Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Superior Foundation Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (855) 737-0202 Fax: (512) 252-7730 13107 Dessau Rd Ste 400, Austin, TX 78754

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Foundation Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Foundation Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Superior Foundation Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2005 Business started: 06/01/2003 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/23/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brady Barnett, Owner Mr. Craig Milam, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brady Barnett, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig Milam, Director of Marketing
Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling Concrete Reinforcements Concrete Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling Drainage Contractors Foundation Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Superior Foundation Repair, LLC
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Superior Foundation Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13107 Dessau Rd Ste 400

    Austin, TX 78754

  • 902 Kitty Hawk Rd Ste 170

    Universal City, TX 78148 (210) 354-4000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008, Superior repaired my foundation. I am trying to get some windows replaced and when the window company tried to get a permit, they were told there was an expired foundation permit on my property that had not been cleared. I have been trying to get in touch with Superior at their various numbers since January 19, 2015. I have made 12 calls to a number ***** ******* gave me, and 11 texts to ***** *******. On January 25, he texted that he would take care of it the next day, yet I haven't heard from him. On Tuesday, February 20. 2015, someone else from the company called and said he had heard only 1 of my messages. He told me he would take care of it and let me know, and I still haven't heard anything. I have called that person back 4 times so far.

Desired Settlement: I simply want SOMEONE to acknowledge my existence and let me know WHAT IS GOING on!!! Is the permit cleared? Can my window company get a new permit to install the windows (which have been here for over a month). I don't think I should be this stressed out over the situation. An apology would be nice. I am a teacher and don't have the luxury of taking a day off for window installation. I have Spring Break in less than 2 weeks and that is when windows are scheduled to be installed. I don't even know if they can get a permit at this time and have the windows installed. If I can't get windows installed over Spring Break and I have to take another day off, Superior Foundation is going to pay my contracted daily rate plus 10% for aggravation.

Business Response: We are in the process of getting the permit cleared up as a favor for Mrs. ******. Generally, the homeowner is supposed to close out any permits with the city upon completion of work. I visited the offices last week and have contacted the appropriate official. I'm awaiting a response and hope to have it cleared up this week. Should the permit not be cleared this week, there is a form on the City of Austin website which allows one to apply for a permit for new work unrelated to the expired permit which Mrs. ****** can submit. That form can be found here:

I'm also attaching a copy of the form to this communication.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 1. I was never told I had to clear the permit.

2. This was never conveyed to me since our initial contact on January 24, 2015
3. Would it kill any one from Superior Foundation to just call me back???
4. If Superior will clear the permit, it would be great. All I ever asked for was acknowledgement and I could have worked with     them instead of me being so angry and frustrated.


******* ******

Business Response: It was not my intention to imply that we had told Ms. ****** that it was her responsibility to close the permit on or since January 24th. I apologize if that was unclear. We are in the process of clearing this permit.

Generally speaking, if we run into an issue where another company has an open permit, we provide our clients with the form I included previously. I don't know why the window company did not supply Ms. ****** with that sheet so that they could move forward with their work. The good news is, we are working on it and we anticipate having the issue cleared up by next week.

In the meantime, Ms. ****** can fill out the form which I included in the last email and submit it to the city if she needs to move forward with the window installation before the permit is cleared up.

***** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The ONLY answer I want to see is that the permit has been cleared. I will not take it on faith that Superior is working on it because I was told that back on January 26, 2015. Clear the permit, tell me it's cleared, and I will be happy.


******* ******

11/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Superior Foundation completed warranty work on the foundation of Building 4 of the Deatonhill Condominiums on March 24, 2011. The work was certified by ******* ****** as the Engineer. The Building has apparent movement and the Association has asked Superior to return and determine the reason for the movement. We have sent numerous letters and emails and I have called on several occasions and left messages. On September 10, 2014 a certified letter was sent, which has been returned as unclaimed.

Desired Settlement: The Association asks that the warranty for the Building be honored.

Business Response: Hello Mrs. *****,

In order to perform warranty work we need a recommendation for repair from the engineer of record, Tucker Engineering, plus a copy of the original contract and original engineer's certification. If the engineer's recommendation indicates that warranty work is required we will cover the cost of the report.

You can reach Tucker Engineering at 512-********. Explain that you had work performed on a building however there is still movement occurring and you would like to have a representative come out and assess the building to determine what steps should be taken to adequately support the foundation.

In the past, we've been contacted by various people from Deaton Hill Condominiums, and each time, we've told those who have contacted us the procedure for initiating a warranty claim. It seems that you slipped through our system because you were not the original person of contact for the property in question. In September the owner of Superior Foundation Repair was out of the office due to an illness (and eventual death) in his family, for this reason the certified letter was not retrieved before the pick up date deadline.

Once you have the engineer's recommendation for repair plus the other documents pertaining to the original work, you may send them to me directly at **, and I will contact you to schedule the repairs. In the event that Tucker Engineering indicates adjustments to existing piers are required and additional work is needed, the price of the report will be subtracted from the additional work recommended by the engineer.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Thank you,
***** *****

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: SFR (Superior Foundation Repair) is surely misnamed by the experience I have had with them. It began with the foundation repair in September 2013. Initially, they installed eight piers When I noticed that there were none on the back of the duplex I questioned whether there should be some because the back bedrooms had evidence of separation from the ceilings. Mr. ******* agreed to put in four more piers (two on each side) for which they charged me a reasonable amount. When my prospective buyer had the house inspected it was noted that there was an apparent need for more piers on the south and east sides as they both dropped three inches. I also noticed SFR never gave me any measurements nor did they have a structural engineer examine the completed job (I was billed and I paid $350 for such a report). In a meeting with an SFR representative, he agreed that it did, indeed, need ten additional piers and that there should have been evidence of the measurements, etc. He agreed to pay half the costs of the ten additional piers if I would pay half. I verbally agreed to the split in front of my potential buyer. The SFR rep said he would send me an email confirming the verbal agreement but failed to do so, coming back with another counter that said SFR would split the costs on seven piers at a total cost of $2100. This proposal was shocking in light of the previous proposal of ten piers. Left with this dilemma, I felt it best to contact a structural engineer to get another proposal. I called and asked if SFR would finance the engineer because they had not done such a thing and I had paid for it. They agreed to use the one that they used on other jobs. When I attempted to get back in touch with SFR by email and phone calls, they refused to talk with me. Consequently, I hired and paid a reputable, independent structural engineer to evaluate the job and needs. His thorough report revealed the need for sixteen additional piers on the south and east sides to make it secure. Once again, my attempts by email and phone calls to resolve our differences failed to receive any response from this company. Needless to say, this cost me a great deal of money and agony over several months of lost revenue. Think carefully before hiring these people.

Desired Settlement: Payment for expenses incurred by failure to honor verbal agreements and respond to me

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,

It seems there has been a miscommunication somewhere along the line. After reviewing your complaint and doing some research in our records. 

It seems that you have been trying to contact our company via the incorrect email address (**************************************). This is a special email address which alerts our staff that a customer has requested to schedule a job. The alerts are based on a number of parameters. There is no way you could have known that, however, until I reviewed your complaint, neither the inspector, *****, Mr. *******, nor myself had seen the email which you sent to ******************* on February 7th or February 10th, 2014 requesting that Mr. ******* discuss the matter with *****.

Since February 7th (the date of your last appointment with our inspector), I can only find two phone calls to one of the numbers listed on our website. I am unable to see if you have tried to call an inspector directly.

I'm still in the process of investigating your concerns and will speak with your inspector, *****, next week about any phone communications you may have had.

It is company policy to do the work which is ordered by the customer, even if that includes adding more piers than have been recommended at the time of inspection. We offer these piers at cost and do not make any money off of them. You requested that we do the job for 8 piers, and then requested that we add 4 more piers, which we did. 

I am unable to see, at this point, if you requested a new estimate before the repairs were started or not, but, it is our policy to perform a new estimate if one is requested. We have installed the 8 piers you requested and added the 4 piers at cost. 

Regarding a verbal agreement between you and an inspector, no one from our company has ever been authorized to agree to assuming half of the responsibility for the cost of installing any piers. It is true that on partial repairs, more work may be recommended in the future, but, that is made clear at the time of the original inspection. 

Because there was a 3+ year gap between the time of the original inspection and the time of the installation it may be that this was unclear. I can assure you, we are willing to do the work requesed by the engineer you have hired, but I ask that you please contact your inspector directly via email at *************** for any further communications regarding this matter, if you would like you may include my email address as well: cm**********.

Regarding the offer of 7 steel piers at 8 ft. spacing for $2100 as opposed to the 10 concrete pilings at (I'm estimating based on experience here) 4-6 feet spacing ordered by your own engineer. The two systems are different and our piers can be spread apart at 8 ft. spacing to handle the load of the foundation and force required to raise the slab.

This offer is still valid.

***** *****

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Superior Foundation Repair (SFR) to level our foundation and provide a third party Engineer Certificate of Completion. SFR performed the work. We paid SFR in full December 31, 2013. Despite repeated requests to an employee, **** *******, and to the owner, *****, and repeated promises to get it to us, we have not been furnished the engineer report or warranty information.

Desired Settlement: We want to receive the warranty info and Engineer Certificate of Completion for the work performed on our home.

Business Response: We have met with the engineer and notified Mrs. ******* that we will be sending her paperwork over. We expect the report from the engineer to come in within the next week at which point we will send it over to Mrs. ******* via email.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have not yet received the engineers report as of April 29, 2014.


******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Superior Foundation Repair did supply me with the Engineers Certificate of Completion on May 23, 2014.  They have corrected the reason for my complaint to the BBB.


******* *******

4/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After stabilizing our foundation in 2-3 2011, we had a door settle and we could no longer close. We called and our original supervisor ******** ****** came out and repaired the issue. That area has again dropped causing an outside door to fail to close. When I called in early March I set an appointment with ***** for three days later . He did not show and did not call and will not respond to Any call or message left. Finally on their ex site there is a name of ***** who I emailed and he did respond saying a Mr ******* would call. After yet another email to ***** saying we were waiting for a call from Mr *******, we have heard nothing. That email was sent Monday 4/7. Could you please help us with some information as to why we cannot get help from a company with a Lifetime Warranty? Why won't they at least communicate.? .

Desired Settlement: Lifetime warranty assumes the repair would be done and we would like the outside door/doors to close

Business Response: Mr. and Mrs. ********,

I did not initially see your email communication from April 7th, and I apologize for that. Mr. ******* has been out of the office since April 5th. I anticipate his return in the second half of next week. However, it may be the week of the 21st before he returns. Once he is back I will try to schedule a time with him to sit down and go over your concerns. After that happens, I will contact you with the next steps in the process.

I sent you an email from our support system requesting a copy of your contract and third party engineer's certificate of completion so I can add them to your support request. I realize you may have already sent these to Mr. ******* if so, you can forward that email to our support department and I'll get those documents added to the request. I also sent you my direct number should you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss.

Thank you for getting in touch.

Take Care,
***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ********

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Superior foundation was paid in full and was supposed to complete foundation work July 2009 on my house after arbitration through the BBB. We found a problem with the waste water drain system during inspections while trying to sell the property recently. The buyers did some research and found that Superior had permits issued to repair the waste water drains during the process of repairs in 2009. I informed Superior that this was the very issue I was now having with the house. He said to send the documents of the permits and contract, so I emailed them to him and received no response. I then lost the buyer due to the time the repairs were going to take to complete. After several weeks I hired a ****** ******* to complete repairs. I had given up on Superior because they refused to answer my calls or emails. He tried to complete the repairs but was informed that Superior failed to get the plumbing permits resolved back in 2009. My plumber said that he could not complete repairs until Superior were reissued the permits and resolved this issue. I now have a second buyer that is trying to complete the process of inspections and appraisal for their lender. The buyers agent informed me that Superior said it could take several months for the permit issues to be resolved. I am now trying to understand why this company has been so incompetent and has now been responsible for the possible loss of two buyers. Superior continues to ignore my calls and emails. The Buyers agent is very frustrated because they have ignored her as well recently. We cannot get any update and I am considering legal action if this matter is not resolved in a timely matter.

Desired Settlement: It is now close to 4 years after Superior was supposed to complete repairs. If Superior wants to communicate a reasonable resolution rather than ignore all attemps at communications, then that would be a starting place. I am amazed they can still have an A+ rating after going through the worst experience imaginable with this company. There is no excuse for the blatant incompetance. I would like for Superior to take responsibility for the plumbing repairs that were not completed and reasure the buyers it will be done in a timely manner.

Business Response: This issue has been resolved.

A permit was not closed upon completion of foundation repair, the permit was re-opened in late April and closed out on May 22 (see attachment **********************************************************************

We feel that it is important to note that the permit in question was not a wastewater permit, as stated by the client, rather, a foundation repair permit. Superior does not, nor has it ever possessed the credentials to obtain a wastewater permit.

Unfortunately, for everyone's sake, the client was misinformed by a third party in an email exchange in which the third party shared a partial screenshot of the city of Austin's database which contains all data on permits. The wastewater permits referred to in this complaint were part of a City of Austin project and were completely unrelated to the foundation repair work which Superior completed (see attachment *************************************************).

We searched our files for the engineer's report which was needed to close the permit, and came up empty handed. The buyer's agent contacted us via email shortly thereafter in early May. We informed her that we needed the third party engineer's report from the client's engineer to close out the permit. Before a meeting could be arranged between the engineer and Superior, the client supplied the engineer's report and the engineer supplied a letter which clarified why Superior's office never received the required paperwork for closing out the permit (see attachment *************************************************). On the day we received these documents (5-20-2013), we posted the permit along with the documents and called for an inspection. We received notification that the permit was closed on (5-22-2013) and immediately informed the buyer's agent. 

Due in large part to the erroneous information imparted to the client and relayed to Superior, the process took longer than anticipated. We feel that we responded appropriately to the questions we received from the client and anyone else involved in the matter. When we had new information or information was requested, we communicated.