BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of CenTex Foundation Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CenTex Foundation Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CenTex Foundation Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CenTex Foundation Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 26, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1992 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/1992 Business incorporated: 08/31/2001 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Griffith, Partner Mr. Isaac Benavides, Partner Mr. Enrique Comparan, Partner Mr. Ronnie Wiethorn, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Griffith, Partner
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Land Clearing & Leveling

Alternate Business Names
Centex House Leveling Centex House Leveling - Austin LLC Centex House Leveling - Waco LLC
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1120 E 52nd St

    Austin, TX 78723 (512) 444-5438

  • 710 S Robinson Dr

    Robinson, TX 76706 (254) 863-5438

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CenTex Foundation Repair failed to honor their lifetime warranty. They initially repaired the house in 2007, made a warranty repair in 2012 but are now refusing to make any additional repairs by stating that there are water leaks under the slab that is causing the foundation to move. The leak detection/plumbing company they used to detect the leaks is owned by CenTex Foundation Repair. A third party plumbing company we hired to find the leaks failed to find any plumbing leaks. Now CenTex Foundation Repair will not honor it's own warranty to repair the foundation.

Desired Settlement: Repair the foundation as stated in their lifetime warranty or refund my money.

Business Response: Dear *** ****,

Thank you for forwarding along.  I am bit confused by this.  CenTex has not failed to honor our warranty. *** ******** our ******** *********** meet with *** ******* back in December of 2013 and suggested he get a leak test.  He did thru a subsidiary of ours On the Level Plumbing.  A simple "static leak test" conducted showed the drain line failed to hold water meaning there was a leak somewhere in the system.

Yes, the Agreement entered into back in 2007 does state in Section One, Part C, Number 3 that, " The warranty will be null and void if the soil supporting the structure and/or piering system has been undermined by plumbing leaks, water intrusion, erosion, heaving or vibration". 

So if there is a leak, *** ******* warranty is void.

I think the matter at hand is the *** ******* does not believe that On the Level Plumbing's diagnosis of a leak is correct.  Then please prove us wrong.  CenTex has not received any documentation from the plumbing company he hired, nor has he included it with his complaint.

I will offer this.  ** ******* schedule whomever he wants to conduct a static leak test on the property.  I will have our Master Plumber there at the same time to verify that test is conducted accurately.  If a leak is found, *** ******* pays for everyone's time, including our Master Plumber.  If there is not a leak, then CenTex will pay for everyone's time including his plumber's.

If *** ******* is confident in his accusations he should have no trouble taking me up on my offer.  If the BBB nor CenTex hears from *** *******, then we'll know his claim is without merit.

Respectfully,

**** ******** ******* *** ******* *******
CenTex Foundation Repair et al

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Centex came out to level my house. They caused significant damage to the home as well as other items. They dumped dirt and debris in my backyard and would not remove it. Their contract states that they have to provide the final engineering report prior to the final payment. They had not provided the engineering report or asked for final payment before I got a letter from a lawyer addressed to *** **** which is not me. They refused to provide the final engineering report stating that they would only do so if I gave them final payment which is direct conflict to the terms of their contract.

Desired Settlement: Refund and money to repair the damage to my home and other items caused by their negligence.

Business Response: *** ****,

Thank you forwarding along.  This matter has been moved to ***** **** ***** Small Claims Court, Precinct 5 in Travis County.  Given such, I am limited in what I can provide in response and can only present material fact.  The following statements are supported by the attached documentation.

1) CenTex is not responsible for cosmetic or structural damage resulting from foundation repair, see attached Agreement, Section Three, General Responsibilities, Part A & B
2) Numerous attempts were made to conduct a final walk thru, see attached "post completion Inspection".  At such time any remaining items are address and the Engineering report/job docs are exchanged for final payment.
3) *** ******** was not responsive to numerous attempts to do so and was sent the attached email on August 15th.
4) Again, he did not respond, so the matter was filed in Small Claims Court***** ****** *****, see attached.

I request that any further communication in this matter by *** ********, or his attorney (he has one) be directed to our counsel, *** **** ******.  Both he and his attorney have his number as they have spoken previously.

