BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Air Force Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Air Force Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Air Force Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 05, 2003 Business started: 11/03/1952 Business started locally: 11/03/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. (Bob) Glenn, President/CEO Ms. Kathy Johnson, VP Lending Ms. April Mann, VP Remote Services Ms. Cathy Miller, VP Member Services Ms. Stephanie Norwood, VP Human Resources Ms. Lisa Rodriguez, VP Finance Mr. Danny Sanchez, VP Marketing Ms. Molly Schmalfeldt, VP Compliance Mr. Robert Sherwood, EVP/COO Mr. Rick Sulfridge, SVP/CIO Ms. Daina Wurz, Executive Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. (Bob) Glenn, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loan Modification Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Real Estate Loan Modification Mortgage Brokers Loan Servicing Banks

Alternate Business Names
Lackland Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 1023 Rittiman Rd Ste 105

    San Antonio, TX 78218

  • 151 Valley Hi Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78227

  • 1560 Cable Ranch Rd Ste 200

    San Antonio, TX 78245 (210) 678-5222 (800) 227-5328 (210) 673-5610

  • 2250 Kenly Ave Bldg 1298  Lafb

    San Antonio, TX 78236

  • 3103 Wurzbach Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78238

  • 6000 Fm 3009 Ste 206

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • 7853 Guilbeau Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78250

  • Lackland Air Force Base #BT07

    San Antonio, TX 78236

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 673-5610(Phone)
  • (210) 678-5222(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 25th, 2014, my husband deployed overseas with the Air Force. At the beginning of that month, we opted in for automatic bill pay from AFCU to simplify our lives. However, they never processed the paperwork. Between the 25th and July 7th, we submitted the automatic bill pay paperwork 3 times, in person and electronically. They never submitted the paperwork, and when I returned from being out of town, I had a letter in the mail saying we were delinquent on our auto loan payment, and since we were 30 days overdue, they were going to just go ahead and withdraw the money from the account on file. We should have had NO account on file, since the paperwork "didn't go through" for automatic bill pay. We were not aware they took our money without authorization, and since my husband is overseas, he didn't see the charge on his account and used his debit card as usual. As a result of not knowing the money was removed from our account, we incurred 5 NSF fees of $35 each, as well as having our account balance in the hole for many weeks now. On July 15th, I went into AFCU and signed the form to cancel automatic bill pay, and was told it was effective immediately and no more funds would be withdrawn automatically. However, on July 17th, AFCU took another automatic payment of $200, on top of the full $380 I already scheduled with my bank to pay them for the rest of the month of July. Upon speaking to the bank about the money that wasn't supposed to be taken, I was told that the payment already went through and there was nothing they could do about it anymore, and they couldn't refund the money. This institution has made the burden of my husband being overseas so much more stressful than it is by itself. I have been worried sick over being able to pay our bills because of all of the fees and negative balances we've had over the past month. My husband hasn't been able to buy some of the toiletries and simple things he needs overseas because our account has been negative since he left, with no fault on our side. I have spent numerous hours out of my work place, sacraficing the mission, in order to try and sort out this mess.

Desired Settlement: As the money they took WAS owed to them, but they just went about taking their money the wrong way, I do not wish for them to refund the payments they took from us in the past; however, I do wish for the 5 NSF fees to be paid for us by AFCU, as well as our next months loan payment while we sort out our financial turmoil and get back on our feet financially. This would be a total of $175 paid to us by check for the NSF fees, and $380 taken off of our auto loan balance at AFCU. I feel this is the least that can be done to compensate us for the headache my husband has had overseas and my time stateside sorting such a simple matter out has taken.

Business Response: We reviewed the circumstances surrounding the complaint.  We feel that the member was not handled in a way we have liked and we have done the following:

1.  We contacted them and apologized.
2.  We reimbursed the member for the costs charged at their other financial institution.
3.  We have made a written plan on how their account will be handled going forward, and
4.  We have used this experience as a training opportunity for our staff.

We did not get it right in this instance, but we made it right.  Our member tells us they are happy.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I have been credited the $175 that was charged to me in NSF fees because of this institutions actions, and see that the due date for my next payment is 9/30/14 as agreed upon.  I am satisfied with the response from AFFCU, as one of their members contacted me about resolving this within 24 hours of submitting the complaint, and we came to a resolve within 48 hours.  I appreciate their speedy decision on my complaint.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I medically retired from the Army on 9/27/13, due to the government shut down my out processing paperwork to start collecting retirement and va compensation was extremely delayed as was my final pay. Due to this my allotment for my September payment for my auto loan with AFFCU was not sent out. I contacted AFFCU when I found out and asked for a deferment or some sort of plan to help with this. I was told they would send me forms to request a deferment. I never received the forms. When I contacted them again, I was told because my payment wasn't made on time and was already late, I wasn't even eligible for deferment in the first place! I asked them to have someone from the collections department contact me, which never happened. When I called again to see what we could work out, my October payment was late as well. The customer service rep ** **** was absolutely nasty with me. He refused to look at any options, even though I was willing to make a payment for September and try to work out something for October, since I had been told previously that they were willing to work with those effected by the shut down. He demanded to know where I would get my money from and told me he was just going to go ahead and start repossession proceedings since I obviously wasn't willing to make a payment. He refused to let me speak with a supervisor. I ended up making a payment. When I have contacted them again I was once again told I couldn't speak with a superior and the rep hung up on me. I received an email from **** ***** giving me some sites that I could go for funding help, when I responded to the email asking that ** **** be removed as my processor, I received no response. I am still waiting to see how I can work out my October payment at this time and NO ONE WILL TALK TO ME OR WORK WITH ME OR CALL ME BACK. I have been with AFFCU since 2006 and have had 3 auto loans with them and have NEVER missed a payment or been late. I am a retired disabled military vet, whom they are supposed to be taking care of and they absolute refuse to work with me and on top of that treat me like a 2nd hand citizen. If I do not get assistance from the BBB in dealing with this matter, I am going to take this to every news agency that will talk to me to let them know how AFFCU and the BBB really treat (discriminate against) their vets!

Desired Settlement: I want an apology from AFFCU for their discrimination of me as a military vet. I want my late payment fee's excused and I want to defer my November and December payments due to my unstable financial situation.

Business Response: In evaluating the situation, I feel we did not listen as well as we could have and we did not respond in a way that reflects well on us.  I called the member, personally, and apologized for our shortcoming in handling his situation.  We granted a three month extension rather than the 2 months sought.  We are going to use this as a teaching moment for our employees.  We are deeply sorry that this rose to this level.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I writing you today to lodge a formal complaint against Air Force Federal Credit Union regarding Acct# ****************, acct #***********, acct #***********,acct# *********** and acct#***********. This debt creditor placed tradeline notations on all three of my credit reports (******** ********* *** **********) per required by the FCRA legislation. Credit reporting is considered collection activity. I mailed dispute letters to Air Force Federal Credit Union on 02-07-2013, Persuant to Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) (Title 15 U.S.C 1681s-2).I disputed information in its entirety and request supporting documentation that substantiates the information you have furnished to the Credit Agencies. I did request a verification that they have my mailing address; rather, I requested validation in the form of some competent evidence that I had some contractual obligation associated with this trade line. Air Force Federal Credit Union never validated tradeline notations. I advised Air Force Federal Credit Union in both letters that unless the original contract, signed contract is provided to me within 10 days of receipt of the letters, item must be removed from the credit reports. I will be force to assume that they are intent on failing to comply with he law. Air Force Federal Credit Union never provided a copy of the contract signed by me with my authentic signature that started alleged debt. This company has effectively destroyed my chances of getting a mortgage. I am requesting your office look into these allegations and help me procure a deletion from all three credit reporting agencies until this company can successfully validate my debt as they are mandated by law to do. I am considering legal action against Air Force Federal Credit Union, however, I felt compelled to urge your office to help me in my crusade to remove Air Force Federal Credit Union and reestablish my name and credit. However, their intentional act of misleading their reporting should be enough to sue them, and should be enough for your office to force their compliance in this issue. I hope you can help me out in this matter, as I am going through the mortgage closing process and this one account has completely derailed my home purchase. Thank you very much for your time

Desired Settlement: Air Force Federal Credit Union has violated my rights Pursuant of Title U.S.C. 1681s-2 FCRA," Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies" mandates the reporting of only accurate verifiable information. FCRA requires all items to be verifiable, accurate and complete I am requesting that Air Force Federal Credit Union immediately Delete Acct# ***************, acct#***********, acct#***********, acct#*********** and acct#*********** from ******** ******** *** ********** because they are in violation of Title U.S.C. 1681s-2.,the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA). Pursuant to Title U.S.C. 1681s-2, FCRA. Air Force Federal Credit Union never provided me a copy of the signed contract with my authentic signature that started these alleged debt within 10 days of receipt of letter I mailed to them on 02-07-2013

Business Response: On March 29, 2013, we received two letters from the member.  The letters were dated March 16, 2013.

The first letter said that we had improperly reported to credit reporting agencies information on four different accounts held by Air Force Federal Credit Union.  (There are five numbers listed but two of them are the same, therefore there are only four different accounts.)  the member asserts that the Fair Credit Reporting Act (Act) provides that the member may initiate a dispute on the information provided.  We agree that the member has that right.  The Act requires that the member provide information so that the creditor may investigate the dispute.  The required information is listed in Section 623(a)(8)(D) found on page 72 of the copy of the Act which was downloaded as an attachement to this response.  It specifies that the dispute must include the following is to be provided: (i) identifies the specific information that is being disputed; (ii) explains the basis for the dispute; and (iii) includes all supporting documentaqtion required by the furnisher (in this case the credit union) to substantiate the basis for the dispute.

On March 29, 2013, the same date the letter from the member was received, we wrote a response to the member seeking the required information so we could investigate the alleged inappropriate reporting.  To date we have not received any communication from the member providing the requested information.

The second letter asserted that we made an unauthorized inquiry on the member's credit file on February 7, 2012.  Section 604(a)(3)(A) of the Act provides it permissible to obtain a credit report if the inquiry is made when the information is obtained in connection with a credit transaction involving the consumer on who the the information is to be furnished and involving the extension of credit to, or review or collection of an an account of the consumer.  That was the purpose of the inquiry. In our response letter of March 29, 2013 in the fifth paragraph we assert that the inquiry is valid for this reason as we were attempting to collect the accounts owed by the member.

We contend that we have made a good faith effort to assist the member with his dispute of the information reported to credit reporting agencies and that we were within our rights in making the inquiry of February 7, 2012.  The member has yet to respond to our letter of March 29, 2013.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Air Force Federal Credit Union has not provided me, a copy of the contract signed with my authentic signature the began these alleged debt. It's my right to receive a signed contract from Air Force Federal Credit Union or they must delete all the tradelines. Air Force Federal Credit Union is non-compliant. I have cited the statue below which explain that it is my right to get a copy of those contracts. The contracts is the only proof that make these alleged debt valid. Air Force Federal Credit Union has been evading my requests for those signed contacts from them. Again, if they can't produce those contacts, they must delete the tradelines. This is not rocket science, it is within my FCRA rights.

Pursuant to Title 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2, "Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies," mandates the reporting of only accurate, verifiable information.  Put another way, the FCRA requires that all items on my credit report must be verifiable, accurate and complete.  In this regard, I hereby request a copy of the original contract, signed by me, that began this alleged debt.  This copy must contain my authentic signature.

Regards,
****** *******

Business Response: The member was provided a copy of the documents signed at the time they were signed.  We were also provided a photo ID in the form of a drivers license showing the member's signature which corresponds to the signature on the document.

The member is misapplying the regulation.  The section of the regulation cited mandates that the creditor not the debtor make that determination of whether the information being reported is accurate.  If the member wishes to assert that the debts are not his, then we have the right to request a copy of his photo ID so we can make a comparison to the photo ID copy which we have on file from the time of the document's signing.  The member has not complied with the cited regulation by providing us the nature of the dispute, a statement as to why they believe the information is inaccurate and after we have those two things, we have the right for additional information to document why we believe one way or the other.

The member's refusal to provide the requested information leads us to believe that the motivation behind his complaint may fall within the defintion of a Frivolous or Irrelavant Dispute as set out in Section 623(a)(8)(F) of the Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. Section 1681s-2).  Pursuant to that section of the Act, we will prepare a notice as required.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because: I requested copy of contracts with my authentic signature that began these alleged debts and Air Force Federal Credit Union continue their non-compliance and violation of my FCRA rights. Air Force Federal Credit Union answers were condescending and their hostility was completely uncalled for as I am acting within MY rights under the law, I am within my rights asking for a copy of these contracts.


As you know, Title 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2, "Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies," mandates the reporting of only accurate, verifiable information.  Put another way, the FCRA requires that all items on my credit report must be verifiable, accurate and complete.  In this regard, I hereby request a copy of the original contract, signed by me, that began this alleged debt.  This copy must contain my authentic signature.

Air Force Federal Credit Union can either provide copy of  those contracts with my signed authentic signature, or delete all tradelines if these contracts are not available for viewing by me.

Regards,

****** ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable