BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Acrotex Gymnastics

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 930-9330 Fax: (512) 930-9330 View Additional Phone Numbers 3100 S Interstate 35, Georgetown, TX 78628 http://www.acrotex.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers gymnastics, cheer and dance instruction.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acrotex Gymnastics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acrotex Gymnastics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2001 Business started: 08/25/1982 Business started locally: 08/25/1982 Business incorporated: 08/25/1982 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gerry Hoerster, Owner Ms. Kimberlie Hoerster, Owner Ms. Shannon Richison, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerry Hoerster, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Shannon Richison, Manager
Business Category

Gymnastic Instruction Athletic Organizations Dancing Instruction Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

Alternate Business Names
Athletic Systems, Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 John Kelly St

    Burnet, TX 78611 (512) 244-5437

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3100 S Interstate 35

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 863-5437 (512) 930-9330

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    708 Round Rock West Dr

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 863-5437(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We initially signed up for gymnastics class online. After filling out the application (which included credit card information), we logged into the Acrotex website which stated that the class was full, and we had been wait-listed. Acrotex continued to bill us, and has since billed us a second month for services that were never received. To date, we've never stepped foot in this gym. We have tried to resolve this by calling Acrotex to inquire about it, but were told that we had agreed to be billed, and that the class began Aug 2013, and ends Aug 2014 (which happens to be when they said we had been wait-listed until). The person on the phone was extremely rude, began swearing and name calling and ultimately hung up. After this, we called back and upon informing them the call would be recorded this time, they hung up. A third call was made, went to voicemail, where we left a message about the misunderstanding and requesting a call back to resolve it. At this point, I have no confidence that they have any interest in resolving this w/out some form of mediation.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all charges.

Business Response:

Concerning this customer: 

 

Mom registered on 4-9-14.  On 4-9-14 we sent email (copy below) thanking them for registering for class and all class info (day, time, coach, etc.) plus all policy info. The child was never on a waiting list.  All policy information must be clicked on and agreed to in order to register. We sent a May statement on April 25th.  Did not hear anything.  Mom called after the automatic payment on May 5th and said she did not ever enroll.  I looked it up, she enrolled 4-9-14 at 11:09am from her email address.  Told mom we could not authorize a refund but we would get in touch with the owner and get his approval for a refund.  We would call the owner and get back to her.  Within minutes the husband called making threats and said he was getting a lawyer and he would sue for lawyers fees and said he was recording phone call.  Due to the parent's behavior, we did not want to have any business relationship with this customer and the owner authorized a refund. 

 

The owner tried to call them that day and the following day.  No answer or return phone call.  We finally were able to get ahold of the parent a few weeks later, told the parent we had been trying to reach them to give them the refund.  Parent stated they had reversed the charge with the credit card company.  I received verification on 6-3-14 that the charges were reversed. 

 

Additionally, the below information is an outright lie, as there was an additional staff member that witnessed our staffs side of the conversation on the phone.  There was never any swearing or name calling.  It was simply stated that we needed to get the owners approval for a refund, as the secretary could not approve refunds.  The parent did not want that and wanted it done that instant.

 

Below is a copy of what the parent receives when they register and the policies they agreed to.  I have deleted their personal phone numbers and personal information.

 

 

Welcome to AcroTex Gymnastics. You can log on to your account anytime and view your classes, your fees and payments, change phone numbers, pay your bill, etc.

To login to our Customer Portal, Click Here

Your Login ID is your Email Address (to which we sent this email). You can request a new password by clicking the "I don't know my password" link.


