Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Something More LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Something More LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Something More LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 2010 Business started: 07/10/2009 in TX Business started locally: 07/10/2009 Business incorporated 07/10/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Miss. Deanna Brooks, Executive Assistant Ms. Julia McCurley, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Miss. Deanna Brooks, Executive Assistant
Principal: Ms. Julia McCurley, Manager
Business Category

Dating Service

Products & Services

Something More LLC offers the following product(s): matchmaking and dating services

Method(s) of Payment
amex, mastercard, visa, checks, cash

Additional Locations

  • 9009 Mountain Ridge Dr  Ste 250

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 810-8803


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Something More failed to deliver its advertised services. I was not matched with individuals that were compatible; rather, I was matched with seemingly random candidates without regard to intake or preferences. Additionally, Something More advertised that it would go out and find a date if they did not have any suitable candidates. That advertisement proved false. Something More was not responsive to my requests/complaints.

Desired Settlement: Refund for 6 months of service.

Business Response: I am sorry to learn of ********'s dissatisfaction with my services as we fulfilled all obligations as outlined in her contract. Attached is a copy of her signed contract indicating she agreed to the no refund clause.

1. Regarding her claim that we had no compatible matches for her, she was given a description ahead of time prior to any introduction being scheduled,
and per the contract client is solely responsible for approving the match. She was not forced to go out with anyone. If she thought the match
wasn't right for her, she could have declined the introduction.  

2, Regarding her claim that we did not have enough compatible matches for her, her contract started 9/9/13 and expired 3/9/14. During that 6 month time frame,  ******** received 9 introductions when only 6 were promised demonstrating we had plenty of appropriate matches for her to approve as well our commitment to satisfying ********'s relationship goals.

3. I did my best to match her criterion considering she wrote she was flexible on many criterion on her profile which she filled out herself.

4  The contract states there are no refunds in both section 2 and section 8.

5. The contract states there are no warranties regarding matches in section 7. 
Disclaimer of Warranties.  Client understands that the nature of Services being performed is such that there are innumerable reasons for Client
to be dissatisfied with a Candidate or Introduction provided by Company.  Client is solely responsible for agreeing to meet Candidates presented by Company for Introductions and for the outcome of
all Introductions arranged, and understands that the performance of Company’s
Service is deemed satisfied upon such Introductions.
6  During my initial meeting with ********, she had ample time
to review the contract (attached) and even initialed each paragraph indicating
she understood the terns and conditions of the agreement. If she had any
questions or concerns she was free to address those at that time. ******** is an
attorney herself so one would surmise she  is very skilled at reading contracts.

7. On a side note, she paid $3510 not $4k.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Looking back at my experience with this company I feel like I was totally deceived. During my initial meeting they laid on the sales pitch really thick. ***** acted like my best friend, and unfortunately caught me at a time when I was very vulnerable (day before Valentine's Day). I was shown three very expensive options for membership. When I inquired about cheaper options I was dismissed. ***** led me to believe that the men I would be meeting would also be making a similar financial commitment to finding love. Based on that and the promises she made to me on how many great men they had ready to meet me, I signed up for the service. I later discovered that an inexpensive database membership was an option. When I inquired about it ***** sent me an email admitting that that there is a database option, but it was not available to women of my age. However, it was actually presented to an acquaintance/now friend of mine who is 1 year older than me around the time I joined the service (she is willing to speak to that fact if necessary). Additionally 1/3 of the men they set me up with voluntarily admitted that they actually paid nothing to *****. After my first date with someone that paid nothing I told ***** how upset I was and specifically asked her not set me up with anyone in that scenario. However, she proceeded to then set me up with someone else who paid nothing. That date actually mentioned that ***** explicitly told him to not tell anyone that he did not pay anything as that would prevent her from making any money (I can provide his information if necessary). I believe that Something More misrepresented membership levels to me prior to contract signing due to my ability to pay the full contractual amount. They also misrepresented the number of actual matches with similar financial commitments they would have available to me. I am not comfortable with dating men that know I paid thousands for the service, while they paid nothing. I have been taken advantage of previously by men financially, and would never knowingly put myself in such an awkward position that could result in the same situation. Consequently I would never have signed the contract knowing that was *****s intent. I have made multiple requests to ***** to get my money back due to her misrepresentation of how this business actually works. Unfortunately she will not let me out of the contract. I have no desire to continue working with this business as I have no trust in their business practices, and am now turning to the BBB for help in resolving this issue.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a full refund of the amount I paid ($7000).

Business Response: Receiving *****’s complaint is very disappointing as I have always had satisfied clients.  It is especially disappointing considering that ***** had her lawyer send me a demand letter (attached)  accusing me of fraud about these same issues last month and now she is trying to use the BBB too.  All I tried to do was give ***** the level of service that I understood she wanted.  She told me she traveled a lot and that she had men she was interested in that she found on her own. So looking at my membership options, she chose the President’s Level which lets Clients put their membership on hold while they travel or in *****’s case, dated around outside of my service. ***** put her membership on hold then came back when she was done dating around.  I would think that if cost was an issue for *****, she would have told me.  And if cost was an issue, I wouldn’t think she would have chose the higher cost membership ($7K)instead of the less expensive one ($3K).  But the higher cost memberships are the only ones that allow clients to put their membership on hold, so that’s what she chose.  I just don’t understand why how much everybody else pays is so important to *****.  And I never knew that was important to her until she stopped using my service.  What matches pay and what members pay and what anybody else pays is just not important because everybody is looking for something different so they pay different amounts.  For example, I offer image consulting, coaching, etc as part of my matchmaking packages, but some people don’t want all that.  So they don’t pay for the bells and whistles.  ***** told me she wanted all of that, so I coached her and did image consulting and found matches for her too.  And she paid the higher fee for all of that.  What’s important is that everyone who gets matched or is a member promises that they are using my service to find a long term relationship.  That’s in the contract.  My contract doesn’t say that I’ll only match you with people who pay me or that everyone will pay the same amount.  I’m not an online dating database.  I’m a matchmaker.  I don’t just match members with other members of my service anyway.  I search outside my members for matches for them.  And of course, people who aren’t members of my service don’t pay me.  Maybe if ***** had told me her worries about being taken advantage of by men, or told me that she only wanted to be matched with people who paid at her membership level, I could have only matched her with members who paid at her membership level or higher.  And I could still do that.  But I had no idea before she told me.   And I never lied to ***** about anything.  I was upfront with how my business works and tried to be a friend.  It certainly was never my intent to put ***** in an awkward position that could result in her being taken advantage of by men in a financial way. I’m so disappointed that ***** doesn’t trust my business and doesn’t want to finish out her contract, but I think her saying she doesn’t want to go forward with me finding her a match actually resolves everything and we can go our separate ways.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I attempted to protect ***** from having this embarrassing debate on a public forum by sending her a demand letter.  However, her lawyer’s response (which she attached) forced me to pursue this matter with the BBB. 

Once again I am totally disappointed in *****’s response to this situation as she continually misrepresents the facts.  (1) She has not always had satisfied clients, and has been caught lying by others according to submissions on Yelp.  (2)  She did not give me the level of service I requested.  Instead she misrepresented how her business works, lied about my options, and then told my date to lie to me.  (3) Regarding our initial discussion…I told her that I HAD traveled a lot for work and would be done traveling soon.  That is why I delayed the start of the membership.  I have not traveled for work since March and can show evidence of that fact.  (4)  I also did not mention that I had men that I found on my own.  Why would I be looking for a service if that were the case?  (5)  Cost is not the issue.  The issue is that she lied about my options and gave me the distinct impression that everyone else I would meet had taken on a similar financial commitment to finding love.  (6)  I was not “dating around” when I put my membership on hold.  I met someone outside of her service and exclusively dated him during that time period.  (7) She never explained that she looks for matches outside of her service.  And I never felt the need to share my worries about being taken advantage of because ***** assured me that she had plenty of men in her service of similar financial commitment.  (8)  After my date with the original guy that told me he paid nothing I immediately called ***** to tell her how upset I was over that fact…especially because she gave me the impression everyone was signed up to one of three membership levels.  I then gave her a second chance.  However, after telling her to not set me up with anyone in that same situation she proceeded to do just that.  Furthermore she told him specifically NOT to tell me that he did not pay anything.  That blatant deception was the final straw that led me down this path of requesting reimbursement.  (9)  The gentlemen who did not pay anything also both told me that they are in her service…which is counter to her BBB response.  Both have had multiple dates via *****. 

I am rejecting *****’s BBB response.  Her misrepresentation of how her business works and deceptive business practices caused this situation, and I will continue to pursue this matter until I receive a full reimbursement of my $7000 contract value.  I appreciate the fact that she brought up my lawyer’s demand letter as it reminded me to also request reimbursement of the $500 worth of legal fees I have incurred due to her continued denial of the facts.  Overall I have submitted 2 personal emails, a demand letter (attached) and now two write-ups to the BBB regarding this matter.  If ***** really cared about client satisfaction instead of just keeping my money this matter would have been handled a long time ago.


***** *****

Business Response: ***** ***** is a lovely woman and  I am disappointed she is not wanting to continue using my service.  However, I must disagree with her allegation that "misrepresentation of how her business works and deceptive business practices caused this situation" for the following reasons:

 1. During my initial meeting with Ms *****, she reviewed the contract (attached) and even initialed each paragraph indicating she understood what to expect. If she had any questions or concerns she was free to address those at that time.  The contract is 5 pages long and clearly explains how my business works. 
2.  She was given a chance to review another document I show all new Clients called  "How Does The Process Work" (attached) in the consultation. 
3. She was not forced to go out with anyone .The contract clearly states that the Client is responsible for final approval of their match prior to being introduced. 
4. She states that she was not offered other memberships yet they are published on my website. I recommended the one that came with complimentary date coaching, image consulting, and being able to put her contract on hold which she took full advantage of all those features.
6. She was told in our initial meeting that my business model is that of an executive search firm meaning we provide a custom search tailored to what they are looking for. I do not match on who is paying what, I focus on compatibility and if she had asked me to do that, I would have said no, that is confidential information. I am sure she wouldn't appreciate me telling all her matches what she paid. 
7. I did my best to match her criterion considering she wrote flexible on most of them. 
7. The contract states there are no refunds.
8. The contract states there are no warranties. 

I would be happy to continue working with Ms *****.