Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen Samuels Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Samuels Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Allen Samuels Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1977 Business started locally: 04/01/1977 Business incorporated 03/13/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Skip Harmon, President/General Manager Ms. Maxine Hall, Vice President Mr. Steve Hindman Mr. Mike Lowry, Chairman Ms. Rosie Naranjo, Comptroller Mr. Jeff A. Wooley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Skip Harmon, President/General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Rosie Naranjo, Comptroller
Business Category

Holding Companies Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Allen Samuels Auto Group sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet, Chevrolet

Alternate Business Names
Allen Samuels Bay Chevrolet Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi Allen Samuels Enterprises Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Allen Samuels Auto Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2118 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78416 (888) 310-0891

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to get a quote on a new key for 1996 Saturn SW2. We agreed that I would need the title, match driver's license of owner and VIN number. I was quoted $30 even. When I went to the dealership it was as if nobody has heard of my very recent call and then said the key would be $18.75 along with a GM code request of $50 plus tax. I complained about the situation and left me phone number for them to contact me with a response of a price change. Over 100%. At this time I want them to keep the key or honor their original quote. I contacted their online number 361-356-1716 at 10:09, Thursday, 27 April, 2016 originally and was transferred to their parts department where I was given the original quote. There is no possibility that the person I was working with could have made a mistake for what I was asking for If you don't have this information I listed, you don't get a key. I have the owner as a witness.

Desired Settlement: A new key, cut per the VIN number/GM code for $30.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

 

     I have instructed my Parts Director Fred Fernandez to reimburse as the customer requested.  We have called them today and left them a message.  Thank you.

 

 

**** ******

General Manager

Autonation Chevrolet North CC

 

 

5/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

 

    *** ******* brought us his 27 year old motor home with AC concerns.  We informed him that the repairs would not be inexpensive.  We also informed him that the repairs would be continuous.  He agreed to the repairs and we completed them.  The repairs were completed and we were paid.  The motor home continues to develop continual issues that were explained to *** ******* before the first repair was completed.  In the interest of customer satisfaction, we will be more than happy to handle *** ********* future repairs at a discounted rate if he so desires.  Thank you.  Please contact me with any questions. 

 

**** ******

General Manager

AutoNation Chevrolet North Corpus Christi

************

**********************

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear **** ******, I truly appreciate your long awaited response to my letters. Now, to the issue, can one then assume, as per your explanation, that a complete repair means that the unit/part still does not work? I don't think so. Your offer, for which I thank you, does not convince me that a 4th "complete repair" will be any more successful than the previous 3. I'm open for a more detailed and assured effort.



Regards,

*** *******

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car has been in the collision shop back and forth for over 45 days. It is still not fixed and now no one answers my calls or returns my calls. I am driving my car with the windshield exposed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car repaired as it should have been from the beginning, and an apology for all the trouble.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

      We have been working with *** ******** towards her issue.  When Ms. ******** brought the Nissan Cube to us, she had an insurance claim on the front bumper.  We fixed the front bumper as directed by the insurance company.  At no point did we touch or work on her windshield.  Ms. ******** is now requesting that we fix the molding that surrounds her windshield.  We contacted ***********(her insurance carrier) and they denied the repair.  We are picking the car up from her place of employment tomorrow to help her out with her windshield as a goodwill gesture.  Ms. ***** *******(Our Customer Relations Director) has been in contact with her via either phone, text or email since she made her concern available to us on Thurday July 23rd.  Ms. ******* was in contact with her on the 23rd, 24th(was not on the 25th and 26th....weekend) and again today on the 27th to schedule the pickup of her vehicle to minimize any inconvenience.  We look forward to assisting Ms. ******** with her issue and will consider the matter closed as soon as the molding is reattached.  Please let me know if you have any further questions or require any further information.

**** ******
President
Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi
**************** ************

1/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Twice my credit was ran for approval on car, then was informed cat wasn't for sale. Second time was called and told I was approved and scheduled a pick up time.

Desired Settlement: Should find a camaro of my approval before I receive I letter from credit bureau.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

    My name is **** ****** and I am the ********* of Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi.  Ms. ***** originally came to us on 12/20/2014 and completed a credit application with our organization that bears her signature.  We pulled her credit once only.  Her information was submitted to eight lending institutions to attempt to secure her financing on the car she wanted.  We were unable at that point to secure an approval on that particular unit with her current situation.  However, on or around January 15th 2015, we were in the process of negotiating a car deal that had a trade in that would have met within the guidelines of what the bank would allow for Ms. *****.  Unfortunately for all parties involved, that car deal fell through and the vehicle was not traded in, and therefore not available for Ms. ***** to purchase. 

     Allen Samuels Chevrolet would love to sell Ms. ***** a car and we have been actively watching our trade-in's to see if we get one in that matches what the bank is willing to do and that is the type of car Ms. ***** wants.  Unfortunately we have no way of predicting what gets traded in and when, but we will continue to be actively looking for a car that will meet her very specific situation.  Please let us know if there is anything further we can do!

Thank you,


**** ******
*********
Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi
****************
###-###-#### 

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee from Allen Samuels Chevrolet, in Corpus Christi, on February 21, 2014. I made a trip from Houston down to Corpus with the intent to purchase a Kia Sedona. For weeks, I researched many options of which vehicle to purchase. Because my credit score is low, I knew my price range would be lower than those with higher credit scores. It was also my intent to make a larger down payment. However, any vehicle I found on their website I believed to be within my price range, I was quickly informed the vehicle would not be up for sale, due to failed inspection. As I discovered, this was pretty common with trade-ins in the Corpus market. Finally, my sales rep, ****** *****, found a Kia Sedona she believed was ready for purchase, and had already passed the safety inspections. Another sales rep told me the same, but there was some evidence of minor physical damage to the front exterior. With this, I made sure everyone understood I would be in the following morning to finalize the deal for the Kia Sedona. My children and I took a greyhound down to Corpus. As we were walking into the dealership, I received a voice message from a sales supervisor, who informed me the Sedona would not pass the safety inspection, and therefore could not be sold. Moreover, there is nothing available in the inventory within my price range. His tone was very cold and callus. It was almost as if he was saying "OH WELL." Shortly after, ****** came to give me the same news. I asked to speak with the ******* *******, ****. I told **** about my journey from Houston to Corpus, just to be told "there is nothing available" for me to purchase. I made it clear, I was VERY unhappy with the situation. **** searched through their inventory, and found the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The price was higher than I was looking for, but in the end the price was adjusted and the finance company approved the financing. Before leaving the dealership with the Jeep, ****** and I made a quick inspection around the vehicle. Aside from minor dings and scratches to the exterior, we also found the hydraulic lifts for the rear door, as well as the front hood did not work. I also noticed the state inspection sticker was due to expire May 2014. I found this unusual. On the way home, about 2 hours outside of Houston, I heard a chime and saw a message under my speedometer telling me to "check gauges", indicating my car temp was already in the "HOT" zone. I quickly pulled over, where a State Trooper pulled up behind me to assist. When the car sat and cooled for awhile, I held the hood open while he checked to see if there was any water in the radiator. While the radiator had water, the coolant reservoir was completely dry. We filled the reservoir with water, and he followed me to the end of the county, in case the vehicle overheated again. I was able to drive it back to Houston without any further complications. The next day, after telling a friend about the trouble I ran into on the drive home, he checked under the hood and found the reservoir bone dry again. Over the next several weeks, I have learned to make certain adjustments while driving the vehicle to either prevent overheating, or to allow it to cool down once it overheats. I have had to add water almost every other day, other to have it drain just as fast. I took it to the Allen Samuels ***** in Houston, to have a diagnostic test run. Unfortunately, they did not see an issue with the vehicle, other than the oil was very low. As a courtesy, they checked all the fluids and added a quart of oil I purchased. The vehicle ran fine as long as I did not run the AC while driving. At one point, while checking for water in the radiator, I found dark grey gunk just inside the cap. I dug out whatever was close to the surface. Again, this seemed unusual to me. Last week, the vehicle began to overheat. Once again, I stopped to let it cool, and added water to the reservoir. A short 10 minutes later, a few miles down the freeway, the vehicle suddenly stalls in the middle of rush hour traffic. I had to pay to have the vehicle towed to my house. An hour after the vehicle was towed. I tried to start it again. This time it started, but the check engine light came on and started to blink. Plus, the entire vehicle was shaking very hard. It seemed as if it struggled for power and wanted to stall again. The following morning, I started the vehicle again. The check engine light came on, but did not blink. I thought I could drive it 2 miles to the Allen Samuels in Katy to run a diagnostic. Unfortunately, the vehicle stalled, and I had to have it towed to the dealership. Another tow charge. Later in the day, I receive a call from an advisor who tells me there are several issues with the vehicle, including: several misfires, a severe leak in the water pump, and a possible blown head gasket. Then continues to ask me if I have ever put a sealant in the coolant. I told him no, and the only thing I added was water and a quart of oil (by the dealership). When he mentioned the sealant, I then knew that's what I dug out of the radiator. Two days later, I get another call informing me that in order to pin point the actual problem, they would have to tear down the engine, which is not covered under the extended warranty. The cost would be $900 for an 8 hour tear down. I called the dealership in Corpus Christi to get an exact account of all the repairs that were made to the vehicle prior to selling it. After several failed contact attempts, *****, the ******* ********, finally contacted me with a very vague description of some repairs. He mentioned hoses were replaced, and the thermostat was replaced as well. This tells me there was some knowledge of an overheating issue with the vehicle, and the least expensive measures were made in order put the vehicle up for sale. I believe the dealership replaced certain hoses to the cooling system, as well as added the sealant, and only replaced the thermostat instead of pin pointing the actual issue. I spoke with **** *****, co-owner, to see if Allen Samuels would be willing to help with the cost of repairs, and put me in a rental while repairs are made. He said he would contact the ******* ********s at both dealerships (in Corpus and Katy). The following day, I spoke with ***** ****** at the Corpus location. I explained to her the issues I was having, and asked to be compensated for the repairs and for a rental car. She assured me she would get in touch with the new ******* ******* and **** ***** to see what could be done. Later that same day, I receive a call from *****. Once again I heard that cold and callus tone another Corpus rep gave me. She informed me that since so much money had been put into previous repairs for the vehicle, they would not assist me with the cost of repairs or the deductible, and they would not help me with a rental either. She continued to say "this is the risk you take when you buy a used car." Total slap in the face. I haven't had the car for a complete 90 days yet, and I am unable to drive it. I put $2500 down and I am about to make my 3rd payment of $500 for the note. I've spoken to a few employees with Allen Samuels. Each confirmed my belief that the Corpus Christi location had some knowledge of the issue and did whatever work to cover up a potentially more serious issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the cost of towing to my home and to the dealership. I would also like Allen Samuels Group to cover the cost of repairs, since the vehicle had these issues prior to being sold, and the dealership knew of the issues and made an attempt to conceal them.

Business Response: Response From Allen Samuels Chevrolet

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Several times I have asked ***** to forward a copy of the repairs made prior to selling the vehicle.  He went on to tell me the thermostat was changed, and never made any mention of any of the other items noted in their response. 
Furthermore, I remember when looking at the numerous options I thought were available to me, I came across the Jeep I currently own.  I was told by a finance rep it would not be able to be sold, and will be sent to auction.  It was a great surprise when ****, the general manager of sale at the time, came into his office offering it to me when I  was told by others there's nothing else available. 
As for threatening to sue, after ***** gave me their decision, which was more gut wrenching than professional, I said I would contact an attorney.  It was their assumption I would be taking this to court.  Truth is, I need to know my rights.  Therefore, I will contact an attorney. 
So since there are assumptions in the air, it's safe for me to assume, since **** was in Florida and I have never spoken with him, that something may have been lost in translation between *****, **** and Mr. ******.
Finally, this is not a "new" problem.  This problem started the very night I brought the car home.  Every time it overheated, I would pull over to let it cool.  There was never a "Sold As Is" Notice on the vehicle.  And after speaking with other employees with Allen Samuels, since the company has fairly new owners, certain provisions are made to keep the car from going to auction, and keep it at the dealership.  Whether Allen Samuels will admit to it or not, it is suggested by these employees that the Corpus dealership put the sealant additive in the coolant system, and  knowingly sold me a bad vehicle.  
I have now been without my Jeep for 3 weeks. I've missed a 5generation Mother's Day.  I was critically ill and had no way of getting myself to the ER.  
My mechanic is in the process of repairing the vehicle so I  can go on with the things I have to do. 
So, once again, I am requesting for Allen Samuels to help cover the cost of the repairs and/or the cost of a rental car.  Especially since it was determined Allen Samuels was aware of the defective Jeep, they added the sealant, and will make every kkeffort to cover it up.    
Regards,

Ronju Jones

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

   Please find attached the As-Is No Warranty signed by *** ***** on the date of purchase as required by the Federal Trade Commission's Used Car Rule.  It clearly states "You will pay all costs for any repairs.  The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle."  *** ***** did purchase a Vehicle Service Contract with the vehicle at an additional cost, but to our knowledge the claim was denied because she drove the car for 6,000 miles while overheating without having the problem addressed.  While we are sympathetic to *** *****' situation, we consider this to be a matter between her and her mechanic at this point.  Thank you and please let me know if you require anything further.


**** ******
********** **
Allen Samuels Chevrolet Corpus Christi
************
****************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Allen Samuels Auto Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart