This business is not BBB accredited.

Temple Santa Fe Credit Union

Phone: (254) 778-7222 1750 W Avenue A, Temple, TX 76504 http://www.templecreditunion.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Temple Santa Fe Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Temple Santa Fe Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 25, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1954 Business started locally: 02/01/1954 Business incorporated 02/01/1954 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Hamby, CEO Mr. Rodney Smith, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Hamby, CEO
Principal: Mr. Rodney Smith, Manager
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1750 W Avenue A

    Temple, TX 76504

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Puma Palomino Travel Trailer on August 28,2013 from Temple Santa Fe Credit Union. The travel trailer was a reposed vehicle and sold as is. When I took procession of the trailer I was told it needed tires but had one new tire on it. While pulling the trailer home that tire that they claim blew causing the tire directly behind it to blow also causing damage to the trailer, taking the tires to a local tire shop he said it blew because it was not a trailer tire that it is was a used car tire nothing of what should have been on the trailer as the ratings were not correct. When I signed the contract for the loan I was not told the breakdown of the TT&L, I was not granted a 45 day payment only 30 day. On September 13 at 4:54pm I received a text message from ******** (*******) ****** stating "Paperwork was rejected on trailer, tags are out, the funds are short 64.50...how do you wanna pay for it?". Why was the paperwork rejected? I knew the tags were out, how is it short $64.50?" "Cause the tags are out, 64.50 is needed to register it in you name" "Was that not put in the loan paperwork and financing?" "Nope" "Well I won't have it till ******* pays me again and I need to look at money for that check because I don't know how much it will be for. I thought everything was included because of tax title and license." " That's fine or I can add it to your personal loan and you keep your payment the same but you'll have to come in to sign paper's. I did but I didn't know tags we're out." " I'm not adding it to my personal loan but I will look at finances and figure out what I need to pay but I'm waiting on ******* to pay me also didn't know what my last check will be" "Ok let me know". I then received another text on September 17 at 11:58am "So how do you wanna handle the registration fees?" "I have not gotten paid and don't have money right now." On September 18 the funds of $64.50 were taken from my checking account to checks disbursed. I did not authorize anyone from Temple Santa Fe to take funds from my checking account. I later that day or the next day made it the credit union to find this out and spoke with ******* the accounting manager who put a credit in my account of $64.50 to cover my bills that I had scheduled to come out of the account. On September 24th when I received my last paycheck from Temple Santa Fe Credit Union the $64.50 was taken from my account. I still till this day have not authorized Temple Santa Fe Credit Union to withdraw $64.50 from my account. I received the registration paper for the travel trailer just a few days later only to read that they registered the trailer color as black when the trailer is clearly white. I spoke with ******* in person and she said that she would take care of it. I then spoke with ******* around the middle of October and he stated he would have it taken care of. Later in October I spoke with *** **** and she said she would get with ******* about it. Now that it is November I have still not received a corrected registration I called Tuesday the 12th and spoke with **** the New ************* and he stated that I would need to contact the dmv and have the color fixed myself and that they would not refund the $64.50.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $64.50 from their error, they should have know the registration was out of date when the reposed the trailer. I would also like the color fixed on the registration it should not be my responsibility, they sold the trailer to me.

Business Response:

When the complaintant left our employ, she owed the Credit Union the amount in question. As is common practice industry wide, the amount was withheld from the final entitlement. Attached is a copy of record with the DMV dated October 2, 2013. Our obligation in this matter Is complete.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


I resigned from Temple Santa Fe Community Credit Union on September 9,2013 and was not notified until September 13,2013 by text message from (***)********(*******). The funds should have been in my loan if they needed to be paid. This is not *******'s first loan and/or repossion sold!!!! The funds are not the ONLY request that I made, look at the registration paper the trailer is coded black and is white. You need to fix your paperwork and stop with the *word rejected*!! It is not my responsibility to fix the color with the dmv, you sold the trailer so fix it!!! Place the funds back in my account also!!

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

After a complete investigation have found the staff did follow up appropriately and had permission to withdraw from Ms ******'s account.

My Senior Loan Officer initiated the loan for Ms ****** on August 28th 2013, to purchase a repossessed travel trailer from the Credit Union. Her bank statement dated 8-0143 to 8-31-13 shows the total loan for $8,638.75. The breakdown indicates the sale price of $8,100., the tax and transfer fee of $538.75. On or about September 12, 2013 we received from the State of Texas, Tax Assessor— Collector, Bell County, the request for additional funds for the registration in the amount of 664.50. The Loan Officer called Ms ****** at her work number and Ms ****** asked her to send a text with the information. Ms ****** text back she would have to look at her funds and would respond. Getting no response, the Loan Officer sent a second text on or about the 18th of September requesting the $64.50. Ms ****** called the CFO and complained the $64.50 should have been included in the initial billing. He told her, we had let her know as soon as we knew the amount was insufficient and that it was a legitimate expense she would have to pay. She instructed the CFO to withdraw it from her account.

The next day, September 19, 2013, Ms ****** called the CFO back and stated she would be short and asked if the funds could be put back until she received her last pay on the 24th. He agreed to redeposit the funds and withdraw it again after she received her last direct deposit of pay. 5he agreed.

Since that time she has been back to complain stating it was our mistake and she should not have to pay the $64.50. The CFO stated it was a legit expense and if she wanted a credit it would be up to the Loan Officer or the CEO. The loan officer denied her request as did I. Unsatisfied with our response she has filed a complaint with your office.

Once Ms ****** received the registration, she brought to our attention the color of the travel trailer was incorrect. We contacted the Tax Assessor— Collectors office and had it corrected.

Feel free to contact me if you need anything further.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I did not authorize the debit to my account!! I have never received anything for the registration showing that it had been fixed last time I spoke with mike he said to call the dmv myself this company is full of shit and I want the proof that I authorized the debit from my account and the registration from the dmv!!! 
Regards,

****** ******