Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Austin Sports Center

Phone: (512) 479-8776 Fax: (512) 479-0080 425 Woodward St, Austin, TX 78704 http://www.austinsportscenter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a multi-purpose sports facility focusing on youth sports and volleyball. They also offer instructional programs, sports leagues and fitness programs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Sports Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Sports Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Austin Sports Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 2003 Business started: 11/01/1984 Business started locally: 11/01/1984 Business incorporated 11/22/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Glen Lietzke, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen Lietzke, Executive Director
Business Category

Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Youth Organizations & Centers Sports & Recreation Sporting Goods - Retail Sportswear - Retail


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Austin Sports Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 425 Woodward St

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 479-8776

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my family inquired about hotel reservations through the housing dept of this company. we were told they did not have rooms left under the "block of rooms". we made reservations through same hotel but on our own and for a suite on March 10th. we had a situation that made us re think attending sports tournament and called to cancel our reservation with hotel. we found out at that time that we had two other reservations in our name. we were going to be charged for both rooms due to canceling those rooms, we did not even make. my family cancelled our personal reservation w/out a fee only to find out that we are being penalized for the other two rooms. we were told that ****** made them and they were made on April 1st. my family told them to please keep our original reservation since we were not going to get our money back, in house reservationist said they could honor it for an extra $100 fee a night.. this is an upgrade fee for being under Austin Sports Center "block". I attempted to explain this to Urissa, I was abruptly told she didn't make them, that it was just her name on a block of rooms there. She did call the in house reservationist of the hotel but told me the hotel would only refund one of the rooms not for both. ****** informed me that she had to "jump through hoops" to get my daughter's team eligible to play since we were canceling one of the reservations as it was..this was not my mistake.... this was Austin's Sports Center mistake... I signed the contract to pay them the $1100.00 for her to play my contract does not say they are allowed to make reservations, especially for two rooms different dates and have my family pay the penalties and then tell me my daughter's team may not play because we don't want to pay for their mistake literally. I mean if you call the toll free number to request a room through their housing dept and they tell you they have no more rooms available then you seek other reservations on your own. the customer should not be held accountable for their mistake, twice. their block rooms are the "traditional" rooms and they do not fit my family needs, this is why when we had to make our own reservation it was for an executive suite and it was not $100 more a night for our reservation.

Desired Settlement: Austin Sports Center will refund fees that have already been charged to our credit card and they will tell volley ball team it was their housing dept fault if they do not get to play and they can explain to the teams parents that paid for lodging and travel. it is horrible to blame a 12 yr old girl for their housing dept mistakes.

Business Response: Here is documentation from past conversations with the guests, the hotel, and the housing bureau.  We would love to come to an appropriate solution.

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I wanted to wait until the tournament was over to see just how great the experience was.  On March 17th, my husband called the hotel to make sure all was settled with Austin's Sports Center's Housing/******** mistake.  To his surprise they still had a family of 4 two adults and 2 minors under the age of 21 in two different rooms.  Surprise, Surprise when the desk clerk could fix this error and make sure we were not charged.  We were credited for the $137 dollars for the one reservation that was made in error but was still getting charged for the other room.  I stayed because we paid for it and obviously the fault lies elsewhere, since each business is pointing the finger at the other.  ******** says Austin Sports Center (to us the customer) and well Austin Sports Center denies any fault at all blaming their customer that paid them for an experience of a life time for their 12 year old child in volleyball.  I am enclosing both confirmations of my reservation, with ******** as well as the cancellation.  I have spoken with other parents that do business with Austin Sports Center and it is all agreed make your own hotel reservations and DO NOT CALL ****** OR THEIR HOUSING DEPT., in doing this you will only get double reservations and be charged for their mistake.  On top of being talked horribly to by ****** and told how my family didn't matter to her along with false accusations.  I have a feeling when we were told no rooms were left, the housing dept. along with ****** made reservations.  All they needed to do was be polite and not belligerent and "OWN IT".  It is a shame this generation does not know how to take care of folks .  I am not out of any money.  I stayed in the hotel since we were paying (no choice) checked out next day.  I started this complaint the same day ****** was belligerent to me on the phone (which luckily is recorded) as well as the conversation she had with my husband.  I don't let my children talk to me or their elders the way this lady did to me.  Better Business is treating folks with common respect.  thank you......

Regards,

******** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Austin Sports Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart