BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Broadway Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Broadway Floors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Broadway Floors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 06, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jason Tristan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Tristan, Owner
Business Category

Floor Materials - Retail Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Bid4Floors.com
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 5405 Bandera Rd Ste 104

    San Antonio, TX 78238 (210) 824-1957

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 681-0722 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several complaints!! I went into the shop and ***** ***** waited on me in the store and told me the granite I was looking at was on sale for $30/ft. And a $150 to cut the hole for the sink. After measuring the kitchen it was 37 sq.ft. To make a long story short it end up costing me $1700, even with sales tax it shouldn't of been that much!! Among that he kept changing the dates for the installment several times which was very frustrating, it was a three week wait after he said it would take 4-5 days! I paid ***** ***** the sales consultant $900 cash to start the job. He meet me at my job to collect the money since I worked late and I asked him to make sure he bring me a receipt, he did bring the receipt but it didn't show the $900.00 I hand him which I don't understand why he didn't type it in so I asked him to write it in, he did, at that time I didn't really look at it cause I was in a hurry to get back to work.(later I found out he didn't sign it!). I gave him the credit card number prior and he said if I charged it the amount would be higher. I asked him how much and he wouldn't give me a number. So that's why I paid him cash.When they finally finished the job I call him I was going to stop at the Store and pay the remainder in cash of course since that's what he wanted! It was pass store hours and ***** ***** let me in. He didn't have a receipt for me since the store was closed so he just hand wrote the $800.00 cash I gave him on the previous receipt.Most of all I found ***** *****, the sales consultant is a SCAMMER!! Over a month later, I'm looking at my credit card account and Broadway Floors appears on 6/17/2014..withdrawing $150.00, two minutes later taking another $150.00, another two minutes taking out another $100.00. without my consent!! Spoke with ***** said their was a mistake and would put the money back in a couple of hours??? He never did!! I don't know why ***** is Scamming me, or if Jason the owner really knows whats going on?

Desired Settlement: Refund the $350.00 they illegally took out of my account, but I already filed a fraud charge with my bank. Refund back the over charges they charge me for the granite. And $100.00 for late fees I had to pay for late payments on my online payments that did not go through and for all the frustation and fraud they did!Mostly for the public to be aware of this SCAMMER! ***** *****/ Broadway Floors/Home Improvement Warehouse, they use two names?Thank you for listening,***** *****

Business Response: We were contracted to do a granite countertop with Mrs. ***** at *** *** ****** on 5/12/14. We had previously given her a phone quote based on her calculations for 30 sq ft. My salesperson discovered after he showed up on site that there was a total of 41 sq ft. We then proceeded into a contract with Mr. and Mrs. *****.  We then received a $900.00 cash deposit from her on that day. Job was completed about a week later. My salesperson ***** then drives to the jobsite to inspect the work, and to get final payment. Mrs. ***** states that she would rather pay the balance with a credit card. So ***** writes down number so he can run card here at the store. Her file was misplaced and about 2 months go by before we discover that we never billed her for final payment. I then get a call from Mrs. ***** the next day. She then decided to use foul language against me and also made a personal threat against me. Her exact words were "Im gonna get you ****** *******!!" I then asked her at least 5 time to please send me a copy of receipt showing it was paid in full. She would never give me a straight answer on that. She then called me back 20 minutes later in a calmer state of mind. I then asked her again to please send her copy of paid invoice. She promised me she would send it that same day. 2 days later we get a call from her bank accusing us of illegal activities.  I then present documents to bank representative proving our innocence. Mrs. ***** does have a copy of the receipt for the down payment paid in full with *****s signature. What she decided to do was to write "Balance Paid Off" on bottom of receipt. Me , ***** and bank rep all agreed that the "Balance Paid Off" written on receipt was not *****s. ***** was the only person that ever came into contact with her. ***(See attachments for actual photos of documents)*** Mrs. ***** does in fact still have a open balance with us in the amount of $400.00. Mrs. ***** is the one that is really the "SCAMMER" and not Broadway Floors. If she was really the victim, then why didn't she just send us her copy of the paid receipt that we asked for 5 times, instead going to her bank to act like the victim. Nice try Mrs. *****, but the only one thats going to lose here is YOU! 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We placed an order and made a $1000.00 deposit with Broadway Floors for flooring and installation on May 18, 2013. The order was for Bamboo Cherry SV03 (vertical construction) flooring. On Tuesday, May 28th the Incorrect product was delivered, Bamboo Chestnut SH03 (horizontal construction). We contacted Jason and notified him immediately the incorrect flooring had been delivered. He mentioned that he could not have his vendor sending incorrect product. He indicated he would come by to see, the next day he delivered a sample board which was quite different from the sample initially provided and asked me to get my wife's approval to install the flooring the next day, even if it was incorrect. That evening, my wife spoke with Jason at length regarding the variation on flooring, sent him pictures and explained it was not what we had ordered and our preference was to have the flooring reordered and he pick up the incorrect floor. Bamboo flooring is constructed in either vertical or horizontal construction. We ordered the vertical, but received the horizontal per the box. He was not inclined to order the correct flooring and kept insisting we have the incorrect flooring installed. The next day, my wife sent him an email thanking him for the time spent discussing with her on the telephone the product the night before. She had also send him pictures via email that evening and he told her he would send her a name of someone she could speak with at his vendor to help her understand the variation. In her email, she further explained to him that she and I had had a lengthly discussion regarding the color and the variation in the flooring construction and we felt strongly our preference was still the vertical construction and cherry color not the chestnut horizontal construction received. He kept insisting the floor was fine and we were just be too picky and difficult to work with. I explained to him, we just wanted the correct order, and not what he wanted. He said all his other customers always had the flooring installed. I again, explained to him, if the order was correct, we too would have him install the flooring. He came by to pick up the flooring on May 30th. He asked me to come by the next day for a deposit refund, because he was too busy to issue the refund. I also contacted his vendor and asked if Jason with Broadway Flooring had contacted them. The individual, Ysennia, said no, and was not aware the order was incorrect. I sent her a picture of the box, she verified that it was incorrect and they did have a Bamboo flooring that was Cherry and there also a color variation between the horizontal and vertical which is what we ordered. She apologized. I mentioned to Jason, we had called the vendor, and that she had mentioned he had not called, while he was telling us he had. On Friday, May 31st, Jason sent me a text message to my phone that we were no longer welcome at this store and called telling us we were going to be charged a 25% restocking fee. We told him we could understand if we had declined the ordered and there was nothing wrong with it but he had not mentioned anything when we placed the order, his invoice did not indicate there would be a restocking fee if the merchandise was returned, but in our case the order was incorrect and the we felt the 25% restocking was inappropriate. At the time, my wife was with me and had the cell phone on speaker, She told him it was quite unfair, as the order was incorrect and he told her she thought she knew it all, and we would not have this issue if we had allowed him to install the flooring. At that point, my wife explained to him, that it was unnecessary for him to be speaking to her in that manner, told him that we would dispute the amount deposited with our credit card company. He said it did not matter, as he would charge the 25% restocking fee and we could not do anything about it and hung up. Later that day, my wife disputed the $1000 deposit with our credit card and we are pending resolution. We are also quite concerned for our safety, based on his verbal comments and his text that we are not welcomed in his store front. We were always cordial and only requested our order be corrected and installed. We were not willing to accept something we did not want. We believe it is quite unprofessional, especially when Broadway Floors made the error.

Desired Settlement: 100% refund of our deposit to our credit card, we should not be penalized for a restocking fee, when the order received was not correct nor an error we made. Not to mentioned, we the customer are being penalized for an error the vendor and his supplier made. I do not believe this is a good business practice to blame the customer for their errors.

Business Response:
We received an order from mr and mrs (customers),on the 15th of May 2013. They chose a floor by ********** which is a bamboo called "SV03". There are 2 types of construction, the "V" vertical and the "H", horizontal. We order the boxes and later discovered that there was a misprint on the label. The label specified that product was "H" Vertical. "H" can not be vertical because "H" stands for horizontal. After carefully explaining that product was indeed correct, (customer/husband) still could not comprehend what i was explaining. He said the sample that he had looked different than product that came in. I explained also that the side profile of the wood shows vertical lines which are visible with the naked eye, which is what he ordered (Vertical). He said he would discuss it with the wife and call back in morning. We got a call in the morning from (customer/wife), concluding on her own understanding that product was not correct based on the sticker on the box. The conversation the quickly transitioned into an argument over how much of a discount she/he can receive. I told her that we could take off $100.00 out of courtesy, but she refused. She wanted more than half off or she said  that she would cancel order. I come across alot of customers in my business that are struggling financially, and attempt to capitalize on a minor issues like what we have seen here. I explained over and over to both of them. I even offered to cut a piece of the wood so she could see inside (which could be seen regardless without cutting), but she flat out refused. It was at this point that i knew i had 2 people attempting to take advantage of the situation for their own financial gain. I do not tolerate this kind of behavior with my company. I told both of them at this point, that i would just refund the money minus the shipping and restocking fee. I then explained to them that they were both banned from coming to my store ever again, because i was worried about my safety because of aggressive behavior the (customer/husband)was showing. I believe these 2 individuals really wanted the flooring installed, but botched it when their plans backfired on them. Customers also claimed that they called the manufactur and were told it was indeed the wrong order. Please see email to follow directly from sales agent at ********** that contradicts what (customer) claimed.

Thank you,

***** **
Broadway Floors, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Broadway Floors has misrepresented the incident.  I've included a copy of the quote and invoice for the order and both indicate the color selection was Cherry in SVO3 construction.  We received the Chestnut as indicated on the attached photo of the boxes delivered by Broadway Floors.  As I indicated in my initial complain, we immediately informed Broadway Floors the floor received was the incorrect color and construction.  We made several attempts to find a workable solution with Broadway Floors, but again ***** resorted to unprofessional language.  

As Broadway Floors has indicated in their comments, that in this struggling we the customer are choosing to take advantage of his business as our plan backfired. Unfortunately, we are unsure what plan is being referenced, as our only plan was to purchase Bamboo vertical flooring in Cherry color from Broadway Floors and in good faith we made a deposit for what we believed would be delivered and installed.   But on the contrary, Broadway Floors as he indicated in this struggling economy, made an error they are willing to own up to and  choose to have those who choose to do business with them take blame for their errors/mistakes and force the customer to accept material/flooring in the color and construction they did not order, penalize them and use unprofessional language.  Broadway Floors misrepresented the flooring selection and color to include the return and refund policy, which non is noted or communicated on their quote and invoice.  


We also did as BBB suggested.  We verified the status on the BBB site, verified the installation and service provided to our neighbor who also had flooring installed by Broadway Floors.  Which is another reason we proceeded to purchase from Broadway Floors, despite the fact, their brick and mortar location was filthy and messy.  The day we went to make the deposit, the location was left unattended and we were there for about 15 minutes before the sales representative returned.  This in itself should have been another indicator, as the signs were there but again we decided to proceed as we did not believe BBB would recommend a merchant who provide  inaccurate representation of products and return polices that were not properly communicated to customers.  

As to Broadway Floors reference to his vendor, our neighbor his previous customer also contacted the  vendor  who confirmed with them the incorrect flooring was delivered to us.  He too was  surprised as he  witnessed Broadway Floors unwillingness to be reasonable with us.  Broadway Floors vendor did validate  to our neighbor the order received by us was incorrect, but as mentioned Broadway Floors was unwilling to listen to reason.  Our neighbor felt responsible, since he had referred us to Broadway Floors and could not believe how unreasonable they were being with us.


Regards,

****** **********





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1