BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BTS Floors & Remodeling, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2009 Business started: 03/13/2008 Business started locally: 03/13/2008 Business incorporated: 05/16/2011 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Vasquez Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Vasquez Jr., Owner
Business Category

Floors - Hardwood Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractor - Remodel & Repair Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Home Improvements Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Bexar Tile Service BTS Floors
Additional Information

This company offers flooring and remodeling, providing service for any size project.

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company walked away from the contract without completing the work. According to a licensed home inspector, the texture and painting is uneven. They were supposed to use pressure treated 2x4's for the sub-flooring and they did not. The way they left the partial floor, the kitchen and bathroom will be approximately one inch higher than the rest of the floor. Since they didn't use treated wood nor a moisture barrier, the partial floor that they did place will have to be removed and placed properly. They did not finish all the sheetrock. They did not finish touch-up painting. They damaged a wall which they did not repair. They left debris in the backyard and house. They left the wrong tile. I ordered charcoal gray; they left beige tile. They said they were returning my house keys in the mail. I have not received them. I have asked them for an itemized bill showing paid in full. They have not sent that. They want to send it to the mortgage company directly without allowing me to review the paperwork. In addition, I am the mortgagee, not them, so I will provide the mortgage company the information. Based on the licensed home inspector's estimate, only about $5000 worth of work has been done. BTS Flooring was paid $9034.24. Based on the contract, they only did about $6000 worth of work. BTS is claiming they did $8500 worth of work.

Desired Settlement: Pick up 2x4's and plywood and return for refund. Return beige tile and provide correct charcoal gray tile or provide refund. Remove debris. Provide itemized invoice. Return house keys. Provide refund check of $3000.

Business Response:

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I spoke with the insurance adjuster.  "Sleepers/underlay" is treated 2x4 wood and the estimate included the price.  When did it become industry standard to spray texture on door frames?  As far as the kitchen floor, BTS never mentioned the floor would be higher otherwise I would have made a different decision.  The bathrooms were previously tiled and there was previously no height difference.  BTS tore out the mortar.  The difference happened when BTS placed plywood.  As far as verbally harassing the installers, I couldn't even talk to them because none of the workers spoke English and I don't speak Spanish.  I couldn't be there on a daily basis especially since they did something to the electrical breakers and I wasn't able to get into my garage which was the only part of the house I could access when they were working.  It makes little sense that I would be in the house while they were spraying texture and spray painting.  The owner of BTS stopped the project.  Day one, he got upset when I asked him to use mildew resistant sheetrock in the bathrooms.  I called him because his installers put sheetrock on exterior walls without placing insulation.  They delivered tile that was not the tile I picked out in the store, just like the current tile that they left which is not what I picked out.  The last call was because I had a question about the tile they were placing around the edges of the shower.  The owner was yelling at me and said he was pulling the workers off the job and hung up on me.  The last meeting was with the owner and the son, two men confronting a short older woman.  I started the conversation with telling the owner that I wasn't his employee, wife or child and that he needed to treat me with respect.  I guess he felt threatened because I finally stood up to his bullying.  If anyone felt threatened, it was me; so much so I told them I wanted to get my neighbor to witness our conversation.  They wouldn't let me pass.  They said my neighbor had nothing to do with it.  I hate to go into details, but if BTS wants to make false accusations, then I have a right to answer the accusations.  I am trying to resolve this amicably, but apparently these gentlemen don't want to.  They told me the reason they were quitting the job was because I was being "unreasonable".  I have not received an itemized bill.  I'll be happy to show anyone the email they sent.  They ordered and delivered the wrong tile; they should pick it up.  I spoke with Home Depot on Sunset.  They want a receipt.  Again, these gentlemen expect an older woman to return 4x8 plywood and heavy tile herself.  The debris is empty paint cans, half empty and empty mortar bags, pieces of tile, plastic sheets covered with spray paint, their lunch wrappers, hardieboard, pieces of 1x1 wood, and the damaged venetian blinds I asked BTS to dispose of since they were damaged by the work being done.  Is it's BTS claim that someone else painted, textured & tiled since they are claiming the previous contractor left this debris?  Anyone is welcome to come see they work BTS has done.  I have nothing to hide.  BASED ON THE CONTRACT:  $2800 to place drywall, tape/float, texture, paint (which they didn't finish in the bathroom and kitchen including the walls they damaged in the hall and bathroom; $595 to haul away debris for the complete project which they didn't finish should then only be at most $300; $2150 to finish master shower which maybe was 2/3 finished minus the plywood that will need to be torn out and the damaged wall comes to $1440.50; $650 bath floors to prep and install tile (only mortar torn out)-they didn't install tile so 50% done comes to $325.00; $1500 insulation.  Based on the licensed home inspector's estimate, about $5000 worth of work was done.  The total based on the contract minus all the work left undone, comes to $6365.50.  BTS was paid $9034.24.  They owe me $2668.74.  These numbers are based on their contract they gave me.  No other numbers should apply.



Business Response: BTS FLOORS & REMODELING agrees to refund additional $ 2668.74 which totals $ 3109.35 of refund to homeowner. Homeowner  
is responsible of clearing debris & any refunds. BTS FLOORS & REMODELING prays homeowner will accept this as a fair resolution.

Thank You,

BTS FLOORS & REMODELING

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am not rejecting this offer.  I would like clarification on the statement that the homeowner "is responsible of clearing debris & any refunds".  I understand that I will be responsible for clearing the debris.  I will be using part of the refund to pay someone else to remove the debris.  I do not understand how I am "responsible for any refunds".  Does this mean that BTS will send me a check for $3109.35 once the tile is returned?  I would prefer that I receive a check before I return the tile.  Once I receive the check for $3109.35, I will have the tile and the check for $440.61 returned to BTS Flooring.  Or if BTS prefers, they can issue a check for $2668.74 and I will cash both checks ($440.61 and $2668.74 totaling $3109.35).  Please clarify how BTS would like to perform this transaction.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: BTS will mail a check to homeowner for the amount of $ 2,668.74. to settle total homeowner is requesting.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is a follow-up to our conversation of November 13, 2013.  You mentioned that BTS Flooring was aware as of 11/5/13 that I accepted their offer to resolve this complaint.  As of November 14, 2013, I have received no check for $2668.74 from BTS Flooring.  I do not feel comfortable approaching them myself to determine when they plan to resolve this situation.  I feel that the BBB complaint is not resolved until I have been compensated.  I would appreciate any assistance you can give me in contacting BTS Flooring to resolve this situation expeditiously.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Hello,

BTS will send customer a check via certified mail 12-2-2013.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1