Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

G.L. Hunt Co.

Phone: (210) 648-1530 Fax: (210) 648-1590 View Additional Phone Numbers 1300 Universal City Blvd, Universal City, TX 78148 http://www.glhuntsa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that G.L. Hunt Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for G.L. Hunt Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on G.L. Hunt Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2007 Business started locally: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated 02/13/2007 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary L. Hunt, Owner Mr. Kenny Kincannon, VP of Operations Mr. Hayden Slack, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary L. Hunt, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Hayden Slack, GM
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Drainage Contractors

Alternate Business Names
G.L. Hunt Company - San Antonio, L.L.C. GL Hunt Company
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

G.L. Hunt Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1300 Universal City Blvd

    Universal City, TX 78148

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company came out in January to fix my foundation. I noticed water backing up into my home which caused problems with my rug and wooden floors. I located this issue which was that my A/C condensate line was buried. My husband located it and dug it out from about 4 inches of mud/dirt. Since then there has been no leaking water inside just the damage that was done to my rug and wooden floors. I have contacted this company everyday this past week trying to resolve the problem. I also requested my files since they claimed no work was done on that portion of my home (which there was). They have refused to send my files from the date of service saying it's all located in Ft. Worth. Now they are escalating my issue to the General Manager ****** who is unable to call me until Tuesday to get this resolved (mind you that we are on Friday). My home is being damaged due to the water every passing day and this company finds no urgency to fix this issue which was caused by their negligence. I was simply asking in good faith that they repair the damage done internally to my home.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for my home and the water damage that was done be repaired.

Business Response:

We began to resolve this matter by sending 2 of our employees to identify what issues Ms. ******** was having and to take pictures. I reviewed the scope of work that was done at her home and we did not do work on the side of the home where her A/C system is located. Her complaint was that the A/C Drain line was clogged, and that it caused water to back up into her daughters room.

I couldn't determine how we could have possibly caused this, but since she was adamant that one of my men did something on that side of the house and I couldn't prove that wasn't the case I offered to help her. She had mentioned that she had already filed an insurance claim and her deductible was $1200. We agreed to resolve the issue if I would pay the deductible and she would sign a liability release. I spoke to her the day after this to confirm the details and since then she has stopped answering my emails or my calls and we can not reach the customer.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.

Please enter your reason(s) for rejecting the business response below.
As they did mention, $1200 was offered to be put toward my $1250 deductible. They were also pretty adamant that no work was done on that side of my home when there was obvious physical evidence along with photos and video evidence. Also, the foreman that was on the job told us they even lifted our AC slab as a courtesy. Apparently, this company either does not keep all their proper documentation about the people they hire to do work at customers homes or they don't want to take responsibility for the negligence. I continously  asked the company for my records and was continuously sent either the initial contract signed 1 month before my services or incomplete documentation with scribbling and areas crossed out on the papers. After speaking with my husband and other professionals it is in my best interest to not accept the terms. The terms provided by Gl Hunt only benefit the company. They ruined my daughter's carpet and my brand new wooden floor which I  had installed less than a year ago. The warranty I had on my floors is now voided because moisture was found under the floor due to this companies negligence. So I now have a $600 bill to Lenz Contracting. As well as the possibility my rate can go up since I'm filing a claim with my Insurance. So I in no way win or feel this issue is resolved. They will have to pay for all my damages at the point which is estimated at approximately  $3800. 

Regards,

******** ********




Business Response:

If Ms. ******** will come to our office at 1300 Universal City Blvd, Universal City, we will have the paperwork for her to sign and a check for the $3800 waiting for her. Please call our office at ************ to coordinate with me when you will be arriving.

 

Thanks,

******


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

After speaking with the adjustor from USAA to confirm exact amounts. We were able to discuss all expenses which are listed below: 

1) The invoice from Lenz Contracters: $625

2) The total estimated amount from USAA: $3775.76

 

Total Amount: $4400.76

 

If this amount can be agreed upon to cover all my expenses, I will go down to the office first thing Monday 7/18/2016 to sign any documentation necessary and the complaint can at that point be considered resolved. 

 


Regards,

******** ********

Business Response: Please send me copies of the invoice from Lenz Contractor's and USAA detailing the expenses. Once I receive the documents I will respond quickly with how we will move forward.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: I am simply providing the requested documentation. No terms have been agreed upon at this moment. 

Regards,

******** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I am simply providing the requested documentation. No terms have been agreed upon at this moment. 

Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:

Ms. ********,

 

After reviewing the documentation sent over here is our best and final offer. We will offer you $1875. This covers the total out of pocket expense you incurred (Lenz contracting and Deductible with USAA). The USAA paperwork clearly shows that you have already filed a claim and will be receiving a check for the actual cash value totaling $2525.76.

I would like to remind you that G.L. Hunt Foundation Repair did not do work on the side of the home where the A/C system is and that we still do not believe that the water damage  was our fault to begin with.  I began attempting to resolve the issue because I care about how our company is perceived and we care about customer service.

If you are ready to accept we will have the settlement amount and the paperwork ready at the San Antonio Office. Please call me at 817-222-9253 and we will coordinate a time for you to come by.

 

 

 

 

 


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Unfortunately that amount will not do. You are under the impression that USAA is taking responsibility for this water leakage in my home. Both USAA and myself feel you are responsible based on the photos/video and other proof. As far of not taking responsibility, well you claim you did not dig or work on that side of my home but physical evidence says otherwise. Also, I have repeatedly asked for the documentation from the Date of service in Jan 2016 and you repeatedly sent me my contract from Dec 2015. As a large company, I know you keep more information on file (i.e. the fist and last meter readings done in my home and even names of the crew assigned to my home). I know you are withholding documentation regardless what you are claiming. USAA is expecting to be reimbursed for the amount they issued in  the check ($2525.76). For that reason my only acceptable offer will be for the entire amount of the damages which is totaling $4400.76 and that is because as a company you need to held liable for your negligence. If this amount cannot be agreed upon, I will move forward with this BBB complaint and will inform the USAA subrogation team that you are not complying so they can move forward in their process. 

Regards,

******** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I, ******** ********, am requested that this claim # ******** be marked as resolved. Gl Hunt and I were able to come to an agreement for a payment of $4400 which will cover any repair expenses as well as any other expenses that incurred due to the water damage.  If you have any questions please email or call me at ************.    

                                 Thank You
                        ******** * ******** 


6/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company refuses to perform "Life time" warranty work. They state they did the repair work correctly and further issues where my fault. When they did the work originally they did not even refill the hole next to the foundation they dug for placing the pylons. The owner refuses to contact me to even discuss the issue. They use their sales person as the messenger. I have called NUMEROUS times and the owner refuses calls, didn't even take the first call for the complaint, just sent the sales guy back out.

Desired Settlement: When I have work done and am given a life time warranty, I expect the warranty to be upheld. I would like the owner to contact me and see what work was done and what was NOT to my satisfaction, which caused the repair work to be faulty. This cause additional foundation issues. I expect GL Hunt to come back to my house, re-repair my foundation PROPERLY as their warranty states.

Business Response:

We have left Mr. ********* a voicemail to discuss the situation with him but have not received a response. The terms of the customers "Lifetime Warranty" require him to maintain that his plumbing system is leak free and that the drainage conditions on his property are adequate. This is no different than Ford requiring you to change your oil in order to maintain your vehicles warranty.

As of 5/29/14 Mr. ********* was sent a letter notifying him that his warranty was set aside until the plumbing issue was corrected. We are willing to work with the customer to resolve this issue, but the root cause of his problems must be addressed, in accordance with the terms and conditions of the warranty, before than can happen.

 

- ****** *****

General Manager

 

 


5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While working they broke my gate. I called the company and told them. They sent somebody but he said he couldn't fix it. I had it repaired for $40. They owe me $40 since February. Numerous calls to company, they say I should have the money but 2 months later I still don't!

Desired Settlement: $40

Business Response: Ms. **** did have her gate repaired, on April 2,2015, not two months ago as she stated . Attached is the invoice of the repair done April 2 ,2015.  G.L Hunt Company mailed Ms. **** a check #**** for $40.00, Ms. **** stated she had not received it on April 29,2015. G L Hunt Company sent a representative to hand deliver a check for the gate repair Check #**** for the amount of $40.00 and apologized for any inconvenience. See Attached documents of invoice,copies of checks,and confirmation signature of received payment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on G.L. Hunt Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart