Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Able's Sporting, Inc.

Phone: (800) 720-3275 Fax: (936) 295-3746 View Additional Phone Numbers 357 Fm 1791 N, Huntsville, TX 77320 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Able's Sporting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Able's Sporting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 2003 Business started: 02/01/1973 Business started locally: 02/01/1973 Business incorporated 07/31/2009 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
99 New York Avenue, NE, Washington DC 20226
Phone Number: (800) 283-4867

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Randy Wright, Owner Mr. James Gilhousen, Internet Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Wright, Owner
Business Category

Gun Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Able Ammo
Products & Services

This company offers hunting & sporting equipment.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Able's Sporting, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 357 Fm 1791 N

    Huntsville, TX 77320 (800) 720-3275 (866) 988-2253 (936) 295-5786


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a case (1000 quantity) of "Wolf 22362HP Performance 223 Remington/5.56 NATO 62 GR, 3025 fps, 1000 Per case) of ammunition from ************ at a relatively good price on Sunday April 17th at 8:41PM Arizona Time. This ordered was unexpectedly cancelled at 04/18/2016 at 10:24:12AM. I called the company to inquire why this was cancelled and they told me it was no longer being made by the manufacture. To verify this I performed a simple google search and found this was not true, and many other companies are selling this ammo. I have still not be issued a refund, and they tried to get me to buy other ammo types. A clear bait and switch luring people in with a good deal and then cancelling it later.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to deliver an order of 1000 Wolf 22362HP Performance 223 Remington/5.56 NATO 62 GR, 3025 fps or similar type ammunition for the original price.

Business Response:

The e-mail we sent the customer in cancelling the order can be found below.  If he called and was told something different, we would like to know who he spoke with because this information is not accurate.  We did not try and switch the customer to another item, as he is implying.  We simply canceled the order and stated we could not back order.  This is because we do not have a lead time, and do not like to back order a product with no known lead time.  We never charged the customer's card, though his bank may have held a pre-authorization for the funds.  We never posted anything to his card so there is no refund or credit to be given.  His card-issuing banks should have released any pre-authorization holds by now.  Unfortunately we are unable to fill the order because we do not have product to do so with.


Thank you for your order. Due to inventory error this product showed to be in stock but we are now currently sold out and are unable to back order it for you. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Your order has been canceled, and the pending credit transaction has been voided. Thank you.

5/31/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 04-13-16 I order cci blaze 22lr ammo waited for tracking number. called 04-19-16 they said they would look into it and did not here from them. I told my girlfriend over the weekend I bet you they didn't have the product and that they knew about it. so I called and customer service said that they did not have my entire order but in fact didn't have any of it. I asked customer service why did they sat on my money if you didn't have the product or call me or email. I think that was B.S...... so I told that I wanted my refund asap.... then when I looked back at me order status they made it look like they cancelled my order cause of my attitude over the phone.... whats the matter with them they cant handle there own mistakes own up to it... if advertise that you have something you should make damn sure you got it..... I to own my own company and if I say that I can do a job I better make sure that I can do the job or I would out of a job....

Business Response: We e-mailed the customer on 4-13 (date order was placed) asking them to verify the credit card information.  Order was placed with a name on the card that did not match the name provided for bill to or ship to.  The billing address also failed to verify with the card issuing bank.  We did not receive a response from the customer to verify the information, so the order was canceled.  The customer called after this at which point the product purchased had sold out (roughly one week after placing order).  We are unable to reserve product for orders with invalid credit card information, especially when not receiving contact back from the customer to verify everything.  We would be happy to re-instate an order for the customer if they can verify the credit card information, and provide a substitute product for the same price.  

10/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Able's Sporting, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart