Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Generations Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Generations Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1978 Business started: 07/01/1940 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/1940
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ashley Harris, Director of Public Relations Mr. Tim F. Haegelin, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ashley Harris, Director of Public Relations
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Generations Community Federal Credit Union San Antonio City Employees Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 10660 W Fm 471

    San Antonio, TX 78251

  • 10718 Potranco Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78251

  • 1150 N Loop 1604 W

    San Antonio, TX 78248

  • 13311 N Us Highway 281

    San Antonio, TX 78216

  • 1735 S WW White Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78220

  • 18140 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78232

  • 1828 N Saint Marys St

    San Antonio, TX 78212

  • 1945 S W.W. White Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78222

  • 24165 W Ih 10

    San Antonio, TX 78257

  • 4005 Fredericksburg Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78201

  • 6000 NW Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78238

  • 7503 Yarrow Blvd

    San Antonio, TX 78224

  • 9255 FM 471 West

    San Antonio, TX 78250

  • 9311 San Pedro Ave Ste 1100

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 229-1128 (210) 230-9349

  • 9900 Wurzbach Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230

  • PO Box 791870

    San Antonio, TX 78279


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been fighting with Generations Member Solutions department since March 2013 with this very same issue. My husband and I both lost our jobs on the same day at the same time. Did not get our unused PTO or last pay checks. Our family of 7 went 6 weeks without any income. We have been as diligent as possible with our payments and have always stuck to our word when we commit to a payment. We have been treated horribly by tellers at the bank when we go in person to make a payment (which Generations was made aware of) AND we went through several processes to receive a Hardship break on our find out we were not eligible in the first place. We have never been given opportunities for some sort of relief or resolution. No Skip Payments, no nothing!!!! However, we continue to do our best and make payments as timely as we can. We pay all of our bills online. Generations is the only place that won't allow us to pay online (unless you bank with NO WAY!). We up until this month have been able to email the member solutions department with the payment information and they would process it. Until last week, when I submitted our payment information 7 days ago to process a payment on our truck loan. I submitted the information via email and through the generations website. Payment was not processed through either forum. This is unacceptable. If they want their money...they should process the payment.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a "fresh start" on our loan. We have made it this long without losing our vehicle and do not ever plan to. We rely on this vehicle. We have gone through a lot with losing our jobs unexpectedly. We are going through the proper channels to receive our money from our prior employment, but it is still pending in Arbitration almost 3 years later. We have insurances on the loan in place that should have protected our account that no one ever mentioned we could use at Generations. We pay for it every month! We just need a fresh start AND the ability to process payments online or via email. We do plan to ultimately refinance the vehicle as soon as possible (with another bank to get away from Generations), but in the mean time, it needs to be a 2 way street of cooperation. We pay them. They accept it in the form we submit it. Don't call me 3 and 4 times a day - if not more. You could have had payment a week ago!!! Obviously you don't want your money that bad!!!! BUT we are not giving up our process our payment and be done with it.

Business Response:  

Dear Ms. ********:

Thank you for your phone call regarding the Better Business Bureau complaint filed against Generations FCU by Ms. ***** *********. The Better Business Bureau ID number for this complaint is ********. It is important to note that due to federal privacy regulations on member accounts, we are limited in our ability to fully respond to Ms. *********’s concerns.

However, in response to Ms. *********’s request that either Skip-A-Payment or a hardship loan be offered, Generationspolicies and procedures indicate that both these products are only available to members who have a satisfactory repayment history, and/or no loan charge-offs on their account. Accordingly, as Ms. ********* indicated in her complaint, her current loan is not eligible for our Skip-A-Payment feature, and she is not eligible for a hardship loan.

With regard to the ability to email payment information, due to security purposes, Generations does not currently offer this service. Email is not considered a secure method of communication as we cannot ascertain who is sending the email without proper verification procedures. In the past, Generations occasionally allowed members to contact our Member Solutions Department via email. However, due to recent internal policy changes as a result of federal privacy regulations, we do not accept payment requests via email from any member.

However, we do encourage Ms. ********* to setup online payments through her primary financial institution's bill payment system which will allow for timely receipt of her GFCU loan payment.

Should you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at *************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  the people who really need skip payments or hard ship loans are the ones that are struggling and have a financial hardship.  By remaining close minded and not helping people who are trying their best and only giving them the run around and treating them as if they are losers, isn't the answer and will not help the credit union receive referrals.  To the contrary, anyone that I know, I mention the horrible treatment we have received by Generations.  I called to make a payment and a simple phone call to accept money on a loan, wasn't even simple. It's ridiculous.  Their website doesn't even allow you to make payments online unless you bank with them.  I will not give them the opportunity to maintain my bank accounts!  Not in this lifetime.  I have heard from previous officers of the company that I am not the only one who feels this way.  Limiting how people can pay, prolongs the process.  Generations should make it simple to pay them.  


***** *********

Business Response: As I mentioned previously, we are limited in our response because we cannot provide specific account details on Ms. *********’s accounts. Additionally, she’s requesting that we make special exceptions for her account which would violate federal lending practices.

I’ve tried to re-word our response to better reflect that. As I mentioned in my letter, we strongly encourage her to contact our Vice President of Risk Management in order to address specifics on her account.

Don’t hesitate to let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks again!

Kindest Regards,

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I am not asking for special exceptions for our account.  I am speaking for any and all customers of Generations.  Limiting how you receive payments on all ends AND by not being willing to work with/help and or take care of customers who are going through a financial hardship only reflects negatively on Generations.  It is not a federal guideline to not be able to pay thru your website.  The only option that Generations currently has to pay online is if you have an account with them.  I refuse to bank with Generations.  I pay a auto loan through Security Service FCU online through A non Generations unles Security Service received special permission, I wouldn't think it would be impossible for Generations.  I don't need rewording of anything.  Generations is just showing yet again how unwilling they are to work with their customers!  Have the vice present of Risk Management respond instead of referring me without any contact information. She can go thru the BBB to communicate with me.  


***** *********

11/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank refinanced a vehicle for me. After they messed up the paperwork (I was able to take it to the bank and show them where they made a mistake) they continually denied any wrong doing (they failed to pay off the vehicle, claiming that they did, just to send me a letter, months later, stating that they finally paid off the vehicle after I lost it due to their mistake) and now are charging me over $9200 because of their mistake. Also, they rejected my VA disabilities check, even though for the last 3 months they accepted all of my work checks into my fiancs account without any issues, which led me to have to come up with an additional $1500 this month and every month until the VA un-suspends my account because generations rejected it as a fraudulent rejection. Also, while this mess needs to get fixed, I am being charged an additional $100 a week on a bill that was going to be paid with my disabilities check on the 1st of this month (October) I believe the rejection was out of malice due to the fact that I have made complaints to the corporate finance department due to their mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $9200 bill for the vehicle removed from my credit and for myself to not be held accountable for it. Also, I believe the bank should have to pay the addition fees that I am having to burden due to their mistake again ($100 a week, I can show total amount of fee charged when bill is able to be paid)

Business Response: Generations FCU is limited in our ability to respond to this particular complaint due to federal privacy laws that protect member account information. However, speaking in generalities, federal law requires that a Veterans Administration disability benefit check must be direct deposited into an account that has the disability recipient listed as either a primary signer or a cosigner. By law, disability checks cannot be deposited into accounts where the individual who is receiving the benefit is not listed on the account. As with every financial institution, there are automatic processes in place that reject these types of deposit errors. It is important to note that personal payroll direct deposit requirements are different from those of VA disability benefits. With regard to the vehicle refinance, there are again several privacy regulations that prohibit us from fully discussing the issue with a third party. As mentioned in his complaint, Mr. ****** has indicated that he has paperwork showing an error was made by our credit union. We have contacted him on repeated occasions to request copies of these items. However, he will not provide us with that documentation and has indicated that he will only speak with the Better Business Bureau. We would again request that Mr. ****** contact our Vice President of Risk Management, J****** ********* at ************ in order to resolve this issue. Should you have any additional questions regarding this complaint, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************

Business Response: Please find attached our response to the BBB Complaint. Unfortunately, due to federal laws regarding member account privacy, we are very limited in the response we are able to provide. We cannot provide specific account information that would help clarify the situation. We have attempted to contact Mr. ****** on several occasions, however, he will not speak with us and indicates he will only speak to the BBB.

10/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I would receive $75 when I signed up for my checking and savings account through the San Pedro Branch May 19th, 2015. I never received my $75.00 and called to speak to customer service today and was told that I did not qualify because I didn't use my Debit Card 20 times in a month consecutively for three months. No one had ever told me this requirement. I was also charged numerous late fees while Generations held onto my funds without posting my money.

Desired Settlement: Give me the $75.00.

Business Response:

September 18, 2015

*** ****** ****

Better Business Bureau
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, Texas 78752

RE:      Generations FCU (GFCU) Complaint #********. * *****
Dear *** *****

Thank you for your phone call regarding the Better Business Bureau complaint filed against Generations FCU by *** ***** *****. The Better Business Bureau ID number for this complaint is ********.

Generations conducted a campaign promotion from April 13, 2015 through June 20, 2015 which offered an account credit of $75 to new members who:

1)      Opened a new GFCU checking account

2)      Enrolled in eStatements

3)      Enrolled in Direct Deposit

4)      Conducted at least 20 debit transactions per month from the checking account for the first 90 days after account opening.

Every piece of advertising and collateral promoting this offer featured these disclosures. Additionally, branch staff highlighted these disclosures during the account opening process, both verbally and through in-branch collateral materials. I am attaching for your review:

1)      sample advertisement featuring the disclosures,

2)      sample in-branch flyer featuring the disclosures, and

3)      sample Staff FAQs that featured these disclosures as talking points.

Unfortunately, Ms. ***** did not meet these requirements and thus was not eligible to receive the $75 credit.

We sincerely regret that Ms. ***** was not aware of the minimum requirements of the promotion. However, the requirements were highlighted in every advertising and collateral material she received, in addition to being verbally presented during the account opening process.

With regard to the held funds, Federal law requires Generations to place “holds” on funds that are deposited into newly established accounts, as required by Regulation CC, also known as the Funds Availability Disclosure.

The hold times outlined in Regulation CC are based on the amount of the deposit, type of deposit, as well as length of relationship with the member. These holds are an industry requirement and occur at every depository financial institution.

Members are made aware of Regulation CC during the account opening process. We verbally walk members through the Membership and Account Agreement (which outlines Regulation CC), and they are provided a copy at that time.

Additionally, the Member Service Agreement is available on our website and mailed to any member who requests it at any time. I am also attaching a copy of our Membership and Account Agreement for your review.

Should you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ************.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Generations Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)