This business is not BBB accredited.

Planet Fitness

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 282-0003 Fax: (512) 280-0310 1819 S Pleasant Valley Rd Ste A, Austin, TX 78741 http://www.planetfitness.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Planet Fitness include:

  • 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Planet Fitness include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 15
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Planet Fitness
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2009 Business started: 12/10/2007 Business started locally: 12/10/2007 Business incorporated 06/02/2011 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Turner, General Manager Mr. Greg Attwood, Owner Mr. Scott Attwood, Owner Ms. Virginia Attwood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Turner, General Manager
Business Category

Gymnasiums Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health & Wellness Health Clubs Training Programs Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

Alternate Business Names
Excel Fitness Management, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 W Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 282-0003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1807 Slaughter Ln

    Austin, TX 78748

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1819 S Pleasant Valley Rd Ste A

    Austin, TX 78741

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 W Palm Valley Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7100 W US Highway 290 Ste A

    Austin, TX 78736

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my fiance and I went to this Planet Fitness to sign up last November, we were planning on getting the cheapest membership for this location. After the employee that worked there found out that we were both teachers, he told us that we could get a prorated membership for teachers that cost $15.77 for their Black Card membership (normally $19.99). We talked with the employee we asked if this was the monthly payments, he confirmed it was. We agreed to both get the prorated membership. Last February, I was checking my bills and noticed that Planet Fitness has been charging us each, $21.70 for our memberships. We called Planet Fitness customer service and explained our situation, they told us that we will have to take it up with the specific location where we got our membership. So, we went in person to talk to the same employee but couldn't find him at that time. We talked with a different employee who said that there wasn't anything he could do to keep the monthly price at the prorated value of $15.77. He told us that we would have to cancel the accounts and pay an early termination fee of $69.

Desired Settlement: Set monthly bills to the promised prorate of $15.77 and apply the overpayment amount towards future bills. OR cancel membership with no charge.

4/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid for a membership for over a year and have never used the facility or services in that time frame. I recently moved away from that city and called to cancel my membership. I was told that I would have to cancel in person. I signed up online but have to cancel in person after moving away? That is an unreasonable business practice. The contract stated that they must recieve written notice. I sent them an email to two different email addresses without a response. The emails contained verification that it was me, and all contact information for me. They are literally stealing money from me by not cancel;ling my membership even though I called them and emailed them twice. How much more do you need to stop charging someone for a service? Showing up in person is ridiculous I am not driving hours or flying to cancel a membership.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my membership, stop charging for services not performed. Stop stealing.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

 

Mr. ****** signed up for a membership with Planet Fitness on 5/17/14, which is a 12-month commitment.  After his commitment is meant, his agreement would continue on a month to month basis until his membership is cancelled per his membership agreement (see attached.) The club requires cancellation of membership in person or via certified mail per his attached membership agreement that he agreed to as well. All items that pertain to his claim are highlighted on his agreement. Please let us know if you have any other questions. 

Have a great day!

Regards,

******* ******- CEO/COO

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My membership agreement does not say to cancel via certified mail. This is a lie. The membership agreement says to give written notice. This written notice was given three times. A letter was mailed and the location was emailed twice. This membership is way over 12 months old so all contract obligations have been met. You can see by the companies response that they refuse to honor their agreements and rip customers off. They were notified by a phone call, mail and two emails and yet they still refuse to cancel the membership. See a copy of my membership agreement that is attached. This complaint also suffices as written notice.

Below are copies of at least one email that was sent:

 
 
3/05/16
 
To: membership@planetfitness.com Cc: *** ******, Vanessa ******, lv******@gmail.com
Planet Fitness,
I ****** ****** am giving you written notice per delivery of this document that I am cancelling my membership. You no longer have authorization to charge my debit card, credit card, or bank account for any charges. You are obligated to cancel this membership immediately upon receipt of this email. 
This includes all locations but specifically pertains to the location at 200 West Palm Blvd. Round Rock, Tx 78664. Below is a copy of the conditions in the contract for cancellation.  The language in the contract requires written notification. This email is written notification. All information for this account and that I am the account holder is below. You have proof that this is the account holder that this email originates from the email address on file and the same email that the contract was communicated to.
• To cancel your monthly membership and stop the monthly billing on the 17th of the month, the club requires written notification by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferably via certified mail.  Any monthly membership can be cancelled upon 30 days written notice. All account and billing changes must be made on or before the 10th of each month. You cannot prepay your monthly dues.

****** ******
Formerly at:
1000 Promenade Crt.
Round Rock, tx 78665
Membership #  ***********
Date: 3/5/2016
Phone: ************
0r
************

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

If you scroll down on the contract that you signed and agreed to, located on section 7. Cancellation rights, it states, "THE WRITTEN NOTICE MUST BE MAILED BY CERTIFIED MAIL TO THE FOLLOWING ADDRESSes: (List of our locations)"  Your membership will remain active and continue to draft until it is cancelled per the membership agreement.  Also, I would like to note that the email address that you sent your "request" to is not a valid email address and is no longer in use.  A certified letter ensures that both parties receive a copy or receipt of the cancellation request and a cancellation done in person does the same, because the member receives a carbon copy of the cancellation form signed in the location.

Regards,

******* ******- CEO/COO

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

The contract that ******* ****** COO of Planet Fitness provided is not the same as the one that I have. He is showing a revised contract that is not signed. Please provide a copy of a signed contract or agreement ******* ****** COO of Planet Fitness. The wording in the contract that I provided is below and can be referenced in the previous attachment.

• To cancel your monthly membership and stop the monthly billing on the 17th of the month, the club requires written  notification by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferably via certified mail. 

The wording says preferably not required. Once again that is preferably. Preferably is not a legal obligation. Once again I would like ******* ****** to provide a signed contract. Any further charges are not authorized. You have received notice by mail, twice by email, and now through an intermediary the BBB. ******* ****** cannot provide a signed contract nor can ******* ****** explain why the contracts are different. Nor can ******* ****** explain the wording preferably. However, ******* ****** insists to draft charges when the customer has adamantly requested through multiple outlets to cancel a membership. The email was sent to another email address. Also know that I spoke to a customer service agent on the phone and he admitted that this is a terrible business practice. He said that he has brought it up in meetings. He said that it is only a policy to take advantage of customers by making cancellation as complicated as possible. Hopefully you record your calls for quality assurance purposes. the call was placed on Saturday 3/5/2016. I am sure you can ask your employees and find out who spoke to Mr. ****** on 3/5/2016. 

1 mailed letter

2 emails

1 BBB mediation

1 Phone call that an employee admitted it was a horrible business practice

Regards,

****** ******

2/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I finished my year memebership back in July and called to cancel my membership, Payments stopped coming to my account and I had believed my account was closed. A few months later they started again. I called left voicemails and sent letters to cancel my account. I never got them to cancel, I finally got ahold of someone in the customer service department to tell me I had to go up there to cancel. When I finally had time to go up there they said I was past due for the months the payments didn't go through. I told them that I had thought they had cancelled my membership at that time. And they would not cancel my membership, I advised that I would stop payments to them and I wanted my membership canceled.

Desired Settlement: I would like Planet fitness to cancel my account like I thought it had been and remove any past due balance from my account.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

 

Mr. ******** signed up on 8/26/2013 and is billed monthly at $21.70.  Stated on Mr. ********'s agreement "To cancel your monthly membership and stop the billing of the monthly membership fee on the 17th of the month, the club requires written notification by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or postmarked via certified mail to the club address listed above." We have yet to receive a cancellation notice via certified mail or in person from Mr. ******** and his membership will remain active until this is received.  If Mr. ******** has a receipt of the certified letter that he states that he sent, we will be more than willing to waive any past due balance and cancel his account. 

As of today, Mr. ******** owes an outstanding balance of $86.80 and will remain active.  

Please see attached agreement and feel free to reach out with any questions.  Have a great day!

Regards,

******* ******* COO

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to cancel my membership and stop the automatic drafts from my bank account.

Desired Settlement: Membership cancellation

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

 

*********** ******* signed up with Planet Fitness on 12/3/2014 and his membership is a 12 month commitment.  After his 12 months are up, his contract then goes month to month as stated in his contract.  In order to cancel his membership, he would need to cancel on or before the 10th of the month to avoid the 17th monthly draft and on or before the 25th of January to avoid his annual fee.  We have yet to see an attempt to cancel or have a cancellation on file for Mr. *******. 

Attached you will See the Membership agreement stating the verbiage above.  Please let us know if you have any questions.  Thanks!

 

******* ******

COO- Planet Fitness Austin, DFW

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have already requested termination of my agreement in writing and by email twice but Planet Fitness refused to respond. I have sent ANOTHER written request to terminate my contract. Each time I ask the attendants on duty over the phone how to cancel I get a different answer.  I have heard this is a common complaint among other pwople who wish to terminate their membership.  Is Planet Fitness suggesting I send ANOTHER termination request via certified mail?

Regards,

*********** *******

Business Response:

Mr. *******,

If you can provide the receipt for the certified letter that you sent your local Planet Fitness, we will be more than willing to refund your membership for this past month and cancel your membership.  Unfortunately we do not except phone, fax or emailed cancellations.  All cancellations need to be done in person or via certified mail per the terms that you agreed to on your contract.  Please let us know if you have any other questions.  Have a great day!

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

Can I go to any location and cancel in person or does it have to be the original gym where I signed up? This would be the fastest way to wrap this up.

Regards,

*********** *******

7/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been trying to cancel this membership, no one will help me. I wanted to get a gym membership for my family, this only for an individual. I just want this cancelled and refund my money. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: Refund the fees deducted from my checking account and cancel this membership.

Business Response:

Mr. *******

Thank you for reaching out.  I did take a look at your membership which allows only one guest per visit which it states online on the Black Card Benefits portion. 

You signed up for your membership on 4/21/15 which is a 12 month agreement, please see attached document that you agreed to online.  You can cancel your membership one of two ways, either in person or by certified mail.  If you do cancel your membership prior to the 12 month term, than you are subject to an early termination fee of $58+tax which will need to be collected prior to cancelling your membership.

Please let us know if you have any other questions and feel free to reach out to us.  Thanks and have a great day!

******* ******

6/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For some reason, Planet Fitness continues to charge me for an account I do not have. They did so for almost 8 months a few years ago. There were no charges in at least the last year and they, again, started up the charges. They are charging my credit card. They charged me on 3/16 and again on 5/1.

Desired Settlement: They need to STOP charging me. I do not have a membership there and, because of this craziness, probably never would. They now owe me $43.40 but I think they should owe me triple these as damages because I do not have a membership with them AND this happened for months and months on a previous occasion. So, I would like them to send me a check for $130.20.

Business Response: Hi Ms. *****,

First I would like to apologize about the situation that you ran into with one of our facilities, I am currently looking into this situation for you. 

I do have a couple of questions for you. Do you have the last 4 digits of the debit card that is being charged? Do you also have the last 4 of the checking account that is being effected? I can run a report that shows who this membership is charging with this information. 

Also, have you ever signed up for a membership with us or signed up a friend/family member/significant other?

I hope to get this resolved for you as soon as possible.  Please get me this information as soon as you can.  Have a great day!

******* ******

5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried canceling my account with Planet Fitness 3 months ago, left many voicemails without callback, and have been charged past few months where I shouldn't have been since I tried to cancel. Finally contacted Management at the Slaughter location and still being charged. Tried emailing Corporation and could not as I couldn't log in and could not reset my password.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of my account and refund of the last 3 months of payment.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern,

Attached you will see a copy of Mr. *******'s contract.  His contract states "To cancel your monthly membership and stop the billing of the monthly membership fee on the 17th of the month, the club requires written notifications by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or postmarked via certified mail to the club address listed above."  We have yet to receive a cancellation request via certified mail, nor had he filled out a cancellation form at the front desk.  If Mr. ******* has in fact cancelled his membership per his agreement terms, we would be more than happy to issue a refund.  All that we need is either a carbon copy of his cancellation form dated back to "the time he cancelled" or a certified receipt from the US Postal office dating back to when he cancelled. 

Please let us know if you need any other information or have any questions.  Thank you and have a great day!

******* ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have never seen, made aware, or signed this contract (Does state electronically signed but that was not me) , this is a total surprise to me... I called the Slaughter Location 2 months ago with my request to cancel and never heard back, I tried to login to my account online, couldn't remember my password, tried to reset and I have yet received my email for password reset..

This business is operating fraudulently and needs to be investigated on their business practices.



Regards,

***** *******

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unacceptable experience at the gym and was provided unacceptable customer service by **** *******. Also gym unsafe and tripped and unable to workout as usual because of knee injury. No sign posted and area uneven. One high and one low. I am requesting a refund for the month I was unable to work out as usual. Thanks

Desired Settlement: $100.00 for payment for January/February,

Business Response:

Ms. *****, signed up for a membership with Planet Fitness on 02/08/15. She signed up for a Black Card Membership, which is $19.99 per month (plus tax) with a 12 month minimum term. She signed in person and according to the agreement, has authorized Planet Fitness to bill her account or credit card for her monthly dues. Your account will be billed on or around the 17th of each month for the amount of $19.99 (plus tax). As seen on account holders check in history, she has been checked in multiple times during the duration of her membership.  Members of Planet Fitness do have an option to freeze their accounts due to medical reasons.  All we ask of the members is to provide a doctor’s note so that we can scan into the members profile.   To date, we have not received any form of notice from her doctors so that we can freeze her account. If Ms. ***** is able to provide a doctor’s note from during the time period of February and March, we will be more than happy to issue her a refund for that time.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions.

 

Regards,

 

James Cain

Planet Fitness Regional Manager

Austin, Pflugerville, Round Rock, Killeen, and Waco

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******** *****

1/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First a little backstory: I signed up for Planet Fitness at the end of December, 2013 and was not provided a tour of the facility. We signed up under the assumption that PF, like all other gyms, would have free weights. My boyfriend discovered this was not true on his first gym visit, and we immediately canceled our memberships. The rep at the desk, and the attending manager, agreed to cancel both of our memberships under the common understanding that we had not used the facilities and the facility's capabilities were not clearly described to us. We signed the terminating paperwork, returned our fobs/pens/tshirts and left. This month, my credit statement reported that the Planet Fitness in the *** **** neighborhood of ******, ** was still charging me a membership fee--a full 10 months after my membership was cancelled. Upon reviewing my credit card statements from 2014, more discrepancies came to light: December, 2013: $6.85 charge January, 2014: $10.83 charge February, 2014: $10.83 charge March, 2014: $10.83 charge April, 2014: No charge May, 2014: $10.83 charge June, 2014: $10.83 charge July, 2014: $10.83 charge August, 2014: $10.83 charge September, 2014: $10.83 charge October, 2014: $31.39 charge ----- TOTAL: $124.88 I called the *** **** location and spoke to ***, the ******* *******, who informed me that she had no information for cancellation on my file. However, my boyfriend's cancellation was on file. I ask you how it was possible for an employee of Planet Fitness to cancel my boyfriend's membership, but not mine, when both cancellations were filed the same day and placed in the same stack of paperwork? Why am I being charge $124.88 for the incompetence of the employees at the *** **** location? *** can tell me that I have never once used a membership fob to enter or use a Planet Fitness facility, as I do not have one. She told me that she would be happy to cancel my membership but will not refund me the $124.88 that was charged to my account incorrectly over the past several months. I contacted ****** next the ******** *******, whom has given me false evidence that I was "supposedly" using the gym. First the photograph he sent me, I am almost 6ft tall with a very small chest, this woman is most defiantly not me in the photo. Secondly, my "schedule of visits" sent to me by ****** the regional manager show me to be in the gym when I have proof that I was working at my job in a local Emergency Department. Thirdly, what is the likelihood that my FOB when returned on date of my cancellation was re-assigned to another member who according to this data scantly uses the gym compared to my 3-6 days a week. I realize that my request is made more difficult that I do not have cancellation paperwork in my possession, but I know for a fact that keeping a document for six months should prove sufficient. Keeping it for 10 months ( as long as this has been going on) not very likely. Along with this "evidence" ****** has provided me, he has "suddenly cancelled my membership with no buyout fee. But again as what *** has told me at the location I originally signed up from, I have received no refund of incorrect charges. My request is very simple: please speak to the appropriate parties to authorize a $124.88 refund to the credit card I have on file and fulfill the termination request I filed over 10 months ago. I have made an attempt to contact the CEO via email with no response over 2 weeks and have told the local manager, the regional manager and the CEO in email that I would contact the BBB to file a complaint, hence my complaint today.

