BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of austiNuts Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dry roasted nuts and gourmet products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that austiNuts Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for austiNuts Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on austiNuts Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 02, 2000 Business started: 04/27/1993 Business started locally: 04/27/1993 Business incorporated: 04/27/1993 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N Congress FL 11, Austin TX 78701
www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 835-5832
spcb@spcbtx.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cipora Ilai, President Raanan Ilai, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cipora Ilai, President
Business Category

Gourmet Shops Nuts - Edible Product Sales - General Peanut Products Gourmet Corporate Gifts Gift Baskets & Parcels Gift Shops


Additional Locations

  • 2900 W Anderson Ln Ste B

    Austin, TX 78757 (877) 329-6887

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 329-6887(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My assistant ******, called Austinuts and placed an order on Dec. 4th, 2013 and spoke with ******* ** ******* she said that she would send the products purchased to our clients on Dec.9 and that she would send an invoice. We never got an invoice but my credit card was billed right away.On Dec. 31st, ****** recieved an email saying that the packages that they charged us to send to the client- $187.00 were returned. Austinuts had not tracked the packages to make sure they got there - NOR did they try to resend the packages to our satisfaction NOR did they provide the tracking numbers for us to track. Then Austinuts sent the products that were to be sent to the client in New York to my office in Houston, with a note that says to whom it may concern.This was horrible customer service and no follow up!Austinuts made no attempt to resolve this issue.Austinuts has BBB on their website where it says there has been no compliants - when they aren't even a member of BBB.Please advise.

Desired Settlement: Refund my payment of $187.00 for the products that were not delivered to the client.

Business Response: Customer A contacted us by phone on December 4th to discuss the possibility of placing orders for holiday gifts. Thereafter, the Customer A placed their order via e-mail (see attached Page 3 of 15 through 7 of 15) on December 4th, 2013, for 5 large guitars. Customer a provided addresses and enclosure card instructions for each gift ordered. As clearly seen in Exhibit 1A, no specific secondary address instructions (i.e. bldg #, suite #, Apt #) were provided, but otherwise the addresses appeared complete (Addressee name, street number and name, city, state, zip code)

We were asked to please have these shipped on the 9th of December (see attached Exhibit 1A). Tracking information was not sent to the customer. 

austiNuts provides any and all customers tracking numbers of their orders upon request, whether such request is placed at the time of the original order, or later. However, no request for the tracking numbers was placed with the original order; or at a later date by e-mail or phone. 

Once the order is in the possession of *** we trust that it will be delivered as obligated, to us ***** customer, and as we do to our customers.

We were not aware of the intended party not receiving their packages until December 30th, 2013 when *** returned the items to austiNuts (see attached Page 8 of 15 through 12 of 15). 

austiNuts, attempted to contact Customer A and make them aware of the packages being returned. A phone call was made along with a message left and an e-mail sent providing the tracking information on all returned packages at 11:23AM. (See attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15)

While awaiting a response from Customer A, austiNuts did our research and discovered that out of the two different addresses we were given for five items to be sent only one was delivered. 

Interestingly enough, one package was delivered and sent to the same address as three that were returned to austiNuts (see attached Page 8 of 15 through 12 of 15). 

Every year since 1993, austiNuts ships thousands of freshly made gourmet gifts via *** on behalf of both individual and corporate clients. Shipment reached their highest volume in December, when on some days hundreds of packages were picked up by ***, two or three times a day for delivery all over the country.

Out of thousands of packages shipped every year, about a dozen packages are returned to austiNuts by ***. There are typically 3 different reasons for such returns:

1. Packages are undeliverable due to a wrong address. As customers provide us the addresses, it is usually the case that the address provided to us are either wrong (e.g., street number was missing a digit, or zip code is wrong), out-of-date (e.g., a recipient has moved recently, and the address was not updated in our customer’s data-base), or incomplete (customer failed to include a suite or Apt #, which may be required in multi tenant commercial and residential addresses).

2. Alternatively, in rare occasions, our shipping department may type the wrong address, or omit a part of it. In such rare cases we obviously take full responsibility to any possible negative consequences of our mistakes, including shipping replacement products via expedited services, and/or issuing refunds.

3. In some cases, addressees refuse the package. For example, addressees who work for a large corporation which has an  internal policy prohibiting the receipt of gifts may have to refuse such packages.

When faced with undeliverable packages, due to wrong or incomplete addresses, *** has internal procedures in place which often assist in locating the correct address and delivery of the package to the rightful recipient.

Specifically, *** may:

1. Use its own database to match the name of addressee with a correct delivery address. 

2. Contact the shipper to request a corrected address. If such a request is received we double-check our records, and if our records match the address on the package, attempt to contact the customer who provided us the original address, in order to receive an updated/corrected/complete address.

3. *** may attempt to contact the addressee directly (e.g., if a phone number is provided), to obtain a correct address.

In this case, the *** tracking records suggest that a request for a search for a correct/completed address was initiated, but may have not followed through (see attached Page 8 of 15 through 12 of 15). In any case, austiNuts was not contacted by ***, in the 7 days they were in possession of the packages, regarding the undeliverable packages during the time they were stationed in New Haven, CT. 

After notifying the Customer of the returns, Customer A was not the one who responded. Her boss, in which we will call Customer B, was one the one to respond (see attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15). 
 
Customer B was upset about being notified on December 31st, when austiNuts ourselves was unaware of the situation until the packages arrived back at our store (see attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15). 

******* did apologize and let her know that austiNuts simply gives and relays information as they receive it themselves (see attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15). 

Again, Customer B responded in a manner and tone unbecoming of a professional (see attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15). 

Also, requesting a refund. In which, austiNuts felt was not a reasonable solution to the situation as austiNuts had done its’ research and things were not adding up on ***’s end. Had the customer done their research as well they would not pursue such a complaint. 

At that time, **** requested an apology for the manner in which Customer B was referring to austiNuts. An apology she felt was necessary in order to move forward in resolving the situation (see attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15). 

As of Monday, January 6th, 2014 an apology had not been received. At that time having not heard any further communication our President decided it best to ship the paid merchandise to the customer (see attached Exhibit 2A). 

Yes, this was shipped with a letter addressed, “To Whom it May Concern” (see attached Exhibit 2A), because our President believed that someone would be terminated for writing such a “complaint” without doing all their research.

Customer B received the package sent on January 7th, 2014 (see attached Page 15 of 15). 

We had not heard anything from Customer B until, the morning of December 17th, 2014 when ******* arrived at work and checked the e-mail to find a post on ****! (See attached Exhibit 3A) and a complaint to the BBB.

austiNuts, is sorry that Customer B chose to complain and not investigate the situation in its entirety and work with us to come to a reasonable solution. 

We have requested our *** account representative to look into this matter, and provide us a full explanation of why the packages were not delivered on time, and subsequently returned to austiNuts on December 30th, 2013.

While we are waiting an answer from ***, it should be noted to the best of our knowledge the physical address of the 4 recipients of the undeliverable packages constitutes a large office or mixed used building, with multiple tenants. Our experience is that in such places, additional specific information is required for successful delivery (i.e. Floor #, Suite #, apt #, etc.) While it is possible that on occasions packages have been delivered to the same addressee by *** even without complete address information, as suggested by Customer B in her e-mail (see attached Page 13 of 15 through 14 of 15), it does not preclude the possibility that the *** driver actually delivering the packages to the building address on December 13th, 2013 was unable to identify the addressees correctly due to the missing information.

It is well known that *** (and other delivery service companies) had significant difficulties delivering packages on time this past holiday season and these difficulties have been attributed to an unexpected spike in deliveries as well as unfavorable weather conditions. It is possible, for example, that *** used some new-hires or seasonal drivers on many routes, and if such driver(s) had no intimate knowledge of specific tenants in specific addresses, they have failed to deliver packages, even though in the past packaged were delivered under similar circumstances.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1.austiNuts
provides any and all customers tracking numbers of their orders upon request,
whether such request is placed at the time of the original order, or later.
However, no request for the tracking numbers was placed with the original
order; or at a later date by e-mail or phone.

Above is NOT true- this was never said to my assistant ******.  My assistant, ****** called and asked ******* on Dec. 13 and asked if there were tracking numbers that we could track and ******* said no- I will track it for you.

2. Austinuts did nothing to make this right.  They did not investigate until I sent it to the BBB.  They sent an email saying sorry, what do you want us to do?- see attached

3. No Invoice was ever sent- all I have it that my credit card was charged.  We asked several times for an invoice ****** called on Dec. 4 when made order and requested invoice again on the Dec. 13 and then again Dec 19 requesting an invoice.

I have attached the email back and forth and you can see that Austinuts did nothing before I contacted the BBB.

I have paid for delivery and the gifts to my clients and my clients did not get recieve them.


AustiNuts has not offered any resolution on this matter, other than detail explaination of what happened.





Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: In order for us to respond  properly, please forward us the attachment the customer referred in her rejection correspondence. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, please forward the attachment to Austinuts.
Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Response to Complainants BBB Rejection 
#****** February 11th, 2014

 

To summarize Case #*******

 austiNuts stands firm with their original response to the customers complaint filed with the BBB.

austiNuts does not agree with the complaint, because after much research on austiNuts and ***’s end we discovered that the problem started with the customer providing us with incomplete addresses. (See Page 3 thru Page 7 in original response to complaint)

Below is the outcome of austiNuts research. Also, we have attached pictures on the two separate building and as you can see these are Multi-tenant buildings. (see attached)

Address Provided by Customer:                                                 Our Investigation Results of Address:
***** ******                                                                               Noone at this location by the name.
*** ****** ******
*** ****** ** *****

 
Address Provided by Customer:                                                 Our Investigation Results of Address:
***** *********                                                                            ***** ********* ** ******* ****                                                                             ****** ** *** ***** *********** *******
*** ****** ******                                                                       *** ****** ****** *** ****** ** *****                                                                 *** ****** ** *****
 Address Provided by Customer:                                                 Our Investigation Results of Address:
** ****                                                                                            ** **** ** ******* ****                                                                             ****** ********** *** ****** ******                                                                       *** ****** ****** *** ****** ** *****                                                                 *** ****** ** *****

                             
Address Provided by Customer:                                                 Our Investigation Results of Address:
**** ******                                                                                  **** ****** ** ******* ****                                                                             ****** ** *** ***** *********** ******* *** ****** ******                                                                       *** ****** ****** *** ****** ** *****                                                                 *** ****** ** *****
 Also, we have attached the e-mail from our *** Representative, ****** ******, and the *** investigation. (See attached e-mail)

Since the complainant is also a BBB accredited business with an A+ BBB rating, we would expect that they would act in a professional manner and not accuse someone/a company of wrong doing before double checking the facts.

In the original complaint filed by the complainant there were discrepancies as well.  New York was mention as destination of packages as opposed to Connecticut, in which we were provided.

In response to customer rejection:

1.  ******* does not recall an e-mail or phone call made by ****** on December 13th, 2013 requesting tracking information. If the customer had called or e-mailed for the tracking numbers why would we not submit them as requested. Had ****** called, why would ******* state she would track the packages for her, when she could easily provide the number over  phone or in an e-mail.

Honestly, this is a case of he said she said.

We would appreciate proof from the complainant that this request was made.

 2. The complainant states that austiNuts did nothing to rectify the situation prior to her contacting the BBB.  austiNuts contacted the customer on the 31st of December letting them know of the returned packages, due to not having a suite or floor number.

At this time austiNuts asked the customer what they would like us to do with the returned items. No Resolution was suggested by the customer.

January 6th, 2014, austiNuts decided to ship the returned packages back to the customers, since there had been no contact with new instructions.

3. ******* does not recall a request for tracking information made again on December 19th  along with the request for an invoice and we would appreciate proof from the complainant that this was made.

Though ******* does not recall the request made for an invoice, austiNuts acknowledges that we failed to send the INVOICE.

Attached is the invoice created on December 7th, 2013 the same day the customer was charged. (See attached)

austiNuts takes pride in our Customer Service and it is hard to believe that a customer would call twice requesting tracking information and we ignored the request twice.

Again, another case of he said she said.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


The addresses are the same and I have been to EACH location in CT and there is a
service desk that takes packages. So the addresses were correct- *** did not deliver
to location and YES ***** is there I have visited him on location. (The mention
to New York came that I fly into new York when I visit these clients.)


To recap-
1. Austin Nuts failed to provide ANY options after deliver was failed-these are your choices- you can come pick them up, we can send the packages to you and you can remail thru a different provisider and refund the shipping costs, we can send using **** or ****!

2. Austin Nuts failed inform me in a timely manner of the products not being delivered.- Between Dec. 9th and Dec. 31st there was NO attempt to contact me or let me know anything.

3  Austin Nuts failed to investigate on my behalf before the complaint was sent.- I gave them 3 weeks to do something- all Austin Nuts did was send the product to WHOM it may concern.

4. Austin Nuts failed to provide customer service through out this transaction.

I do not wish to go back and forth on emails and hear more of Austin Nuts excuses.

***** ********



Regards,



***** ********