Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Memorials.com

Phone: (361) 949-1200 Fax: (801) 659-6500 View Additional Phone Numbers 15605 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418 http://www.memorials.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Memorials.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Memorials.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

73 Customer Reviews on Memorials.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 72
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 73

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2005 Business started: 10/07/2002 in TX Business started locally: 10/07/2002 Business incorporated 10/24/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ralf Heckenbach, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ralf Heckenbach, President
Business Category

Funeral Related Services Monuments Cremation Urns

Products & Services

Memorials.com offers the following product(s): Caskets, Cemetery Products, Ceramic Pictures, Cremation Art, Cremation Jewelry, Cremation Urns, Flag Cases, Grave Markers, Headstones, Keepsakes, Memorial Rocks, Pet Caskets, Pet Grave Markers, Pet Jewelry, Pet Keepsakes, Pet Marker Pictures, Pet Memorials, Pet Urns, Statues

Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts MasterCard, Visa, Discover, American Express, and PayPal.
Alternate Business Names
Prestige Memorials RCH International, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Memorials.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15605 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78418 (800) 511-5199 (361) 949-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband got a rosary from a memorial company and put his mom & dad's ashes in it. Within two days of having it, the cross(with his parent's ashes) fell off, leaving him very distraught. Not only was this rosary very expensive, but the ashes that were lost are irreplaceable! We contacted the company and asked for a refund and a replacement cross. The first e-mail we got back was upsetting. They told us that the product was made very well and they've never had this happen before. They also told us that the rosary is not meant to worn! Who sells jewelry that can't be worn? They said we could get a refund if we sent it back with original packaging and paperwork (which we don't have because we weren't anticipating a return). We wrote back and told them we didn't have the original packaging and we would like them to pay for shipping. We also expressed our frustrations with how they are handling the situation. They made us feel like it was our fault that the cross fell off and they showed no sympathy for the fact that his parent's ashes were lost as well. The second e-mail was even worse! A man wrote back and had horrible grammar and spelling errors . He again stated that this had never happened before. He also explained that if we send the rosary back, they wouldn't refund the price of the cross because we no longer have it! If we want to keep the rosary, they would only refund us half of what we paid. He said that we have to understand their possion (he meant position) and that anyone could say they lost an item and try to get a refund! If they did this for everyone, they would lose a lot of money. How degrading is that? Who would lie about losing their parent's ashes? I was fuming and searched online for the President of the company. Imagine my surprise when I found out the man who had wrote that disgusting e-mail WAS the President! I wrote a nasty e-mail back and expressed my utter disgust with their company and lack of customer service. I told him if we didn't get a full refund, we would contact the Better Business Bureau. He wrote back with an e-mail that made no sense. He said Best Buy and Amazon wouldn't refund people if they didn't have the product. Not true! WalMart just refunded me for a pillow I ordered and I was not satisfied with. They didn't ask any questions or accuse me of lying. I kept the pillow and got refunded. He also said if we go to the BBB that all offers were off the table. I posted a review of 1 star on the company's Facebook page and they in turn blocked me from their page. ****** and **** told us in their e-mails that this had never happened before. But when I looked at the Facebook reviews, there was a man named **** ******* who had the same issue as us. On the Google reviews, there was a woman named ******** ***** who also had a negative experience with the company. ***I have the e-mails saved and if they need to be made public or used as evidence, please let me know!

Desired Settlement: The President of the company should be reprimanded for the lack of compassion he has towards customers who have just lost a loved one. The customer service was appalling and we felt very disrespected. **** needs to issue an apology to our family and we want a full refund of the $297.95

Business Response:

Dear *****,

I contacted the customer but we could not reach an agreement.

Thank you, ****

****@memorials.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We filed the complaint on January 26, 2016.  I have been working with ******* **** since then. According to *******, the company had until February 22, 2016 to respond. The BBB called and e-mailed on February 23, 2016 when the company did not respond. Again on March 8, 2016 the BBB e-mailed the company. The response they got back only stated that the company responded to the customer and couldn't reach an agreement. This is not an appropriate response to our complaint. 

I am attaching a word document of the e-mail conversations that we had with Memorials.com. I colored coded it to help you see the different emails. It starts from the most recent e-mail we received.

Thank you for your continued support.


Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

Again, I am very sorry about the customer losing the pendant. Our offer was rejected by the customer and we could not reach an agreement with the customer. We can not be responsible for lost items.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We did not LOSE the pendant (with our loved ones ashes in it). There was no where on the website that said the pendant was not meant to be worn and because the product was poorly made, it broke while it was being worn for only two days. The company said that without the product sent back, a refund can not be given. They said that "anyone can say they lost a product and ask for a refund." They accused us of lying! I know many companies that will give refunds if their product was poorly made. We would like the full refund we requested as well as a formal apology written from the President of the company. His words and actions were inappropriate and have caused us much emotional stress (in this time of grieving). We strongly feel that the President as well as the company should be reprimanded for their actions and horrible costumer service. Please review the e-mail attachment from my previous rejection statement.

Thank you,
******* ******

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased two cremation heart pendants. The item description (which my purchase was based off of) was inaccurate stating the pendants came with matching boxes. (This made me believe that the box was a larger replica of the pendant. Like I purchased for my grandmother's ashes in 2009 from a different company.) I wanted my Mother's pendant set up to be similar to what I have for my grandmother's; pendant with MATCHING box all under a small dome. When the items arrived, and all the boxes were, were cheap grey boxes, I emailed the company, and explained my displeasure with that and the overall quality of the pendant, I was emailed back rather quickly by ******, who stated they fixed the item description and confirmed they do not offer matching boxes. I asked for a refund of some type as the items had been given to the funeral director already, and my purchase was based off of their inaccurate description. ****** wrote back and did not address my dissatisfaction, and only stated they gave me a complimentary box for the pendant. (The cheap grey one, that comes with every pendant purchase) I was not impressed with this company at all, if it would not have held up the funeral I would have returned the items and purchased from another site. I emailed customer service back several days ago and have not heard back, about my second request for some type of refund, as they only fixed the item description after I received my items, and alerted them to it.

Desired Settlement: I believe the business should offer a refund of some amount, as I would not have purchased them, if the description was correct.

Business Response: When the customer called, the items were still with the customer (this was a statement by the customer on the phone) we offered her to return the items without any cost to her, a free return and full money back. The customer decided to keep the two pendants and take them to the funeral home to be filled with the ashes.
Next time the customer called they had been taken to the funeral home and used - we would have give her a full refund in the first place. The item's were two pendant, with a free matching box, a jewelry box, a free matching jewelry box, the jewelry boxes match each other and are silver tone matching the silver tone pendants (we don't even have anything like the customer was asking for). It was a misinterpretation of the statement - which we are are sorry about (we are selling the same item since 10 years now with the same statement and never had a single complaint about it).

Please let the customer know we are sorry about the misinterpretation of the statement. They are free jewelry boxes and she decided to keep them.

Again we are sorry about the misinterpretation of the statement.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I never divulged that I had or did not have the items in my original email - I had indeed given them to the funeral director shortly after I emailed back, I could not hold up the funeral services, by keeping the pendants while conversing with the company in regards to their inaccurate product information. Also they are not matching boxes. The pendants I had purchased were gold, and I was given two silver inexpensive boxes to go with them. A copy of my original message to the company is copied here, it should be noted that a picture of a pendant and MATCHING box that I had purchased from a different company years prior was included, as that item description indicated a matching box. Also I have never purchased from Memorials.com, I do not know why I should be aware that what they mean by a matching box, does not in fact mean a matching box, as even the box I was given did not match or coordinate with anything I purchased from them.

Sent: Friday, October 02, 2015 11:13 AM
To: *********************
Subject: Order # ****** 
I received my order today, with very fast shipping. However I am disappointed as in the details of the item it said:
Product Features:Includes a matching Box for the Pendant.

Which was one of the main reasons I purchased two of these pendants. In the past I purchased from a different source this pendant which advertised a MATCHING BOX.

I am emailing to inquire what a matching box means to your company, as unfortunately it is not what I thought it meant, and was looking forward to a different memorial urn to go along side my first one. Hoping this was just a mix up and you do offer matching boxes.
******** *****



Also, here are the next two correspondence emails between the company and I. 


Dear Ms. *****, Thank you for your order. We checked with our jeweler and they let us know we do not have matching boxes for this pendant. The pendant does come with a matching chain and a complimentary jewelry box. We have updated the website and apologize for any confusion. Please let us know if you will need to return the pendants, and we will email you the return instructions separately. Memorials.com appreciates the opportunity to assist you. If you have any other questions please reply to support@memorials.com including a copy of this message. Thank you, ****** Free: ************Fax: *************----------------------------------Memorials.com***** ***** ***** ****** *********** ******** ** *****------------------------------------www.memorials.com This communication is intended only for the recipient(s) named above, may be confidential and/or legally privileged, and must be treated as such in accordance with state and federal laws. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use of this communication, or any of its contents, is prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please return it to the sender and delete the message from your computer system. From: ******** [mailto:********************] 


Sent:Mon, Oct 5, 2015 at 4:51 PM
*********************
subject:RE: Order # ******

It's too late for a return because I need to give them to the funeral director. A refund of some kind, I feel would be appropriate as the item was inaccurately advertised.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

73 Customer Reviews on Memorials.com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart