BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Seaside Memorial Park & Funeral Home?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seaside Memorial Park & Funeral Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seaside Memorial Park & Funeral Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Seaside Memorial Park & Funeral Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 16, 1993 Business started: 12/01/1991 in 0 Business started locally: 12/01/1991 Business incorporated: 12/11/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Funeral Service Commission
333 Guadalupe St # 2-110, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tfsc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 667-4881
Fax Number: (512) 479-5064
info@tfsc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Cooper, Managing Partner Ms. Angie Hastings, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Cooper, Managing Partner
Business Category

Funeral Directors Funeral Related Services Funeral Homes Monuments Caskets

Alternate Business Names
Carriage Cemetery Services, Inc Corpus Christi Funeral Home Patagonia Properties Inc Rose Hill Memorial Park

Additional Locations

  • 4357 Ocean Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78412 (361) 885-0076

  • PO Box 6925

    Corpus Christi, TX 78466

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (361) 885-0076(Phone)
  • (361) 882-4889 (Fax)
  • (361) 985-0547 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parents are both buried at Seaside Cemetary. My father was buried there in 1985 my mother in 2007. On their Marker my mothers date of birth and date of death has never been put on there. I called and spoke to a lady there Approx 2 years ago. She assured me she would call me back. She never did. Obviously time has passed, my fault too for failure to follow through. I called again this January, spoke to a lady, I have her name and phone number. She Assured me she would follow through and get back to me. 2 months later, nothing. I do not want more time to Pass with out this issue being resolved. I said if this (putting date on marker) was not paid for at time of burial let me Know. I emailed them as well, no response. It has been 7 years 2 months since my mother passed. I would say that is enough time to get this resolved. Thank you. I will appreciate your help with this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to put the date of her birth and death on marker, it is long overdue. I would like it done sooner not later.

Business Response:

We have resolved the issue on Complaint ID *******. The family had never paid for the final dates. The date of birth is already placed and has been since the  placement of the memorial.  We have however agreed to place the final dates free of charge since there was not an appropriate follow-up with the family. We have been in contact with **** ***** and she is completely satisfied with our proposal.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially, I explored purchasing a companion grave marker for my recently deceased brother and living mother. Seaside verbally disclosed that I could only purchase a companion marker for the section where we own the burial plots. I did not live in ****** *******. I informed their sales person (Ms. ****) in August 2013 that I would be purchasing the marker from a vendor in the Rio Grande Valley ******** ********). Originally my complaint was sent in writing to Mr. *. **** ******, Managing Partner for Seaside Memorial Park. He responded in writing but his solution was minimal and did not address my primary complaint. The following is my three complaints and Seaside's response: Complaints: (1) not given deed of plot ownership when paid in full in April 2013; (2) Installation charge inflated and (3) Not accepting ********* Grave ****er with Surname on back (Cemetery rules never shared with me) Even though, I met with Seaside's representative when I explored purchasing the grave marker, I was never given any rules on what was allowable besides what was told to me about the marker having to be a companion marker model. After the fact, Seaside informed me in Late September that the Base was too large (Seaside knew from ******* Monument since May2013 the base size), I would have to personally go by the Seaside office and pick up the Deed of Plot Ownership (after was told several times in April 2013 that it would be mailed to me), and because the ********* Grave ****er had our Surname engraved on the back---it would not be allowed to be installed. and the installation charge was inflated with an additional charge not told to me before. At several instances Seaside failed to share with me, verbally and in writing, the cemetery rules. Now. my family has a companion grave marker that we cannot installed as designed. After writing to Mr. ****** and after two one calls, Mr. ****** responded in writing and agreed to waive the additional processing fee ($95) and he did allow the base (after he acknowledged that there were bases larger than ours in the section where my brother is buried), but he is not allowing the Grave ****er to be installed. *his I find very upsetting. If Seaside would have told me or given me something simple in writing (like they do for all other purchases), I would not be in this situation. Seaside knew I was exploring the purchase a marker. What upset me the most is how Ms. **** suggested how they could assist in resolving the marker problem...,...by my family purchasing two more plots behind where my brother is buried and one day, my mother. I called and spoke to Mr. ******. He referred to cemetery rules....rules I never was told about. He also shifted the blame to the vendor. *he vendor had called back in Late May 2013 and gave the base dimension and was not told about sending an application process. I was present when Mr. ***** ***** placed the call regarding the marker and base installation fee and spoke to Barbara at Seaside. Apart from losing our brother last December 2012 and now we have to deal with this issue.

Desired Settlement: I simply wish that Seaside Memorial be accountable for neglecting to give me critical information on allowable markers and their cemetery rules. I ask that Seaside Memorial accept our ********* ****** and waive the installation fee charge ($712.80) for the poor customer service and poor communication.

Business Response: October 10, 2013

Mr. ******* ******, PhD  

Via Federal Express

*** ******* *** ********* ***** *****
###-###-####

 
Re:       Contracts
No.: ****** and No.: ******

 Dear Mr. ******:

 I am the Managing Partner for Seaside Memorial Park (hereinafter “Seaside”).  I am in receipt of your October 3, 2013 complaint
and would request that you direct all future correspondence on this issue to my
attention.  I have personally taken an
opportunity to investigate your allegations regarding the conveyance of your
rights of interment, installation charges, and companion monument and base and
this correspondence serves to respond.

 

By way of introduction, Seaside and I are committed to being the most professional and highest quality funeral and cemetery services organization in our industry and community and have been serving the Corpus Christi, Texas area for over 72 years. 
The concepts, philosophies and practices in serving our families have
always been ethical, informative, professional, compassionate, caring and
fair.  Customer service and satisfaction are important to us and we take your complaint seriously.

 First, I understand from your letter that you are unhappy with the manner in which your right of interment was
conveyed to you.  As the Managing Partner of Seaside, I would like to personally apologize to you for the length of time which it took to provide you with the conveyance document, as well as the manner in which this information was communicated to you. 
While Seaside generally prefers that its customers personally pick up
the conveyance documents, given that you reside out of town, accommodations
should have been arranged with you to provide you with the requested conveyance
documentation via mail delivery.  I apologize
that this was not done. 

Second, your correspondence
indicates that you were originally quoted an installation price of $583.20 and
have now been quoted $807.80 and that you do not understand the reason for the
difference in price.  As you may recall
from your conversations with Ms. ****, the installation price is calculated
based upon the size of the monument base. 
When you met with Ms. ****, as the paperwork attached to your
correspondence reflects, the installation quote was based upon a monument base
4’6” in length and 1’ wide.  Thus, the
installation, at $0.90 per square foot, totaled $583.20 (54”x12”x$0.90).  The monument base that you now propose to install is an entire foot larger – it is 5’6” in length and 1’wide.  Accordingly, with this increase in size, the
installation charge increases to $712.80 (66”x12”x$0.90).  In addition, each contract is subject to a
$95 processing fee which would make the total installation fee $807.80.  However, because we do not see where Ms. **** referenced the $95 processing fee in her original price quote to you, we would
be willing to waive this fee.  Should you
wish to proceed with installing this larger monument base, you would be subject
to the $712.80 installation fee.

Finally, you complain that you are unable to install the companion monument that you have had designed by an
outside vendor.  As Ms. **** explained to you, while you are not required to purchase a marker or monument from Seaside, any markers or monuments purchased from third-party vendors must be approved by
application to ensure that they meet the cemetery’s rules and regulations.  Unfortunately, upon receipt of the
application and design, we cannot approve the monument in its current
state. 

First, the monument base is outside the limits of the acceptable length
within the garden in which your cemetery plots are located.  The maximum allowable length is 5 feet.  However, because your base is only an
additional six inches for a total of 5’6”, we are willing to waive this
requirement. 

Second, and more importantly, the monument cannot be approved because
the rear facing side of the monument contains your family name of “******,” but
you do not own the spaces which the name will be facing.  The cemetery rules and regulations prohibit this
type of monument from being installed unless the family owns all of the
spaces immediately in front of and behind the monument.  The reason for this rule is that those
families who own the spaces behind these types of monuments do not like another
family name facing their cemetery spaces. 
So, while you felt that Ms. **** was employing a sales tactic by
bringing this issue to your attention, she was simply offering a solution to
the problem.  We would be happy to work
with you by providing you with additional ideas of how to make your monument
compliant – such as replacing the “******” name with a saying or poem.  Unfortunately, in its current state, the
monument cannot be approved for installation.

Should you wish to discuss this issue with me in more detail, please
feel free to give me a call at ###-###-####.

 

With best regards,
               
*. **** ******
Managing Partner 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is somewhat satisfactory to me.
However, Seaside did not accept responsibility in providing the Cemetery Rules for ****ers to the consumer in writing like they do for their other products and services.

It is very disheartening to know that it took a letter, several emails, and complaints to receive the Deed of Ownership and consistent pricing on the installation as well as finally a consistent message.

I would expect a business that values customers and customer service quality as well as a future business relationship to waive or discount the installation fee as an act of good faith and apology for the poor communication and poor customer service my family received with the ****** situation.




Regards,

******* ******