Desired Settlement: I would like a billing adjustment in the amount of $124.88. I have already changed my credit card and had to file dispute on my credit card for these charges. For which I will only recieve my latest charge of the $31.39 back without the cancellation paperwork for the credit card company. I'd also like my complaint formally published so people are aware of the poor employee follow through and representation of higher ups in the company whom have failed to correct this mistake and instead have shown false evidence.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

 

The following email was sent to Ms. ****** on 10/29/2014;

 

“Hi *******,

 

I sincerely apologize about the situation that you ran into at our *** **** location.  By chance do you have a copy of your cancellation form?  Our records indicate that there was no cancellation filled out at the location. If you have a copy I would be more than happy to issue you a refund.

 

On another note, I ran a usage report and it shows that you have checked into the gym a few different times since last December (See Attached.)

 

As of today your membership looks to be cancelled without a buyout fee.  Unfortunately due to the circumstances we c***ot provide a refund unless proof of a cancellation is provided. Please let us know if you have any other questions.  Have a great day!

 

Regards,”

 

Ms. ****** has yet to provide proof of cancellation, therefore we are unable to issue a refund for her membership.  On a side note, we did cancel her membership free of charge without a $58 early termination fee to appease the situation.  Again, if she can show proof that she cancelled, than I would be more than happy to refund her membership, otherwise, records indicate that she was indeed using the gym after she “cancelled.”  Please let me know if you need anything else from us.  Have a great day!

 

****** ******

******** ******* * ****** ******* ******* **** ***** ******** ***** ******* ****** *******

pf-email

*********************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 
1) Falsification of records, without a gym fob, I have not used the gym as indicated. Photographic evidence and my work schedule clearly show that I was not the female using this gym membership. FOB was returned with cancellation of membership.  I am extremely frustrated that someone whom failed to do their job and most likely gave my FOB after returning to someone else causes me charges.  However, I can see as indicated by the manager that they will stop at nothing to keep their charged fees.  Therefore, I am rejecting this statement, however know that PF will never repay me for their wrong doing, and should be posted on your website with complaint at their inaccurate book keeping and charges. 


Regards,

******* ******

10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent Planet Fitness a cancellation letter with all of my pertinent account information during the first week of August 2014, following the instructions in the member contract. They received this letter later that week but still billed me for the month of August. I called and spoke to an employee, who told me that the cancellation was not processed until the 17th (the last day that it could be processed before I was billed for another month). The employee told me that I needed to cancel before the 10th. I had done so and requested a refund for the August charge. The employee told me to contact the manager via e-mail. I did so, and when she requested "proof of the double charges," I sent her a copy of my bank statement with the July and August charges highlighted. I have yet to receive any more information from Planet Fitness and they have not yet refunded my money for the extra August account charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the erroneous August membership charge of $16.24 because I followed the directions in the member contract for cancellation. All paperwork was received by Planet Fitness before the 10th and I was only charged due to a delay in their processing of my cancellation.

9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a disabled veteran with a left leg amputation. I have no transportation and need to travel by cab. I joined Planet Fitness in March of 2013 to augment my physical therapy. At that time I was living in ***** **** so membership with them made sense. However, I moved to ******* in an apartment community that has a fitness center so Planet Fitness became redundant and unnecessary. I contacted Planet Fitness first in early March notifying them that I no longer required the services of their gym and requested they cancel my membership. They never got back to me. Instead they sent me an email stating that I owed them for my ***ual renewal. I contacted them via email and asked them why I had to pay for a renewal when I requested they cancel my membership. They contacted me and stated I needed to cancel my membership by either coming to the gym in person or via a letter to them. Since I had no transportation, I sent them the letter of cancellation. They sent an email to me stating they would cancel my membership if I paid them for the renewal fee and for four months from March through July, I told them I wasn't responsible for their billing and accounting practices and that the membership should have been cancelled in March when I made my initial request. We are now at an impasse and they are still charging me for the membership.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to adjust my account to a zero balance and to cancel my membership.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

 

We have actually been in constant contact with Mr. ****** on the issues he is having with his account.  Mr. ****** signed up on 4/24/13 for a 12 month agreement which then went month to month until he cancelled. As a courtesy we put Mr. ****** on a 3 month freeze over the phone because he moved and stated he was moving and would be back in February (Attached.) When a membership is put on freeze it then extends the contract for the amount of months the freeze was for (3 months.) Mr. ******s contract is now not

eligible to cancel until 7/24/13.   Mr. ****** states that he sent a letter

to cancel, we have no record of his cancellation nor did he send a "certified letter" to insure a receipt of delivery for both parties. IF Mr.

****** did send a letter in March like he states, then he would have cancelled his membership pre-maturely before his 12 month contract was up, which would have resulted in an early termination fee of $58+tax.  His agreement states that there are two ways to cancel, either person or by certified mail, which wasn’t done.  To this day Mr. ****** is cancelled in our system, but remains to have a balance of $147.32.  I have attached a copy of his agreement and also his check-in icon that states his balance. 

 

In order for Mr. ****** to stay cancelled in good standing, he would have to pay his past due balance.  We would be more than happy to waive $40 off of this balance which would take him to $107.32 owed.  Please let me know if you have any questions and have a great day!

 

****** ******

******** ***** *******  |  Planet Fitness ******, ***, ****, ******, *****, ******* www.planetfitness.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, Planet Fitness is unethical, frauds, cheats, and liars.  They never informed me to cancel membership via a certified letter.  When I began to speak with them on the phone, prior to March 2014, I made it clear that I needed to cancel my membership because I no longer live in the area and it made no sense to pay for a membership if it wasn't being used.  The Manager at the ***** ****, ** facility informed me I had to either come to the facility and cancel in person, or write a letter and cancel my membership.  I am a disabled veteran with a left leg amputation and in a wheelchair.  I have no transportation so I had to write a letter to cancel the membership.  I am NOT going to pay them money because of their incompetence and unethical behavior regarding settlement of this account.

They have 6 days to resolve this issue, or I am going to escalate this matter and file formal complaints for their unfair business practice with both the Texas State Attorney Generals Office - Consumer Fraud Division, and the Federal Trade Commission.  Frauds, and Thieves that Planet Fitness appear to be should not be permitted to operate facilities in the State of Texas.   

Regards,

******* ******

8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my planet fitness membership months ago, I IN-STORE as requested as I tried to do it on he phone first. I have been receiving calls and emails requesting that I update my payment information as well as pay an outstanding balance (all this after I cancelled). I finally got someone on the phone from the 888 number that keeps calling me and went through the information with him and he said he couldn't find the cancellation notice. I informed him that I apologize he was unable to locate it but I don't frequent their gym anymore and am no longer interested in their services. he said ok he would deal with it on his end. I still get calls once a week and text messages once a week saying I have an outstanding balance etc... It is very frustrating and at the point where it is almost harassing. I have a fantastic credit rating and pay all of my obligations but am starting to feel like I am a bill collectors weekly call list.

Desired Settlement: I just want an email from planet fitness confirming that I am no longer a member and do not have any financial obligation with them.

Business Response:

Good Morning ***,

 

Cardholder, **** ******, signed up in person for a membership with Planet Fitness on 1/17/11. He signed up for a Black Card Membership, which is $19.99 per month (plus tax) with a 12 month minimum term and will continue month to month once the membership exceeds 12 months.  The cardholder agreed in person and according to the agreement, has authorized the club to bill his account or credit card for his monthly dues. His account will be billed on or around the 17th of each month for the amount of $19.99 (plus tax).  Also stated on the membership agreement, “In order to cancel the membership billing for day 17 of the month the club requires notification in writing by day 10 of the month by certified mail.”    We also accept in person cancellation on or before the 10th.  To date, we have not received any form of cancellation for Mr. ******’s membership with Planet Fitness.  Therefore, will be continued billing of his membership until he cancels in accordance to our policies. If he can provide the carbon copy of his cancellation that was filled out at our location, then we will cease all calls, waive his past due balance and cancel his membership.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions. Thanks and have a great weekend!

 

Regards,

 

****** ******

8/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to this location to cancel my membership in May of this year. The gentleman at the front desk (*******) got a "Freeze Form" out. I asked him about it and he stated that I needed to freeze my account first. He stated that he would put it in the system for 30 days and that it would stop billing and then it would automatically cancel out my membership. I asked him at the time if I needed to come back in to cancel the membership, but he stated that no everything was taken care of and I was set. So, I left the store. About a month later, I was thinking that perhaps I needed to go back by the store to confirm that everything was taken care of, but I'm working on this thing about trusting people to do what they said they would do. After 30 days had passed and I didn't receive a bill for June I felt that he had completed what he said he would do and I felt assured that it was handled. This morning I check my bank account and discovered that I was charged for a monthly fee. I called the gym to ask that they reverse the charge and to make sure that it was handled and wouldn't be a future issue. The young man that I spoke with first asked me was it the monthly fee or the fee plus the administrative fee. I told him that it was only the $16.24 charge. He asked if I remembered who I spoke with and I told him that I didn't. I asked if they didn't have the notes in their system and an ID of who input the information. He looked at the info and stated that it had to have been 1 of 2 people and so he asked me to describe who I was talking about and I did. He placed me on hold for about 3 minutes while he went to find the gentleman and explain what I was calling about. ******* got on the phone and I explained my situation again to him. He stated that he couldn't remember back that far but he knows that he always tells people to come back in, but he didn't want to call me a liar, so he asked if I wanted to talk to the manager and I said yes. Again I was placed on hold and after about 5 minutes the manager came on the line and asked how she could help. I went through my situation again and she was silent the entire time. After I finished explaining she stated, "Well, ma'am, I have the form in front of me that you signed. It was a 30 day freeze and then if you did not come back in then it reverted back to your contract and your contract states that you must come in to cancel. Unfortunately there's nothing I can do about the charge." I informed her that I didn't even know anything about a "Freeze". He was the one who told me to do that. She said, "Well, yes, they're told to offer a freeze to members who may not be sure or may have just needed some time to decide if they wanted to cancel". I told her that when I came in in May, my intention was to cancel and I didn't think it was fair that they would impose a "freeze" on me that I didn't ask for or know anything about. And for me to specifically ask if I needed to come back in and be told no it felt like a scam and now I have to go through another process to cancel my membership. Her reply was, "Well, yes, ma'am, if you don't want to be charged again you will need to come back in." I informed her that I would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and she said, "Ok".

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be to receive a Credit Card refund and that they would change their policy of offering a "freeze" to members when members are requesting to cancel. For those of us who take time out of our days to go to the location specifically to cancel it's a hassle and seems unfair to have a practice where they offer something different than what you ask for. And in my case, for me to ask if I needed to come back in and to be told no, it just feels like a scam like when businesses offer a trial and hope you forget. Once you realize that you've been duped then they say that they can't do anything about the charge you've gotten but if you don't want it to happen again, then you need to go back in.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of last year I went in to Planet Fitness multiple times once to move the account over to this branch and then after to request that the account be cancelled. The account still has not been cancelled and proceeds to be billed. This has caused numerous issue with my bank. I am sick of this that the cancellation process is not taken into account and not acknowledged. I have since joined another gym that allows me to cancel online and offers various methods of cancellation unlike Planet Fitness.

Desired Settlement: The cost of this over a period of a year has been 21.64 per month for a period of over 14 months. That totals out to $302.96, I am not requiring them to pay me the full amount but would like at least 75% of this to recover in all of the bank fees I have had to pay for this. The total I am asking for is $227.22

Business Response:

    I apologize for any inconvenience that our member has encountered due to this issue. All of are members are valued participants within our team. As of today the member is still within a commitment with us and as it states in his agreement, "If your membership has a minimum commitment, and you wish to cancel your membership early a $58 (plus tax) Buy Out fee is required with your cancellation." Also stated in the signed agreement, " Your account below will be billed on or around the 17th of each month beginning on Sept 17th 2013 for $21.70 per month or until you cancel in accordance with this agreement." Currently the membership is still active and in good standing. We strive to provide our members and potential members with very honest and upfront pricing and policies. In the agreement also is our cancellation policy, " To cancel your monthly membership and stop the monthly billing on the 17th of the month, the club requires written notification  by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferably via certified mail." To date the requirements have not been met for us to cancel the membership being the reason for his continued charges. Attached is Mr. ********' membership agreement. Feel free to contact me for any other info. 

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After two months of being a member, I decided to cancel my membership with Planet Fitness. They advertise a "no contract" membership and I was told over the phone that the necessary steps would be taken to cancel my monthly charges. Since I have received several confusing texts, phone calls at all hours of the day from different phone numbers and emails. "Planet Fitness wants to welcome you back for only $1 and $99 for a year PIF. Hurry this offer expires tomorrow." "Our records indicate a past due balance. Visit our website to settle the matter" Why would they offer a special deal, if I cancelled my membership and owed past due amount? It doesn't make sense. I've been called and called, sometimes as early as 5:30am and as late as 11:00pm. Maybe they are open 24/7, but I am not. Every month since I cancelled, they have tried to draft my bank account, of which I have placed a block on the company, but can still see it happening.

Desired Settlement: I desire that Planet Fitness stop trying to contact me. If any statement has damaged my credit, I wish this to be reversed as well. I don't owe them any money and paid, in full, for the months I believe I was a member.

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to terminate my contract with Planet Fitness because the facilities and service of the staff did not meet my expectations. I was instructed by the branch manager to contact the regional manager, ****** ****, with my concerns. I emailed her 3 times and have called numerous times, leaving multiple voice-mails, but she will not respond to my messages. I have been trying to get my situation resolved since August and meanwhile, I keep getting charged monthly fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get refunded for the amounts that have been deducted form my account, my contract terminated without penalty, and my membership cancelled.

Business Response: Mr. *****,

Per our email conversations that started back in September, this situation has been handled and a refund has been given.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions.

Warmly,

****** ****
******** ********
**************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Planet Fitness
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)