This business is not BBB accredited.

A-One Electric

Phone: (512) 497-1513 Fax: (512) 280-3149 5802 Abilene Trl, Austin, TX 78749 http://aoneelectricaustin.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

all phases of residential electrical work and light commercial work


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-One Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A-One Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1997 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 01/03/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Karen Phaup, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karen Phaup, President
Business Category

Electricians Telephone & Television Cable Contractors Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Wire & Cable - Electric Contractors - General

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:30 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
I will take emergencies calls if available
Alternate Business Names
A-1 Electric Live Wire, LLC
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-One Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5802 Abilene Trl

    Austin, TX 78749 (512) 497-1513

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept/5 I called the owner of A-one electric for my rental home power meter box repair, she was out of town and put me in contact with her Partner, who gave me the estimate of $500~$800. Her partner come onsite at on Sept/6 for 4 hours, 3 hour waiting for the utility company to turn on/off the power from the street and 1 hour for actual work and trip to get the parts. After the repair job was done, her partner gave me the bill verbally of $575 for everything including the permit. He promised me that A-one will call the city of ***** **** for the permit and ask for inspection on Monday, I gave her partner a check for $575 payable to A-one electric. He got my address and said he will mail me the invoice. On Sept/9, the owner of A-one electric told me the permit is pulled and sent the invoice for $1,235, which is more than double of the bill her partner gave me. On Sept/10, I replied the owner of A-one electric that her partner gave me the bill after the job was done and collected the payment. To me the project is closed. Then she replied me said "xxx jumped the gun and he is nor the one you hired. You hired my company and he did add in all the time i had to put into the job. I even told him not to bill you. Sorry for the mix up... He only thought of his time. He doesn't even know the requirements of ***** ****. How can he bill for something he doesn't do or even know. " The fact, the utility company told her partner that A-one need to pull the permit and be inspected. How can a licensed electrician does not know that? On Sept/15, the owner of A-one electric give me the itemized break down for the invoice: 6 hours at $145 (4 were her partner on the job, 2 for both of us talking to you at 9 pm Friday night), 2 hours at $95 and the rest in parts and permit. My complain is: 1. A-one failed to honor the agreed price, which is given to me after the repair is done and payment is collected. Send a much higher invoice later. 2. Wrong invoice, on Sept/5, there are all together 16 minutes talking time, basically explaining what’s happening, asked for the estimation and scheduling. In the final invoice, she charged me for 2 hours of after hour charge for the service call @ $145 per hour! I was never told that the phone conversation will be charged. Also the Part is $50, the permit of city ***** **** will cost $35 *****************************************************. So the total parts and permit is $85 instead of $170 in the invoice.

Desired Settlement: Honor the agreed price **** gave to me and the payment was already made. Send me the correct Invoice.

Business Response: Prior to you filing a complaint with the BBB, we have been emailing and discussing this matter for well over a week with no resolution.

First things first, **** is not my partner or my salesman, he is an electrician that I have done work with and who helps me out. I call him my helper.

In response to “A-One failed to honor the agreed price, which is given to me after the repair is done and payment is collected. Send a much higher invoice later”, there was no agreed upon price with me, the owner and master electrician for A-One Electric.  You hired A-One Electric by contacting me directly, as you have in the past, and except for basic service calls, I have always been the one to send out invoices to you and advise you as to how much payment was for a job.  This instance should be no different.  Instead of contacting me for a price, you insisted that the electrician I sent out to the job give you a price, even after he explained that he did not know what it would cost to get a permit and inspection and what the amount of time that part of the job would take.  Because he felt pressured to give you a price, he told you an estimated cost for his time only and advised that the A-One Electric’s owner and Master electrician would invoice you upon her return from vacation. He also stated that the cost for my time and the permit were not included, and asked for your address so that I could invoice you once the job was finished in its entirety.  Despite this, you insisted on writing a check and gave it to the electrician helping me out.  Also, had the invoice been for less than the check you gave the electrician helping me out, I would have happily issued you a refund for the difference, without question.

On Friday September 5, 2014 you called me at 6:28 pm and left a message stating your rental property was not getting full power and the AC wasn’t working and that you needed help.  Being on vacation I had left a message on my phone stating I am on vacation and that if you like, you could leave a message and I would check my messages periodically. I put my vacation on hold and started working on your emergency call at approximately 8:30 pm when I returned your call.  I again stated I was out of town but I would check with the guy that helps me out and see if he was available to do an emergency call on Saturday.  After we hung up I contacted my electrician helper and asked if he was available to do this emergency call since I was out of town. 
A little while later he contacted me back and I then called you and explained that an electrician would be there in the morning and got the address and started to set things up.  I also explained that the work was being done in ***** **** and they have different rules then ****** and that I was going to have to check some things out in the morning to make sure it gets done to the City of ***** ****’s Electrical Codes. I communicated with my electrician helper to trying to get him set up for Saturday until about 10:30 pm.  According to my electrician helper, he got called 2 times after that from you explaining everything that went on at the house.  I did not finish working on your emergency call until 1030 pm on Friday, and was not able to return to my vacation.  To recap, that is 2 hours of work for 2 electricians, after normal business hours due to the emergency nature of your call. 

Second thing, every City and town can follow different rules and Codes that are set up by each jurisdiction.  For example, the City of ***** goes by the 2008 NEC Codes plus their City Ordinance, The City of ****** would not have turned the power back on without an emergency inspection (worth $200) and ******** ***** requires us to pull 2 permits, one for the City of ****** and one for ******** ***** which requires 2 inspections and 2 fees.  The City of ****** is now adopting the 2014 NEC Code.  Further, each City or town requires you to register your license and insurance with them and most charge a fee.  Since I have not pulled permits in ***** **** in a long time I was not sure which codes they were going by at this time.  It is hard to keep up with codes
in one City much less all the Cities that surround us. So for your safety and to make sure things are done right the first time, I did some research.  This is one reason a job isn’t just the time
you spend in the field, it includes so much more.

Still on vacation (and after normal business hours) on Saturday, I took time and worked on your emergency call.  I started communicating with the electrician at approximately 8:15 am.  I
was informed the electrician arrived on the job at 9:30am and the tenant had called ***** to disconnect the power.  I was told that ***** showed up at 10:50 to disconnect the power and take off the lock.  We cannot take off the lock without getting fined, so yes there was some waiting, however, the electrician was on site at the job for the emergency call at approximately 9:30am as agreed.  He completed the work to get the meter working properly and safely, which included locating the problem inside the meter can, purchasing supplies needed, installing the internal guts to the meter can and replaced the burnt wires.  ***** was then called and the electrician was going to leave, which would have stopped the billing time for Saturday, but you asked him to stay until ***** turned the power back on.  Did you expect him to remain on the jobsite after normal business hours and away from his family on a weekend for free? 

In regards to the permit, the Electrician on the jobsite stated ***** advised him that we needed to get a permit Monday and get the meter inspected or the power would be turned
off.  On Monday, I had to rearrange jobs that were previously set up so that I could take care of this emergency permit so your tenant’s power was not shut off.  I spent 3 hours taking care of the permit and inspection.  You mentioned that the city charges $35.  However, in order to pull a permit, you have to have a master electrician license and liability insurance.  The liability insurance is in place to protect you/the customer, if something were to go wrong.  This is why all contractors charge more for permits and supplies.  Most companies charge a flat fee of up to $300 to pull permits. 

Monday afternoon I spent 3 hours taking care of the permit and inspection with the City of ***** **** even though I had other people scheduled to take care of.

In regards to the supplies, there was more than one part used on this emergency call.  

In reality, price breakdowns are not required and a lot of electricians will not do them, they just give a lump sum.  However I broke it down to show you what I was thinking at the time of invoicing:
2 hours of time for preparation/research on Friday night at $145 = $290
4 hours with electrician on jobsite Saturday at $145 =$580
2 hours of my time on Saturday that I did not charge for (or if you want move Friday’s time to Saturday.)
2 hours on Monday for the permit at $95 = $190 (I really spent 3 hours dealing with the permit)

The labor total $1060
Permit and parts $175
Total $1235

You mentioned on Friday night that you had someone else that could do the work.  And later mentioned you got a quote of $1000 to do the work from a master electrician.  My invoice was only $235 more than that electrician.  Also, I had another master electrician quote me $1400-$1600 for the job after I had sent you the invoice.  I asked why you didn’t use the master electrician that quoted you $1000 and you said that you trusted A-One Electric and wanted my company to do the work.  You also said that my prices were fair and that’s why you’d rather have A-One Electric do the work.  You further mentioned that you could have gotten your home warranty to do the work on Monday for $75 but wanted to take care of his tenants and get it done.  I later found out that you were going to ********** on Monday, so that probably factored in your decision as well. 

 
In the interest of settling this dispute, I proposed a “settlement agreement” reducing the invoice to $1100, in order to be closer to the other master electrician’s estimate.  I also offered to help out with the home warranty company and attempted to get you reimbursed, however you have decided to take this route.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On Friday Sept 5, 2014, like you stated I left a message to you at 6:28pm, you called me back at 8:33PM, stated you were out of town and will ask your partner (now you call him your helper) to contact me, the call last 4:41 minutes. On 9:34pm, I did not hear back from your partner and follow up with you for the contact of your partner, the call last 4:45 minutes. You texted me your partner’s contact info and asked me to contact him directly. After get your partner’s contact, I called him at 9:44pm, briefly explained the issue again and gave him the address and asked for estimation and finally scheduled the time to meet on Sept/6, the call last 6:07minutes. That’s the only time I called your partner on September 5, 2014. It’s not a true statement that I called him 2 times after that. Your partner understood the issue and gave me the estimation $500~$800 for the meter box repair. Neither you nor your partner informed me that I should not get the estimate or invoice from him. I scheduled to meet with your partner on 9:00am September 6. There is nothing else for you to communicate/setup on September 5, 2014 night. All together the conversation on September 5, 2014 is 16 minutes long, I have to repeat the conversation to both you and your partner. Neither you nor your partner said I will be charged for the phone call, which you did not charge with previous projects.

On September 6, your partner arrived late for about 30 ~45 minutes due to family activities on Saturday morning, which I understand and never complained. He completed replacing one bad wire and the meter box guts around 12:00 pm, then we called *****e back for inspection. Around 1:00 pm your partner did not want to wait anymore and ready to leave. It’s coincident that your partner started his truck and at the same time *****e service guys showed up. Your partner gave me the price of $575 for everything, it’s
not true or even logical for me/customer to pressure the service person/your partner for the price he did not know. When your partner gave me the price (not estimate anymore), the repair was completed, he bought the parts and know the cost, the *****e service guy explained the permit need to be pulled from ***** **** city and next steps to your partner and me. Your partner promised that he will take care of the permit, that’s the reason I sent him a reminding text message on September 6  to give me the number when the inspection is
done on Monday.

During the conversation, your partner (now you call him helper) told me that he has been working for you for 3 months, which is not a short period; he should not give customer the price and collect the payment if he is not authorized to do that. It’s not true
that I insisted to write a check, instead your partner asked for it. It doesn't make logic sense, how does a customer to able to force service professional to accept payment when the service person is not sure about the amount? The fundamental problem in
my opinion is that your partner and you cannot agree on the price later and give me different stories.

On September 12, 2014 2:10 pm, your partner called me and said you could fire him because of this, said he did not know the cost of the permit and asked me to contact you again. I was very accommodating and offered to pay your additional $225, which will
cover the amount you billed for the permit work you did. Isn't that fair?

It’s good to hear that you offer to help me to get reimbursed from home warranty company, I will be glad to work with you, please let me know the next steps.

Regards,

Yi Li

Business Response: I feel my offer to reduce the invoice amount and help with reimbursement from your Home Warranty company in order to settle this matter prior to the complaint being filed with BBB more than fair considering the other bid that you received and the bid I received from another company.  Therefore I reject your offer and now take back my offer.  The invoice stands as it is.  I also cannot help you get money back from the home warranty company that you are refusing to pay.

To reiterate, **** is not my partner or my salesman especially since he has only been helping me out for 3 months.  That and the fact he just move here from El Paso should have given it away that he hasn't been with me long enough to know how to bid. In my opinion, you should have double checked with me since you hired my company.  He also doesn't insist on anything such as a check on a Saturday when he knows I'm going to bill you.  Maybe there was a language barrier?

He told you that I would bill you for the whole job to include my time and permitting (which a guy from El Paso would not know about the rules of permitting in ***** **** so he definitely ouldn't know how to bid on it).

You can pick apart my invoice all you want but it is what it is.  If you had the experience, knowledge, license and insurance that it takes to do electrical work you would have done this job yourself.  If you had time and patience you would have gotten the job a lot cheaper. If you had listened to me when I said go ahead and get someone else you would have been paying less.  You chose me and out of the goodness of my heart, I took the job to help you out even though I was on vacation.  For me to do this job right I had to spend a lot of time preparing for it just like you have to prepare for your job to do it right. I even gave up my last 24 hours of my vacation for your rental property.  I may be wrong but I don’t believe that you know the answers to every situation that comes your way at your job and so you probably research it and prepare and then fix the situation.  So the time on the job or the actual physical part of a job is not the only time spent to complete a job correctly.  By the way, most master electricians charge $300 plus permit fees and time to get the permit because the burden and responsibility of the job all lies on the master electrician.  

At this point I feel we can not come to an agreement.  If you are unwilling to pay the balance of $660 within the next 7 days then my attorney and I will take the matter to court where I will be asking for a judgment of $660 plus interest, late fees, attorney’s fees and court cost and anything else she feels is appropriate.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I mailed A-one additional $660 check today, which will cover the whole $1,235 in invoice with previous $575 **** collected on Sept/6 please sent me the receipt when you receive it.

I sent A-one additional money not because I accept your response, as a customer I am extremely unhappy. I am tired of this and the amount of money cannot justify the time and energy for court.

To response your message:
1. You presented **** as your partner on Sept/5 when you on vocation, it's the A-one owner's responsibility to make sure worker will not make un-authorized bit and bill.
2. **** gave me lower bit for the job on Sept/5 is the determine factor that I selected A-one for service. After the repair is done and bill is collected, you give me the bill more than double, it's not ethic! Also when you on vocation, how can I double check with you, how much more you will charge me for answering the phone? 
3. There are many errors in the invoice, which should be reasonable and you can only bill for the work you authorized to do. To list out:
a. You first charged me 2 hours for talking to me on Sept/5, I showed you all together 16 minutes of phone conversation. Then you changed that charge to code research, which  a master electrician should know, you cannot bill your learning to customer.
b. You put extra 2 hours regular time on invoice, when I asked what it is, you took it out. On Sept/6, you first put 4.5 hour, later it changed to 4 hour after I show when **** came and left.
c. The part and permit is $50+$35=$85 instead of $175
But you do not want to change invoice total number, which is not reasonable.
4. Even assume **** screwed up and did not know the real cost of permit, I offered you additional $225, which exactly covers your 2 hours + $35 permit fee. You rejected for no good reason and keep high pressure threatening.

As a customer, I felt been taken advantage for trusting A-one.








Regards,

** **


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on A-One Electric
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart