Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling

Phone: (210) 545-0020 Fax: (210) 545-0020 View Additional Phone Numbers 9245 Newcombe Dr, Converse, TX 78109 http://www.allensfoundation.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Foundation Repair--Pier & Beam, Concrete Slab, Mobile Home, Beach House Stilts
Re-leveling to complete replacement, mobile home retro fit, drainage corrections
Roofing-Compositional Shingle  
Skirting


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2003 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 11/22/2013 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Melissa Martinez, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Martinez, President
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Roofing Contractors Modular/Mobile Home - Foundation Services Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drainage Contractors

Products & Services

Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling offers the following product(s): Block and Pad Pier, Complete Roof Replacement, Concrete Footings, Concrete Piers , Pressed Pile Pier, Steel piers

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, M/C, Discover, Cash, Check
Alternate Business Names
Allens Foundation & Remodeling Win or Learn Inc
Additional Information

Allen's Foundation & Remodeling, has +25 years experience performing Foundation Repair & House Leveling work. We offer Foundation Repair, with our company being licensed & insured. We offer House Leveling-Concrete Slab Foundation Repair, Pier & Beam Foundation Repair, Mobile Home Foundation Repair, Mobile Home Foundation Retro Fit, Beach Home Stilt Replacement Roof Replacement, Siding, Skirting, Drainage Corrections.

Additional Information

This company offers: Mobile home releveling,siding,skirting. Mobile home retro fit for fha/va qualifications

Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 9245 Newcombe Dr

    Converse, TX 78109 (210) 545-0020 (361) 852-0020 (361) 573-0020 (512) 703-0020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contractor for the company was to do some work on my property due to a storm several months ago. I received funds from the insurance and half was released. He did not start the work claiming the negotiations with the insurance were not done. This was several months ago. Yesterday I talked to him and asked him that if we die died not to go with him what would we pay and I asked you will take 21 percent of the 3304 released to you already and over the phone he agreed by verbally saying yes. Today he disputes that as we could not come to an agreement on him doing any work. This contractor sent me an estimate for the work and once he found out I was not happy with him, has double or even tripled the prices and would not agree to do the work required for the amount given as he previously did. Now he is trying to keep more of a percentage and is lying about it.he has only went to the house a couple time for a free estimate and then to take pictures. He has done no work.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to refund me in the amount of $2,607 from the released 3300. That will give him the 21 percent agreed to by both of us on November 9 2015. I also would like no further contact from this company other than my refund as agreed by both parties verbally.

Business Response: Mr. ******* contacted my office on or around the beginning of July 2015 to ask for help with his insurance claim due to storm damage. We asked him to forward his insurance estimate to determine the scope of loss.
After reviewing the initial claim we set an appointment to meet Mr. ******* at his home to see the actual damage the meeting took place on July 17, 2015
At the meeting we informed Mr. ******* that the insurance company did not allow the proper monies and scope to address all of the damages he had suffered.
I explain that we could help him with the proper documentation of the storm damage and get the proper funding so that he could properly recover the total damages from the storm. We further explained that we would work to keep his out of pockets expense as low as feasible with the understanding that his home owner’s policy has deductibles and non-recoverable depreciation.
The Insurance Company originally allowed $8542.92 for the claim.
Mr. ******* agreed to have Allens contact his insurance company and document the discrepancies which we did. We secured an additional $8062.50 to cover the additional loss he suffered.
We are inclosing a copy of the documentation we gave to the insurance company and a copy of the letter we sent to his mortgage company so that they would start releasing the insurance funds so that we could start the repairs. They sent me an initial check in the amount of$3304.17 to begin repairs.
We have not received any additional funds for repair at this time. Nor have any repairs been started.
On November 2 2015 we went to the property to line out the roof repairs as well as the interior sheetrock repairs.
We were met by Mr. ********* mother in law who proceeded to tell me that Mr. ********* financial situation had changed and that she wanted to renegotiate the cost and scope of the repairs.
She explained that Mr. ******* had spent the monies that the insurance company had released to him on living expenses and he would not be able to pay me for my services as agreed.
The documentation we forwarded to the mortgage company states that the customer will either allow Allen’s to complete the repairs or that we will charge 21% of the funds we collected on their behalf which amounts to $1693.13
This means that Allen’s will agree to refund $3304.17 less the Agreed 21% of 1693.13 leaving a net to Mr. ******* of $1611.04
We will notify the insurance company and the mortgage company of this so that they understand that Mr. ******* will be handling the repairs to his property in the future.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company dragging it's feet to complete leveling job on house. First start date was 18 Feb. As of this date 15 April 2014 initial excavating has not been finished. Workers don't show up at all or only 2 workers will show up and work 4-5 hours. Piles of dirt and large holes though out back yard for over 1 1/2 months. Weather has NOT been an issue. Where is has rained in other areas, we have received only 1/2 inch since February. We have called them on countless occasions to ask where they are, and get every excuse from having another job that was delayed, to fixing an old ladies pipes that broke, to car problems. Were told we were a "priority" job 2 weeks ago. and haven't seen any workers the last 2 days (14&15) We are told the workers are running late and will be right out...and no one shows. When the workers are here they leave trash all over area. They defecate into bags which are then thrown into back field and our dog discovers, breaks, and rolls in them. They say they "keep us informed" but phone records show a majority of calls are from us.

Desired Settlement: Complete the job to our satisfaction by 30 April or quit, so we can get someone in here to finish this job.

Business Response:

RE: Addressing BBB Complaint
Mr. & Mrs. **** and The BBB:

My initial visit and contract with Mr. & Mrs. **** addressed the need for a Foundation Investigation. The contract is dated 02/17/14 and was signed by them on 02/18/14. After the investigation was preformed, my second visit was to recap what foundation damage was found and to go over the scope of work that their home needed. Mr. and Mrs. **** were told at the onset of my second appointment that they could expect to wait 4-6 weeks for the foundation repairs to begin, due to Allen's current commitments. I also explained that Allen's Foundation was involved with a large apartment foundation repair project and that it had a "Time of the Essence" clause in that contract. Until it was complete, it would be the company's priority to complete—before starting any other jobs.

The investigation revealed that the ****** home had only four to five inches (4"-5") of crawl space under it. This means that soil has to be excavated and removed ("tunneled out") to allow a man to access the necessary areas of repair under the home. As of today, my crew has removed approximately twelve (12) yards of soil-by hand. The tunneling is approximately one hundred feet (100") in length. The men have to work on their bellies, with a short shovel, under the home. Once the soils are loosened, it then has to be placed in a container that also has to fit in the confined work space. Still on their bellies, the container has to be drug to the exterior access panel and removed from under the home.

Due to the limited space under the home, no more that two (2) men can work in the tunnel at any given a time, both because of lack of space and for safety reasons. It is slow, difficult work at best Please keep in mind that all tunneling has to be completed before any foundation repairs can be started.

I believe if you consider the conditions where the work was preformed and the quality of the work, the amount that Allen's Foundation invested in the **** 's project is on target. Hopefully this helps everyone understand why this process is slow.

Sincerely,

***** ** ********
Allen's Foundation & Remodeling

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

Work was completed by 30 April. 
Accepted business response because of work completion, not because of accuracy of statement


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Allen's Foundation Roofing & Remodeling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)