This business is not BBB accredited.

Land Stabilizers, Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 653-1787 Fax: (210) 653-9349 View Additional Phone Numbers 3519 Copeland, San Antonio, TX 78219 http://www.landstabilizers.com ! Land Stabilizers, Ltd. is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 10/30/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1E. In its relationship with BBB:
    • meet all applicable standards within this Code of Business Practices
    • cooperate with BBB's activities and efforts to promote voluntary self-regulation within the business' industry
    • honor any settlements, agreements or decisions reached as an outcome of a BBB dispute resolution process
    • complete the required application and pay all monetary obligations to BBB in a timely manner
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 7
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Land Stabilizers, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1974 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 07/29/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Holland, President Mr. Ron Lajoie, Foundation Repair Consultant Debany Prado, Project Coordinator Ms. Bridget Stehling
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Holland, President
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling

Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3519 Copeland

    San Antonio, TX 78219 (800) 472-5012 (210) 653-1787

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34734

    San Antonio, TX 78265

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been attempting to locate this company to file a transfer of warranty for the last month. The we site provides incorrect phone number and addresses. I have sent emails with no response. The time frame to transfer the warrantee has run out. I want this warranty to be honored.

Desired Settlement: transfer of warranty and honor to warranty if something should go wrong

12/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the house in May and prior to the actual purchase we had Land Stabilizers come out and inspect the home and take measurements. We knew work had been done on the home years earlier by Land Stabilizers and were assured that we were covered for any future problems/repairs as needed due to the transferable lifetime warranty. This really made us feel comfortable buying a home that had previous foundation issues. We proceeded to buy the house and got the warranty transferred. In August we started noticing cracking along the ceiling perimeter in the entire front of the house and also a sheer in one of the upstairs bedrooms. We contacted Land Stabilizers in every way possible, email, phone and trying to stop by in person. The location was abandoned with not signage outside. We also failed to receive an email or phone call back regardless of how many times we tried to reach out. Our home is currently in need of extensive repair as the problem has continued to worsen. Other areas of the house are starting to open up as well and we are at a loss of words about what to do. The shifting is affecting the fireplace as it's starting to pull away from the side wall and fractures around the house are starting to appear. We feel that the shifting is also responsible for a leak in the ceiling along the fireplace. There is also extensive cracking along the entire depth of the garage, from front to back. We feel the house is literally falling apart more and more every single day. We have had multiple foundation repair companies come out and take measurements off o the Land Stabilizers drawings and they all confirm drastic changes in elevation throughout the house.

Desired Settlement: Communication to be made and a full repair of the entire foundation. We would like Land Stabilizers to honor their warranty and provide us either financial compensation to have work done by another vendor or to complete the work themselves.

12/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company provided foundation work for property located on **** ******* *******, San Antonio TX 78244. There's a lifetime warranty for services provided. Signs of current foundation problems are evident. Business is no longer in service warranty will no longer be honored.

Desired Settlement: Honor warranty

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Land Stabilizers charged me for 4 concrete posts that are not even touching the support beams. I did talk to ***** ****** and was told they had a bad crew that did the work and was in the processing of hiring a new crew. He said give him about a month and that a new crew would come back and the replace concrete posts that were not properly installed. He even suggested additional work my house would need. I asked lets do the warranty work first and then we could talk about other work. After several months of delays, ***** sent a text that he said he no longer worked for the company and to contact the owner **** ******* at ************. I called this number and phone was answered by a secretary who said that someone would contact me in two days to talk about work left to do as was told ***** left without notice. This was a Wednesday on July 30, 2014 and even though I have repeatedly left messages after no called me after two days, I have not heard from **** ******** I paid for 12 posts and one beam. I would just like for the company to come back and reinstall the posts that they charged me for or refund me 4 posts at $300 a piece so that I can go somewhere else and have it done.

Desired Settlement: So my desired outcome is to either have the posts reinstalled properly or a refund of my money.

10/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed on the house on 6 August. The previous owner had foundation work done through Land Stabilizers. Their lifetime warranty allows for transfers to new owners within 30 days for $100 and some paperwork. My realtor and closer took my check for $100 and the paperwork and mailed it to Land Stabilizers. The check has not yet been cashed and I can't get ahole of Land Stabilizers. My realtor and I have been calling daily, but we keep getting voicemail. We leave messages and no one ever calls back.

Desired Settlement: Today is 5 September. I have made numerous attempts to get that warranty transfered and it seems awfully suspicious they are holding off until the 30 day window is closed. I want them to contact me directly and I want the warranty transferred to my name.

10/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/15/2014, ***** ****** visited our home to review pier warranty work. 43 piers was done by Land Stabilizer in 1994, 1997, and 2006. He agree that 31 piers in the house would need to be adjusted. He would put us on the warranty list and request that we get the plumbing check. We did and fax his offices the results they found no issue with the plumbing. I have been contacting the office every month if not several times a month to find out when the work will be done since January. I was given a time line, or that we were not yet on the warranty list, or that we were on the warranty list but we were 7th, 3rd, 2nd in line. On July 21, 2014, I spoke with ***** ***** and he told her that he will give me a call on Friday to let us know for sure if the work will start next week. I called, August 8, 2014, to be told that ***** ****** no longer works for the company and that the company is filling for bankruptcy. We could not have the number to speak to **** ******* President of the company to discuss the warranty.

Desired Settlement: 31 piers need adjustment per the warranty.

10/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company concerning the foundation and that it was shifting. the lady told me that they were filing for bankruptcy and that they could not come out and fix the problem. my front door will not close and i run a business at the house and i am afraid that in an emergency i will not be able to open the door. i believe that the problem is the foundation and i would like for it to get check out before they go into bankruptcy. we paid to much money for them not to come and fix it.

Desired Settlement: Check the foundation and solve the problem or get a refund since they are not going to be in business anymore.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Land Stabilizers LTD to level the house on/or about April 1, 2011 and again on or about February 13, 2012 to level my house and provide stable soil injection. I paid Land Stabilizers LTD $9,900.00 in April 2011 and I paid $4,175.00 in February 2012. I purchased my home on/about February 2011 and my house has shifted on its foundation 3 times in the past 3 years. Land Stabilizers LTD had an estimator, ***** ******, come out to the house March 11, 2014. The double French doors were sticking and they currently will not open at all. Mr. ****** advised that they do not have a shim small enough to fix the problem and to call back in about 6 months. Now the door leading the garage will not open. For about 2 months I have left messages for them to return my telephone calls and I have a lifetime warranty on my foundation. My foundation shifted and I need my house leveled again. I went by thier shop and saw that the office was cleaned out. Someone drove to the back and I asked them if there was anybody working in the office. They advised that they do not work for Land Stabilizers but ****, the *****, sold them all the stuff in their backyard. Their telephone number advised mailbox full and their website is still working. I cannot wait much longer. I contacted *** and I was advised that they are still active members. However, *** could not provide any additional assistance.

Desired Settlement: I need them to level my house as promised back on March 11, 2014.

10/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint: Land Stabilizers, Ltd has repaired our foundation in 2002. We were given a life time warranty. Several parts of the house have recently shown signs of foundation shifting again. We called Land Stabilizers to come and see what they can do to fix the problem. Person A from Land Stabilizers came to inspect the house and suggested we check the plumbing. Indeed we found leaks in the sewer lines and they have since been repaired by a plumbing company that hired Land Stabilizers to dig the tunnels under the condition that Land Stabilizers will repair (re-shimmer) seven the concrete piers (pilings) on the left front side of the house. Three holes were dug to inspect the pilings. No re-shimmering was done and the three holes were filled back up “because of pending rain fall”. In the meantime, shrubs were pulled out and part of the concrete pavement was ruined. Before the tunnels were back-filled and warranty work could be done, Person A had moved on to another company and no one from Land Stabilizers continued with the job. (The plumbing company finally had to hire another company to back-fill the tunnels.) I have written to the owner of Land Stabilizers to discuss warranty work, but have received no answer. I have tried to contact Land Stabilizers many times by phone, but no one at Land Stabilizers answered. I even went to the company’s store on ********, but no one from Land Stabilizers was there. We obviously still have the original problem. It is debatable whether the plumbing problem caused the foundation shift or the foundation shift caused the plumbing problem, though a structure engineer from a reputable company came out to our house and ascertained that it is the latter. In fact the most severe problem occurs far away from the leaks, i.e., outside the domain of influence of the leaks.

Desired Settlement: We would like Land Stabilizers, Ltd to honor its warranty.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a notice from ***** ****** informing me that he no longer works for this company and to contact the owner ****** *******. The company has left my house with holes around the outside of the house and with a broken water sprinker and a pole from my carport that was bent during their work. I also have mounds of dirt around the property that needs to go back in the holes. I have made multiple attempts to contact Mr. ******* leaving my phone number and am instructed that he will call me back. Mr.****** had asked for a final check before the job was complete and I told him he would be paid when the work was finished. He told me that he needed the money to pay his men for their work. I reported I understood but the job was not completed. Then I get the text message regarding him no longer working for Landstabilizer.I have not received any calls back from this company.

Desired Settlement: finishing the job that was agreed on

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ****

 

From: June Metz [mailto:junemetz@sbcglobal.net]
Sent: Thursday, September 04, 2014 12:15 AM
To: Ann Atkinson
Subject: Results from complaint filed

 

Work was completed by the following week of my complaint

Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Land Stabilizers $11,375 to repair my foundation and drainage. The contract I signed included the drainage but ******, (their supervisor), told me after they got all of the money that they weren't obligated to correct the drainage because only the foundation has the guarantee. There were problems immediately after completion of the work as damages were left and the drainage has never worked. One of the peers they said they corrected is still moving and there are damages all around my house. I've ran into one other senior citizen, (female), who has the same problem with this company. I've not been able to file a compliant until now due to my father being terminally ill and finally passing away earlier this year. The work was done July of last year and they've gotten all of the money but will not correct the problems.

Desired Settlement: Repair : peer to stop movement in that area; drainage that's never been fixed as promised; correct damages in front and around my house.

Business Response:

 

Chuck went out to the property to visit with Ms. ******** on Saturday and came to a solution with the homeowner. Land Stabilizers will go out to the property and re shim eight existing pilings, and bring out dirt to place along the perimeter of her foundation, and inspect the existing drainage system to see if it's at all salvageable for restoration.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I agree that what’s in message is what Mr. Farmer and I talked about but I would not at this point consider it as a solution.

 Regards, 


******* ********