Respectfully,
**** ********

4/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: House on ***** ***** ******* *** ***** ** ***** has a lifetime transferably warrany warranted with Centex. The orginal owners had the house leveled in 1996. I am probably the 3rd owner . In August 2013 I contacted Centex because I was having issues with windows/doors not closing properly. They came out and assessed. Told me that additional piers were needed and it woud cause me almost 5,000. I agreed. They tunneled from outside. drilled holes from inside. I was told that they had encountered a problem plumbing had collapsed under house that sewage was going under house. Quoted 17,000 to repair. I immediately got a second opinion. Licensed Master plumber disagreed. For 7,000 he redid all new plumbling. problem fixed but disagrees with Centex about sewage leaking plumbing collasping. I decided to redo and put new plumbing for once and for all while people had access under house. The plumber informed me that Centex was not doing a good job leveling. Uneven piers and gaps of open space. The house originally was on slab but since Centex has worked on it it sits on piers and I believe from people that have seen under the house the ground needs to be filled to sit right. I don't know??. What I do know is that after they completed work and I hired a contractor to remodel the inside. New floor, Paint, Tile the bathroom. etc. No new addition except change the bathroom. Take out tub and install a shower stall instead. Approximately weeks after Remodeling was completed. I noticed where my ceiling and walls meet there was separation. Big open gaps. And they continue to get bigger as time goes on. One of the bathrooms the shower floor tile cracked. Centex came back and said part of house needed adjusting. Made more tunnels. Could not figure out what could cause the ceiling/wall gap. Send an engineered to check. Engineer did nothing. Only went by what Centex told him. I was told the house was leveled but not given to my satisfaction what cause my cracks AFTER house was leveled, Blame bathroom floor problem on tile contactor. Well I have had 2 tile contractor that disagree and refuse to do my floor because they say problem will reoccur until the foundation situation is resolved. Something is going on with my foundation and the walls are trying to speak. Engineer that Centex send out told me the cracks are simply cosmetic to speckle or put crown molding. Not a solution. I payed 5,000 to Centex to fix problem not make it worse. There were NO cracks on walls inside house when I called it was simply windows and doors sticking. I have pictures of house if needed. I am not a foundation expert but the hole,gap underhouse I believe needs to be filled with something. I showed engineer where critters are digging holes on perimeter of house and going under house because of the gap they left. His suggestion is call ********. Please help me. This has been on going and cannot move into house with foundation problem. I have been patient. Put a lot of money into remodeling for these cracks to show up and contractors refusing t work on my house because they will not warranty their work as long as I have this problem. I was told by Centex (after the fact) that I should wait 6 months before I should have remodeled let the house have time to settle. WHAT? I have email that I told the part ***** ***** that I was anxious to remodel and move in. He never said to wait and give it time. Please help. Thank you

Desired Settlement: For my house to be leveled correctly. I put a lot of time and money and cannot move in as is. Whatever needs to be done. Thank you

Business Response: I need till Monday of next week to provide a thorough response.  Many individuals are out this week due to spring break.  I need to speak with ***** and several others to get some history on this.

Respectfully,
**** ******** ******* *** **
CenTex Foundation Repair

Business Response: Centex Foundation Repair was called out to inspect a home that we piered in 1996. Elevation readings showed the house was out of level and there were some cosmetic cracks. Centex suspected a plumbing leak and after testing found several. At this point the warranty on the work done in '96 would have been void. However, Centex decided to honor the warranty. Centex also proposed 7 additional piers @ areas where needed. The cost for the additional piers and additional top soil that was needed because of Home***** neglect was $4,791. Centex ate the cost of adjusting existing piers due to a leak that was left under the home from the 1996 repair! The home was leveled to the limits of the structure and the ******** **** signed off after completion " the guys did an excellent job". ******** **** had the plumbing repaired after the level. Centex was called out on 2/3/14 to do a warranty check. Jim Maguire w/ Centex checked out the house and noted a slight "heave" @ front right corner of the home and some minor ceiling/wall separation @ den area. Elevation readings showed minimal change in floor elevations throughout the home, w/ the exception of the "heaved" area. Heaved areas are not warranted by Centex or any other foundation repair companies. However, once again, Centex decided to make some adjustments. I assume ******** **** was not satisfied. Centex hired a Structural Engineer (*** ****) to evaluate the home. His feedback, that was shared w/ ******** ****, is that the foundation is functioning as intended and has changed very little since the most recent level. He stated that there was some poor workmanship by Beatrice's contractor and the foundation is fine.

Even after all of this, CenTex remains available to further review the property if requested by *****.

Respectfully,
**** ******** ******* *** ******* *******
CenTex Foundation Repair

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because
I am going to have to get back to you on this.  I will contact the plumbers tha did the plumbing. 
As it stands no contractor will fix the bathroom shower floor because they will not warranty their work under the present condition. Yes i did have problems with orginal contractor. I have since called two and they both say the foundation has problems.  I was never told the pumbing would void the waranty. Also why are you making a false statement that plumbing problem started in 96?  I know previous owner and he claims no problem.  It would have been a sewer lake under house.  Plumbers dispute that.  Finally, yes i do like the crew there were never harsh words i am not that kind of person. They treated me well and i them. I brought them lunch,breakfast,drinks.  I am just trying to get to the bottom of this. I have spend alot of money and am still unable to move in.  Before you say house is abandon
 No i am there everyday. utilities on. I am daily there but not moving  furniture because house has issues that need to be resolved. I am not pointing figures i just need answers.
I hate disputes. Something went wrong. Trying to find out.


Regards,
******** *****

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a lifetime warranty on my foundation repair. I started calling them in October 2013 to report that my foundation had shifted and that cracks were appearing in my walls. I could no longer lock my front door. Eventually someone did come out, but he just dug the wood out of my door frame so that I could lock the door. A few days later, I could not lock it once again, but did not want more wood to be carved out of my door frame, so I called them once again. I was then told that I had to have a "clean out plug" installed so that they could be sure that there was no leak underneath the foundation, and that they had notified me of this previously. I asked for a copy of that notification but have still not received any documentation. However. I did have that plug installed that cost me $500. I called and told them that had been installed, and that I still had not received any documentation. On 11/15 I called again and was told that "******" would call me back. The secretary and I got into a rather heated verbal altercation in which she told me that they were too busy, and that it would be January before anyone could even come out to evaluate the situation. I told her that I couldn't wait until January, and she responded, "We will just see about that". She was very impolite. When I asked for her name, she hung up on me. Eventually ****** did call back, said that they were very busy, and did not have enough employees to complete all the work in a timely manner, but would get to me as quickly as possible. By now the cracks had gotten very large, including one on the end of my garage which damaged/cracked the brick. The cracks inside my house have ripped the tape and bedding away from the walls. When I called again on 12/26/13 I was told that "Amanda" would call ****** to set up an inspection once again. The secretary said she would have Amanda pull my file and put it on top of the pile so that I would called shortly. Again she refused to give me her name by hanging up on me. I have still not received a phone call, much less an evaluation. I began to document my calls beginning in November and December, and have not called them back in January.

Desired Settlement: I would like the foundation fixed, as well as the brick on the outside of the house, and the walls inside the house, as I will now be required to re-tape and bed, and paint the inside.

Consumer Response: My street address is wrong.  It should be *** *****, NOT *** *********  I am in **** ** *****.  Thanks.

Business Response: January 13, 2014

Better Business Bureau
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752

RE:  Complaint #*******

Dear Sirs:

I’m writing today in response to the above referenced claim by Mrs. ***** ***** of *** ***** ***** ** ********* **.

Centex first met Mrs. ***** on March 24, 2004 when an assessment of her foundation and subsequent repair proposal was offered.  At that time Centex recommended the installation of piers around the complete perimeter of her home, but in interest of economy agreed to offer her an option to pier only a portion.  The work was completed without incident on April 27, 2004.

On January 17, 2008, Mrs. ***** called to report movement in the affected area and requested a warranty inspection.  Our representative inspected her home on January 25, 2008 and prescribed warranty
adjustments that were subsequently repaired on February 7, 2008.

Mrs. ***** called Centex once again on September 26, 2011 to report new cracks and further movement.  An inspection was completed on September 28, 2011 when it was determined that additional work
would be necessary to lift the slab properly.  At the inspection, it was explained to Mrs. ***** that our new policy requires a post level leak test and that any leaks discovered would prevent any claims on her lifetime warranty until the leak was repaired.  A proposal was offered and accepted to install the remaining recommended piers from our original proposal and adjust existing piers as needed.  The work was
completed on October 26, 2011.  During the leveling process it was determined that a new front door had been installed while the slab was out of level and that leveling as needed would bind the front door and prevent it from operating properly.  The front wall of the property was left out of level and it was explained to Mrs. *****.  ** *** ***** ******** was dispatched to perform the post level leak test on October 28, 2011.  Upon arriving, the plumber was unable to located the sewer cleanout needed to perform the test and it was explained to Mrs. ***** that he could install one for a fee or she could contact another plumber to do so.  She said she would think about it and let him know.  ** *** ***** ******** attempted to reach Mrs. ***** to discuss further and left messages on November 2nd, 4th, and 11th, without a response.  On November 14th, Centex notified Mrs. ***** in writing that her leak test had not been performed and that her warranty would not be valid until the test was performed and any deficiencies cured.  Upon receipt of the letter, Mrs. ***** called our office irate about the letter and the entire situation explaining that she did not have the money to install the clean out.  It was explained to her that she could take all of the time she needed and we would issue her warranty once she could get everything taken care of.

Centex received a call from Mrs. ***** on January 9, 2012 reporting that her front door was sticking again and requested that we come take a look.  At the inspection we once again discussed the issue with the door having been installed while the slab was out of level and the limited lift of the front wall.  It was agreed that if she could have someone on hand to adjust the door, we would send a crew out to level the front wall and her repairman would reinstall the door.  This work was completed without incident on February 2, 2012.

On or around October 14, 2013, Mrs. ***** called to request a warranty inspection.  At that time it was explained that our schedule was very full and it was taking six to eight weeks before repair crews could be dispatched and that inspections were delayed four to six weeks as a result.  She explained that her front door was stuck and she couldn’t wait.  Our scheduling clerk failed to realize the Mrs. *****s warranty was not in effect and dispatched a field superintendent the following day to investigate.  The superintendent was able to adjust her door latch so that it would operate correctly and told her to call the office if she had any more problems.

Mrs. ***** phoned the office on November 15, 2013 very upset that no one had been out to repair her home and demanded to speak with ******.  ****** called Mrs. ***** that afternoon and explained not only that we were unaware of additional repairs needed, but that her warranty was not in force due to the lack of the leak test ever being performed.  She became very irate exclaiming that she had never been told such and had no idea it had to be done.  ****** reminded her of the letter she acknowledged when she called to complain back in November 2011 and the multiple conversations they had regarding it. 
She demanded that documentation be sent to her again and the Centex office mailed it her home address the following day.  ****** explained to her that once she completed a successful leak test, her warranty issues would be addressed.  He also explained the delay in scheduling due to the extreme weather conditions and didn’t tell her we didn’t have enough employees, but the opposite that we had been hiring additional employees in an effort to meet demand.

On December 9, 2013, ** *** ***** ******** received a call from Mrs. ***** requesting that a clean out be installed so that the leak test could be performed.  A plumber was dispatched on December 10th when a clean out was installed and a leak test performed.  The sewer system held and the test revealed no leaks.

Mrs. ***** called the Centex office on December 26, 2013 to inform us that the test had been completed and found no leak.  She was informed that she had already been added to the warranty scheduling queue and would be contacted in early January to schedule.  Centex contacted her January 9, 2014 and scheduled a warranty inspection for January 23rd.

Throughout all of our history with Mrs. *****, she has demanded immediate attention.  She calls requesting attention and if we are unable to meet her request, she becomes irate, demands immediate attention, and slams down the phone.  She then proceeds to call management explaining how rude the office personnel was and how they hung up on her.  If management doesn’t grant her wishes, she does the same to them.  At no time has anyone refused to give her their name or hung up on her.  Centex always has and always will meet our warranty obligations and go above and beyond to treat our customers’ right and we are doing exactly that for Mrs. *****.

Thank you for your time and consideration and please don’t hesitate should you need further clarification.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Partner & General Manager - ****

Consumer Response:

Thank you for forwarding their response.  While it contains various discrepancies, such as them providing documentation that was never received, indications that I demanded to speak with ****** when I was told by the staff to do so, and responses that I was rude and hung up on them when I have documentation that the opposite is true, it is also true that I was extremely upset because I could never get an accurate response.   The office staff did refuse to give me their name and did hang up on me, and I have documentation to prove that.   If management thinks otherwise, perhaps they should speak with their staff, but of course that would not prove helpful as I am sure they would be told exactly what they wished to hear.    

 

When I called in October and was told that it was taking six to eight weeks, (which would have been December instead of January) I was definitely told by the staff that they did not have enough employees and were very far behind. As far as the door is concerned, I will attempt to locate the receipt for the exact time it was purchased.  However, the field superintendent fixed the door problem by simply digging out the wood from the frame and putting nails in, rather than screws, so I could not fix it again myself.  The foundation has again shifted since so much time has elapsed. As I did not wish to have more wood dug out of the frame itself, I am still unable to lock my front door.  I am elderly, so this is very troubling to me.  I now have big cracks in my walls on the inside of the house, and the brick on the outside is now cracked as well.  The recent weather which he alluded to, and which I understand completely, has also served to keep the house colder than usual, and thus I must keep my thermostat up higher to stay warm.  If they are hiring more employees as they say, why is it still taking so long to just come out to evaluate?  It is important to note that I was not contacted until after a complaint had been filed with the Better Business Bureau.  

 

Thank you for your efforts in mediating this situation.  I truly appreciate your help, and look forward to hearing from the company on the 23rd. Please let me know if you have further questions, or need additional input.

 

***** *****

 

7/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2009, I contracted with CenTex to level the foundation on a very small residential property. Less than 3 years later, the house was in worse condition than when they worked on it. I spoke with them about it and was given an estimate to repair - again- at over $6,000.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the service cost ($1700.) with $600. for additional damages. (I must repair drywall cracks, repaint, repair doors and jambs, and replace skirting.)

Business Response: Dear BBB Dispute Resolution Specialist,

In 2009, per the Agreement entered into (attached "2009") CenTex was hired to, "level off existing piers".  No piers were installed by CenTex at such time as noted, "CenTex warranty only applies to piers constructed by CenTex".  Bottom line there was no warranty on the work performed in 2009 as existing piers, not piers installed by CenTex, were used to "level" the structure.  See also warranty terms and conditions in Section One, Part A of "2009"

CenTex was called back four years later to review the condition of the property again.  Now the condition of the existing piers warranted replacement.  That. estimate of repair was rendered to customer, see "2013_Banister and 2013_Scope".

While I am empathetic that Ms. **** now needs additional work, it is for work not called for, nor needed in 2009.  Given such we will not be returning any monies for prior work performed, but I would be more than willing to work with Ms. **** on the price of the work necessary now.

Respectfully,

**** ********
******* *** ******* *******
CenTex Foundation Repair

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I was never explained that I could have further and worse damage at the time of the initial work.  I would have never spent substantial money on skirting, doors, and other repairs.  I am not an engineer - only a home owner that expected that CenTex would stand behind their work. 
Regards,

***** ****





























Business Response: Dear BBB Consumer Complaint Specialist,

While I understand Ms. ****'s frustration and thus, her response, CenTex's position has not changed.  The work entered into in 2009 was not accompanied by a warranty.  The Agreement entered into clearly states such AND what was needed at that time.  We cannot be accountable, four years later for the current condition nor current repairs necessary of her foundation.

Respectfully,

**** ********
CenTex Foundation Repair
******* *** ******* *******


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
My contract does have a warranty.  CenTex charged me $1,700. to fix my foundation, and 4 years later gave me a proposal for over $6,000.  They do not stand behind their service, nor do they explain what you are paying for.

Regards,

***** ****





























5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Centex Foundation Repair drilled a hole through the middle of the front entrance of the house to set a piling to assist in leveling the house. This hole was driled through the brick entrance . I told the foreman that I would have to try to find some bricks that matched the ones thqat they ruined for them to replace, they agreed. I have spent the last 18 to 20 months looking for bricks that atched, but couldn't find any so I purchased some that were a close match. When I called centex they refused stating "do you have it in writing". No I don't have it in writing it was part of the repair for damage they did I didn't think I needed an extra contract for them to replace and repair damage they caused while making the repair

Desired Settlement: Repair the damage they caused

Business Response: Dear BBB Complaint Resolution Specialist.

$7,225.00 project price under the Agreement, see attachment
7/19/2011 contract date
8/23/2011 start date
8/31/2011 paid in full

4/23/2013, ******* ********, **** ********* ** **********, and now an owner, called Mr. *********.  Mr. ********* conveyed as he has in his complaint, that ******* promised we'd repair damaged brick one he found them.  It took him nearly two years to find such brick.

When Mr. ******** stated that he was happy to provided a number of someone who specialized in "tuck-and-point" work, Mr. ********* respond with obscenities and became abrasive. Mr. ******** stated that we not responsible for such work and that he did not promise such during the jobs progress.  Mr. ********* then made numerous threats about contacting the BBB, Attorney General and even as far as a lawsuit.

Mr. ******** did not agree to replace the bricks and never does.  He has served as ** ** ********** for eight plus years now, he know our Agreement.  Section Three: General Conditions, Part B states:

 "It is understood that in order to perform the Scope of Work during the initial piering as well as any future warranty adjustments it is possible that sheetrock, wallpaper, brick and/or other rigid materials including the slab, framing, roof and walls may crack.  If such damage occurs, CenTex is not responsible for the repair of these items.  Therefore, the above-referenced total amount does not include any cosmetic work, repairing, redecorating, electrical work or the replacement of any materials not called for in this Agreement".

2/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues