Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company

Phone: (210) 928-2665 Fax: (210) 928-2666 203 Gillette Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78221

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


hvac sales service and repaires

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Air Conditioning and Heating Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Air Conditioning and Heating Company include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on American Air Conditioning and Heating Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2012 Business started: 07/16/2010 in TX Business started locally: 07/16/2010 Business incorporated 04/08/2013 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey G Molina Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey G Molina Sr., President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Hydronic Heating Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Heat Exchangers Air Quality Service Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Air Sealing Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Electric Heating Elements Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems Heating Equipment Air Curtains & Screens Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Cooling Demolition

Products & Services

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company sells the following brand(s): ruud/carrier

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company offers the following product(s): mitsubishi

Method(s) of Payment
cash, credit card, check, financing
Industry Tips
Air conditioning repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Air Conditioning and Heating Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 203 Gillette Blvd

    San Antonio, TX 78221 (210) 928-2665


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAC came and did work on our A/C unit on August 04,2016. It broke again and they came out on September 23,2016. They took the coils out and we did not hear from them for 10 days. We are in Texas, and it was hotter inside our house than outside. We were miserable. Three times we went to stay at a hotel because the heat was unbearable. We called almost every other day, with no update. We finally called our home insurance. This is when they finally came out on October 06,2016. They did not honor their 90 day guarantee, claiming it was a different thing that broke. Both invoices state sealant issues present and fixed. They would not refund any of the $1,4 90.59. Stated the best they could do was to waive any future service call fee. I do not want any further dealings with this company. We also filed a complaint with our home insurance.

Desired Settlement: For AAC to honor their 90 day guarantee.

Business Response: On 8-4-16 we found your unit low on r22 we did an electronic leak test and could not pinpoint the location of the leak. At that time a leak seal and 3 pounds of Freon were inserted into your system. At that time you were responsible for $270 of the cost and *** took care of the rest of the bill. On sept 26 we received a recall from *** on your unit. At that time the tech did find leaks in your evap coil, he then removed the coil to bring into our shop for repairs. After repaires were completed on your coil we then returned to reinstall your coil and charge your unit with the correct amount of freon. Your unit took 16lb of freon. We only charged you for 13 plus the applicable taxes. The 3 pounds installed previously were in fact warrantied. We even gave you a 10% discount for your troubles.

8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a rental property whose occupant has a brand new baby and 18 month old living when the AC went out last week. American Home Shield Warranty called around to locate an AC company that was willing and able to service this request "expedited". American AC agreed that they will be able to accept the job and had a service tech out right away. The technician was great pin pointed the problem immediately determing there were leaks in the coil. After calling it in he was given the go ahead to pull the coils out. This was on Wednesday August 3 and he said that since it was expedited that best case scenario would be Friday. Friday at 8:30 I called the shop and was transferred to **** *** And told that the coils have not been touched. He proceeded to tell me that the "expedited" serves was only for the technician to go to the house the initial time. He followed that up with details of the repair technician will located and repaire the leaks, pressurize the unit for 24 hours and then submerge it in water to determine if any further repairs were needed. If there were further repairs needed then the process starts again. I proceeded to call again on Monday August 8 at 11:56 and again at 4:03 to get an update. *********, the receptionist says, "there are not any updates" and won't allow me to speak to anyone else. Tuesday August 9 I repeat my efforts at 4:35 and 4:37 and I was permitted to speak to **** *** And told that the coils are being works on for the 1st time and would have to be pressurized for 24 hours and submerged to check for further leaks. I called for updates Wednesday August 9th and told that the leaks were not fixed and that the process will have to be repeated. He said I could call back Thursday August 11 at 1 to get an update. I called Thursday August 11 and ********* said "there were no updates." I told her I was told to call at this time for the status of my coil. She replied with, "by who?" I told her **** *** And she put me on hold. When she came back she said, "there is a sticky note saying your coil has been repaired and expect a call on Monday from the scheduler". She REFUSED to allow me to speak to anyone else. This family has been in 100 degree temperatures for 2 weeks now and the babies are now getting sick. I've pleaded with this company since day one for their expedited and attentive service and now we are at their mercy since they have my coils. I can't even get another company to take over. All I was asking from them today was to speak to me so that I can come up with a better solution. My question was if the coil is fixed then why isn't it on a service truck to my house today or at the very least tomorrow? Might I add that they don't work on the weekends.

Desired Settlement: If it was allowed I would had come and retrieved my coil this afternoon so that I could get another company to service the AC today if not tomorrow. I want American Air and Heat to finish repairing the AC and have it running tomorrow, Friday August 12.

Business Response: unfortunately this is a home warranty claim. Unlike  a customer who is paying for there repair who pay us for our time at there home doing the repair or can authorize a replacement, when working with a home warranty company we are at there disposal since they are the ones paying the bill. We must attempt to repair before any kind of replacement can even be discuses. A coil repair is a lengthy process because of the nature and procedures we must take to insure that the coil is properly repaired before we return it to the customer. We must carry the warranty on the repaired coil so we too are concerned that the repair is done correctly the first time around. We attempt to do these repairs as quickly as possible but as mentioned before it is a lengthy process. As soon as the coil passes a pressure test you will be put on the schedule to return and install your coil. If the wait is what is concerning you we can always sell you a new coil and have it installed right away if your willing to pay for a new coil. we will proceed with the coil repair thru your home warranty and schedule you as soon as possible. alot of home owners complain about the time it takes to get there unit repaired through there home warranty company and want to place the blame on us for their situation, when the fact is we must follow the warranty companys protocalls since they are paying the bill. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

At 1:05PM August 11, Thursday I called to get a status update and told that "the coils have been repaired and expect a call from the scheduler on Monday".  Your response is NOT directed to my complaint at this point.  American Home Shield called several air conditioning companies looking for a company that could and was willing to take the job (contract) expedited.  American Air 1) came to the house immediately, THANK YOU. 2)FAILED to start coil repair process right away KNOWING it is a long process. (Repair wasn't started for 5 days). 3)FAILED to have the coils back on a technician's truck for installation right away.  **I have made sure I've been available and attentive for any arrangements needed to fit your companies schedules knowing very well that you were suppose to be expediting this work order as you initially agreed to from American Home Shield. 4) August 11 @ 2:43 American Home Shield (*****) has already been notified of the breech of contract and they too have tried calling the 3 phone numbers and emailed leaving messages letting you know that this has been unacceptable.


**** **** ****

Business Response: Sorry you did not like the response. Those are just the facts . Don't know who ***** is but they have nothing to do with us so they can be upset all they want. The issue here is that you are working through a home warranty company and must follow there procedures, if you don't like following your home warrantys procedures then maybe you shouldn't rely on a home warranty company and just pay a service company outright to receive the prompt service you request.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for verifying that your company discriminates against Warranty patrons from "cash" paying patrons. 

Your responses have been recorded  for review and legal action.


**** **** ****

7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 07/03/16 I called American Homeshield to Report that my Air Conditioner was not working properly. American Homeshield then contacted the company that takes care of Air conditioning issues in San Antonio, which is the company I am filing the complaint about. Five days after reporting the issue to American Homeshield I had not heard anything so I decided to call the company myself. The receptionist that answered stated that they had received the work order but had not had time to do anything. She scheduled an appointment for 07/11/16 with a window from 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM. I had to take time off work in order to accommodate this company in the meantime dealing with 80 degree temperatures in my house. On 07/11/16 I decided to call the company around 12:00 PM to make sure they were coming and was told that the window was now from 2:00 to 6:00 PM. I then had to let my superiors know that I needed the whole day off! When the technician finally arrived he looked at the system and said he wasnt sure what the problem was and proceeded to remove Freon from the system stating that might fix it. Im not sure how much coolant he removed but now the house is actually hotter than before he removed some of the Freon. I was then told that it would not get fixed that day. I received a call today from an individual stating that they could not be there to fix the unit until Friday 07/15/16 and gave me another 4 hour window. To say I was displeased is an understatement after I just paid this company $75.00 to make things worse only to wait another 4 days to fix a unit which I reported 2 weeks ago. I have not been able to sleep at night due to the high temperature in my house. When I voiced my displeasure the receptionist stated she would cancel service and hung up. I then called back to get her name and was given the run around by an individual named Jeff Molina. Neither one of these individuals have any idea what customer service is. It is sad that any company would allow this low a standard of customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my initial $75.00 as this company did nothing but delay service. I have already contacted a company that will resolve my issue tomorrow.

