Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Austin-Peel & Son Funeral Home Inc

Phone: (512) 419-7224 Fax: (512) 419-7641 607 E Anderson Ln, Austin, TX 78752 http://www.austinpeel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin-Peel & Son Funeral Home Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin-Peel & Son Funeral Home Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin-Peel & Son Funeral Home Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1986 Business started: 02/01/1985 in 0 Business started locally: 02/01/1985 Business incorporated 06/29/1978 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Funeral Service Commission
333 Guadalupe St # 2-110, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tfsc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 667-4881
Fax Number: (512) 479-5064
info@tfsc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Billy Peel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Billy Peel, Owner
Business Category

Funeral Directors Funeral Related Services Funeral Homes Funeral Directors Equipment & Supplies Monuments Caskets


Additional Locations

  • 607 E Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 419-7224

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother passed away 08/28/2013. On 08/29/2013 my brother, boyfriend, and I went to ***** for funeral assistance, cremation, and the purchase of her grave stone. ***** **** told us that the stone would take approximately 4 to 6 weeks before it was delivered and laid to the ground. We gave ***** the full six weeks before we called to see if the stone had arrived. ***** was not in the office so I left a message. ***** failed to call back. Since 10/11/2013, my boyfriend ***** and I have attempted to call ***** numerous of times, as well as go to his office. On November 8th, we finally got in touch with ***** and he stated that in EXACTLY two weeks would my mother’s stone be delivered. Saturday, 11/23/2013, we drove to the cemetery and there was stone. When trying to reach *****, again we left a message and did not receive a call back. Finally Wednesday, after calling *****'s office numerous of times, ***** returned our call. He stated his "stone guy" had gone MIA. He mentioned that "the stone guy" does not work the Friday after Thanksgiving, but he would reach out to the Monday 12/02/2013. ***** did not call us Monday, nor did he return our calls on Monday. At this point I had no idea what to do, and had to reach out to my brother in Denver, Colorado. In order for my brother to get a response from ***** and his team he threatened to call their office every hour on the hour, until someone returned their call. Finally ***** told one of his associates to contact us and he would return the funds of 686.00 for the stone. The same day my brother received a call from "the stone guy" and he stated he had not gone MIA, it was that ***** had never put in the request for the stone. When going to pick up the check from Peel and Sons for the grave stone purchase, we requested that the staff also give us the copy of how we wanted to stone to originally look (designs, sayings, etc). This was our mother, so what we put was personalized and from the heart. *****'s associate sent us on a wild goose chase to "the stone guy", to get the copy of how we wanted the stone. Unfortunately, well calling the stone place to let them know we were on our way, they refused to give us information, than later told us they did not have anything, because again the request on *****'s end was never submitted. We called back ***** and Sons because we are so upset and hurt that we have to deal with something like this, well trying to grieve. They hung up on us. ***** drove immediately there, where again no service was provided. We have received our money, but now have to start completely over for a new stone and wait another 4 to 6 weeks. This has been a very difficult thing to deal with, during this time and I hope it does NOT happen to anyone else.

Desired Settlement: I want the stone delivered and expedited with no charge.

Business Response: ***** ***** came in Wednesday December 4 before this complaint was filled and was given a refund check for the amount of the monument. ***** also came in to our office on Wednesday December 5th and spoke with Mr. **** about the monument. ***** was told that we would give them the monument at no cost to them. If you have any question please give us a call.