Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Arredondo Group Engineering & Construction

Phone: (210) 645-6811 Fax: (210) 682-2801 View Additional Phone Numbers 6004 Grissom Rd, San Antonio, TX 78238 http://www.arredondogroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arredondo Group Engineering & Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arredondo Group Engineering & Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arredondo Group Engineering & Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1993 Business started: 06/01/1991 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/1991 Business incorporated 06/15/2001 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Board of Professional Engineers
1917 S IH-35, Austin TX 78741
www.tbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 440-7723
peboard@tbpe.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Ernie G Arredondo, P.E. Ms. Carie Arredondo
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carie Arredondo
Principal: Mr. Ernie G Arredondo, P.E.
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Engineers - Civil

Alternate Business Names
Arredondo Group, L.P.
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 6004 Grissom Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78238 (512) 302-6000 (210) 645-6811

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 9/2004 the Arredondo Group completed foundation repairs on the Front and side of our residence located at *** ****** *** ***** and provided a Lifetime warranty. In June 2014 we had an contract opportunity to sale our residence and the potential buyer asked about the foundation. We indicated the foundation was under warranty and called Arredondo Group to complete the warranty work. Below is a summary of the communication over the last three months. To date we have not been able to come to an agreement to complete the warranty work. The work was completed on the front and side corner of subject property. The same areas have receded 3" and since repaired and now require adjustments to bring the area back to level and acceptable tolerances. ******* emails - timeline 6/10/14 10:05 AM – Email from ***** at Arredondo Group to ****** and ***** • 06/10/14 10:36 AM – Email from ****** to Arredondo Group • 06/11/14 10:09 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi ******, I have not received • 06/12/14 9:14 AM – Email from Arredondo Group to ******: “Good morning • 06/12/14 10:23 AM – Email from ****** to Arredondo Group/*****: “Hi ******, it • 06/12/14 10:26 AM – Email from Arredondo Group to ***** Arredondo: • 06/12/14 1:26PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Hi ******-Typically, there is a • 06/17/14 4:06 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Carrie, we paid $17,000 to have • 06/18/14 8:59AM – Email from ***** to ******: “The good thing is, the original • 06/20/14 2:16 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “I have attached an updated • 06/20/14 2:32 PM – Email from ****** o *****: “Hi *****, I reviewed my files and ********* “Good morning ******, Attached is our estimate for the foundation repairs at your property. Also, I am attaching some additional information about foundation issues and a diagram of our double pier system for your review. Please contact me with any questions you may have. I will be happy to go over the details. Thank you, ***** anything from you. You were going to send me the diagram of the proposed remediation plan to address the 3" variation. thanks.” ******, attached is a copy of the pier placement diagram.” seems to me this should be covered under the Lifetime warranty we were provided when the work was completed in 2004. Why would we need to pay for work to be completed in the same areas. Thanks for sending.” charge to open and adjust our piers if there is another area of the house that has dropped consequently pulling our piers down with it. What I am going to do for you because you have been our client for almost 10 years now, is waive those charges. This brings your total after the discount to $10,681.00. the foundation leveled and received a lifetime warranty on the foundation that is transferrable to future purchasers. The piers you need to be adjusted and should be adjusted as part of the warranty. Although I do appreciate your willingness to work with us my expectation is to have the repairs covered by the Lifetime warranty. I am selling the property and the foundation repair is a condition of the sale. Delays in repair could terminate my contract and couae me to lose the sale. You help is appreciated.” repairs that we did for you were only $5,525.00 and were only at the front exterior. As I previously indicated we will cover those piers under the warranty. The problem now, are areas of the foundation that we have never worked on before. Having said that, it is not possible to offer a warranty on something we did not do to begin with, wouldn't you agree? We will work with you any way we can-“ proposal removing the charges for adjusting the existing piers. Please let me know as soon as you want to get these repairs started as we are entering into our busy season and so not want to cause any delays for you.” confirmed the amount paid as you stated. I agree there are areas of concern that were not included in the original pier plan. Can you provide • 06/20/14 4:02 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi *****, I appreciate your quick • 06/23/14 10:29 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “Even though we are omitting • 06/26/14 1:00 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi *****, please proceed with the • 06/26/14 1:24 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Please sign and return the • 06/26/14 3:32 PM – Email from ****** to ***** and *****: “*****, As discussed • 06/27/14 1:05 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Good morning ******- Unfortunately, there isn't anything that can be done to the existing exterior • 07/11/14 3:28 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Can you provide a cost • 07/14/14 12:41 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Here is the estimate for the new • 07/14/14 2:50 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Carrie thanks I agree with the • 07/14/14 3:08 PM – Email from ***** L. Arredondo: “******-Here is a copy of the a updated proposal for the additional work areas since we agree the initial eighteen piers will be covered as part of the warranty. Thanks again” response. I am not understanding the pricing. The quote was in the $10,000 range including labor and cost for adjusting 18 piers and the trenching 54’. After adjusting to allow for work performed under the warranty the remaining work should be substantially less and closer to the $5000 range.” the charge for the 17 adjustments on existing, we are still installing 18new piers and trenching 54 feet of the soil out from underneath the foundation. Unfortunately the new piers cost more than adjusting existing. In addition to that we will have an excessive amount of dirt that will be hauled off and the driveway will be pressure washed as well.” work that is covered under the warranty. I need to move forward with foundation work as it is delaying the sale. Thanks” proposal that I sent you. Once we have that we will get you scheduled as quickly as possible.” attached is the executed amended proposal to exclude work not covered by the warranted. I have provided ***** with access to the property and arrangement can be made with him.” piers with out installing the needed support in the center. Only adjusting the exterior pier previously installed will cause the interior be lower hence still not being level. The exterior will be curved upwards like the rim of a bowl and the interior will still be sagging down.” breakdown of the cost for the adjustments that are covered under the warranty and the cost of the interior supports. I need to get this resolved. Thanks” piers and the trenching required to replace the piers and the removal of the soil upon completion. On this estimate there is no charge for the adjustments of the existing piers.” estimate that Arredondo Group is covering the cost of the adjustment as part of the warranty. The cost of drenching to make the adjustments should also be covered. Can you tell me where the 14 concrete piers will be placed. I apologize if you already provided a sketch that included this information. Thanks again,” sketch showing the existing piers (black dots) and the now needed piers • 07/29/14 9:17 AM – Email from ****** to *****: “*****, it appears we cannot reach • 07/31/14 10:03 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “******-To reiterate previous • 08/25/14 2:10 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi ******, we are running out of • 08/26/14 8:09 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “Sounds good ******- If you • 08/26/14 4:08 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi *****, Please put me on the • 08/27/14 9:53 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “Good morning ******-For the • 08/27/14 10:49 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “******- I'm not quite sure (X's). The trenching that is to be done is all underneath the house where we had not previously worked so we can't cover that under the warranty. The existing piers are going to be adjusted from the exterior. -***** an agreement as to what should be covered under the Lifetime Guarantee completed by your firm. The failure of the foundation has occurred in the same area that was repaired by Arredondo group yet you continue to ask for payment on the repairs. My next step is to file complaints with the BBB and the Attorney General and review my options with local counsel. You failure to perform and delays in repair under the warranty has caused me the loss sale on the house located at *** ******. I have tried to reason with you over the last few months and seen no attempt by your office to accept responsibility. Thanks. conversations, we ARE willing to adjust the existing piers AT NO COST TO YOU. However, Arredondo Group CANNOT be expected to pay for the NEW piers that are now required to bring the house to level.We can adjust our piers all day long but that alone will not level the house. Let's say for example: Benchmark Title provides title insurance on *** **** ******* However, there is a problem. Should ******* ***** be responsible for correcting a problem they had nothing to do with without getting compensated? No. The scenario we have here is the same. Arredondo Group cannot warrant the piers we did not install. Just like ******* can't fix an issue on a policy it didn't write with out compensation. Hope we can move forward- summer months and I’d like to get the foundation repaired. According to the drawings you provided the foundation failed in the same location where the Arredondo Group previously repaired and indicated the life of the repair was perpetual. You have agreed to complete the adjustments as part of the warranty. I assume to complete the repairs you will need to dig to expose previous piers set. I will pay an additional $5,000 to set the new piers while completing the repairs under warranty.” would please sign the agreement and return to us-email is fine. Right now our first opening is September 15. But I will see what I can do to get this started sooner if possible. Sincerely, ***** calendar for 9-15-2014. I will sign and send the revised work order. Thanks” sake of ease I have attached a copy of the contract for you to sign. Your project is scheduled forSeptember 15. Should we have an opening sooner I'll let you know. Thank you, ***** where the "$5,000" figure came from. Originally the total was $14,165 • 08/27/14 11:08 AM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi ******, can you update the then I deducted $3,484 for the adjustments of the existing piers. The revised proposal I sent reflected a total of $10,681 as the one I just resent to you.... agreement to reflect that I will be paying $5,000 for the repairs and the balance of the work will be covered under the warranty. If you have any cancellations we can move the project since the house is empty now. Will you need the utilities on? I think they are on but I need to confirm with my wife. Thanks ****** Page 1 of 4 • 06/10/14 10:05 AM – Email from ***** at Arredondo Group to ****** and ***** ********* “Good morning ******, Attached is our estimate for the foundation repairs at your property. Also, I am attaching some additional information about foundation issues and a diagram of our double pier system for your review. Please contact me with any questions you may have. I will be happy to go over the details. Thank you, ***** • 06/10/14 10:36 AM – Email from ****** to Arredondo Group • 06/11/14 10:09 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi ******, I have not received anything from you. You were going to send me the diagram of the proposed remediation plan to address the 3" variation. thanks.” • 06/12/14 9:14 AM – Email from Arredondo Group to ******: “Good morning ******, attached is a copy of the pier placement diagram.” • 06/12/14 10:23 AM – Email from ****** to Arredondo Group/*****: “Hi ******, it seems to me this should be covered under the Lifetime warranty we were provided when the work was completed in 2004. Why would we need to pay for work to be completed in the same areas. Thanks for sending.” • 06/12/14 10:26 AM – Email from Arredondo Group to ***** Arredondo: • 06/12/14 1:26PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Hi ******-Typically, there is a charge to open and adjust our piers if there is another area of the house that has dropped consequently pulling our piers down with it. What I am going to do for you because you have been our client for almost 10 years now, is waive those charges. This brings your total after the discount to $10,681.00. • 06/17/14 4:06 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Carrie, we paid $17,000 to have the foundation leveled and received a lifetime warranty on the foundation that is transferrable to future purchasers. The piers you need to be adjusted and should be adjusted as part of the warranty. Although I do appreciate your willingness to work with us my expectation is to have the repairs covered by the Lifetime warranty. I am selling the property and the foundation repair is a condition of the sale. Delays in repair could terminate my contract and couae me to lose the sale. You help is appreciated.” • 06/18/14 8:59AM – Email from ***** to ******: “The good thing is, the original repairs that we did for you were only $5,525.00 and were only at the front exterior. As I previously indicated we will cover those piers under the warranty. The problem now, are areas of the foundation that we have never worked on before. Having said that, it is not possible to offer a warranty on something we did not do to begin with, wouldn't you agree? We will work with you any way we can-“ • 06/20/14 2:16 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “I have attached an updated proposal removing the charges for adjusting the existing piers. Please let me know as soon as you want to get these repairs started as we are entering into our busy season and so not want to cause any delays for you.” • 06/20/14 2:32 PM – Email from ****** o *****: “Hi *****, I reviewed my files and confirmed the amount paid as you stated. I agree there are areas of concern that were not included in the original pier plan. Can you provide Page 2 of 4 a updated proposal for the additional work areas since we agree the initial eighteen piers will be covered as part of the warranty. Thanks again” • 06/20/14 4:02 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi *****, I appreciate your quick response. I am not understanding the pricing. The quote was in the $10,000 range including labor and cost for adjusting 18 piers and the trenching 54’. After adjusting to allow for work performed under the warranty the remaining work should be substantially less and closer to the $5000 range.” • 06/23/14 10:29 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “Even though we are omitting the charge for the 17 adjustments on existing, we are still installing 18new piers and trenching 54 feet of the soil out from underneath the foundation. Unfortunately the new piers cost more than adjusting existing. In addition to that we will have an excessive amount of dirt that will be hauled off and the driveway will be pressure washed as well.” • 06/26/14 1:00 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi *****, please proceed with the work that is covered under the warranty. I need to move forward with foundation work as it is delaying the sale. Thanks” • 06/26/14 1:24 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Please sign and return the proposal that I sent you. Once we have that we will get you scheduled as quickly as possible.” • 06/26/14 3:32 PM – Email from ****** to ***** and *****: “*****, As discussed attached is the executed amended proposal to exclude work not covered by the warranted. I have provided ***** with access to the property and arrangement can be made with him.” • 06/27/14 1:05 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Good morning ******- Unfortunately, there isn't anything that can be done to the existing exterior piers with out installing the needed support in the center. Only adjusting the exterior pier previously installed will cause the interior be lower hence still not being level. The exterior will be curved upwards like the rim of a bowl and the interior will still be sagging down.” • 07/11/14 3:28 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Can you provide a cost breakdown of the cost for the adjustments that are covered under the warranty and the cost of the interior supports. I need to get this resolved. Thanks” • 07/14/14 12:41 PM – Email from ***** to ******: “Here is the estimate for the new piers and the trenching required to replace the piers and the removal of the soil upon completion. On this estimate there is no charge for the adjustments of the existing piers.” • 07/14/14 2:50 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Carrie thanks I agree with the estimate that Arredondo Group is covering the cost of the adjustment as part of the warranty. The cost of drenching to make the adjustments should also be covered. Can you tell me where the 14 concrete piers will be placed. I apologize if you already provided a sketch that included this information. Thanks again,” • 07/14/14 3:08 PM – Email from ***** L. Arredondo: “******-Here is a copy of the sketch showing the existing piers (black dots) and the now needed piers Page 3 of 4 (X's). The trenching that is to be done is all underneath the house where we had not previously worked so we can't cover that under the warranty. The existing piers are going to be adjusted from the exterior. -***** • 07/29/14 9:17 AM – Email from ****** to *****: “*****, it appears we cannot reach an agreement as to what should be covered under the Lifetime Guarantee completed by your firm. The failure of the foundation has occurred in the same area that was repaired by Arredondo group yet you continue to ask for payment on the repairs. My next step is to file complaints with the BBB and the Attorney General and review my options with local counsel. You failure to perform and delays in repair under the warranty has caused me the loss sale on the house located at *** ******. I have tried to reason with you over the last few months and seen no attempt by your office to accept responsibility. Thanks. • 07/31/14 10:03 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “******-To reiterate previous conversations, we ARE willing to adjust the existing piers AT NO COST TO YOU. However, Arredondo Group CANNOT be expected to pay for the NEW piers that are now required to bring the house to level.We can adjust our piers all day long but that alone will not level the house. Let's say for example: Benchmark Title provides title insurance on 123 Main Street. However, there is a problem. Should ******* ***** be responsible for correcting a problem they had nothing to do with without getting compensated? No. The scenario we have here is the same. Arredondo Group cannot warrant the piers we did not install. Just like ******* can't fix an issue on a policy it didn't write with out compensation. Hope we can move forward- • 08/25/14 2:10 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi ******, we are running out of summer months and I’d like to get the foundation repaired. According to the drawings you provided the foundation failed in the same location where the Arredondo Group previously repaired and indicated the life of the repair was perpetual. You have agreed to complete the adjustments as part of the warranty. I assume to complete the repairs you will need to dig to expose previous piers set. I will pay an additional $5,000 to set the new piers while completing the repairs under warranty.” • 08/26/14 8:09 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “Sounds good ******- If you would please sign the agreement and return to us-email is fine. Right now our first opening is September 15. But I will see what I can do to get this started sooner if possible. Sincerely, ***** • 08/26/14 4:08 PM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi *****, Please put me on the calendar for 9-15-2014. I will sign and send the revised work order. Thanks” • 08/27/14 9:53 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “Good morning ******-For the sake of ease I have attached a copy of the contract for you to sign. Your project is scheduled forSeptember 15. Should we have an opening sooner I'll let you know. Thank you, ***** • 08/27/14 10:49 AM – Email from ***** to ******: “******- I'm not quite sure where the "$5,000" figure came from. Originally the total was $14,165 Page 4 of 4 then I deducted $3,484 for the adjustments of the existing piers. The revised proposal I sent reflected a total of $10,681 as the one I just resent to you.... • 08/27/14 11:08 AM – Email from ****** to *****: “Hi ******, can you update the agreement to reflect that I will be paying $5,000 for the repairs and the balance of the work will be covered under the warranty. If you have any cancellations we can move the project since the house is empty now. Will you need the utilities on? I think they are on but I need to confirm with my wife. Thanks ****** • 4 of 4

Desired Settlement: Complete the warrenty work so we can close on the sale of the property. If we loose the sale due to the delay our damages will greatly exceed the cost of repair.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I asked for an itemized bill to show the breakdoown of the cost for what was covered under warrenty and what was new work. I feel the quote loaded most of the expenses on the new bill. I was not provided a break only a revised bill showing a credit for what was covered under warranty. The work consisted of 17 new piers and 18 adjustments. Each services requires trenching to reach the foundation. I believe the majority was charged to the new bill rather than being covered under warranty. THe breakdown of the bill should have been close to 50% new work and 50% warranty rather than the 25% 75% split reflected on the bill. Without an itemized bill I have no way to determine what constituted new work and waht was covered under warranty. I expected my total bill to be around $7500 an the balance covered under warranty.


Regards,

****** *****