Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Public Employees Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 474-1955 Fax: (512) 474-2731 View Additional Phone Numbers 306 E 10th St, Austin, TX 78701 https://www.pecutx.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Public Employees Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Public Employees Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Public Employees Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1980 Business started: 10/01/1952 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/1952 Business incorporated 10/01/1952 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Whitcomb, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Whitcomb, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans


Additional Locations

  • 306 E 10th St

    Austin, TX 78701 (800) 772-1955 (512) 474-1955

  • PO Box 2205

    Austin, TX 78768

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issue that I have tried to address numerous times now is that on my TransUnion report, this account is being reported as open with a balance due of $829.00. This account is closed. I have a copy of the title. On 1/11/2013, 6/6/2013, 7/9/2013, and 7/24/2013, and 8/27/2013 I disputed the inaccurate information with TransUnion and it was subsequently verified as correct each time. My second area of concern is that "hard" inquiry was done on my Equifax credit report on July 24, 2013. Another "hard" inquiry was done August 28, 2013 on both my husband and I's Equifax reports. There was no permissible purpose for me or my husband's credit to be pulled by PECU. Neither of us authorized a pull by phone or in writing.

Desired Settlement: I want the hard inquires removed from my and my husband's credit reports and I want my TransUnion report to be updated to reflect a zero balance and paid in full.