Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Krav Maga Worldwide Regional Training Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Krav Maga Worldwide Regional Training Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Krav Maga Worldwide Regional Training Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 2008 Business started: 10/01/2002 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/2002 Business incorporated 10/03/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pete Hardy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pete Hardy, Owner
Business Category

Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Martial Arts Self Defense

Alternate Business Names
911 Self Defense, Inc. Krav Maga San Antonio Krav Maga Worldwide

Additional Locations

  • 100 Crossroads Blvd. #103

    Balcones Heights, TX 78201 (210) 348-6127 (210) 545-3900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: STW Krav Magra fitness billing cycle us once a month. A payment draft of $89 was taken from my credit card on 03/13/15. I approved that. Yet they draft my card again on 03/28/15 for $89 again. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: $89 returned to my card

Business Response: Ms. *****’ contract draft date is on the 1st of each month.  The February 1, 2015 credit card draft declined and she changed her draft to her checking account and the late fee was waived as a courtesy.  The March 1, 2015 bank draft was returned so payment was attempted again on March 13, 2015.  We received the February payment bank draft return on March 17, 2015 and the attempt to collect payment for the
February dues was tried on March 27, 2015. This attempt included the late fee since it was returned a second time.  Please see the back of the membership contract signed by Ms. ***** under the “Late Payment and Default” section it states “We reserve the right to redraft any past dues amount and/or service fees at any time without prior notice to you.” Both $89 drafts in March were for payments owed in February and March therefore a refund will not be issued. Please see attached contract as well as the draft history and notes on the account.

3/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended one class after signing a two year contract, immediately after the contract. Since then for over two years I have not attended. I was under duress when I signed it because I had a situation that had me afraid for mine and my son's lives. I do not want to go into further detail publicly, but there was substantial evidence to suggest it at the time that was confirmed by detective. I was staying with a friend. I was shopping for guns. I was so scared. Or I never would've signed a contract with a company where I could not take my son for childcare. I do not recall this clause on the contract - that I have been told now was on there - that even if I don't use their services, I will be obligated to pay them.* I most certainly would never have signed. This is so ridiculously unfair of them. I heard nothing from them until two years later, when I received a bill for $1900.00. I am a single full time working mother. My son and I are without real help from his father. This debt due to services NOT rendered is an abuse of the use of that contract.* Any person should have the right to quit classes without owing money for more than the classes taken. That is a direct violation of basic rights and is an attempt to take money in order to keep the business running regardless of services rendered. It is extremely unethical. I can understand a penalty*. I read other comments that confirm that this is across the board. They have many people walking away with disasitsfaction because they are unwilling to be human -- when they are promoting health and wellness and self defense = "protection from the bad guys". They are in fact some of the bad guys we deserve protection from. They claim they have to treat people equally and that is their excuse. They SHOULD treat people equally, in that NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THEY HAVE NOT USED. Any company who decides they have the right to take peoples money for two solid years* even though they provided no services to them is a company that I think should have the worst possible business rating. It is thievery. Plain and simple. I will make sure none of my friends and family coworkers or anyone I know go anywhere near this business. I have no intention of letting them steal my money and will seek a lawyer if they don't offer a better solution.

Desired Settlement: I would like at best to pay a small penalty for not continuing with their services after signing the contract. $1900 collection is outrageous.

Business Response: Ms. ****** signed her contract on 1/28/13.  She did call and leave a voice mail on Saturday, 3/7/15 stating that she is not a member and had only came in for a free trial class and had not come in again after that.  However, Ms. ****** states in her complaint that she did come in for a class and that she realized she did sign a membership contract.  We show in our database that in addition to the free trial class she took on 1/28/13 she did come back in and take a class on 2/4/13. The billing company, American Payment Services, attempted to contact Ms. ****** by phone messages and emails on 3/8/13, 6/14/13, 7/10/13 and 9/13/13 and at no time did they receive a response.   

An email was sent to Ms. ****** on 3/11/15 with copies of her signed contract, and other documents pertaining to her contract. 

The contract states in the bottom right corner directly next to where the member signs their name that “Non-use of the Center’s facilities does not relieve you from your payment obligations”.  In addition to this there is a membership understanding page which accompanies the contract that the member initials understanding that childcare is not offered. All contracts have a 3 day right of recision as well. 

To maintain a certain level of business etiquette we do hold each member accountable to the terms of their contract that they sign.  Ms. ******’ balance is $1716 and we are willing to accept a settlement if Ms. ****** would like to propose one.

All documents are attached.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I signed this contract under duress. I took one class. They are asking for $1700. Im
 not going to give them
money for services not taken. The "clause" they have on their contract is unethical and a way to take money they have not earned. 

Regards,

******** ******

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I find a fitness facility that is more worried about bringing people in to sign contracts to keep their money flow and business afloat vise being more attentive to their clientele, well being and customer satisfaction very dishonoring. It really upsets me and it makes the business, the owner, and his management team look careless, selfish, and completely unethical. When you're in the business of health and wellness the owner/business needs to fully understand that health and wellness is number one priority and it is accomplished by ensuring customer satisfaction. If you have customer satisfaction, repeat customers and referrals base clientele is the most vital component in the success of the business and facilities. To put into a contract that one must be PERMANENTLY DISABLED to be able to cancel a contract is beyond crazy. That is a big indicator that the business is in for one thing and one thing only and that is not a business that myself or anyone I have discussed this matter with want to be a part of. Anyone can suffer an injury that requires them to be out for long periods of time without making them PERMANENTLY DISABLED. I sent in a letter from my Dr stating that It was not in the best interest of me and my health to continue at this gym and made copies of everything I sent in keeping in mind that I have only been a member for barely 1 month before I was told that I shouldn't be doing any gym activities right now considering my medical issues at which point I was given a letter to send in to cancel my membership. The owner or any manager in this business has no right to determine what I can and can not do and still take money out of my account regardless of whats in their "contract" how do you think that makes this business look? its apparent that their priority is money and numbers and not the members. That should not be in a contract at all. It is deteriorating and damaging to their company. I will make sure Anyone looking into Krav Maga knows how they handle their cancellations to prevent them the despair until this is changed including the way they train their employees because from what is going around, they are being told to not go into details of the cancellation policy in their "contract" when signing up new members to avoid scaring them off. Now that is a red flag to me because they already know it is unethical to even consider putting that into a contract unless your desperate for money and business. Of course the business is going to thrive in a shady way when you work your employees like dogs through crazy shifts trying to get everyone to join and locked in on unethical contracts. Of course the business will thrive when somebody can't cancel their contract unless they're essentially dead and even then this business would probably still be collecting monthly bills from those people. This place might have some good trainers and I'm not taking anything away from the trainers because apparently for the most part the trainers are excellent but over worked and probably underpaid. What I am trying to point out is that these facilities are being operated by the owner/management unethicaly and selfishly. It doesn't take someone to be totally disabled to be able to cancel their contract. If the person follows the contract cancellation procedures or even provides documentation from medical professionals stating that due to their medical condition(s) this individual cannot continue to attend or conduct physical exercise then unless the owner or management is the medical professional managing the care of the client trying to cancel their contract, the contract should be canceled without questions asked. According to HIPPA this facility or third party collecting for them, doesn't have any right to ask about anyone's medical conditions in order to cancel their contract after a letter was provided. If documentation was provided by a medical professional then that's all that should be provided not have third party on the phone through this company asking personal unauthorized questions. I have called and spoke with the Owners assistant Tiffany concerning this matter and was told I would here back from Pete Hardy which is the owner and I still have not heard anything. I gave them enough time in advance to go over things and respond back to me and they seem to prolong the process to keep collecting more money or ignore the issue all together. As a Veterans daughter and a veterans wife i am ashamed that this kind of business is even happening in an environment that is suppose to make you feel hopeful not hopeless. I will make sure it is brought to light until this issue can be resolved in a proper and civil manner the RIGHT way. Not the selfish money hungry way. RT

Desired Settlement: My desired resolution would be for my membership to be cancelled completely and properly as soon as possible.

Business Response: In response to Ms. ******’ BBB complaint we would like to first address the business issue at hand.  The medical cancellation policy on the back of the contract signed by Ms. ****** reads that if the member sustains an injury which impairs the physical and/or mental ability of a member to exercise for the remainder of the member’s life then the contract can be cancelled provided the member provide a letter from their MD of such.  In addition to the contract Ms. ****** initialed on the Membership Memorandum of Understating under Cancellation/Terms of Contract that she understood line #1 which reads I understand that no cancellation will be accepted until the full term has been met or a valid letter from a medical doctor stating that I am permanently disabled from any exercise program in the future.  All of our members sign the same contract and membership understanding and to maintain a certain level of business etiquette, are held to the same contract obligations. 

Ms. ****** did send in a medical cancellation letter on 1/14/15. However the letter sent was from a MSPT and not a Medical Doctor (MD).  In the letter submitted from the MSPT it does mention a referring physician.  In order for her membership contract to be cancelled all Ms. ****** needs to provide a letter from her Medical Doctor that reads she is unable to participate in any type of physical activity now and in
the future.  Once this is submitted we will be happy to cancel the membership as the medical cancellation requirement will be met.

The basis of Ms. ******’ complaint is the fact that she does not qualify for a medical cancellation based on the information she has provided.  However there are a lot of opinionated statements about the business and our practices.  The personal threat made against the business is not taken lightly.  If these threats are followed through by Ms. ****** we will have no other option to pursue legal action as these are her personal opinions and are slanderous to the business.

We have attached the membership contract, membership understanding, cancellation letter and letter from her MSPT

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is somewhat satisfactory to me as I will be getting a MD note for them to cancel my membership. In regards to the comment of me slandering them that is not so. I was staing my opinions on what I see and facts that I know about their company. To threaten me for bringing to light issues this company has is very unprofessional and not good customer service etiquette. Again this company needs a lot of fixing and will no longer have my business once I'm done. 

Regards,

********* ******

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed 12 month contract with Krav Maga on 11-09-13. My contract is now up and I want to cancel the membership. I am in the U.S Navy and was not given even a 30 day notice before I had to move. I went in to their main gym to cancel my membership and they insisted that I email some other third party business, they even wouldn't let me talk to the manager so I could express my concern. I believe they require customers to email a third party simple because they don't want to deal with customer complaints, which is simply lazy. They didn't even give me a phone I could call so I could talk to a live person. Ever other gym I've been to allowed me to walk in and cancel in person immediately. I would have happily given them a 30 day notice if I could, but it's literally impossible due to my late posting of orders. They say they pride themselves with working with military service members and can understand their situations, yet they're inflexible in this unfortunate situation.

Desired Settlement: I simply don't want to be charged this month since my contract is up and cancel my membership.

Business Response: First of all we want to thank Mr. ******* for his service.  We have many members as well as staff who have or are currently serve our country.  Mr. ******* did sign a 12 month membership agreement on November 9, 2013.  All membership agreements become a month to month membership until cancelled by the member following the proper cancelation procedures found on the membership contract as well as the membership understanding that is initialed by the member at the point of sale.  Mr. ******* will need to send in his cancellation letter by following the procedures found on the back of the membership agreement. An email from our member service department was also sent on November 13, 2014 explaining the cancellation policies and procedures.  By sending in his PCS orders with the cancellation letter there will not be a 30 day notice required.  This is a special clause in our membership agreement for our military members who receive PCS orders.  We do not consider this a complaint since it seems that Mr. ******* does not want to follow the procedure of sending in his cancellation notification as stated on both the membership agreement and membership understanding as well as signed and initialed by Mr. *******.  Once the cancellation letter and PCS orders are received the membership will be immediately cancelled therefor we consider this matter to be closed.  We will not divert from our policies and procedures that all members must follow and have for the past 12 years.

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined Krav Maga on February 2013. I signed a contract agreeing to pay $53 every month as long as I continued to use their facilities and payments were automatically deducted from my account. I was told by the one who explained the contract to me that their were ways I could cancel and/or freeze my account, so I knew that just in case I did not enjoy Krav Maga or just in case something did happen to me, I would be able to stop going without any problems. I went only three or four times. I didn't like it very much. I tried to freeze my account or cancel the membership in April of 2013, but they told me I could not unless I was severely injured or moved to another city or state. I had a job, so it did not upset me too much that I was trapped going to and paying for a place that said it was meant for beginners but was a bit too fast-paced and chaotic for me. I got laid off from my job around September 2013. I was evicted. My phone and internet service was disconnected. I had to relocate as soon as possible and figure out a way to get another job. My account was suspended because of the large overdraft fees. Not only that, but a couple months later I found out that I was pregnant. It was not a great situation for me. I was living somewhere else, and so I had to use my friend's address for my mail. My friend, however, never notified me that I was getting mail from Krav Maga, but as soon as I found out that they were not only billing me every month but everytime my account was declined they would charge me a high fee of $25 or more. I contacted as soon as possible using email because I do not have access to a phone. I gave them a phone number, but they have chosen not to use the number, so I continue to speak with them through email. I explained to them my horrible situation and why I could not pay a cancellation fee. The refuse to stop charging my old account even after I spoke with them months ago. They want to put me on a payment plan and they want me to keep paying for the months that I have left on the contract as well, even though I am pregnant and I explained to them that I do not have a job. I tried to make a large payment of $200 to them to settle the agreement or maybe $300 or something more reasonable, but they are refusing to be more ethical. Krav Maga is an Israeli Self-Defense facility that I have been unable to go to because I am pregnant, looking for a job, and in a bad situation in life. I am not using their facilities or services. I am not continuing to go to their program. I have been trying to pay what I can to them in return for them to cancel the gym membership, but they refuse to be understanding. I easily paid off my internet bill and cable and other service because they had reasonable cancellation fees, but Krav Maga is being unethical and unfair about the entire situation. I contacted them on the 5 of May when the bill was only $390. I talked to them and let them know that I can pay $200. They took a long time to respond back to me and then told me that my account is still active and that now they want $640 from me. It is extremely unfair that they would keep the account active and continue to charge when I was more than willing to pay them a price. I cannot force them to contact me back if they choose not to respond for another month or so.

