BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Wayne's Fence & Decks of South Texas and Home Improvements

Phone: (210) 309-8782 View Additional Phone Numbers 509 Main St, Schertz, TX 78154

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Wayne's Fence & Decks of South Texas and Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 7 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business
  • 4 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • 2 serious complaints filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files, this business has a pattern of disputes relating to project completion issues. Complainants state that they hired the business for fencing or remodeling projects and are required to put down large deposits upfront. Complainants further state the business failed to start or complete fencing or remodeling projects in accordance with the  time frames stated in the contract. Complainants are seeking for projects to be finished or refunds given. Business did not respond to BBB's requests for them to address the pattern in disputes. 

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wayne's Fence & Decks of South Texas and Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 2010 Business started: 10/08/2009 in 0 Business started locally: 10/08/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Coleman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Coleman, Owner
Related Businesses
All American Home Improvements
Business Category

Fence Contractors Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Home Improvements Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors

Alternate Business Names
Waynes Fence & Decks
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    509 Main St

    Schertz, TX 78154 (210) 635-0175

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 635-0175(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Wayne's Fence and Decks of South Texas to remove our old bathroom and upgrade to a handicap bathroom. On the 15th of May, 2013, a representative from Wayne's Fence and Decks came to our home at **** **** ***** ***** *** ******** ** *****, reviewed the work we wanted done, provided an estimate, and collected a check for half of the agreed upon price. The representative, **** (Sales Manager / Co-Owner), wrote out a detailed proposal. The final cost was $6,800 dollars. We wrote a check for $3,400 (check # ***) on the 15th of May, 2013 to cover the deposit. That check, according to my bank records, was cashed the same day. **** stated on his proposal that work would begin on the last week of June, 2013. However, as of this date, 28th of October 2013, Wayne's Fence and Decks has not started or attempted to start any work on our bathroom. We contacted this company on at least four occasions about the start date and the agreed upon work. In August of 2013, ***** ******* stated that he had to forfeit the job. At which time, we asked Mr. ******* to refund our deposit. He stated that he could not. He sent a letter in the mail that was his proposed repayment schedule. My wife and I did not and do not agree to his proposed terms. We again requested that our deposit be returned in full. Moreover, we did not received any payments from Mr. ********* proposed repayment plan.

Desired Settlement: We would like Wayne's Fence and Decks of South Texas to refund our deposit in the amount of $3,400.

Business Response: I Mr.*******-owner of Wayne's Fence and Decks/ Home improvements will resolve this refund issue with Mr and Mrs ****** as quickly as possible so that they have a full refund of $3400 I will make payments to pay off in full and satisfy there request

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: We have been working with ***** since August, for the Refund Plan. (PLEASE SEE THE ATTACHMENT). ***** has not made any attempt to pay his first payment. What is his second  REFUND PLAN ?  What happens if he doesn't honor it ?

Regards,

***** *** ******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the owner failed to give me a copy of the contract. the owner had workers onsite at my home that were staggering drunk. the owners workers knocked on the door on several occasions harassing my wife and daughter the workers knocked on the door several times asking for tools to borrow the owner was paid in full and has failed to finish the job. the install of the fence that was done is incorrect and useless in its current state.

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner to hire a reputable fence company to finish the job correctly or to refund all the money I have paid.

Business Response: Have contacted customer and currently in progress of completing job-can contact customer to verify work.
Thanks Wayne ******* Wayne's Fence and Decks

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Waynes fence and deck did send out another crew however the fence is still not done correctly. I will take pictures and download on the next response. Also Wayne had me the customer buy additional materials that were already included in the price. He has not made an attempt to reimburse me.
Regards,

******* *******





























Business Response: Going back to complete warranty work on Friday to satisfy the customer and make corrections on fence

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
the fence is not correct or complete I am finished with this correspondence through bob it is a waist of time! I will proceed with legal action, Thank You for your help BBB.
Regards,

******* *******





























BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 18, 2013 , Wayne ******* and **** ******** from Waynes Fence and Decks of South Texas and Home Improvements from San Antonio, TX came to our home, took measurements and discussed details on the deck we wanted built around our above ground pool. My husband and I agreed on the price ($5650.00) and date to start, which was the next day; my husband signed the contract and gave them a check ($2825.00, half of total) that they required up front. Wayne called the next day saying he couldnt start our job because his crew was not done with another job they were working on, but sure they would be finish by that evening. We agreed to give him ample time to finish that job and he could start our deck on Monday 24th. I called Wayne midmorning Monday and he said his crew was still not done and that he would start tomorrow for sure. I called Wayne mid morning Tuesday, he said crew not done and that if we could give him another day, he would give us $800.00 discount for our inconvenience. We agreed . I called midmorning Tuesday and Wayne said his would start Wednesday for sure. I called midmorning on Wednesday and Wayne said he was not sure when he would start the job. We told him we were done and would be at his office (which is 1 hours away) by 4pm to get our money back. Wayne called back around 3pm and had another company, All American Home Improvements, talk to us. The owner of that company, ***** Jones said he was going to help Wayne out. ***** said Wayne didnt have the money to buy the material, so he was going to buy it for Wayne but wanted us to pay him for the material when delivered the next day. My husband asked ***** to come to our house so he could make sure of all the material he would need. ***** came late that evening. He took measurements and made some calls to his crew making sure that his measurements were correct for the price and that his crew could start the very next day. ***** tried to convince us to give him the job and money. He even gave us a written contract stating that his company would finish Waynes job for the remainder of the balance minus $150.00 because he didnt do staining. He wanted us to pay him $2675.00 or we could pay him for the material and Wayne could do the job. We told them to get us a list and quote for the material first because we wouldnt know what material we would be getting from ***** for the $1700.00 he wanted from us. Home Depot emailed me the quote for the material totaling $4878.03. ***** said he would not built our deck for what he had given us the contract for (we have that contract) and wanted more money. Mean while Wayne said he was getting other quotes. Wayne and *****s companies are in the decking business, both took measurements, yet didnt know how much it would cost to built our deck? Really? We have worked with Wayne and ***** everyday, several times a day, and it just keeps getting worse. July 2nd, ***** said he was going to tell Wayne to sign off our contract and that he would take over and he would send us our money within 7 to 10 business days. I told ***** to put it in writing, he said he would have his office email me the next morning. I texted Wayne asking him to also send something in writing regarding his and *****s agreement. I didnt get anything from either one of them. So I called the following day and ***** said he would send something later that day. I called Wayne and he didnt answer. We didnt get anything in writing. I texted ***** later that day and told him that we were done communicating with him, our contract was with Wayne. I texted Wayne stating that we were going ahead with filing against him and his company and do whatever it takes, if we didnt get our money now . Its Monday July 8th and we still havent heard from Wayne *******.

Desired Settlement: We want our money back ASAP.

Business Response: Have contacted customer to make arrangements to refund there deposit of $2825-any further details you may contact customer or me Wayne ******* thanks Wayne's Fence and Decks

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. Wayne ******* got $2825.00 from us in one lump sum.  We expect to get our money back in one lump sum as well.  He wants to make arrangements to pay small payments which we refuse to even discuss that option with him.  Mr. ******* has lied in everyway possible to detain us from getting our money back, what makes him think that we would entertain the idea that he will keep his word. We told Mr. Wayne ******* we need our money back ASAP, we want to build our deck as our intentions were when we hired him. 


Regards,

******** *******





























Business Response: Recieved letter from Sanchez attorney to resolve issue within 60 days letter states this will resolve and pay to attorney

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. Wayne ******* got our Attorney's letter, but doesn't mean this has been settled.  Mr. ******* has yet to contact our Attorney.  This matter will NOT be resolved until we get our money back in one lump sum and with Attorney's fees!

Regards,

******** *******





























BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1