Thank you
AcroTex Gymnastics




Family: ******
Contact #1: ****** ****** (Mother)
Contact #1 Phone #s:

Contact #1 Email:

Contact #1 Employer: n/a
Contact #1 Employer Phone #:

Contact #1 Employer Notes:

Contact #2: ****** ****** (Mother)
Contact #2 Phone #s:

Home:
Contact #2 Email:
Contact #2 Employer:

Contact #2 Employer Phone #:

Contact #2 Employer Notes:

Address:
City: ***** ****
State: TX
Zip: *****
Home Phone:

Emergency Contact Info:
Health Insurance Carrier:

Student #1: ***** ******
Gender: Male
Birth Date:

Disabilites: n/a
Special Needs: n/a
Allergies: n/a
Medications: n/a
Primary Doctor:
Posted Registration : 15.00
Class #1: Bounder Boys 9-18 (Session August 19, 2013-August 15, 2014)
- Meets: Thu
- Time: 6:30pm-7:30pm ( Duration: 1:00 )
- Loc: RRGYM
- Room: Big Gym
- Tuition Fee: 67.00




Full Name: ****** ******


Comments:


Credit Card Name:

Type:

Number:
Exp Month:




Credit Card Information
By summiting my credit card information through the secure online registration process. I authorize AcroTex Gymnastics to automatically charge my card for monthly fees on the 3rd of each month. I understand that I must give written notice to AcroTex Gymnastics before the 1st of the month if I decide not to continue classes or decide to use another payment option. If I do not do this by the 1st I agree that I will be charged for that month. I agree that $35 registration fee will be charged to my card along with the first month's tuition upon office approval of my registration form. All account are set up for an automatic monthly e-pay unless we are notified by the 1st of the month.

Member Policies
I understand that if my child drops a class, I must provide a written notice to the gym office. I understand that the payment for all classes will be my responsibility until the arrival of such notification. I understand that written notice must be received before the end of the child's last month. I also understand that some months have an extra class included in that month and I am not charged for that class. Therefore, during the year I receive a number of "free classes." These are considered make-up classes for holidays. Therefore, on short months, I will pay full payment. I grant to AcroTex the right to take photographs/videos of my child. I agree that AcroTex may use such photographs or videos for any lawful purpose, including such purpose as publicity, illustration, advertising and web content.

Release of Liability
By reading and signing this form, you are agreeing and aware that you are engaging in activities with Athletic Systems, Inc, dba AcroTex Gymnastics, that include but are not limited to physical exercise and use of exercise equipment, club facilities, training and instruction. These activities could cause injury to you or others. You are voluntarily participating in these activities and assume all risks of injury and liability that might result. You agree to waive any claims or rights you might otherwise have to pursue, Legal or other action against Athletic Systems Inc., dba AcroTex Gymnastics, the facility's owners, officers, employees, or agents for any reason. You have carefully read this waiver and declare you are sufficiently physically fit for any exercise activities. It is always advisable to consult your physician before undertaking a physical exercise program.

Payment Policies
I understand that there is a $35.00 registration fee once a year, unless I quit and re-register, at that time there would be another $35.00 fee. The first month's tuition is due in full at registration. I understand that I am to pay my child's tuition in full on the 1st of the month. If I fail to pay by the 10th, I will be charged a $25.00 late fee. If payment is not received, the student may be dropped from the class. I understand that if I mail my tuition, it must be postmarked by the 5th to eliminate any possibility of it being received any later than the 10th. I understand that all fees are non-refundable.


Consent Information and Waiver
In any athletic activity, just as in everyday life, there are certain unavoidable dangers and participant accepts certain risks. It is not practical for us to obtain a general medical insurance policy for our students. Insurance coverage provided by this gym is to be considered Excess Coverage (i.e., pays over or beyond what your own personal insurance pays). We cannot turn in claims for minor injuries (sprained ankles, wrists, pulled muscles, etc.) If a major injury should occur, AcroTex Gymnastics will file a claim, if necessary. Please understand our position in this matter, as we have no control over our insurance company. We do not accept responsibility for injuries sustained on the premises and during preparation or attending and participating in classes, whether injury is intentional, accidental or resulting from activities or any other cause.
If for some reason you have apprehension about you or your child's safety, or for the safety of anyone who is under care and control during involvement during our program, or any other sport, I personally recommend that you do not enroll. Remember, however, that we will do everything possible to ensure safety.
I, the undersigned parent or guardian of the above named student, do hereby grant authority to the staff of AcroTex Gymnastics to render judgment concerning medical assistance in the event of an accident or illness during my absence.
I give my consent for my family doctor to treat my child in case of emergency or if you are unable to contact him, please accept this form as your authority to use the doctor on call in the emergency room for any necessary emergency medical treatment.


Thank you for registering for AcroTex Gymnastics, Cheer, and Dance! You will also receive an email confirmation. Please make sure the confirmation is received and let the office know if it is not. We will be happy to assist you. Thanks!




If you need any additional information, please use the email hq@acrotex.com or our phone number is ###-###-####.  We will be happy to supply any additional information you need. 

 

Thank you

*******

AcroTex Gymnastics

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is does not represent accurately, or truthfully, the series of events that occurred.  I'm happy to close this case as I have not been harmed (besides the rude swearing and name calling to my wife, and being hung up on when I called and very simply and calmly stated "before we get started, I need to inform you that I am recording this call")

It is of no matter to me any longer because I won't ever do business with this company, however if the owner would appreciate a phone call from me, I'm happy to talk with him/her to explain what I heard, and how I was treated.  I would want to know if my employees were representing me this way, and I'm happy to share the information with him.  I hope that this is a case of a "bad apple" at acrotex, and not indicative of culture there. 

Any potential customers should not consider a single BBB complaint when considering hiring a service, however they should look for trends.


Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2 young child attended day camp at the Acrotex Round Rock, Tx location on Friday, July 19 2013. An off-the clock male employee who was not wearing Acrotex attire was found alone with 1 of our children acting inappropriately during camp hrs. There are several other issues regarding child safety, employee training and supervision and inappropriate behavior at the camp with both of our children and other children as well. There were 2 young children who a male employee "walked in on while completely undressed in the bathroom", there were a few teenage-young 20 yr old males with little if any other adult supervision with kids aged 3-12. No females were on staff, and the primary Acrotex rule of , "never being alone with a child away from the camp group" was admittedly broken. As well, our child was "tickled" by the male in the lower stomach/abdominal area (which was also admitted to), and videotaped on a cell phone. Contact was attempted and made several times for over a month to try to gain more information, clarify concerns, express unsatisfactory care/services and request for $60.00 reimbursement. Although it was told and assured by both the Mgr (**** ***** ) & Owner (***** *******) that the check was "on its way", it has never been received. As well, no calls are answered or returned and there is a complete lack of empathy, concern or customer service ethics. Please help us with this matter. Thank you-any assistance is greatly appreciated.ren

Desired Settlement: The wish is to receive the $60.00 reimbursement as was verbally promised in a timely manner. It would also be a bonus to receive a letter of apology from Acrotex, stating concern over issues that occurred and how they may better train/supervise staff, reprimand employee who acted inappropriately and a statement of concern for safety of future campers/children.

Business Response: ****** and ******** attend camp at AcroTex Round Rock on June 18, 20, 25, 27 and July 19th.

The parents say that an AcroTex employee was found alone with a child.  This is a false accusation.  All the students were outside playing with water balloons.  The children returned to the gym area to dry off and some to change into dry clothes.  Coach **** and Coach **** were in the gym.  The manager, **** ***** was in the office. Coach ***** was finishing up outside. ****** walked up to Coach **** with a sad face and coach **** tickled him and he smiled.  Our other staff member, ****, was in full view of **** and ****** at all times. Additionally, there were 22 other children in the area at the time.  

The other false accusation that an employee walked in on children while they were completely undressed in the restroom.  Two very young students were starting to change their wet clothes in the front lobby.  A coach saw this and quickly pointed them to the restroom so they could change into their dry clothes in the restroom.  

There were also no pictures, videos, etc. taken of this child in the gym.  There was a video taken outside of all the students throwing water balloons at the coaches.  The following is signed by all parents when they register for classes online:  I grant to AcroTex the right to take photographs/videos of my child.  I agree that AcroTex may use such photographs or videos for any lawful purpose, including such purpose as publicity, illustration, advertising and web content.

I, ***** ********, have set up 3 different meetings with the ******.  Mrs. ***** agreed to all the meeting times that were scheduled.  All meetings were later cancelled by the ******.  I have followed up on the phone calls.  We have several voicemail messages from Mrs. *****, which we still have.  In one message she states that she has been advised not to meet with any AcroTex staff and that her attorney will get in touch with us.  Another message states that she has filed a complaint, has an attorney and has filed charges against AcroTex and her attorney will be in contact.  

Gymnastics is a sport that requires hands on spotting for the safety of our students. We have meetings and training where we address spotting and the appropriate ways to spot students.  This is addressed often in training sessions and meetings.

These are very serious accusations against our employee, which we take very seriously.  We have met with each employee present during our camps and have found
no inappropriate behavior occurred and no discipline action is required.  

AcroTex is willing to refund the $60.00 camp fee for the day if a complete release of liability is signed.  Making false accusations against a person and company is very serious.  Please contact us if you have any additional questions.

Thank you

***** ********
Owner
AcroTex Gymnastics

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The response to this matter is inaccurate, unfair and totally unacceptable. It also uses our children's full names which hinders their privacy, showing further lack of concern or empathy for our family. The matter was discussed repeatedly and both the Mgr & Owner both admitted to the male employee in question, "breaking Acrotex rules" by not wearing proper uniform/attire and being on premises with children while, "off the clock/waiting for a ride from another employee". It was also admitted that he lied about being there and lied about having his cell phone on him, tickling/touching our child and any interaction with our child. It was conveyed  that the employee did admit to all of these things later. It was also conveyed to us that this employee was going to be , "handled for inappropriate conduct" and that we would be refunded, "in a timely manner" since we were unsatisfied with the services provided that day. When a meeting was requested by us, we were given the option of having my wife meet with the owner and employee at 8pm in order to accommodate the employee in questions schedule. We felt that my wife meeting 2 males after dark alone was not in our best interest especially under the circumstances and nature of concerns. As well, since we had already voiced our complaints and concerns and identified the employee by photo emailed to us, we saw no reason for a meeting. We simply asked for a refund and wanted to ensure our concerns were addressed and the employee would be reprimanded, further trained/counseled regarding future safety for other children. We feel this was more than a reasonable request. We have consulted an attorney regarding courses of action due to lack of cooperation and were highly advised to no longer communicate with Acrotex due to lack of cooperation and potential further issues. The false claim of the employee, "never being alone with our child" is ludicrous, since my wife walked in to pick up our children early and could not find our child with the other campers and the 2 employees in uniform. She found him alone, 1-1 with the employee in question not wearing Acrotex attire, in the back of the gym, away from the group. The employee was showing our child a video on his cell phone and looked straight at my wife. Our child told us later that it was a, "rock video of guys screaming" and that previously he'd gotten our son to mimic the video and video-taped him on his phone. As parents, we know that photographs of campers during camp activities may be reasonable but certainly know that an off-the-clock employee with a cell phone using it for non-related gymnastics/camping activities is not proper. As well, if our child had a "sad face", we must all question why, when we are paying for our child to have fun at gym camp? Which validates our point that refund should have already occurred, not only because we requested it and it was promised to us, but because it is apparent our child did not enjoy himself and was not getting the safe and enjoyable services we had hoped for. Regarding the other 2 children who were seen unclothed-all that can be said is that when contact was made regarding our concerns/complaints, the Mgr apologized profusely about , "our 2 kids being walked in on totally undressed by a male staffer in the bathroom". When it was confirmed that no, these were not our children and this was not our complaint, it only further concerned us regarding the events and behaviors taking place at this business. That information was offered to us, obviously by accident. As far as serious accusations- yes, we think most rational people and parents would seriously question such events and behaviors around young children. If this business does not find the information alarming and is not customer friendly enough to try to better serve and accommodate customers and see safety as the major concern, rather than trying to save face and be stubborn or keep their employee from accountability, than that is disturbing. We demand the refund and an apology for our stress and time over this matter as well as briefing on how this matter was handled in that it could better the environment for other children (since ours will not be returning). If that cannot be met, then other avenues will be taken. 
 Regards,
**** *****
* **** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1