Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Navy Army Community Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (361) 986-4500 Fax: (361) 986-8055 View Additional Phone Numbers 5725 Spohn Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78414 http://www.navyarmyccu.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Navy Army Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Navy Army Community Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Navy Army Community Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1955 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sarah O'Brien, President Mr. Gerry Morrow, Senior VP of Lending Dana Sisk, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sarah O'Brien, President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Products & Services

Navy Army Community Credit Union offers the following product(s): FINANICAL SERVICES


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Navy Army Community Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12129 Leopard St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78410

  • 2207 Highway 35 N Ste E

    Rockport, TX 78382

  • 2505 N Saint Marys St

    Beeville, TX 78102

  • 2730 Rodd Field Rd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78414

  • 285 Buddy Ganem

    Portland, TX 78374

  • 2940 S Brahma Blvd

    Kingsville, TX 78363

  • 4802 Crosstown Expy

    Corpus Christi, TX 78415

  • 522 Airline Rd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78412 (361) 986-4500

  • 5725 Spohn Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78414

  • Building 125 Ave. D Naval Air Station

    Corpus Christi, TX 78419

  • PO Box 81349

    Corpus Christi, TX 78468

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a savings account a few years ago with NavyArmy. I had trouble setting up the account online so I went into the offices to set up my account. From then on, I have had trouble accessing my account online or trying to be able to connect my account to my other accounts online at another bank. I have gone in and notified the tellers of this and they re-direct me online. I forgot my password once and instead of given a link to reset the password or texted a temporary password, I was told to email or call the 1-800 number where my only options were to check the balance of my account or order checks. None of which was useful to me.

Desired Settlement: I would either like them to help me set up on online banking so I can reach it from anywhere, not just on their computers at their banks and allow clients an opportunity to reset their passwords from the website. Or do away with their whole electronic and how easy it is campaign because it obviously is not correct.

Business Response:

Ms. ******,

I received your information from the Better Business Bureau and conducted a review of the documentation provided.   I am sorry you experienced difficulty when requesting assistance from our staff.  We have discussed ways this might have been perceived and actions we can take in the future to prevent this negative perception.  It can be a very difficult and emotional time when members are dealing with issues on their account.

My understanding is that we contacted you on May 16th and resolved the issue you were experiencing with Online Banking.  If you continue to experience issues, or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly  ******** **** ****.

 

Thank you,

***** ******

VP Remote Operations

***********************

4/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my vehicle was repossessed for behind payment. I called the person handling my account **** ***** at 8 am to discuss fees necessary to pay to get back the car. I was told he didn't have the fees from the tow company yet but it would be 650-750 and as days progressed there would be storage fees incurred. I called a second time an hour later and was told he still did not have the fees from tow company available yet. I called after lunch and left a voicemail asking for a call back when charges were available. I called again at 3:45 after not hearing back and at that point was given a phone number to tow facility and was then told they close at 3 and I would be charged an extra day storage , it was at conversation I was also told those fee would be paid directly to the storage facility. I was never told that I would pay those fees separately and in my initial conversation I did inform Mr. ***** that I had gotten the money for what was past due and just need to know what else I needed for tow fees. I was also told in the last conversation that I was to pay my lienholder who would then issue a release and I would be able to go and pay tow company. Never once was that said in our first 2 conversations as I had that money available and would have been able to go pay and not incur the extra day of storage. This company has repossessed my car once before and I was current on my account. I had to take a day off work and was told a supervisor would call me but I never got a call or letter or explanation or apology.

Desired Settlement: I think Navy Army should reimburse the extra day of storage as I was never given the proper information or the phone number until the end of day when it was already too late

Business Response:

Ms. ********, NavyArmy has received your complaint and concern posted to the BBB - Central Texas website. At this time, we are gathering information regarding. We will respond as soon as possible.

Thank you.

****** *****

VP Marketing

Business Response:

Ms. ******** - Thank you for your feedback.  I have spoken with our Collections Manager, ***** *****, regarding your account.  He asked that I pass along his contact information so that you and he could come to a resolution.  Please call him at ************, ext. ****.

Thank you.

****** *****

VP of Marketing

5/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told and emailed this special rate, I am a combat Vet move my money over. Its a great rate, but try to earn it! Like in those cheap car lots, "bait and switch" Using the name of a services to gain trust..... So I have 2 issues: bait / switch and using the Navy / Army name, to cheat the same who die / loss arms and legnr

Desired Settlement: 1. Stop using Army / Navy as a way to get trust, it is disrespect to the women / men who die / and loss more than money. Joe's cheap car loans, should be the name. To match the business 2. Return my money and interested stated to me at the time, to the date it is all returned.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* –
 
First and foremost, thank you for your service to our country. 
 
This is in response to your complaint #********:  We have offered the Liberty checking account since 2009.  Since then, we have 24,943 members using this account.  The three qualifications to earn a monthly dividend and ATM fee refunds have been the same since inception.  If qualifications are met, a dividend of 3.51% APY up to $25,000 and ATM fee refunds are applied to the account monthly.  Balances above $25,000 will earn an interest rate of 0.51% APY. 
If the qualifications are not met, a dividend of 0.101% APY is applied to the account balance. 
 
Here are the monthly qualifications for your convenience:
•Make 10 NavyArmy debit card purchases each month
•Set up one monthly Direct Deposit or authorize one monthly ACH payment from your account
•Enroll and receive Electronic Statements; (valid e-mail address is required)
•One Liberty Checking account per household
 
To receive the high annual percentage yield and ATM fee refunds nationwide, you must meet the qualifications each monthly statement cycle.
 
Our records indicate that your accounts were set up in accordance with the instructions we received from you.  We strive to clearly explain the terms and conditions of all new accounts at the time of opening.  If you would like to discuss closing your accounts, please contact ***** ******* at the Brownsville location.  We will work with your wishes.
 
You may contact ***** ******* at ***** ******** ** ************* **** ****
*********** ****** ** ******* ** **** ** **** ******** ** ************ ***** ****** ***** ***** *** ****** * ******** ****** * ******* ****** ****** * ******* *** ******** ****** * ******

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******** *******

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My bank is denying me the use of my card for credit purchases when i am out of town unless I inform them of my departure ahead with dates that i will be gone. It's a complete invasion of my privacy which they have verbally told me over the phone that they will not/can not remove.

Desired Settlement: As a customer I should be allowed to remove a service i did not ask for that is an extreme invasion of my privacy. I should never have to give a business/company my where abouts or inform someome how long I'll be away from home. For privacy reasons as well as security this should be allowed to be removed.

Business Response: *** ******** -

Protecting our members from fraud is Navy Army Community Credit Union's highest priority.  The block on your debit card is a result of our fraud detection program and is for your account security. NavyArmy's fraud detection program looks for purchases outside the  member's normal purchasing patterns, unusual time-frames and geographic locations of purchases.  The program also identifies and recognizes when a purchase pattern is consistent with previously identified fraud trends.  We encourage our members to notify NavyArmy if traveling, so that there is no disruption of service due to these blocks.

If you have further questions, please feel free to call me at - ###-###-####*****.

****** *****
** *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I did not choose nor do I intend to let someone know when I am out of town on an impromtu vacation. Navy Army operational hours do not give customers the freedom to travel when they wish. Ex: I was left stranded in Houston without a way to pull money for case to finish my drive back how because I did not inform Navy Army ahead of time of my location nor did I know I needed too and there offices where close. I had to wait an hour and a half on my friend to meet me with money for gas cause me to be stuck in traffic an extra hour.

This is a disservice to their customers and as I ALREADY mentioned an invasion of my privacy! This is not a service I wish for nor did I ask for it. You, Navy Army, do not have the right to know when I choose to leave to another town. I have talked to them on a prior date after the Houston incident which was to correct this issue. I was told that I would no longer have to worry about it happening again. It is evident that that was a fabrication which is why I was later AGAIN to a work event that was a mere 3 hours away because of a 150$ purchase. This is unacceptable.

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response:

*** ******** -

As stated in our response on April 25, NavyArmy uses fraud detection programs that block certain debit card transactions based on indicators of potential fraud.  These programs are in place to protect your funds.  We DO NOT require that members notify us of their travel plans, but you may voluntarily do so to prevent the potential inconvenience of having card transactions blocked by our standard fraud prevention programs.  Such notification is entirely up to you, but not required.  We would welcome a chance to speak with you about ways to ensure your debit card works when you need it, while still protecting you from potential fraud.  We are confident we can resolve your concerns.  Please contact me at this number, and I will connect you with a manager in our card services department. 
 
****** *****
** *********
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******* ********


In your message you state that you do not require me to contact you before I travel. This is a falsification on your part. I have already been told more than once that if I wish to use my card more than 100 miles from home that I would need to notify NavyArmy of all my days that I would be travelling and were in order to use it at time or purchase. Again this is an invasion of my privacy. There is no other way it can be described. I have spoken with managers already that have told me the exact same thing and WILL NOT allow me the ability to remove this. 

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Navy Army Community Credit Union is debiting $43.15 for a premium for a life insurance policy that I never enrolled for. I just realized that $43.15 has been deducted from my account since September 2014. I called to dispute fraud with the manager ****. Then, I just got the run around and just got that they were in a meeting card. Therefore, I went in person to resolve the matter and filled a form to receive credit and to my dismay, Navy Army would only credit only up to 60 days. I was so upset and called the company American General Life (AGI) that is the creditor. AGI had no record of my name and could only retrieve transactions for only $10.85 for somebody other than me. I am tired just waiting around and decided to make a complaint against Navy Army Community Credit Union.

Desired Settlement: My desired settlement is that I expect to get refunded $43.15 times 4 months that I have not been credited for. The total amount that is owed to my account is $172.60. I am demanding that accounting from the Credit Union return my money back to me and that is the bottom line.

Business Response: *** ******** -
I am looking into this complaint.  I just wanted to get back to you so that you knew NavyArmy had received the complaint and I am gathering information.

Thank you.

****** *****
** *********

2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I currently hold a mortgage with Navy Army Community Credit Union and I comply with their requirement to have windstorm insurance on the property. I received notice that they did not have proof of my coverage in September of 2014 and I called to provide them with proof at that time by having my insurance company fax them a copy. Navy Army then purchased windstorm insurance on my behalf in October of 2014. I called again to provide proof and they said they had the proof and would credit my account within 10-14 days. In November I was still not credited the amount. I called again to provide proof by fax. In January they again purchased additional windstorm insurance in the amount of $1466, but then credited my account only $1388. I called on January 27, 2015, to question why I never received a refund from October of 2014, and why the credit for January fell short of the entire amount. They stated I wasn't credited for the entire amount because there was a gap in coverage when in fact, there was never any gap in coverage. The representative was supposed to have called back yesterday but never did. I am in somewhat of a conundrum because I have recently moved out of state and before I left, I went into a branch twice to change my address with them and they failed both times to update so they have no current address on file to communicate with me. I spoke with the representative about this yesterday as well and she said she would update the address and it would take 30 minutes. It too, has not been done.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a letter of apology, my address to be updated as requested and a FULL refund for BOTH policies purchased.

Business Response:

*** ******,

On behalf of Navy Army Community Credit Union, I would like to first apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.  A formal letter will be mailed to you per your request.  Furthermore, all refunds have been processed and the address has been corrected on your account.

If you have any questions, you can call ****** ********, **** ********* **** **************, ###-###-####.  She is the staff person who handled your issue and can be of the most assistance.  Her email is *************************.

Sincerely,
****** *****
** *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I respectfully request additional time to evaluate as I have not yet received a refund or a letter. Navy Army Credit Union stated they needed 10-14 days to process the request so the 7 day notice to resolve the issue per the BBB policy is not enough time.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

Per **** ******'s request, NavyArmy Community Credit Union has refunded all fees associated with Complaint ******** and has sent a certified letter of apology to address listed on the complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

1/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issues revolves around my Veterans Benefits. The bank released my Disability Benefits from the Veterans Administration late. The money was released by the Veterans Administration on November 28, 2014 but the bank didn't release my funds on time and that has now caused me and my wife getting stuck in Ohio with her sister and now I am unable to get back to Texas, which is my home state. I have medical issues that need to be handled by the Veteran Medical Facility as well as the Veterans Administration near Dallas, but now due to the problems with the bank not releasing my funds on time, more things are being delayed. This is an unacceptable practice and I know for a fact that I was not the only Veteran that was affected by this issue. I hope by this complaint, this that will never happen again. There are enough things that are wrong with the VA system, but this time it wasn't them, it was the bank not releasing the funds when they were suppose to. As soon as I am able to get back to Texas, I will be leaving this bank and I know many other veterans will be doing the same and they will be going to another credit union.

Desired Settlement: The outcome that I want from this is a change in company policy and a reassurance that all military members and veterans that are still with this credit union doesn't get to experience this again. I wish I was able to get home to texas and be able to seek the help that I need and spend the holidays in peace, but that asking way to much. It is hard enough to be living on one income in this society today and not get the help needed and required, but to keep fighting all these extra issues and problems only makes certain conditions like PTSD even worse cause it is unneeded stresses that shouldn't be there and it should't happen in the first place. I need this issue to really go to this credit union and I hope and pray that with the BBB behind us, this will get fixed and never happen again.

Business Response: BBB -

I am gathering information at this time so that I can respond to the complaint.  I just wanted you to know status.

Thank you.

Business Response:

*** ****** -

I am sorry for the delayed response.  We have researched the transaction that you referred to in your complaint #********. 

First and foremost, NavyArmy follows all state and federal laws in posting direct deposits on the effective date as indicated by the paying institution. 

We reviewed the direct deposit details for the account transaction.  I can confirm that benefits were posted according to the instructions received from the VA.  

Due to privacy restrictions, I am not permitted to include specific information related to this matter, but if you would like more explanation, you may contact ******* ****** at ###-###-#### *****.  She is the one who handled our research.

Thank you.

****** *****
********* ********

5/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my checking account closed without notice and $366.00 taking from my account that they say was owed since 2006 on another account. The fact that I was not notified about either action or was offered a explanation but that in 2006 I overdrew my account and then opened a new one and that the amount was never paid. I know nothing about this other account or why they waited 8 years to charge me for something when in those years Ive been in good standing with my account. I understand that I do not use my checking that much, and that might be the reason they closed it but without notice at all and to take money without telling me is just bad business. I now live in Florida so reopening the account is not a option I was told. To make matters worse I can't look at nothing but my savings, all history of my checking is gone. I don't know but it seems strange that they say I overdrew my account and let me open a new one at the same time, which I did not, and then 8 years later want to take my money. I did write two emails and spoke to a guy in collections who said he would have someone call me or email me. It's been a week and they just blew me off... They can't just take money and make up excuses and expect me to forget about it.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back!

Business Response:

***** –

 

I just spoke with you.  Here is my contact information below.  Please feel free to call me if needed. 

 

As I stated over the phone, I will deposit funds into your current savings account.  Your checking account has been closed.  We will not re-open the checking account per your request.

 

At this time, I do not have the exact amount.  I will send as soon a I get verification from our Accounting Dept.

 

Thank you for your account and concern that you brought to the BBB.  We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.  Although, we never like to make mistakes, we APPRECIATE members like you who give us feedback so, if needed, we can change processes to better serve our members.  After all everyone loves the opportunity to make things RIGHT! 

 

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

 

Best,

******

***** –

 

Ok…the final amount that was deposited is $336.15.

 

Please log in to your account to confirm receipt.  And if you figure out where you came up with $366.00 (below BBB complaint ##******* ), let me know.

 

I have cc’d the BBB Representative for her files, *** ********.

 

Best,

******

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: I have spoken to various people about this and do no want to have to go to courts or press charges on any professional. Navy Army Community Credit Union has made an invalid tow on my property claiming it is a repo when it is not there is no lien holder. The information was already sent to various departments including the vice President ****** ****, Mr. ****** and Mrs. **********. They are unwilling to cooperate with me the owner of the vehicle and unwilling to negotiate with me either. I do not want them to have incurred loses for their mistakes however do have rights reserved to it. I have reported it to authority made police report proving it is auto theft 13-31198 and unlawful for them to do that since there is no validities in the contract without a signatures and breaches. It states so in the contract plus Department of Motor Vehicles shows I, ******** *****, am the owner.

Desired Settlement: In fairness, I tell them willing to negotiate a refinance value of the vehicle but refused. If not pursue all legal action to press legal theft charges on them I am legally protected by Texas law and the consumer credit reports it is an "NOT VALID" if the report this delinquent on any of my accounts. Attached is proof of owner ship and the invalid contract. X. ******** ***** ********** *********** * *********** ************ | Cell

Business Response: Thank you for this opportunity to respond to the complaint referenced above.
Navy Army and its attorneys maintain that we have a binding loan contract with Ms. ***** and that it is in compliance with the various legal requirements. In addition, our research reveals that the lien against the vehicle is also valid. Any further communications with Ms. ***** are being handled through Navy Army's legal counsel.
Please feel free to contact me with any further questions. We look forward to resolving this issue in the best manner possible.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Attach is contract. There is not valid for loan agreement with Navy Army Credit Union as seen for the facts
1 contains breaches
2 as stated in contract  NOT VALID until it was signed
 
Please look at x._______________ where signature belongs on the contracts.

Regards,

******** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Navy Army Community Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart