This business is not BBB accredited.

Hi-Tech Gadgets

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 996-8999 13401 Pond Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78729 http://www.htgaustin.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hi-Tech Gadgets include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Gadgets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2000 Business started: 07/28/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Indu Nagahawatte, Owner Mr. Dinusha Nagahawatte, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dinusha Nagahawatte, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Indu Nagahawatte, Owner
Business Category

Electronic Instruments Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Computers - Dealers Computer Printers Sales & Service Computers - Supplies & Parts Computers - Used Video Games - Supplies & Parts Computers - Service & Repair Video Games - Service & Repair Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
Cash and all major Credit Cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
No refunds, 7 day exchange

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13401 Pond Springs Rd

    Austin, TX 78729 (512) 996-8999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6615 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Hi Tech Gadgets on Pond Springs Road in Austin, Texas next to Anderson Mill Rd. Their address on the internet is registered as ***** Pond Springs Road in Austin. In the fall of 2014 I saw an advertisement on the internet that they would replace the screen on my iphone 5C that was cracked for 79 dollars. To save 30 dollars I drove all the way to Austin from Killeen to have my screen replaced. I should have looked at their horrible reviews before I went to their place of business because it would have saved me from wasting my time and my money on these characters. I went in and handed over my phone and it took them 45 minutes to replace my screen. They brought it back out and showed me that it worked. I took it home and put it aside and didn't touch it for a couple of weeks. My intention was to sell it on ebay. When I charged it up I noticed that sometimes I was able to use the swipe at the bottom of the screen to get to the phone's main screen and sometimes it wouldn't work. I also noticed that sometimes the phone is cloudy and sometimes it wasn't. I called them and told them what was going on and if I could bring the phone back up to them and have them fix it. The guy who answered the phone said that they would charge me 29 dollars just to look at the phone even though the phone was under a 30 day warranty. I didn't want to waste my time and gas driving all the way back to Austin just to have these morons jerk me around over this phone. It was obvious that they had used defective 5 dollars parts on my phone that they had probably ordered from china or off of amazon and charged me 79 dollars to replace. I expected that they would replace the screen and digitizer on my phone but it appears that they only replaced the glass itself and it caused condensation in between the screen and the digitizer and that the swipe part wasn't working properly because whoever put the screen on the phone didn't know what they were doing when they laid the screen part over the digitizer because they didn't get the digitizer and the screen lined up properly or the screen is just plain defective. Who knows. I just know that they do not stand behind their work and from what I see from these bad reviews that they rip people off and should be fined for it. I either want my screen replaced and it properly works or I want my 79 dollars back so that I can take my cell phone somewhere else and have someone who knows what they are doing fix it so that it will work.

Desired Settlement: I either want my screen replaced and it properly work or I want my 79 dollars back so that I can take my cell phone somewhere else and have someone who knows what they are doing fix it so that it will work.

Business Response:

***** Pond Springs Rd Austin, TX 78729

***** ******** ******************* Case ID #: ******** On September 29th, 2014 Ms. **** walked into Hi Tech Gadgets to repair the lcd screen on her iPhone 5C. The repair was completed by our technician and was completely checked for any malfunctions before handing the device to Ms. ****. We explain and make sure all our customers understand that they are only covered by a 30 day warranty for any malfunctions on the screen i_e; no respond touch, lines on the lcd etc. Our warranty does not cover any damaged caused by the customer i.e; shattered lcd screen, water damage, etc. if any issues occur after the 30 days the customer has the option of repairing the phone again at a discounted rate or simply walking out. We explained our policies again to Ms. **** when she contacted us on November 14, 2015. We informed her that her warranty expired on October 29, 2014 Unfortunately at this time we are not responsible for a repair that was done 1.5 years ago. She had 30 days to check out her phone and notify us of any defects on the screen.

Sincerely, HTG MGMT

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

Unfortunately my dates of service were off.  I checked my phone during the 30 day warranty period and the swipe on it wasn't working and the screen appeared cloudy.  During this time I called and spoke with a salesperson by the name of ****.  I was told that it would cost 29 dollars to check my phone.  I either want my phone fixed or I want a refund. 

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response:

Monday, June 6, 2016

Attn: ****** ****, DR Specialist BBB Corporate Office Complaint ID# ******** First of all, We just want to let you know that we have responded to your letter dated Tuesday , May 31, 2016. Per your letter dated Friday, June 3, 2016, you have received our response to your previous letter and forwarded to Ms. ***** **** which she has rejected. According to Ms. ***** she called our store employee named ****. Unfortunately, there is no person by that name. Never mind, whoever answered her call would never say that there is a diagnose fee to check the phone because it's under 30day warranty. What she says is not true and it's an outright lie. If anything happens during the warranty period, she would have brought it to the store anyway to get it fixed rather than calling us. She cannot get it fixed over the phone. She never showed up to get the phone fixed. At this point, we didn't know the exact situation of the phone as we didn't see it. This is an unusual complaint. Our every customer understands the WARANTY policy and never ever had any issues once their warranty is expired and if anyone needs to get his/her devices fixed. They are willing to pay whatever the cost is. More than 18 months later, Ms. ***** complains that we didn't help her to get her phone fixed. If she were at our store during 30day warranty period to explain us what happened to her phone, this problem would have been resolved on the spot. Since Ms. ***** never showed up to our store within 30day warranty period, the warranty is no longer exist and it's expired after 30 days. Solution: Like every other customer who pays for repairs after their 30day warranty is expired, we will have to charge her to get her phone diagnosed and fixed. But we offer her an unprecedented discount price of $49.99 to get her phone up and running. So, if she is willing to get her phone fixed Ms. Tony should stop by at our store between Monday-Saturday from 10:00 am to 7:00pm. Thank You Regards Hi-Tech Gadgets ***** **** ******* ** ******* ** ***** ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all everything in my statement is true to the best of my knowledge. I phoned Hi-Tech gadgets within the 30 day time frame of my warranty and was told that to look at my phone it would cost 29 dollars. IF the person who wrote this response would pay attention to detail when reading what I wrote they would see that I live in killeen and that's why I just didn't hop in my car and drive up there to their shop. I am mad because I took my time to drive up to Austin from Killeen which is over an hour drive Hi-Tech gadgets. I brought my phone to them because I trusted that they could fix it right the first time instead of putting a bad part on it. I want my phone fixed correctly. I don't think that I should have to take my time to drive all the way back up there from killeen and pay to have my phone fixed again when it should have been done right the first time. Especially when I could have gotten it done during the warranty period and was given bad information about a salesperson at their store. They need to make good on the phone and fix it. Regards,

***** ****

3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Short version: Yesterday, I brought an iPhone 5 in with a cracked screen. Phone worked fine, just needed screen fixed. Charged $90. Within one hour of picking it up, the phone did not work (I did not test it at pick up, as the phone is my daughter's and I didn't have her passcode at the time). The screen is discolored and unable to swipe, click, or shut down. The screws appear misaligned, as does the Home button. My husband has been on the phone for the past 30 minutes arguing with them. THE PHONE WORKED WHEN WE DROPPED IT OFF. It now does not work and they are dodging responsibility and giving us the runaround. Sadly I did not read Yelp reviews on this company before I dropped it off. Three Yelp reviewers have all basically said the same thing has happened to them within the past month.

Desired Settlement: I would like our phone back, in working order, with a fixed screen, as paid for. I would like the company to honor their own warranty of "a Fifteen-day (15) limited warranty against defects in materials and workmanship." The phone worked when we dropped it off, it did not work after their screen repair. My desired outcome is the return of my fully functioning phone.

Business Response: We, HTG understand the customer's frustration regarding the repair that occurred ( 2/8/16.
The customer was totally satisfied with the repair we have done on 2/8/16 when sh picked up. She was very impressed with the workmanship of HTG and walked out a happy mood. If I'm able to show you the store video clip of the moment, you wot. understand this complaint is baseless.
We verbally explained about the warranty coverage to this customer as we always to every customer before she signed the warranty paper. She knew that the warra would not help if she breaks it again. This clause is very clearly stated on the warn paper.
The very next day she brought the repaired phone with the damaged screen, whicl warranty do not cover at all and she put the blame on HTG that we repaired the ph with a bad screen. Why didn't she point this out when she picked up the phone da before. The screen we used on her phone was a perfectly fine, fully functional, clr cracked free item.
We do not cheat customers at all. We listen to our customer and we need them ba Our business with our customers do not end with one business or transaction. WE always make them come back.
So, the customer here is one out of ten thousand customers. We do not hear complaints from our customers as they do not have any issues with our service. Any issues covered by the warranty would handle very carefully without making the customer upset.
All the parts we use on phones have been tested but in case, if a customer bring with any issues, we take care of them right away if they are under the warranty.
As we described in our warranty, this customer's issue would not cover. There al few customers who messed up their screens soon after they picked up, come bar simply request us to fix it again as they understand the warranty do not help. The for the repair without any questions. This is a very common situation.
If we have installed with a damaged screen, customer would feel it or see it. Wr fool or cheat customers assuming they are not smart. All our customers are smar knowledgeable customers and we do not underestimate them. We treat them hor and they like HTG. He or She has to test the item before they walk out the buildir place will take care of damages that are not covered by the warranty.
If this customer really needs to get it fixed again, we would have to charge her for screen but may consider a small discount.
Hi-Tech Gadgets
***** **** ******* ** ******* ** ***** ************ **********


6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 10th, I brought in my Nexus 4 for screen replacement because the glass on the upper half was cracked. The phone had always been used in a case so did not have any damage other than the glass and one small dent on the metal frame around the glass. Before taking it to this place, the phone never had been disassembled either nor any markings elsewhere on the phone. I was told that the phone would be ready for pick up on April 15th, but it was not ready until the 17th (with no communication from them). When I picked it up, the metal frame around the glass had several deformations from the tool they used to remove the screen from the frame around the screen. I noted this problem to them, and they refused any responsibility for those marks. They refuse to repair the physical damage they made to the phone unless I provide a picture of the phone from before the repair even though the type of damage done by them could only be done if the screen had been removed, and the damage is substantial enough that it would have been noted prior to repair of the screen. They made no indication in their notes that the phone had this damage before the repair.

Desired Settlement: Reduction in repair charge to account for the damage they added.

1/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On their website (I have a screenshot to prove if needed), they state they will beat ANY deal for a smart phone repair. All you have to do is bring your phone and the quote in. They do list a sale they have currently for screen replacements. But I found a local company in Austin where they quoted be $45 to fix my phone. The company is now refusing to match the quote, stating that is due to the fact they are offering their own sale going on. That has nothing to do with my quote from this other company. I don't care what sale they have, i have a quote on my phone stating $45 and their website clearly states they beat any quote given. So they are lying to consumers and trying to attempt a bait and switch by getting you in the store w/ your quote, then refusing to accept the quote. That is highly unethical.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to follow their stated claim where they will "beat any quote by 5%" and fix my phone for that.

Business Response: We do honor the deal as advertised as long as it is the gross price (before tax and discounts), additionally we have noted in our website that these deals are subject to change and customers need to contact us to confirm the deal(s).

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off my IPad and a replacement battery that had been purchased online. Company had been recommended by an Apple repair shop in Austin. Advised I needed the battery replaced due to it not holding much charge anymore. I agreed in writing to have them replace the battery and if by accident the glass cover broke while they were attempting to remove; then I would pay for a replacement glass cover. Was told they could turn around in about 2 hours. Received a phone call from the tech at the store letting me know that I had purchased the wrong battery. Thought I had an IPad 1 and turned out to be an IPad 2. The tech rep. then told me the power button was not working. For the record, the power, sleep mode, volume & lock features had all been working fine before drop-off. A bit confused about this new failure, I was quoted verbal price to repair the internal piece that had failed. (~around $60-$70. Since the original battery issue had done a 360 degree turn, I asked them not to proceed with the new quoted repair, and that I would pickup my IPad and battery. The tech rep. assured me during the phone call update that they had not opened the IPad. Picked up the IPad and battery on way home from work the next day or two; being somewhat suspicious, I ran my finger along the glass plate seam to see if there were any rough spots indicating the glass plate had been opened; did feel a couple rough spots. A day or two later, I got a magnifier and checked the entire 4 seams on the glass. Sure enough I can clearly see where a tool was inserted above the "volume" piece that was now defective. I can see rough spots on the same seam and also on one other glass seam. For the record, the glass panel has never been removed during my ownership, nor had it ever had any repairs. I must keep the IPad plugged in to keep it charged, and still have a failed power button, volume control and lock feature. Have not called the store to let them know of my findings.

Desired Settlement: I want a free repair of the piece that is now faulty, parts and labor; and if the said company damages the glass panel, I request they replace and repair at no charge to me. I would like an apology.

Business Response: For this exact reason, our policy requires all technicians to take a video recording of the product demonstrating the original condition of the product prior to the repair/diagnostics. That being said; we do have a video showing the original state of the iPad with non-functioning power button (see attached). We have not done any work on this product as it had other issues that our technician identified that the customer did not mention. We also do have the entire video from the repair room for the time-frame that item was with Hi-Tech Gadgets, that we could provide to BBB if required.

There will be no free of charge or discounted services provided as a result of this complaint.

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used iPhone. It did not work properly, had a faulty battery, messaging unreliable. I returned the phone. He gave me another iPhone. It had similar problems in addition to screen flashing white. I return it again. I want my money back. because he doesn't have any more iPhones to trade me. he instead changes out the battery for another faulty battery. And there are still messaging issues. I just want my money back. It was a lot. They obviously don't check out the phones or batteries before sending them out the door.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back. I no longer trust any iPhone he may try to trade with me, if he gets any in. Or that he may give me the first phone had for the second.

Business Response: We diagnosed both phones with the same symptoms as to having "apps running in the background", this consumes battery much more than it's supposed to, we have already exchanged a phone to another one and put a new battery and tested the phone again, and we did not find any issues with the battery life. Also, phones do not have txt messaging issues because of hardware problems, they are caused by conflicting software apps or service contracts (which is not covered under any warranty). However, knowing that we still chose to exchange a phone and put a new battery, and if you are still having txt messaging issues you will need to remove whatever the apps you have installed that's causing this problem. We noticed there were many games and 3rd party applications and background application running on the phone, this is most likely the issue and is not covered by any warranty programs.

We have honored the 30 day warranty and 7 day exchange policy down to the letter, and we do not offer refunds as it states in your receipt and as we've verbally explained, other than that there is not much we can do about this. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *********  Part of what he said is true about the return policy.  it's his word against mine about the battery being new or not.  we did all he asked, in regard to removing 3rd party apps to make the phone run better.  It did not.  It is a substandard phone, and there's nothing I can do about it.  Thank you for your time.  I'm stuck with this phone.

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Gadgets
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)