BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Frosty Air Conditioning and Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 11, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business started locally: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated: 06/10/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Larry Boyd, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Boyd, President
Related Businesses
King Appliance Service
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
A.C. King, LLC
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 6075 De Zavala Rd Ste 109

    San Antonio, TX 78249

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 695-3334(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in need of an a/c repair or system overhauled. I contact three other a/c companies and was told that I could get a 3 ton to 4 ton a/c and that would be enough to cool my entire house. Contacted Mr Frosty for estimate of complete a/c overhaul, new a/c to be relocated to the attic, air ducts, grills and return vent. On 4 Jun 2014 informed sales rep that we were having problems with keeping the house cool to include an addition of another room and we wanted a bigger unit so it could cool the entire house. Sales rep came to the house did a check and proceeded to informed us that we needed return vents in all rooms of the house to include the additional room and that with a 5 ton I would have an ice box. I was quoted a price of $12, 249.92 for a 5 ton unit. I paid $6,000 that day for work to start the next day. Two days later I came home from work and saw all the small grills and filters so I asked and informed the installers that I did not want all those grills and vents installed in every room, just where it was needed, main living area and one in the back hallway. On 10 Jun I paid the remaining balance of $6, 249.92 even thought the work was still not completed. I also expressed my concern with the rep about getting a 5 ton since the other companies had informed me that I could use up to a 4 ton. I was afraid that my walls would sweat and get mold in my home. The work was not completed until almost two weeks later as they had gotten the wrong size grills and some conflict between days/hrs According to the sales rep, they didn't installed a true 5 ton unit, only one with 52,000 BTUs and I believe a variable speed because my husband asked about it. I noticed immediately that the house was not getting cool, felt humidity and no a/c to the additional room. In that back room the temperature is still over 85 degrees and will not cool at all. We cannot go into that room due to the heat. I have to keep my a/c at 73 degrees or below in order to get the house cooled and with my old unit which was a 3 1/2 ton I maintained the a/c temp at a cool 76-77 degrees. I've spoken numerous times with the owner, Mr ***** who suggested getting a mini splitter, but for me to pay for it, in the additional room and closing the air ducts going to that additional room to possibly get more air into the house. I told Mr ***** that I was not going to pay for a splitter and that the company should pay for it as because I've not received what I paid for. It's been two months and as of today, 3 Aug, no resolution to the problem. They are saying that I needed additional return vents but why since my home was originally design for one vent and the old unit used to keep the house cool with no additional return vents. Also two weeks after installation, the a/c unit leaked and damaged my ceiling. I called Mr Frosty, they came out and checked the unit, stating a small amount of insulation was trapped in the drain pipe and that's why it leaked. They did get an adjuster come to the house and I was reimbursed for the damaged ceiling immediately. Well on 30 Jul, my a/c leaked again at the same spot. My husband went into the attic and with the shop vac removed about a gallon of water in the drain pan. He notice air coming out of the plenum and the attic was cool. We called Mr Frosty and they sent someone to check it. The installer ran a drain pipe from the drip pan to the outside of the house since this was not done the first time and opened the air handler to see why it was sweating. Seems it was leaking. in two places. They were suppose to come back in three days to check it but haven't heard from Mr. Frosty.

Desired Settlement: After spending this sum of money, I expect an a/c that works and keeps my home at a comfortable temperature to include the additional room as I was told I was getting. Either replace the a/c unit with one that works and keeps the temperature cool, install a mini splitter in the additional room as an alternative at no cost to me as I've already dished out over $12, 249 or reimbursed me my money because my home does not cool properly to include the additional room and for all the trouble that I'm going through. We are stressed out over this issue, dealing with the heat and water leaks and no solution in sight.

Business Response: Originally, the work to be performed was contracted with duct system modifications and redesign made my Mr. Frosty AC, to include system redesign and replacement. The delays on this job were created solely by home owner(s) demanding that work be stopped and changes to duct system and equipment be made. Homeowner(s) took responsibility for end result during project and have sighed off that work was completed to their satisfaction. Mr. Frosty AC will not be refunding any money or making changes to work that has been completed with out additional contract and payment from homeowner(s). All warranties will be honored as agreed. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The Texas Dept of Licensing and Regulation issues licenses to companies such as Mr. Frosty for Consumer Protection.  Mr. Frosty was negligent in advising that if I as a paying consumer chose a smaller amount of return vents, the remedy would have been to install a smaller tonnage A/C unit that would have accommodated the number of return vents and not pursue to sale me a 5 ton A/C unit. I paid in advance having full confidence in Mr Frosty's sales pitch and expectation of the performance of the cooling system to cool the entire home to include the room addition.  I believe this to be reasonable and just.  Also on my premises an act of Defective Workmanship; Non-Conforming Goods and Damage Goods occurred.  All three in violation of the Uniform Commercial Code and the Texas Dept of Licensing and Regulation.  Regarding the "homeowner taking responsibility for the project by signing off that work was completed to their satisfaction"; I rebut this since the discovery of defect and poor performance began after the completion of work, lack of cooling, especially no A/C in the room addition and humidity in the home. I as a paying consumer should receive an A/C unit that works properly in cooling my entire home and this is not the case.  Also as mentioned in the initial complaint, Mr. Frosty has failed to come back and check the A/C unit and according to the *** ******* Code Compliance office, no request has been made from Mr. Frosty for a city inspector to come out and inspect the work to ensure it meets city code. I remain resolute that Mr. Frosty as a professional company take responsibility for their poor workmanship/installation as defined by the Uniform Commercial Code and make right on their contract to resolve and ensure proper cooling of the A/C unit without asking for additional payment or my funds refunded as any reasonable person would in this situation.

Regards,

******* ********

9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a complaint with the BBB earlier this year against Mr. ******. They agreed to refund me $54.00. However, they have not done so.

Desired Settlement: I believe enough months have passed and they should have issued me a prompt refund. I would like a refund as soon as possile.

Business Response: From: ***** **** ***************************

Sent: Sunday, September 01, 2013 7:42 AM

To: ****** *****

Subject: Re: BBB requests a response by 9/4/2013 to prevent closure:
"No Response"

 

Ms.
*****, after.looking in our books we realized Ms ******** is correct ,a check
was due to be sent to her but was not.. I personally issued her check for
$54.00 and put it in the mail box on Friday. 

 
  I'd like to request that Ms ******** take down any negative reviews
about her service with us, I feel she was treated fairly with a
fair price. Unfortunately Ms. ******** felt differently. & money has
been refunded.

 
   So I would ask all negative reviews be deleted.

 
                     
               Regards ***** ****

 
                     
                     
                     
                   




8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Frosty installed two AC units in APRIL and have had trouble ever since. They tried repeatedly to fix the issue but could not remedy the problem. I had to call in another company who have had to have several visit and have had to rewire a thermostat which was improperly done by MR. Frosty ($570) and also have had to completely redo the return air system to the main AC downstairs because it was done improperly ($3245). I have asked Mr. Frosty to reimburse me for these items but is NOT answering his phone.

Desired Settlement: I want this amount refunded and also want the remainder of my installer warranty transferred to Kendall County Air so that I can still have my factory warranty.

Business Response: BBB ,   I will be calling Dr. ****** tomorrow in order to  resolve this issue. 
                                          Thanks ***** ****

6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Mr. Frosty for a covered warranty issue - my one year old ac unit stopped cooling. I was misled by the ac tech because he told me that I did not need coolant because I had no leak. Later, he said I had a leak. However, he did not test for leaks or offer to test for leaks. I was then charged for coolant. The AC unit is only one year and one month old. I don't believe a system that new should be leaking. I called *****, owner, the next day and told him about the issue. I told him I was not certain why I was charged for coolant when a test wasn't done and my entire ac system in one year and one month old. (Mr. Frosty installed my entire ac unit, brand new, last year.) He was argumentative and did not want to listen. ***** said that he didn't talk to the ac tech at all, but was only going by what the invoice said - and there was no explanation on the invoice as to why certain services were done or the logic behind those decisions. He kept stating that he didn't know why I was complaining and that I shouldn't be complaining. I explained again about being misled about needing more coolant and told him that I also wanted the internet price fror services/repairs that were done. He said no. I was charged $90 for coolant and $39.99 for service call. The company website says $25 off any repair - they repaired the fuse and another wire. The website also says $29.00 same day service call - free with repair. Link to website http://www.texas-ac.com/ ***** was upset and defensive and argumentative, then he started to say that they didn't charge me a labor charge or the correct amount for coolant. The ac tech had told me that he they would charge $30 for coolant because he was already there on a service call and that if he had to come back, they would charge more. Even if they can't explain why they charged me for coolant, when a test wasn't even done, they should at least honor the internet sales prices. Instead of me paying $129.99, I believe I should have paid $94.00. ***** only offered to do the leak test for over $200 and offered to sell me a labor warranty. I told him that the tech should have offered the leak test to me before putting in 3 whole pounds of coolant - which may end up leaking out again. ***** said if the coolant leaks out again, it's not his problem and I'll have to deal with it when that time comes.

Desired Settlement: Instead of me paying $129.99, I believe I should have paid $94.00. I also want an explanation as to what logic they used to determine that I have a leak, when a test was not done. The AC unit is only one year and one month old. I don't believe a system that new should be leaking. Since they put three pounds of coolant without doing a leak test, I think they should do the honorable thing and do the leak test free of charge. I don't think it's fair that I have to pay for the exact same service again when and if the coolant leaks when this could easily be prevented today. I think ***** was rude and argumentative and shouldn't be talking to customers that way.

Business Response: Homeowner needed a low voltage fuse replaced on her A/C
unit and after checking refrigerant level we charged unit with refrigerant. A/
C unit  has a ten year parts and one year
labor warranty.

Labor warranty was up in April, 2013, we gave home owner
a reduced rate from $307.00 to $129.00. (A $178.99 discount. )  I believe this is a fair discount. I offered
homeowner to come back out and do a leak test if she would like for a fee of
$200.00. She declined. At this time I feel we have made a fair and respectful
attempt at resolving this.

          Regards
***** ****




Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I was never told that I was getting a discount. That's news to me. ***** was rude, disrespectful and had a poor attitude toward a returning, paying customer. I was never told I was getting a discount. However, I would like the advertised discounts from his website of $29.00- service fee and no charge service fee with repair. And $25 off any repair. Both of which I qualify for. Myreceipts indicates no reduced fees or discounts.

Regards,
********* ********  





























Business Response: Mr.Frosty has one goal in mind when conducting business." Honest, dependable well qualified service  @ a reasonable price.
We always try to be clear & concise when explaining our services to the homeowner. However there are times when clarity and value for our honest & dependable services aren't enough. So in good faith that some where there was a miscommunication we are respectfully going to reduce Ms. ******** bill another $54.00. Bringing her bill down to $75.00 for our services. She can expect a check for $54.00.
   Best regards ***** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ********