Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CJ House Leveling

Phone: (210) 734-9865 -----, San Antonio, TX 78244 View Additional Email Addresses https://sites.google.com/site/cjhouseleveling


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CJ House Leveling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CJ House Leveling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CJ House Leveling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1991 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 09/05/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jesus J. Cuellar, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jesus J. Cuellar, Owner
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Concrete Contractors

Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CJ House Leveling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • -----

    San Antonio, TX 78244 (210) 734-9865

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issue I have with C.J House leveling (***** *******) is that we entered into a contract to have our house leveled, as part of the contract, a permit was obtained by Mr. ******* to work on the house. The permit, issued by the city of San Antonio dated 07/21/10, requires an inspection by a city inspector and a letter from an engineer. The engineer's letter demonstrates to the city that the piers constructed were to specifications set to carry the load of the house. All of the items mentioned are required to be on file in order to have the permit close indicating minimum requirement have been met. Under the Open Records Act, May 2015, I request a copy of that permit and any documentation supporting the permit. When the information arrived I noticed the permit was still open. Upon reviewing the information received there was no inspection or Engineer's letter. As per our contract with Mr. ******* a certified letter returned receipt (signed by Mr.******* on 06/25/15) was sent to him requesting he contact us concerning the status of our permit and to submit the required information so the permit could be closed. As part of the contract, no repairs are recommend for 6 (six) months after the house is leveled to assure the house has settles. Thinking all was completed I had a cement skirting installed to cover the area between the ground and the house. After inquiring with the city about the permit issue, I was informed that it may be nessessary to remove the skirting in order to inspect the piers. I do not wish to pay for any additional work due to the negligence of Mr. *******. In addition, the permit is only valid for 180 days from issuance. The permit may not be valid and a new permit may have to be obtained. I understand the permit issued is a miscellaneous non review permit but certain requirements still have to be met and the requirements are there for a reason. I would like for Mr ******* to finish what he started according to the contract we signed. For which he received full payment for and Collected without reservation.

Desired Settlement: Contract to be completed without additional cost to my family. Any inspections, including removal and replacing of the skirting should be paid by the contractor in order to complete the inspection by engineer and or city inspectors.

Business Response:

bbb

We are in receipt of this message concerning Mr. ******, we contacted Mr. ****** immediately and we have been working very hard to help Mr. ****** resolve his open permit problem. We reviewed our records and located His original Inspection report that was not filed. We have since submitted it to the City so that his permit can be closed out. We are waiting the 5-7 days that require the procedure to be processed. Unfortunately, we were sincerely not aware that Mr. ****** was having this problem until we were contacted by the bbb. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ******.

Sincerely,

***** *******, Owner

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: As of this writing the permit remains open according the City of San Antonio Development's web site. There is an standing agreement between both parties that a favorable response would be noted only when all of the requirements were met according as required by the City of San Antonio Development Services Department.  Since issue at hand still lacks information and the permit remains open, and unfavorable notation remains until all is met and the permit is closed accordingly. 

Regards,

****** ******

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******* was hired to do a house leveling job at the residence indicated however the job performed was very, very, very, poor and has not repaired the issues, we have not needing to take action via mediation in my county based on his contract need to follow that procedure, unfortunately the house is in worse condition then when we started the repair, it is also unfortunate that my daughter refferred him to a neighbor down the street and they too are extremely very, very, very dissatisfied with his work and also made a mess there.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund of the fees paid to him becasuse I will need to locate and hire someone else who is going to do the job correctly. The amount paid was $12,044.16 i may be off a few dollars since I dont have the contract in front of me while filling out this form but it is not that much off.

Business Response: In response to **** ********* *********’s complaint: 
     There has been no speci?c complaint to this date. We’ve been out to her residence to do two warranty adjustments in the past 2 yrs 7months largely due to the fact that they have not installed proper drainage, as stated in the warranty agreement. They have been advised repeatedly since the work was completed to install a guttering system to deter water away from their foundation.  However, our advice was ignored,  even to this day they have refused to install gutters and although this negligence is grounds for warranty nullification, we’ve honored the warranty agreement, their neglect in this matter has caused some unnecessary movement. C J House Leveling Inc. has been very patient with **** ********* and her family. We have  done everything we possibly can to help them, however, they have refused to install gutters per the warranty agreement.
      On 4-24-14, this past week **** ******* ******, *** **** *********, and *** ******* *********,  children of **** ********* brought this matter before a Judicial Court  in the City of San Antonio and the Judge Dismissed their case. We regret that they are not able to articulate, communicate and resolve problems amicably but we will not be intimidated by their bullying tactics. We cannot continue to allow *** ********z and her children to continue to falsely discredit our company.
If *********** *********, *** **** ********* and *** ******* ********* continue,  I have been advised by counsel today that the next step will be to ?le a lawsuit against these aforementioned people for Frivolous Lawsuit/Claim and Libel Defamation of Character for creating false claims and falsely writing about our company. In which we will seek for fines and litigation cost and reimbursement for monetary damages for harm caused to our compnay.


*** ***** ******** ********* ** CJ House Leveling Inc.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Our argument is not that the gutters need to be installed to avoid the settling of the foudation but that fact that picture of contract he provide is now what the comany did regardling the quality of job and piers installed. ** ******* stated to me that he could not go under the house himself to see the work because he had back issues. He also said would come to try and makre repairs at no charge and now, we receive 2 bills?  Our dispute is that we wanted him to do the job as on the contract he provide and he didn, and yes the court dismissed the case because according to his contrac he has a clause where we have to go thru Mediation first in our county and that is the next step I have done as o April 29,2014 we filedthat process.**** ** ******** by nomeans ar "bullying him as he stated tey are just speaking up for me becaus I  am 84years old and no cant express myself in English and myu daughter ******* ****** who has power of attorney is filing this response and original complaint.
 
Regards,
********* *********

Business Response:                            From the desk of
cj house leveling inc.


                                                  
LETTER OF NULLIFICATION
May 1, 2014
************* *********
c/o **** ******* ******,  POWER OF ATTORNEY
HOMEOWNER
**** ******** *** ******** ***** *****
Dear **** *********,
This letter is will serve as official notice. Since August 15, 2011 when the work commenced you were advised to install a guttering system to minimize future movement as was agreed in our contract. **** ******* ******, *** ******* ********* and *** **** ********* your sons and daughter were also advised since they were overseeing the work for you. **** ******* ******, and *** ******* ********* were present when you signed the contract and these stipulations were explained. It was mentioned that they would  install the guttering system and deep skirting. The skirting was installed but appears to be very shallow. During these past 2 years and seven months we have gone out to your residence to do two adjustments to the piers, once on 6/20/12, and once on 2/3/13. Each time it was noticed by our company that gutters had not been installed and you were advised again.  All our advisement  concerning the guttering system has been categorically ignored. On our last visit to your home on 7/18/13, *** ******* ********* said and i quote “ having gutters is not going to affect your foundation....its for landscaping”. It is now 4/28/14 nearly 2 years and 7 months since the work was performed and to this day no gutters have been installed. Blake Engineering, the firm that inspected the work also went out to your residence  twice and on 7/18/13, and concurs with the lack of proper drainage that was evident.
In the warranty agreement is states:
“The following events, upon occurrence thereof, will render this Warranty NULL and VOID: 1. The structure suffers fire, flood, mold, signs of mold, or storm damage; 2.  The foundation is undermined (i.e., plumbing leaks or tunneling resulting in damage to piers, tunneling backfill such as flowable fill(concrete) that may pull plumbing downward and hence the slab with it, mold, signs of mold, soil slumping, no gutters or drainage system failure, erosion, excavation, creek beds, negligence of termite preventative measures by Client will result in warranty being null and void [Foundation should be regularly checked once a year and addressed for termite activity, and records kept by client, of termite inspections. etc,)  3.  The structure is altered or modified to any major structural degree, or if additions are made to it without a prior written approval by Contractor. To which approval will not be unreasonably withheld.”
We regret that you and your family refuse to follow the guidelines stipulated in our Warranty agreement. We have been patient and reasonable. We provided a service where extensive labor, material, time and money was spent. We cannot continue to do adjustments when there is lack of cooperation to help reduce movement. In addition, the warranty agreement also states concerning warranty adjustments:
“The C. J. HOUSE LEVELING INC. CONCRETE pier has a TEN year warranty. The TREATED PIER HAS A 5 YEAR WARRANTY. These adjustments shall be billed at a rate of $175.per service call with $15.00 charge per pier adjusted.”
Enclosed you will find an invoice for the two adjustments performed.
Sincerely yours,
*** ***** ******** ********* of CJ House Leveling Inc.
Ps. We regret that in 21 years of doing business this is the first letter of nullification we’ve sent out. In addition, I have NEVER refrained from going under the house for back problems.  It is sad that although they claim to be  people of Faith  they have resorted to flat out lying.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted CJ House Leveling on two occassions; August 5, 1995 in the amount of $1200 and June 13, 1997 in the amount of $6995. The contract has an Unlimited Lifetime Warranty. I have contacted ***** on over 10 occasions beginning last year in order to have him come out to re-level our home. He advised my husband that we would be charged an additional $1200 because the center beam of the home is now cracked. He stated that in the previous contracts, he never touched that beam. I have not gone under my home to confirm his statement. I have left several voice mails and text messages to have him come back to my home. I do not feel that we need to pay an additional $1200 since I have already paid $8195 which was a lot of money 16 years ago. It still is a lot of money for them to not have done the work correctly. I had to have him and **** *** come out several times within 6 months of the second contract to re-level because my front door would not close correctly.

Desired Settlement: I want ***** to re-level my home free of charge and to pay all city fees, engineering fees and disposal associated with it.

Business Response:

 i had spoken to Mrs. ********* over the phone a few months ago because, and these are her words" i was calling about getting the work started for the foundation repair" which was in the amount of $1,200.00. She was not complaining to us. She was simply wanting to get the work started. This is truthfully her statement.   She emailed me the document that i had left at the property the last time we had gone by to do an adjustment for them. However, this was the first time i had spoken to her. When we did the adjustment a few years ago, honoring the warranty, i had explained to Mr. ********* that the scope of area where we perfomed our work did not encompass the entire house. The house was being undermined by bad drainage, poor guttering system, and termite or wood rot under load bearing beams. In addition, the house had an addition built without our company being notified. This is very important because whenever the original structure has some addition added or is modified in any way, it may affect the future performance of the foundation that is present at the time. During our adjustment at that time, the elevations of that addition, which is attached to the main house, had shifted significantly. Please note that this addition was not built by our company. Also pointed out to Mr. ********* at the time of our adjustment ,  was that our leveling was  limited because of this.  For example, you cannot level a structure to a level position if it is attached to a fixed addition that itself is unlevel.  I also informed Mr. ********* of the existence of rotten or termite damaged beams under the house,   pictures were taken of the rotten beams and shown to Mr. *********(the beams were crushed because of the rot or termite damage). It was further explained that it is not common practice to level a foundation with rotten beams, that it is advisable that he have those beams replaced, so that the foundation will not be undermined. The *********'s have a warranty with our company but it does not include termite treatment or drainage maintenance. This is the responsibility of any homeowner.  Back to Mrs. *********, when we last spoke i explained to her that the City of *** ******* now is requiring that a licensed Engineer provide a letter of assumption for any work done concerning foundation repair and that these rules were enacted recently and that her best course of action was to locate an engineer and proceed from there. She agreed reluctantly and i received no further contact form her, although she may have called asking for a referral to an Engineer, i faintly recall.

Finally, CJ House Leveling Inc. has been around for over 20 years and we have an excellent reputation.

so when Mrs. ********* says we did not do the work correctly  and she shouldn't have to pay---- it seems she did not explain herself Honestly and clearly.  There are a lot of details she forgot to mention. It is very disheartening to see the lengths some people will go to avoid the responsibilities that it takes to own a home. That said, i would have gladly explained these things to Mrs. ********* had she called but she did not. The only time we heard from her was recently through your bbb compalint.

To end, I would like to inform Mrs. ********* that we can and we will do any adjustments necessary to honor our warranty and within the parameters of the warranty. However, the termite and rotten wood issues need to be addressed before we can do any adjustment. All that she has to do is notify us in writing so that we can put her on the schedule once all the rotten damaged wood is replaced.

 

sincerely,

 

 

***** *******, owner  

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on CJ House Leveling
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart