Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Public Employees Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 474-1955 Fax: (512) 474-2731 View Additional Phone Numbers 306 E 10th St, Austin, TX 78701 https://www.pecutx.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Public Employees Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Public Employees Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1980 Business started: 10/01/1952 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/1952 Business incorporated 10/01/1952 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Whitcomb, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Whitcomb, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    306 E 10th St

    Austin, TX 78701 (800) 772-1955 (512) 474-1955

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2205

    Austin, TX 78768

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 2015, I attempt to withdraw funds from the ATM at the Public Employees Credit Union (Walnut Creek Branch) 8013 Centre Park Drive Austin, TX 78754. The ATM did not dispense requested funds, However my bank account was debited for the amount. I immediately came in contact with the bank manager (***** *****). ***** attitude towards me was very careless and unprofessional. She s****d I'm going to have to wait one week until the ATM company (Brinks) comes out and audit the ATM. 8 days later I contacted *****, she s****s the ATM had a malfunction but due to the fact she is busy with other things she was unable to assist me, then ***** hangs up the phone in my face. I have never experienced such carelessness from ANY banking institution.

Desired Settlement: An Apology from ***** ***** for her unprofessionalism towards me & $380 the ATM was suppose to disperse.

Business Response:

We did not receive the first BBB notification that you referred to.  The first notification that we received was on 1/17/2016. 

******** **** is not a member of PECU nor is he an accountholder at our credit union.  PECU did not issue the card used by Mr. **** at our ATM in this disputed transaction.  Mr. **** did not talk to the credit union Branch Manager.  Mr. **** did talk to the PECU branch Head Teller. The responsibility for this particular problem is primarily that of the card-issuer, not PECU.  However, we worked hard to help Mr. **** and, as of last Friday, January 15, Mr. ****’s funds were restored, despite the fact that the card-issuer never contacted PECU regarding his dispute. 

Mr. **** requested a $380 ATM withdrawal at PECU’s Walnut Creek branch ATM and s****d that he did not receive the requested funds.  Mr. **** requested the withdrawal using a card not issued by PECU.     Mr. **** must go back to the institution that issued the card that he put in PECU’s ATM machine to request the $380 ATM withdrawal to begin his dispute of the ATM transaction.  The card issuing institution should then send a dispute form to PECU.  PECU would then look at its ATM balancing information to verify whether or not the transaction disbursed his funds or not.  All financial institutions would be forced to address this situation exactly the same way that PECU tried to resolve the issue. All disputes originate at the institution that issued the card used in any disputed transaction.  The company that issued Mr. ****’s card never contacted PECU about the dispute Mr. **** filed. 

After Mr. **** starts the dispute process with the card issuing institution, PECU should receive a dispute form from the card issuing institution.  Once the dispute can be verified by PECU, we would then credit the account of the institution that issued Mr. ****’s card.  Then the institution that issued Mr. ****’s card would be responsible for getting any monies owed to Mr. **** back to him.    Mr. **** expected his funds back immediately. But when a card is used at an ATM not owned by the card-issuing institution, and there is a dispute, the resolution takes much more time.  We do not have access to Mr. ****’s account information and must rely on the card-issuer to inform us of the facts of the dispute.

Mr. **** became agi****d once he learned that we could not immediately give him back the money that he s****d he did not receive from our ATM.  I understand his agitation and I would be agi****d as well as $380 is a lot of money.  But in this case the dispute must be filed with the card issuing institution.   ATMs are wonderful and provide easy and convenient access to your money – when they function properly.  When an ATM does not function properly, a cardholder must file a disputed transaction report directly with the card issuing institution.  When you need to file a dispute for non-receipt of funds from an ATM, it will be quicker if the ATM is owned by the same institution that issued the card.  When the ATM is owned by a different institution from the institution that issued the card; you have the worst case scenario as far as getting the dispute handled quickly. 

Again, PECU was able to resolve this error and restore Mr. ****’s funds without the card-issuer taking responsibility as required by federal regulations. 


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Yes, the dispute has been resolved and funds have been received. However, the customer service experience was unsatisfactory. Again, ***** ***** the Walnut Creek Branch "Lead Teller" attitude towards me was unacceptable. No ifs, and or buts about it. When ******** **** entered the bank on 12/29/2015 and informed ***** about the ATM issue, she blew it off as she did not care. ***** swore up and down I was delusional, due to the fact I was the only customer that had an issue with the ATM. I was so bothered, I contacted the Vice President of PECU banks - ****. **** apologized to me on the behalf on ***** *****, and s****s she could have done a better job, and he would personally address the issue with *****. The only reason I received my funds back was by contacting PECU upper management . ***** ****** the VP of Financial Services was very sympathetic and helpful & assured me she would do everything in her power to returned the owed funds to me. I am very aware that when these malfunctions happen, it will take time to complete the dispute due to the fact I am not a member of PECU Bank. However, there is NO reason to mistreat customers. PERIOD. 

Regards,


******** *  ****

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issue that I have tried to address numerous times now is that on my TransUnion report, this account is being reported as open with a balance due of $829.00. This account is closed. I have a copy of the title. On 1/11/2013, 6/6/2013, 7/9/2013, and 7/24/2013, and 8/27/2013 I disputed the inaccurate information with TransUnion and it was subsequently verified as correct each time. My second area of concern is that "hard" inquiry was done on my Equifax credit report on July 24, 2013. Another "hard" inquiry was done August 28, 2013 on both my husband and I's Equifax reports. There was no permissible purpose for me or my husband's credit to be pulled by PECU. Neither of us authorized a pull by phone or in writing.

Desired Settlement: I want the hard inquires removed from my and my husband's credit reports and I want my TransUnion report to be updated to reflect a zero balance and paid in full.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Public Employees Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)