Business Response: unfortunately sir you have a home warranty company paying for your repairs. We must follow the procedures set forth by your home warranty company when we service your home since they are the ones paying for your service. All repairs must be submitted for approval before repairs can be done. The initial visit to your home was to diagnose the problem so we can turn a diagnosis into your home warranty company for instructions on how to proceed. I know that this is not the quickest way to get your air conditioner repaired but this is the policy of your home warranty company and unfortunately this is the peak season for air conditioning so they themselves get backed up due to having a large amount of customers as yourself. All this information was provided to you when you signed a contract with them. We try to treat all of our costumers with the best costumer service possible. Although that is sometimes impossible, we find that it is usually the home warranty customers that call in yelling and screaming about there service because they do not know the procedures we must follow for their home warranty company. When a customer calls in to my office disrespectful, rude, and yelling profanity we will terminate the conversation. I do not pay my employees to be verbally abused, we are here to provide a professional service and i demand that my customers show respect to my employees as i expect my employees to treat the customer with the utmost respect. But when a customer calls in yelling and screaming and trying to use" the customers always right"  well that don't work around here, you want respect you need to show respect.     

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This response is unacceptable. Your company was notified on 07/03/16 of the work order. Had I not decided to call some 5 days later I would still be waiting for service. This is not the type of customer service within the contract with American Home Shield. You state that this is the busiest time of the year and therefore you cannot always provide great customer service however the first company I pull up and call is able to get to my house the next morning. Also you state that respect should be given however when you send your technician over he decides to empty out all of the freon in my unit so that your company could charge me for all the freon that he emptied out. Is this the kind of respect that you're talking about. Is this the way that your company does business. I am now having to pay another company to refill all of the freon with your technician emptied out. Yesterday I attempted to call your company to speak to a manager and was told I would get a call back. I'm still waiting for that call and at this point I'm pretty sure that it will never happen. It is clear that you have no interest in resolving this issue when all that I'm asking for is a $75 refund for what is clearly pissed poor service. I I'm not the kind of person that asks for something for nothing but in this case you have given me nothing and charged me $75 and I have to now use a different air conditioning company that clearly it has way better customer service to fix a problem that your technician created. That being said I will be sure and spread the word to everyone that I know that in your words you cannot always provide the best customer service and the customer is not always right

******* *****

Business Response: Sorry that you are not pleased with our service but I can tell from your response that no matter what we would do your the kind of person that will never be satisfied. this will be our last communication with you on this issue due to the fact that you lie about the situation to make yourself into a victim. what kind of person are you. Don't you have better things to do than sit on your computer and make up lies and half truths about the situation. we service a lot of customers that are very happy with our service unfortunately you are not one of them. As we stated before we here at American air conditioning are not here to be verbally abused or mistreated by anyone. If you are not happy with your home warranty company then maybe you shouldn't have one.

6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are required to use this company because this is who our home warranty service contracts with. Well, after submitting a service request at noon, no one returned our call or answered their phone for the rest of the day. They then proceed to call at 9pm and then 7:30am the next day to set up an appointment. Since they weren't able to get a hold of anyone, they ignored our service request and "moved on". Let me just say that many people are already asleep by 9pm and may be driving to work at 7:30am. As it is now, they have no available times to schedule us for a service call until tomorrow. Our A/C is out, we have two senior dogs, two senior cats, one child and one handicap person trying to survive the 97deg south Texas heat with no air condition. This company should be shut down.

Desired Settlement: COME FIX OUR AIR CONDITIONER!!!!!

Business Response: we called this customer twice to get them on the schedule but never got an answer. the customer then proceeds to put a negative review on our facebook page because we have not scheduled her. when scheduling over 100 calls a day the times we call the customer may vary we start at the top of our schedule and keep calling customers till they have either been scheduled. we schedule at least 100 calls a day and all we expect is the customer to answer to except a appointment time but when a costomer acts like a child and plays games by not answering the phone cause its not at the time they receive phone calls it is hard to service them. we got ahold of the home warranty company and requested they transfer this customer to another company because we refuse to do business with people such as herself. during this time of year every air conditioning company is very busy and we dont need the additional stress of dealing with unreasonable people Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would however like to respond to their response.  First of all, as I hope you can agree, this business' correspondence was not professional.  To call a CUSTOMER a child is an inappropriate response.  I don't think anyone should call anyone after 9pm.  It's rude because some people are asleep by then.  Me not answering my phone wasn't being "childish" I WAS ASLEEP.  And then again at 7:45am?!  I was driving to work and it's illegal to talk on the phone in a car in San Antonio.  That being said, after calling them back less than an hour later, I was brushed off and told I was moved to the back of the list.  While I completely understand that their business is busy during the summer (DUH, this is south Texas, maybe y'all need to hire more workers), maybe they could have just scheduled us and if we couldn't do that time, then move us to the back of the list.  Secondly, we tried calling twice during office hours (the day they returned our call at 9pm) and could never get a hold of ANYONE.  Maybe hire more front office staff.  And third, they lied multiple times to us trying to cover their tracks.  I was told that they call three times before "moving people to the back of the list" but they just said they called twice.  They also stated that they didn't get the home warranty request until 7:44am of they next day, so the initial call at 9pm wasn't even about the service request.  And lastly, we initiated contact with the home warranty people stating our dislike of how they ran their business and they transferred us to a new company, not them.

This company is less than professionally run and I hope the BBB realizes that.  


4/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does a Horrible job keeping their customers HAPPY! I had numerous times contacting their office with no prevail. I was treated rude and hung up on. But after reading the reviews, it appears that EXACTLY WHAT THIS COMPANY DOES WAS NOT ONLY ME! I was at peace after reading that it wasn't something I did. It was who they are. It doesn't speak very well of the owners character that he has to defame my character in public without just cause. He claims I am a con artist that has filed a lawsuit against my warranty company AHS, which I NEVER HAVE and still employ them to date. I have filed a civil claim against him for repairs that are not covered under my contract for secondary damages he caused and now I should follow defamation of character suit as well. He did not want to disclose his insurance information claiming he did not want to claim responsibility. But in light of evidence and good judgment of justice, I will leave this to the hands of the judge which knows best. God forgive Mr. ****** for being such a hurtful man towards others.

Desired Settlement: I will let the court handle the right decision. I want him to learn to polite towards people and not advise his staff to handle situations abruptly to customers. A customer trust his company allowing them to come into their home, so their demeanor and respect should mean a lot to a customer and to a company. Not many customers have the financial ability to hire an attorney nor the knowledge to present a claim in court, therefore, I would like to set a presidency and maybe American Air Conditioning & Heating Company will change their ways.

Business Response: We are in litigation with this customer at the current time and she has to date been able to provide myself or the court evidence of any damage. She has asked for a payment of 10,000 and makes threats to attack us on social media and give us bad reviews if we did not pay her. I am a disabled vet who fought for my rights not to be threatened by extortion by a person that can't even prove there was any damage she can only say that it was already repaired. Come on who repaires damage they expect to get paid for but never contacts us till after the repairs have been done with no proof their was ever damage. We would gladly have repaired any damage we had done if we were slowed to examin the damage to confirm liability. We will not be strong armed for 10,000 just because she submits false complaints against us. She's just mad cause she's loosing the case

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: first and foremost had to wait in the heat for well over a week for a service tech to get my home then come to find out the guy they sent had a stitched name on his uniform by the name of rooster, that should have red flagged me letting me know right away this company was unprofessional lets not fail to mention the kid showed up with another kid the same age as my 14yr old son. as they began working on my system i then began hearing them let out refrigerant into from my system and questioned why they were doing so if i had other techs previously other companies in the past yrs and never have i ever had them do such a thing. then come to find out later american air conditioning then wanted to charge me for the refrigerant they originally let all out of my system.

Desired Settlement: after waiting a week for services the company then attempted to charge me well over $600.00 dollars for an unfinished job which was installed incorrect meaning air was only coming out from return air supply and sucking in through all other registers which are normally the vents that provide air thru out the whole house. I asked the technician for a registered tdlr card which He didnt have any identification and stated he didnt need one

Business Response: we do not find a record of ever servicing this customer. this is a fraudulent complaint 

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was retained through my home warranty company to fix a broken blower motor on our air conditioning. The initial service appointment occurred timely, but the technician determined that a part would have to be ordered. I was told by the technician before he left our house that the order had been placed and would be rushed. On Monday, August 3, 2015, three days after the initial service appointment, I called to check the status of our part. I was told at that time that the part had not been ordered until Friday and that nothing would be expedited because I was a home warranty customer. I asked when the part would be available, and the representative refused to provide me with this information. Instead she stated that she was going to hang up on me because she was done "helping" me. I later learned through my home warranty company that the part was not ordered until Monday, August 3, 2015. On Tuesday, August 4, 2015, I called to check the status of the part -still believing it had been ordered on Friday, July 31, 2015, as previously represented to me by the company. The owner of the company, **** ******, took my call. He stated that I need to understand they received over 100 calls a day right now and I would have to wait until the end of the week for a service appointment. I asked, "So, my part is in?" He stated that he was the owner of the company and he did not have to deal with people like me being rude to him. I said, "That's ironic that you have an issue with the way I am speaking to you, because yesterday I asked to speak to you and your representative hung up on me." **** himself then hung up on me. This company has not been forthright, and in fact, has made direct and specific misrepresentations regarding the status of my part and the reason for the delay in completing the repairs to my property. But worse, they have been shockingly and excessively rude. I am to the point now that I am worried about having them in my home. I have filed a complaint against this contractor with American Home Shield, imploring them not to refer other AHS customers to this company for repairs. I encourage the general public also to refrain from using them.

Desired Settlement: I paid a $75 service fee directly to the contractor that I would like refunded. I would also like not to deal with the company for this repair, although my contract with AHS requires me to resolve that issue through AHS, I believe, in order to avoid any restocking fees for the part. I am pursuing those remedies. Finally, I would like to make the BBB aware of the issues in the hopes that they can save other consumers from experiencing similar misrepresentations, delays, and general lack of decency.

Business Response: *** ***** is a home warranty customer and as many home warranty customers do they assume that just because we were sent out by the home warranty company that we have authorization to repair  their unit which isn't the fact. We are sent out with a preauthorized limit for repair if the repair exceeds the pre approved amount the home warranty company must be notified of the cost of the part and labor ( we must call the distributor for every repair to get part pricing before we can call it in to the warranty company) We service 100 calls a day during this time of year which is our peak season. 50-60% of those calls will exceed the preauthorized amount and will have to be called in for authorization. when we have that many items to get pricing on and still have to call the pricing in to the home warranty company which takes 25 to 45 min per invoice to complete your looking at a large task. Some customers seem to think that they are the only customer we service and should be able to complete this in 1 hour instead of the 2 to 3 days that the process takes to get pricing, get authorization from home warranty company , order part , and then schedule appt. for over 100 customers a day. Then they want to call in to the office yelling and screaming and being verbally abusive to my employees. Calls are not passed to myself unless the customer is aggressive and being verbally abusive to the employees. I do not pay my employees to be abused by customers or anybody for that fact so if the call is escalated to me the call has gotten to a point that they could not deal with the customer any longer. When customers call yelling and screaming the first attempt is to try and calm them down but some customers just want to yell and scream ( as did *** *****) then they try and use the "im the customer and  the customers always right line". We try to provide good service to al of our customers and good customer service is #1 but if you call in to this bisness yelling and screaming and being derogatory towards me and my employees you can be assured that I will hand up on you and will no longer provide service to you. I don't think this is unreasonable to expect to be treated with respect. Then she has the nerve to file a complaint after she was the problem

Business Response: *** ***** service was handled within her home warranty guidelines and at no time were my staff unpleasant or evasive to **s. *****. All of our incoming calls are recorded for quality and training purposes and **s. ***** repeatedly demanded for a quicker service than here home warranty would allow maybe she should read through her home warranty contract before she signed it instead of wanting us to explain her contract to here after the fact. We are not required to refund her any money due to the fact that the service call was made in a timely manner and all deficiencies were turned in to the home warranty company to authorize. We received authorization to complete repairs on the following day but **s. ***** had already taken a cash out from the home warranty company. As far as having more work than we can handle , it is the peak season and I think that just about every professional company in town is backed up with the amount of calls we are getting in san Antonio and the surrounding area due to the heat being in the 100 *f. I don't think we could have done anything to keep **s. ***** happy unless we would have done the repair that day we were out to diagnose, unfortunately that was not possible due to her home warranty guidelines.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

The original service call occurred on Thursday.  With three small children and temperatures inside exceeding 95 degrees, of course, I would have loved for the my air conditioning to be fixed at the time of the initial service call.  But that was not my expectation, and despite many explanations now, is not my complaint. 

Our air conditioner is a communicating system, so prior to American's Air arrival at my house I knew the fault was the blower motor.  I understood at the time of the service call that our blower motor was not a regularly stocked item, which would need to be ordered.  I also understood, based on the statements made by **. ******'s employee, that the order would be rushed.  I trusted that representation and made no attempts to follow-up on the status of my repair the following day or over the weekend.  I fully expected the repair would take some time. 

My complaint arose because when I called, as I believe any reasonable person would have done, to follow-up on Monday morning, I was met with hostility and I was blatantly lied to.  ***** told me on Monday that my order had not been rushed, and was extremely rude about this fact.  She further stated that she, herself, had placed my order on Friday.  However, authorization for my part from AHS was not sought until after 8:00 a.m. on Monday (AHS has validated this) and according to AHS, the order was not placed until after the authorization.?  By that time, I had already initiated the cash out procedure with AHS.  
I appreciate **. ******'s advice to read my contract.  As an attorney, it is advice I always follow myself.  The contract does not contain any of the provisions referenced by **. ******.  Notably, however, it does contain a provision wherein a service contractor may expedite a service, including non-emergency services -making my reliance on his employee's representation even more reasonable.   

As noted, I have cashed out my claim with AHS.  Their supervisors have been extremely apologetic for the service I received from American Air, and AHS has itself agreed to refund the service fee to me directly as a concession.  For other consumers in San Antonio whose air conditioner breaks in the heat of the summer:  there are companies who will help you -the lowly home warranty customer -but, American Air is not one of them. 

Despite 100 degree temperatures, large call volume, long wait times, and my allegedly unpleasant demeanor, I found those companies.  I worked with Carrier directly to determine and locate my part, and secured an excellent contractor to install it in less than 48 hours.  And as an added bonus, they all treated me well.         


******** *****

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/4/2014, American A/C (American Air Conditioning and Heating Co.) was dispatched by *** ********* **** ******* to check issues found by a house inspector at ***** ****** *******. American A/C was asked to pay special attention to the unit that cools downstairs because the overflow pipe was running water and there was water in the pan. American A/C said they understood and would check both units just to be safe. The technician arrived early and finished in about 15-20 minutes. He showed me that the overflow tube was clogged and he had removed the clog. I asked if everything else on both units was good and explained that everything was running correctly. Later that day, the to-be buyers of my property had their own A/C specialist out onsite. This company explained that the downstairs system was out of Freon and the coil was broken. I called *** back and they re-dispatched American A/C for the 8/8/2014. I spoke with American A/C and explained that I was going out of town, but someone would be there to let them in. I gave them my gate code to make sure they could access my neighborhood. On Friday morning, I was out early with my family on vacation and just happened to return to my hotel room in the late morning. I saw missed calls from American A/C. I called the technician that didn't do his job before and he let me know that he arrived before 9 am, but the gate was closed. I asked if he tried the gate code and he told me he tried to call from the front gate (this is not connected because we have moved out). I asked him to return to site where people were still waiting for him to arrive. He told me that he would not be able to "re-trip" my property today and it was our fault because we didn't answer the phone. I asked him if he called his office and asked for the gate code and he said that they didn't have it. I called the office and spoke to a very nice lady about the situation and she asked me to hold and she would get me some help with the issue. Then, the manager, ****, without even saying hello told me that it was my fault that they didn't get out there. I told him that I gave them the gate code and he told me that I didn't and they don't keep those. He also told me his technician was onsite before 9 am and we didn't answer the phone. I know this was not accurate because due to the school buses, our gates are always open from 6:30 am - 9 am daily (this is not changed when school is out). I also heard from the Realtor that when he came in before 9 am that the gate was open. I explained this and **** told me I was not truthful because his GPS said he was there. I told **** that I needed him back out there on Friday due to an expiring options period for our house sale and this being caused by their original inferior service. **** told me that it was our fault and no one would be out there until Monday at the earliest. I told him that this was not acceptable and he told me he had a call volume of 100 calls and didn't need my business. I told him I was planning on a formal complaint to *** and the BBB. He said he didn't care. I called *** and registered a complaint. I also asked for another contractor and that I would pay the $75 to get a different one. *** obliged and had another contractor out on Saturday (8/9) to take a look. This company also found the issue with the coil and no Freon.

Desired Settlement: We would like our $75 that was spent to cover the service fee through American Home Shield. Because of American A/C's inability to provide the initial, correct service and then follow it up with not being able to show up when they claimed they would caused me to have to pay another $75 to another company to come out and do their job. We would also like a written apology from ****, the manager, who verbally assaulted us over the phone. I have NEVER had such poor service in my entire 45-years of living in *** ******** The names I was called were just unbelievable from someone who is taking my money.

Business Response:

On 8/4 we went out to ***** ****** ******* to inspect one unit through American Home Shield. The dispute was for one unit. The customer must make American Home Shield aware that they want to units serviced so that we can get paid for both units. This customer’s dispatch was for one unit only. During our initial visit on 8/4 nothing was mentioned about a second unit. The only problem that was brought to our attention was the clogged drain. The issue was resolved and we completed the service call.

We then received a dispatch for the second unit on 8/7 and scheduled it for the next day on 8/8 between   8-9am with the home owner. The tech went out the next morning and could not get in through the gate. Our company does not save gate codes because of liability issues and in most cases the gate codes given to us are usually temporary codes that are given to contractors because of security purposes.

The technician attempted to contact the customer from the gate box but the number was disconnected. The technician and our office attempted several times to reach the home owner with no results or a call back. The Home owner called into the office more than an hour later upset because he had missed his appointment. We informed the customer that we would not be able to put him back on the schedule until the following day due to our high volume of calls (This is our peak season). The customer was aggravated and insisted that we return as soon as possible. We informed him that it would not be possible because we already had customers scheduled after his missed appointment.

 The customer then stated that because of his social status that we were supposed to push other customers aside and service his A/C unit first because he was more important. I informed him that all of our customers were equally important to us regardless of social status or wealth. I also mentioned that we would not push our customers aside to service his unit that day after missing his appointment but, we would have been more than happy to reschedule him for the next day at our earliest call between 8-9am. He then threatened to file a BBB complaint and write bad reviews on the internet if we did not do as he demanded. I informed him to do as he liked but, we were still unable to return to his home until the next day.

This customer missed his appointment and refused to take responsibility for not providing access to his house. He felt that he was entitled to extra privilege because of his “wealth and social status”.  He refused to take any kind of responsibility and try to blame us even though we drove to his community and made several attempts to contact him and get through the gate. We will never attempt to contact this customer to provide service due to his unnecessary remarks.


American Air Conditioning & Heating Co.

*** ******** ** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

An extremely tainted view of what happened. My "social status" and "wealth" have nothing to do with this conversation, but shows the inflammatory nature of this vendor. I have been unemployed since the company I worked for failed. I am hardly of any higher social class or wealth by any stretch of the imagination. These type of comments were made when I tried to reason with this incompetent and extremely rude gentlemen over the phone. Once again, he is right and the customer is just a rich jerk trying to cut in line. What really happened was that they failed to do their job the first time and didn't show up the second time. Always either American Home Shield's fault or the end customer's fault. This is truly sad to think that anyone can run a business like this. I am guessing this is **** responding as he is the one who calls himself a manager at this establishment. Extremely sad that anyone who bestow such a title on someone that obviously can't manage his mouth. Oh well and really didn't expect a response any different from this shoddy business. Would suggest the BBB investigate and the public stay very far away. I have already reported them to American Home Shield and as a ***** Realtor, they will listen. The great news is that **** may have to learn some customer service when his calls go down to a lower volume. We can only hope.  


**** **********

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed a new air conditioning unit at my home with a 5 year warranty. This was done about three years ago. The unit has not worked properly since installation! They tried to fix it a few times and charged me for repairs. It still does not work and now they will not even reply to my phone calls. I have two young children in this home and need it fixed asap! The phone number on your site is not active The owners name is **** ****** ************

Desired Settlement: I would like the unit repaired and a refund of the charges I have paid to them since installation.

Business Response: The unit installed for Mr. ****** has a 5 year manufacturers parts only waranty. We have made a repair to this unit and Mr. ****** was not charged for parts ( because they were covered under warranty) only for labor wich is not covered by manufacturers warranty. He did make us aware of the unit not working properly and we did send a tech out to look at his unit and determined that it was low on freon. We did a leak test and could not find any leaks in the equipment. We made Mr ****** aware of his options and he decided to go with a different company. Thats the last we heard from him for about a month. Then he called stating that the unit never worked since it was installed which was 3 years prior. Hard to beleive that someone pays for a unit and waits 3 years to complain that it never worked. Furthermore he started making threats of legal action at that point we stoped dealing with him and refered to our attorneys. Mr ****** is a customer that does not want to pay for any repaires and feels that he is entitled to free service.Once the threats started we were done dealing with him. We attempted to work with him on several occasions, we sent out techs at no cost to him to check his unit out in our attempts to keep him happy. We offered him several options for repair but he did not want to pay for any of the repaires. He instructed us that he would hire another company to do the repairs. we will not deal with Mr ****** anymore because of his threats and unprofesional behavior.  

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: Here again he does not offer a solution.  I had another company come and check for the freon leak.  They said it is on the outside unit!  I don't expect a replacement but I do expect the leak to be repaired at no cost to me.  The unit hasn't worked properly since installed.  It even had to have a new compressor put I to it about a year ago.  The other company said the outside unit should have been replaced. I am a single father with three kids who are complaining about the hot humid house.  I can't continue poring money into a unit that should have need fixed a long time ago.  And I have complained off and over the three years.  This company refused to return my calls time after time!  Just fix it!  That's all I want at this point!  I want working air conditioning!


******* ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on American Air Conditioning and Heating Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart