Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc

Phone: (210) 348-0102 Fax: (210) 348-0102 435 W Nakoma St Ste 102, San Antonio, TX 78216 http://www.btsfloors.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2009 Business started: 03/13/2008 in TX Business started locally: 03/13/2008 Business incorporated: 05/16/2011 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Vasquez Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Vasquez Jr., Owner
Business Category

Floors - Hardwood Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractor - Remodel & Repair Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Home Improvements Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Bexar Tile Service BTS Floors
Additional Information

This company offers flooring and remodeling, providing service for any size project.

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 435 W Nakoma St Ste 102

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 348-0102

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** and ***** were contracted by us to level our floor in preparation for laminate to be installed as well as paint and repair the walls in our living room. After several attempts to get the floor to within the standards needed to lay laminate they left and did not come back to finish. In fact they didn't even say they were leaving our house, just gone. We made several attempts to contact both ***** and ***** but they would never answer the phone. We ended up hiring another company who did it right the first time and did not abandon the job even though it cost us even more. The paint was slapped on quickly a before they did the floor leveling. After over a month we were finally able to get a hold of them and they agreed to come back but only to do the areas they left unpainted and not do a second coat like ***** said he would. Again today they abandoned their work leaving all my furniture, they moved, in my dining room. This company is very unprofessional in their practices of customer service and doing a job as agreed. We feel robbed.

Business Response: After reviewing the floor leveling project, BTS recommended to homeowner not to make the expense because the concrete slab had cracked and to level would be costly. The homeowner was given direction by another flooring company they would not install laminate flooring if not level and they would not attempt to, so homeowner felt they had to move forward with leveling concrete. BTS invested 7 days to work on concrete leveling using mortar & grinding of floor, as homeowner mentions above the many attempts made and days invested resulted in getting floor within standard for laminate install. 
  Homeowner hired BTS to appy 2 coats of paint to interior walls in living & dining room, after reviewing finished product customer was concerned about the shading, BTS responded shading was caused by diffrent lighting & quality of paint.

BTS has record of all calls made to our store & cell phones, the comment made by homeowner of "never answer phone" is incorrect.

After completing work to be done BTS workers called the store for direction because homeowners had left home unattended, BTS instructed workers to secure home and leave to next job.

***** *******
BTS FLOORS & REMODELING INC

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company walked away from the contract without completing the work. According to a licensed home inspector, the texture and painting is uneven. They were supposed to use pressure treated 2x4's for the sub-flooring and they did not. The way they left the partial floor, the kitchen and bathroom will be approximately one inch higher than the rest of the floor. Since they didn't use treated wood nor a moisture barrier, the partial floor that they did place will have to be removed and placed properly. They did not finish all the sheetrock. They did not finish touch-up painting. They damaged a wall which they did not repair. They left debris in the backyard and house. They left the wrong tile. I ordered charcoal gray; they left beige tile. They said they were returning my house keys in the mail. I have not received them. I have asked them for an itemized bill showing paid in full. They have not sent that. They want to send it to the mortgage company directly without allowing me to review the paperwork. In addition, I am the mortgagee, not them, so I will provide the mortgage company the information. Based on the licensed home inspector's estimate, only about $5000 worth of work has been done. BTS Flooring was paid $9034.24. Based on the contract, they only did about $6000 worth of work. BTS is claiming they did $8500 worth of work.

Desired Settlement: Pick up 2x4's and plywood and return for refund. Return beige tile and provide correct charcoal gray tile or provide refund. Remove debris. Provide itemized invoice. Return house keys. Provide refund check of $3000.

Business Response:

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I spoke with the insurance adjuster.  "Sleepers/underlay" is treated 2x4 wood and the estimate included the price.  When did it become industry standard to spray texture on door frames?  As far as the kitchen floor, BTS never mentioned the floor would be higher otherwise I would have made a different decision.  The bathrooms were previously tiled and there was previously no height difference.  BTS tore out the mortar.  The difference happened when BTS placed plywood.  As far as verbally harassing the installers, I couldn't even talk to them because none of the workers spoke English and I don't speak Spanish.  I couldn't be there on a daily basis especially since they did something to the electrical breakers and I wasn't able to get into my garage which was the only part of the house I could access when they were working.  It makes little sense that I would be in the house while they were spraying texture and spray painting.  The owner of BTS stopped the project.  Day one, he got upset when I asked him to use mildew resistant sheetrock in the bathrooms.  I called him because his installers put sheetrock on exterior walls without placing insulation.  They delivered tile that was not the tile I picked out in the store, just like the current tile that they left which is not what I picked out.  The last call was because I had a question about the tile they were placing around the edges of the shower.  The owner was yelling at me and said he was pulling the workers off the job and hung up on me.  The last meeting was with the owner and the son, two men confronting a short older woman.  I started the conversation with telling the owner that I wasn't his employee, wife or child and that he needed to treat me with respect.  I guess he felt threatened because I finally stood up to his bullying.  If anyone felt threatened, it was me; so much so I told them I wanted to get my neighbor to witness our conversation.  They wouldn't let me pass.  They said my neighbor had nothing to do with it.  I hate to go into details, but if BTS wants to make false accusations, then I have a right to answer the accusations.  I am trying to resolve this amicably, but apparently these gentlemen don't want to.  They told me the reason they were quitting the job was because I was being "unreasonable".  I have not received an itemized bill.  I'll be happy to show anyone the email they sent.  They ordered and delivered the wrong tile; they should pick it up.  I spoke with Home Depot on Sunset.  They want a receipt.  Again, these gentlemen expect an older woman to return 4x8 plywood and heavy tile herself.  The debris is empty paint cans, half empty and empty mortar bags, pieces of tile, plastic sheets covered with spray paint, their lunch wrappers, hardieboard, pieces of 1x1 wood, and the damaged venetian blinds I asked BTS to dispose of since they were damaged by the work being done.  Is it's BTS claim that someone else painted, textured & tiled since they are claiming the previous contractor left this debris?  Anyone is welcome to come see they work BTS has done.  I have nothing to hide.  BASED ON THE CONTRACT:  $2800 to place drywall, tape/float, texture, paint (which they didn't finish in the bathroom and kitchen including the walls they damaged in the hall and bathroom; $595 to haul away debris for the complete project which they didn't finish should then only be at most $300; $2150 to finish master shower which maybe was 2/3 finished minus the plywood that will need to be torn out and the damaged wall comes to $1440.50; $650 bath floors to prep and install tile (only mortar torn out)-they didn't install tile so 50% done comes to $325.00; $1500 insulation.  Based on the licensed home inspector's estimate, about $5000 worth of work was done.  The total based on the contract minus all the work left undone, comes to $6365.50.  BTS was paid $9034.24.  They owe me $2668.74.  These numbers are based on their contract they gave me.  No other numbers should apply.



Business Response: BTS FLOORS & REMODELING agrees to refund additional $ 2668.74 which totals $ 3109.35 of refund to homeowner. Homeowner  
is responsible of clearing debris & any refunds. BTS FLOORS & REMODELING prays homeowner will accept this as a fair resolution.

Thank You,

BTS FLOORS & REMODELING

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am not rejecting this offer.  I would like clarification on the statement that the homeowner "is responsible of clearing debris & any refunds".  I understand that I will be responsible for clearing the debris.  I will be using part of the refund to pay someone else to remove the debris.  I do not understand how I am "responsible for any refunds".  Does this mean that BTS will send me a check for $3109.35 once the tile is returned?  I would prefer that I receive a check before I return the tile.  Once I receive the check for $3109.35, I will have the tile and the check for $440.61 returned to BTS Flooring.  Or if BTS prefers, they can issue a check for $2668.74 and I will cash both checks ($440.61 and $2668.74 totaling $3109.35).  Please clarify how BTS would like to perform this transaction.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: BTS will mail a check to homeowner for the amount of $ 2,668.74. to settle total homeowner is requesting.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is a follow-up to our conversation of November 13, 2013.  You mentioned that BTS Flooring was aware as of 11/5/13 that I accepted their offer to resolve this complaint.  As of November 14, 2013, I have received no check for $2668.74 from BTS Flooring.  I do not feel comfortable approaching them myself to determine when they plan to resolve this situation.  I feel that the BBB complaint is not resolved until I have been compensated.  I would appreciate any assistance you can give me in contacting BTS Flooring to resolve this situation expeditiously.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Hello,

BTS will send customer a check via certified mail 12-2-2013.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******