioning unit, the drain pipes for the existing unit needed to be attached, cleaned and tested. The tech told me that Green Home improvements was responsible for the problem of the detached drain and the badly installed insulation. After a couple of days, I called Green Home to tell them about the resulting problem of their installation. They told me to send them the ** *********** paperwork and then they sent me a letter. The letter basically said that "Green Home Improvements will not be able to service your air conditioning unit or the damage caused from the leakage. ********* showed that the drain pipe was in-tact but the drain line was not tight with the cuppling causing more fluid in your drain pan. Large amounts of water will capture insulation and move it around. It is recommended that you seek assistance from your home owner's Insurance policy. We do wish you the best and appreciate your business. Sincerely, ******** *********** ************** *******." None of the occupants of my house nor any other party disturbed the coupling other than the installers from Green Home Improvements and I would like them to take responsibility for the costs incurred. (This is not to include $5,000 for a new air conditioning unit). Initial plumber called - $95.00 Cost to fix the ceiling and adjacent wall - $560.00 (scaffolding, drywall, paint and texture) Cost to fix pipe - $50.00 _____________________________________________ $705.00

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $705.00 for my selected costs associated with the damage caused by the workmen in the attic. I understand that Green Home has an affiliation with a contractor that does ceiling repair for various accidents that occur during installation and they may fix my ceiling. If Green Home is unwilling to pay this small amount of my costs or fix my ceiling, I'm willing to go into arbitration with a third party as outlined in my contract. I will provide the necessary assessment by ** *********** that Green Home is liable.

Business Response:

On 06/25/2013, Green Home Improvements received a call from the client that her ceiling had caved and her A/C unit had backed up due to our install of products. On 6/25/2013 at 4:15pm, we had a field supervisor onsite to review the concerns from the client. Discovery found that client did have a leaking problem and we were informed from our client that she was planning on replacing her current A/C system but was told by other third parties that we caused the issue. We obtained pictures of the issue at hand and obtained a copy of the A/C company's statement. According to the invoice/statement received, the client's drain line was not glued to the cupplings which caused leaking into the unlevel drain pan. It is recommended for the client to have the drain pan and lines fixed or replace and re level the E Coil to stop the leak. According the A/C company's statement, the E Coil is clean/clear. This statement also included multiple quotes on new a/c system prices.
It has been our company's experience that if there is a leak and water is flowing, it will capture loose insulation and relocate it.
With this information and pictures of the client's rusted and damaged drain pan, it is our conclusion that Green Home Improvements is not at fault and that we have provided the client with as much information as possible and service to back our decision.

Please find attached pictures of the drain pan and pipe in question and attached copy of the A/C company's invoice/statement.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
1) My air conditioning system was working well before the insulation by Green Home was installed and the ridge cap and the radiant barrier. I have witnesses.

2) Green Home workers were more concerned about their schedule for completing the job rather than concern that they may have stepped on my pipes and caused the coupling to become detached. The glue on the coupling had held for many years before the workers came in my attic. T hey had multiple tasks to complete in the attic. There were more than a single worker there. There had not been so much activity in terms of traffic in my attic since I bought the house and I've had the A/C system inspected multiple times since I bought the house. The water did not disturb to any great extend the placement of the insulation which was placed on and around the A/C heating system. A rusted and damaged drain pan is not at issue since the water would have overflowed any drain pan no matter what condition. I was under the understanding that the drain pan was plastic and dirty (not rusty) and that there was no damage to it before the Green Home workers came into the attic so I would also give responsibility to them for damaging it also.

3) In addition, after a special request to give me the leaf to my dining table which was in the attic, Green Home workers moved it and buried it. I have witnesses to this.

4) I had my air conditioning system upgraded due to age not malfunction and I'm not asking for compensation for any part of the new system as Green Home has insinuated in their response. It is an insult to mention the bids for the new system as it is irrelevant. I thoroughly expected Green Home to pay for the damage to my ceiling and have not accrued any unnecessary costs that cause me to place a frivolous claim against Green Home Improvements. Why were they cold calling me to begin with when I am on the DO NOT CALL registry. I am able and willing to go to arbitration on this matter because I do not want other elderly vulnerable persons to be defrauded.

Regards,

**** *******




























Business Response:

The company understands that you feel that we are responsable for the damage to your a.c . system.  Can you expain the breakdown of how you came to the dollar figure of $750.  After we recieve this, I will will take into serious consideration your request.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I'm providing the breakdown of the costs as follows:

Labor for installing drywall for patch in ceiling                          245.90
drywall material                                                                   20.48
Seal surface with primer                                                        21.76
Texture drywall on ceiling                                                      38.40
Paint ceiling and portion of wall                                             139.26
Scaffolding required to work on ceiling (setup and takedown)     113.20
Replacing damaged insulation                                                162.00
Labor to find leaf for the dining room table                                  9.00
                                                                                  _________
Total                                                                                 750.00


These figures with the exception of the dining room table leaf were given by ******** ********* ******** is not involved in any claim due to the deductible
Regards,

**** *******




























Business Response:

We have decided to issue the client a check for her resolution. Even though *** ******* is not able to produce actual documentation for her requested amount, the Company would like to resolve this issue and not carry on with dispute. With the submission of our check, Green Home Improvements closes this account.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company continues to call, even when told not to call. I told them they were in violation of the Do Not Call list, but said they did not care.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me and honor the Do Not Call list.

Business Response: We apologize for any aggravation we have caused.  We take the do not call policy very serious and we have scrubbed this # against every list that we have and you will not be contacted again.  Once again we do apologize for any inconvenience. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green Home Improvements had been cold calling me for months before I finally made an appointment for them to 'come by and do a free assessment on my home's energy efficiency'. When the salesperson came by, he looked around, and then began by telling me about the "GREEN BOX"; a device that is unique to Green Home Improvements that is certain "To save you on average, 30% of your energy bill every month, starting as soon as they install it!". He gave me a demonstration of how it worked using an electricity meter and a green box that he had set up in a suitcase. The technology seemed sound, and the demonstration cinched it. He offered to have his guys install it the very next day and managed to get me financing on the $1500 purchase over the phone through a local credit union. The next day, the guys came out and installed it...the monthly electricity bill came a few weeks later...no change. I thought 'well, it's August in South Texas, I can't expect much, and they installed it mid-month... maybe the change will show up next month!' September came and went, and the energy bill went UP as compared to the same time the summer before (which had record heat!) So, I called Green Home Improvement to see if they could come out and check to make sure the box was working. Apparently someone came out while I wasn't home, (the box is on the outside of the home), and I got an email later that day that the box had been checked and all was working fine, but that sometimes the box took a little time to kick-in and start saving us money. This information was in DIRECT opposition to what the salesman had promised: he assured me that it would start working and saving me money immediately. At this point, I began to really start to feel like I had been *had*. I called the company and requested that they come to remove the box and refund the bank for the loan. It was not working as promised, and I didn't want it if it wasn't going to do what it was supposed to do. I was told that they'd send another technician out 'just as soon as possible' and make sure that the unit was working as it should be, and to give it until the next energy bill so that I could see the results! I anxiously awaited the return of the repair man, who came about a week later. He checked it out and said that it 'hadn't been hooked up properly', fixed it, and went on his way. I called Green to let them know that it had been installed incorrectly and could we defer the interest on the "no-interest for a year" financing, in light of the fact that it hadn't been hooked UP for three months! They told me that they would be willing to make a payment to the account in the amount of $150 to compensate for the interest and to make up for the problem. I checked the bank balance on the next statement, and there had been no deposit made. Since October, I have been calling about once a month, and I either get put on hold forever, only to be told that no one can speak to me and "can I take a message?" No one ever calls me back. I have also emailed several times, to no avail. The last time I spoke to a representative, in February, I asked that they just cancel the whole thing, come remove the box from my house, and refund the amount left on the loan to the bank. The representative to whom I was speaking told me that she had no authority to do that, but that she would speak to management and have someone get back to me. Needless to say, no one ever did.

Desired Settlement: I simply wish to return for a refund a product that does not work as it was represented, has saved me no money (It's whole job), and was installed incorrectly for three months.

Business Response:

Green Home Improvements strives to provide as much customer service as possible. We have full faith in all the products that we provide but there are times where the product may not be a good fit for all clients. We have spoken with this client on many occassions and did offer to provide a refund for her interest charged on the account but the client was not satisfied with that option. We have spoken with the manufacturer and provided the client with full literature regarding the product.
With this client still not satisfied, we at Green Home Improvements will refund the client in full including the administrative fees and the fees that the finance company has charged us for the processing of her account. We hope that this will provide this client with some sense of closure.

Green Home Improvements

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1