Desired Settlement: I am not an unreasonable person. I am a good person who has fallen on very hard times. I am willing to pay at most $300 because that is the price (fees included) of what I would owe before I became pregnant. In return for paying $300 in full, I want to no longer have a contract, to have them stop charging fees on an account they already know is gone, and I want nothing to do with Krav Maga ever again.

Business Response: Ms. ******* entered into a 24 month contract on 1/10/13.  The contract states the cancellation policy as well as the freeze policy.  Ms. ******* signed and initialed that those policies were understood.  In addition to
the contract there is a membership understanding sheet that again explains the cancellation and freeze policies which is also initialed by Ms. *******.  Both documents are attached. 

Ms. ******* states that in April she tried to cancel but that she could not and that she had a job so she was not too upset by the fact that she did not meet the cancellation criteria set forth in the contract.  Our records show that an email was sent by Ms. ******* to Member Services on 4/22/13 requesting a freeze on her membership due to a job loss.  A response was sent explaining the freeze policy and she agreed responding that she would like to freeze for a month.  Ms. ******* did not come in and sign the freeze paperwork as explained in the email therefor the membership was not frozen for the month requested. The email correspondence stated is attached.

The next contact we received from Ms. *******, a little over a year later, was through an email from Sophie Grunge on 5/5/14.  Ms. ******* stated that she had a balance of $390 and that she was not willing to pay that amount but willing to pay the cancellation fee.  In actuality the balance at that time was $546.  Each month the contract obligation amount of $53 is attempted and if it is returned a $25 late fee is charged.  The late fees are explained on the back of the membership contract under the subheading “Late Payment and Default”.  Since the email for Sophie Grunge was not in our system and she did not put the name her account was under we had a little trouble finding her and had to ask for her key tag number.  We received this and found her in the database on 5/9/14. Once she was located an email was sent stating that the monthly payments had been returned since November 2013 and that there was a $25 late payment for each month returned.  She was directed to American Payment Services, the 3rd party billing company that we
use, to discuss any further billing issues she might have.  The response received was that she is only able to communicate through email but feel free to call her, which she provided a phone number.  Ms. ******* also stated that she would be willing to pay a cancellation fee.  Since she said that she was only able to communicate through email and when the cancellation criteria and information is sent we also include a copy of the back of their contract in case they no longer have theirs an email response was sent with all of this information.  The next contact from Ms. ******* was received was again a month later stating that the cancellation conditions are unreasonable and so are our late fees.   Please see attached emails mentioned above. 

Ms. ******* also contacted American Payment Services via email on 5/5/14 stating the same information given to Member Service on the same date.  Monica from APS asked her to give her a call so they could discuss payment arrangements.  Her response was that she did not have a phone to use at that time and she did not want to make payment arrangements.  Then on 6/15/14 contact was made again with APS and she was told that the account was still active and that is she could provide relocation proof and it fell under the relocation cancellation criteria the membership could be cancelled.  The same email stated that if not then we could set up a payment plan for her.  She emailed back that she is willing to pay a cancellation fee however she has been told that we do not have a cancellation fee and we have explained the cancellation policy to her.  She also stated on 6/16/14 that she has been trying to cancel since October.  The first contact we have inquiring about cancellation was in May 2014.  The most recent email correspondence with APS is attached. 

As you can see from her contract she is obligated to her membership terms.  We have tried to work with her and offer her a payment plan numerous times and she is not willing to cooperate.  We will not cancel her membership unless she provides documentation that meets the cancellation criteria according to the contract.  What we will offer Ms. ******* is to compromise on late fees which currently total $200.  We will cut these in half making the late charges $100 plus the 8 months of monthly membership payments that are past due.  This makes the balance $524.  In addition, to make things financially more feasible for Ms. ******* we would like to offer her a downgrade to one of our memberships with lower monthly membership dues. We have 2 options on the fitness one location only memberships.  The first one is an all access to fitness classes at 1 location Monday-Saturday. The second option is a fitness only 1 location 3 days per week, either Monday-Wednesday-Friday or Tuesday-Thursday-Saturday at the monthly rate of $19.  I will email Ms. ******* with this information and await her response.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Their contract agreement is unfair and unreasonable. All other places and bills and contracts have a way to cancel with a fee. This is the only place that refuses to cancel and allow me to pay them what is more fair, especially since I am not attending anymore because I am a high-risk pregnancy. I did not know that it had to be 35 miles away from the location I signed up. I thought it was 35 miles away from the nearest Krav Maga center. I do have a contract lease that I signed up for in December 11, 2013.

I ave tried everything in my power to get the company and management to understand my situation, but they could care less about me. Hopefully, I can finally be done with Krav Maga and just move on with my life because the situation has been stressing out myself and my baby. It is the only company that refused to let me pay a cancellation fee or cancel the contract in a fair way.

Regards,

******* *******

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the STW Krav Maga on a referral from a friend. I am not a big fan of gym's for the atmosphere by the assured me that this place was fun. I tried the first class and absolutely loved it and decided to join. The problem came on my next couple of visits over the next week or so. The initial visit that had the salesman checking in on me frequently, I'm now guessing to his actions were to signify to the trainer that there was a possible new member in the room. After the initial experience I found the trainers to be cold and rude when you asked a question and impatient if you didn't know what you were doing (and how could I they made all of these exercises up). So I decided not to go any longer. When I messaged the payment people to cancel my membership she just sent back a message saying I was locked in for two years (I obviously should have read the contract better) with no way out short of permanent disability or long distance move. I was lead to believe that this gym was a fun inviting place to work out, right up until they took my money.

Desired Settlement: I want out of this contract, I don't need a refund, I will pay the back dues for the last several months if they will release me from the agreement.

Business Response: We do not feel that Mr. *****'s complaint is valid for the following reasons.  The membership advisers, whom he referred to as salesman, take guests into class to help them get set up with the equipment needed as well as let the instructor know that there is a guest in class so they are aware that they have never taken any of our classes before.  The programs that we offer are intense and the instructors do encourage full participation.  With that said, all of our instructors are trained in assisting and correcting participants when needed and are happy to do so.  

When the membership agreement is gone over by the adviser they do so in a way that there is full understanding of the contract by the member.  STW goes out of our way to ensure this by having the member sign three times on the front part of the contract as well as initial 14 times and sign on a separate Membership Understanding document.    

There are procedures in place for members who are not satisfied with their experience in the form of comment cards that are filled out and turned in.  Each card is addressed whether good or bad by our Fitness Director.  Mr. ***** never filled out a comment card.  We also have a Member Service Department that members are directed to if they have an inquiry or issue.  Again, Mr. ***** did not take this route either.  When Mr. ***** received an email attempting to collect on his past due balance he responded that he wanted to cancel due to the fact he has not gone since he signed up.  This contradicts what he wrote in his BBB complaint that he had taken classes.  In actuality he has taken a total of five classes.  He was sent a copy of the back portion of the membership agreement that stated the complete cancellation policy as well as informed that he did not qualify for a cancellation.  His response was that he was not going to pay and for us to feel free to send him to collections.  His last email requested the entire contract and information for our legal department.
 
Since obtaining his membership all but one payment that has been attempted to draft has declined.  Each month an email was sent as a notification that the payment was returned and that there was a balance. Only one of those returned payments has been paid.  Mr. *****'s membership contract will not be cancelled and he will be held to the remaining time and payments.  He must pay the past due balance of $258 immediately as well as finish out his contract.  If payment is not made the information will be turned over to collections and legal department.


Respectfully,
**** *****
Owner
*** **** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

This is the first I have heard about comment cards, However, even with their existence it seems highly unlikely that the negative attitudes towards newer members would be adjusted by my filling one out. This gym offered a fun friendly atmosphere that wasn't actually provided once I became a member. I have not gone since and have no intention of continuing to pay for a service that was not provided as promised. If this cannot be resolved through the Better Business Bureau I will seek legal counsel as a means of keeping my credit intact. I fortunately work in an industry that has me speaking to many people moving into town and have been able to warn several couple off of this business already.
 
 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: We appreciate your response but this seems to be more about the ability to pay the monthly contract obligation and not about our service since all but one of the payments has been returned. 

We consider this matter closed and will be turning it over to our legal department.  If we find that our company name has been slandered in any way we will pursue legal action as well.  Furthermore, the owner will be happy to contact Guild Mortgage Company with the information that one of their loan officers is using their company as a platform for slander of a business or the intention to do so. 

Mr. ***** or his attorney may contact our member service department at memberservice@***********.com to obtain the information of our legal counsel ***** ********, Attorney at Law.

Respectfully,
**** *****

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to cancel my membership and company requires cancellation in writing to be sent certified mail (with return receipt) with a 30 day notice. I do not understand why company makes it so difficult to cancel membership and if one has an outstanding balance, they will not cancel membership, thereby your account cannot be cancelled and monthly charges accrue indefinitely. This practice was not clearly explained upon initial membership and company only making cancellation difficult to avoid member cancellation.

Desired Settlement: cancel membership

Business Response: STW Krav Maga's cancellation policy and procedures are clearly defined on the membership contract. The member signs and or initials that they understand the policy and procedure on several places on the contract.  There is also a subheading on the back of the membership agreement explaining the cancellation process.  


We have attached the contract:

- (front side) where he has initialed/signed

- (back side) with information about cancellation and default

- Membership Understanding that he initialed and signed


There was email correspondence with Mr. ***** on January 16, 2014.  He requested cancellation information and received a response the same day with that information.  At the time he did not owe a past due balance but now owes $84 as his last payment was returned.  In addition, we do not show record of a cancellation letter being sent as directed in the January email so the membership has not been cancelled.  

 
Mr. ***** states in his complaint that he spoke to someone on 2/10/14.  He called APS, our third party billing company regarding his cancellation and they explained the cancellation process again.  He said he would send his letter and the payment for February, which is now only $59 as the return fee was waived as a courtesy.  The thirty day cancellation policy was explained and he said he would mail in the March payment.  He was told to please mail that payment to be received by February 24th so there is enough time for it to be processed and the automatic draft stopped as the card we have on file is no longer valid.
  

Per his conversation with APS, Mr. ***** said he would mail in his payment to APS; however, he can make his payment at our training center: $59 (return fee waived). If he decides to pay, he must do so before Feb. 24th so there is enough time to process it.
 

Respectfully,
**** *****

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a 2 year contract to participate in self-defense/fitness classes, I enjoyed the classes and loved every minute. The staff was wonderful and my Advisor ******** was so helpful with anything I needed, but about a month and a half into taking the classes I woke up on April 2nd and for no apparent reason could not see out of my left eye. I went to the optometrist that same day and he sent me to a retina specialist, then the retina specialist sent me to a neurologist who then sent me through days of long tests, an MRI to be diagnosed with Optic Neurosis which is most likely the beginning stages of Multiple Sclerosis. My neurologist told me a could no longer participate in the self defense classes because any blows to the head could cause further damage to my brain, and the fact I can not see out of my left eye. I contacted STW **** **** to find out what I had to do to cancel my mebership per my MD's request. I was told I had to send in a written note from an MD, not a Chiropractor or Family Physician, an MD. I had to send the letter with my member swipe ID card (if it was not returned I would get charged $10.00 on my bank account) in a $12.50 certified mail return receipt. I completed all of those things, waited for my mail receipt to arrive at my home and when I received it I called the APS services that handles the businesses financial account and cancellations for them to tell me, when they receive cancellations they send Pete the owner of both locations in San Antonio, an email to either accept or deny the cancellation and he DENIED my cancellation because my MEDICAL REASON was not "Sufficient Enough." I then called my bank and filed a claim for them to block them from automatically drafting from my bank account, called up to STW to ask **** why he did not think my Written Notice from my Neurologist was not Sufficient Enough, left him a message to Please call me back personally and did not hear anything back from him. Called again the next day and left another still have not heard back.

Desired Settlement: A written request signed by owner **** himself confirming my Membership is cancelled effective the date that is on the certified mail receipt, and a simple apology face to face from the owner *****

Business Response: We have cancelled Ms. ******** membership upon the submission of a letter from her MD stating she is permanently disabled on May 21, 2013.  The member has been notified and is satisfied with this result.