This business is not BBB accredited.

Gourmet Grocery Online

Phone: (800) 366-5150 Fax: (512) 597-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers -----, Pflugerville, TX 78660 http://www.sendameal.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gourmet Grocery Online include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gourmet Grocery Online include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gourmet Grocery Online
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 2005 Business started: 06/03/2004 in TX Business started locally: 06/03/2004 Business incorporated 06/04/2004 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Shea McClure, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shea McClure, Owner
Business Category

Gourmet Corporate Gifts Gift Shops Gourmet Shops Internet Services

Products & Services

Gourmet Grocery Online sells the following brand(s): Omaha Steaks, Lobster Gram, and more

Method(s) of Payment
Visa. MC, AMEX, Discover, PayPal
Refund and Exchange Policy
Any gift basket must be returned in its original condition (unopened and still in its plastic wrap) to receive a refund of the purchase price. Gift baskets returned that have been opened will not be eligible for a refund. Orders canceled or returned are subject to a 15% restocking/administration processing fee. Request for refunds on gift certificates prior their expiration date will be charged a 10% administration fee. Gourmet Grocery Online can not be responsible for incorrect ship to address information and refunds will not be issued. Additionally, if a package is returned undeliverable, we will happily re-ship the item at the customers expense. For products shipping to hospitals, apartment, businesses, hotels, colleges or similar location, Gourmet Grocery Online will attempt delivery of the package to the street address provided by the customer, however, we provide no guarantee that the package will be delivered to the intended recipient or company. Gourmet Grocery Online assumes no liability for gifts that are lost within the delivery building, fail to be delivered by the employees, or arrive after the recipient has checked out. Refund/return requests must be made within seven (7) days of your delivery date.
Alternate Business Names
Gourmet Grocery GourmetGroceryOnline.com Send a Meal SendaMeal.com
Additional Information

This company provides gourmet food, gift baskets, wine baskets, edible fruit basket, same day delivery gifts, turkey, ham, gourmet dinner delivery, mail order cake, pie, desserts, meals, gourmet grocery, same day gifts, prepared meals, Christmas gifts, and of the month clubs. They also offer same day delivery.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    -----

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 251-0658

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a gift basket in early July to be delivered to a family member who had surgery in AZ. I am in VA. I tracked the delivery online and read that it was supposedly delivered on 7/8 (believe that was the date was). However, the family member never received the basket. I called the customer service number and only got a recording directing me back to contacting the co. through email. I did that, and received reply asking me if the delivery address was correct and saying they saw on tracking that it had been delivered- both things I already knew. I asked the company to either locate the basket of remove the charge from my credit card so that I can get the family member something else. I have emailed them a couple times about this with no reply!!! My computer Norton security detection said that the company didn't pass the fraud security check. Now I am thinking that this company is a "rip off." I want the item I paid for to be located and delivered, replaced and delivered; or, I want a full refund so that I can make another gift purchase elsewhere. I paid about $63 for this item!! Thanks!

Desired Settlement: Same as above plus contact from you, the BBB, that you have contacted the company and investigated this. Thank you! ****** ********

Business Response: This order was delivered on 7/8/15 as requested. 

FEDEX Tracking number: **********************

We have requested several times from the customer to confirm that the delivery address she provided was correct. She has been non-responsive to our email attempts. See attached emails.

Business Response: We have issued a full refund pursuant to this customer's request.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Actually, the company had notified me that they were sending out another gift basket. That is what I wanted!!- for my family member to actually get the gift I had originally had tried to send her. I don't know how they got the idea that I was cancelling it and wanting a refund. But, if indeed they did credit my account, I guess I'll just have to accept this screw up and start all over with the gifting process. After this big hassle, my family member still doesn't have any gift!!
****** ********

2/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gourmet Grocery Online failed to deliver the gift basket I ordered for my in-laws 60th wedding anniversary. I ordered the gift basket on-line on January 15, 2015 and scheduled the delivery for January 29, 2015. I checked the website Wednesday the 28th to obtain the tracking number as I had not received an e-mail with shipping information. To my surprise the gift basket had not been shipped. I sent an e-mail to customer service questioning the delivery and was told that due to the blizzard they were unable to send it out on Tuesday and did not send it out Monday because it was perishable or alcohol. Their website clearly states that there perishable items last for six to nine months. The shipping was three day ground so there would have been no reason not to send it on Monday before the blizzard. Also, the tracking number I received shows that it was not created until well after my request for information regarding the shipment. The package is not going to arrive until 02/02/15 which if there was a concern regarding the perishable products being sent on 1/26 why is there not a concern now as the delivery is going to take an additional day. Gourmet Grocer should have contacted me when they knew they were not going to deliver the gift basket on the 29th and given me enough time to cancel the order and send something else. They also could have sent the item overnight instead of the three day ground. If they had discussed this with me I may have been willing to split the cost or might have even paid it in full. I can understand the weather playing a factor, however if the product had been shipped on Monday the 26th then I would be a satisfied customer. The real unfortunate part is that these two individuals are celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary without any family and my husband and his siblings thought this would bring such a smile to their faces to know that although we couldn't be there we are thinking of them. Gourmet Grocery did offer to refund the delivery charge ($10.95) after I sent another e-mail informing them that I was aware of the fact that the item could and should have been sent on 01/26/15. However, I believe Gourmet Grocery should have personally called to apologize and also should refund the entire purchase amount.

Desired Settlement: I would still like the item to be delivered as it is on its way, however I believe that I am entitled to a full refund as the item was not delivered as promised by Gourmet Grocery. The UPS website allows you to change the delivery date so they could have at anytime changed it to an overnight delivery or at a minimum ensured that it would be delivered by Friday. Four days after the selected delivery date is unacceptable.

Business Response: This order was requested for delivery on 1/29/2015. We try to schedule deliveries to be on time. This order was shipping from our Massachusetts location, and a strong unforeseen blizzard delayed this shipment. Weather conditions are out of our control and we typically do not issue refunds for weather delays. We have recalled this package to be returned.

A full refund has been issued as requested by this customer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did not ask for the package to be sent back or "recalled".  I find this to be insincere, especially since we had already told my in-laws to expect the package today. Does this company not think of the consequences of their actions?

Regards,

********** **********

11/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 11/12/14 I ordered a Thanksgiving meal for my daughter in Arizona. The website assured a BBB A+ rating and listing of reviews with good reviews so we decided to entrust them with our very expensive order. The receipt shows the correct delivery address and stated was going UPS. Three days after the order I received an email that stated the package was delivered at the door with no signature on 11/15/14 by FEDEX and not the original UPS, and my daughter is always at the home and the package has NEVER ARRIVED! We feel like we were taken advantage of and we are heartbroken that this gift is not going to be there for their Thanks Giving!. The *********.com website and division of GOURMET GROCERY has only an email to contact customer service with no phone number and a chat area that never opens up! I am very dissatisfied with their screwed up delivery service and why did it show UPS on my receipt and then I get an email that FEDEX delivered it? It was never delivered and the company needs to reimburse me my $210.37 right away and no other thing they could ever do to satisfy my disappointment and dissatisfaction ever! I will never use their service again and will bad mouth them to everyone I see!

Desired Settlement: 11/22/2014 Refund me 210.37 on my original method of payment right now!!

Business Response: We have settled this matter with this customer. FedEx failed to deliver the merchandise properly. In accordance with our policy, we are sending a full replacement in time for Thanksgiving.This matter was settled prior to this filing. A refund will not be necessary. Please see the email exchange below with this customer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the site was confusing to use and took 6 tries to place an order. I tried multiple times to contact the company with questions and received no answers (online form was ignored) there was no email or phone to call with questions or to get assistance The purchase was to have meals delivered to my home after an accident. The meals finally arrived 3 1/2 WEEKS AFTER THE EVENT. (not timely) The food prepared according to the instructions on the package was tasteless and unappealing.

Desired Settlement: refund of fees to the individuals who paid for the gift. Order ******** to accommodate the lack of responsiveness and quality I hear that they care about the customers - I've not seen evidence of this in my dealings with **** * ****

Business Response: The order that this customer is inquiring about is a meal voucher redemption. The redemption was received from our online order placing (see order received below) where the customer placed the order herself. The redemption was received on July 21, 2014. The customer requested a delivery date of "Week of August 4, 2014".

From:
****************** ***************************
Sent: Monday, July 21, 2014 8:31 PM
To: *****************************
Subject: Meal for Two Redemption


Order ID: ********

Email Address: ******************

Name: ***** ******

Address: **** ******* ******

Apt or Suite #: **** *

City: ************

State: **

Zip Code: *****

Phone: ************

Delivery Date: Week of August 4 2014


Meal Selection:: Vegetarian Lasagna

Dessert Selection:: NY Cheesecake

Page: ***************************

Referring URL: *****************************************



This order was shipped via *** ********* * *******************, and delivered on Tuesday,  08/05/2014 at 12:50 P.M.  This order was delivered within the timeframe the customer requested.


We did receive ONE email from this customer two-minutes after she placed her redemption (see below). The responded off an automated email we send when a customer's redemption has been received. Her order was placed on July 21, 2014 and was delivered On August 5, 2014. This was two weeks, not four as this customer contends. Furthermore, our meal voucher redemption program was under different shipping classification as a pre-paid ground. This is why we allow the customer to select the date they want the meals delivered. They have the option to select a specific timeframe all the way to June 2015 if they wish.


________________________________________________________
From: ***** ****** [mailto:******************]

Sent: Monday, July 21, 2014 8:33 PM

To: ******************

Subject: Re: Meal Redemption

 

WHY DO I HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL AUGUST 4 WEEK to receive the
meal?

 DOES NOT APPEAR TO allow for a different date.

 

On Mon, Jul 21, 2014 at 9:30 PM, <******************>
wrote:

Your order has been received.  Your meal will be
delivered on the delivery date you have selected.

 

Have a great day.
SendaMeal.com 



This order was completed and delivered 10 days ago. We consider this matter closed.

Business Response: The food was delivered exactly when the customer requested delivery. She has made no indication as to the condition of the food, only that she threw it out and has left us no opportunity in be able to inspect. Nor has the customer even explained what will satisfy her grievance. She is upset with our shipping schedule. However we delivered within the time frame she indicated/requested. 

We are amenable to arbitration. 

Consumer Response:

From: ***** ****** *************************** 
Sent: Tuesday, August 19, 2014 4:56 PM
Subject: Re: BBB - You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

I'm clear that they will not take ownership of a system that is not user friendly - or lack of clarity as to the source of the food - While I am a fan of Omaha steaks, I would not ever use the as a source for tasty Italian food.

I will not use this service. and will communicate my disatisfation whenever possible.  A simple I'm sorry that we didn't reply when you contacted us directly with complaints would have gone a long way but THAT was nowhere to be seen, 


***** ******

4/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised overnight service. The meals were not delivered and my credit card was billed. Now the order is on hold and there has been not response from the company.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of order

Business Response: All of our customer contact is online. We employ several fraud prevention techniques to protect cardholders from fraudulent activity on their credit cards.

Orders may be approved through our credit card processor, but all orders are filtered through other fraud prevention techniques. This particular order did not meet our standards. Without going into too much detail, the International AVS Indicator was triggered and did not match. We found problems with the IP address where the order was placed. Two other indicators were triggered as well.

All customers agree to our terms when completing an order. One of our terms is: "Fraud notice. In the event Send a Meal determines, in their sole discretion, that an order may be fraudulent, we reserve the right to refuse or cancel any such order, for any reason, at any time, and whether or not the order has been confirmed."

We also attempted to call the phone number listed on the order several times. Nobody at the residence answered, and the answering machine was a nondescript message. 

This order was canceled, and the credit card was not charged. We also emailed the customer yesterday with this same information.

We would also ask that this complaint not show as a strike against us on our BBB report.  

Consumer Response: Additionally, my IP address has been in existence for more than 5 years, my server is *** and the credit card has been used at multiple internet sites for purchases including ****** with no problems. I want the meals delivered as promised in a timely fashion.I have not received any contact from this provider via home phone (no message) or email. I have attempted contact with this provider on more than three occasions with little success. They are unresponsive and not consumer friendly. I was not notified of the order cancellation by this group. This is extremely poor customer service. Do they determine service by a consumers address? Thi is concerning.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: In the event Send a Meal determines, in their sole discretion, that an order may be fraudulent, we reserve the right to refuse or cancel any such order, for any reason, at any time, and whether or not the order has been confirmed. 

This order has already been canceled.


Fraud reasons: 
1. AVS does not match
2. Customer IP Address: ************* =  Baltimore, MD (Customer's physical address is Pittsuburgh, PA)

There are four additional fraud indicators that we cannot disclose as to why this order was flagged as fraud.

This is not a delivery issue, this is an order that was canceled due to fraud indicators. We reserve the right to refuse service.

We consider this matter closed, and request the BBB remove this complaint from our records as this is not a delivery issue.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: ********** *******
I am rejecting this response because: The business failed to notify me of their decision directly via phone or email.  That is poor service.  Additionally, the business blatantly lied about the email contact. I also believe that this company employs  discriminatory practices by deciding not to deliver to certain address using their fraud process as an excuse.  My IP address has been the same for more than 5 years.  This is the first and only time there has been an issue with the IP address. I am formally requesting contact information for the corporate headquarters of this business.

Regards,
**** ******

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase from Gourmet Grocery of $98.88, and refused the package on August 7th,2013. The company only reimbursed $55.94, claiming not to have received the complete order.

Desired Settlement: I need the above mentioned company to reimburse the balance of the order.

Business Response: We have refunded this customer in full in an effort to resolve this matter. 

Response Message: Approved
Transaction ID:************
Authorization Code:
AVS Street Match:
AVS Zip Match:
International AVS
Indicator:Card Security Code Match:
Merchant:gourmetgroceryonline
Transaction Type:C(Credit)
Supplier Reference #
(Merchant Invoice #):
Credit Card Number:****
Expiration Date:** * ****
Amount:USD 42.94
Comment 1:Comment 2:

However, technically this customer was subject to restocking fees per our Terms and Conditions that she agreed to. Also, because both items were shipped to the address she provided, and delivery was attempted on-time, she was subject to forfeiture of her shipping fees too.

If we had followed as policies she would have only been due a total of $47.95.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ****

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable