BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of A+ Federal Credit Union?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A+ Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A+ Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A+ Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1983 Business started: 05/01/1949 Business started locally: 05/01/1949 Business incorporated: 05/01/1949 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Cowan, VP Marketing Ms. Cynthia Alvarado Ms. Kerry A.S. Parker, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cynthia Alvarado
Principal: Mr. Stan Cowan, VP Marketing
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Lender Trust Companies Credit Services Financial Services Investment Management Mortgage Bankers Gift Certificates/Cards Banks Banking Services Credit Cards & Plans

Alternate Business Names
A+ Credit Union
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • 1000 S Mays St

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • 11255 Old 2243 W

    Leander, TX 78641

  • 1204 Thorpe Ln

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • 13087 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78750

  • 13212 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78753

  • 1402 W Stassney Ln

    Austin, TX 78745

  • 141 Ed Schmidt Blvd

    Hutto, TX 78634

  • 15108 FM 1825

    Pflugerville, TX 78660

  • 15295 IH 35 Bldg A

    Buda, TX 78610

  • 1604 E Whitestone Blvd,

    Cedar Park, TX 78613

  • 2601 Rattler Rd Ste 100

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • 2905 Fm 685

    Pflugerville, TX 78660

  • 3600 RR 620 South Ste D

    Austin, TX 78738

  • 6114 W William Cannon Dr

    Austin, TX 78749

  • 6420 E Highway 290

    Austin, TX 78723 (800) 252-8148 (512) 302-6800

  • 731 Highway 71 W

    Bastrop, TX 78602

  • 804 S Interstate 35

    Georgetown, TX 78628

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 252-8148(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was on unemployment for 2013 but was never behind on my truck payment. December 2013 was the last payment for unemployment. I paid my truck payment then in feb paid half in march i forgot didn't pay they waited as i was looking for work. They never advised of any assistance that they could give as I did call and ask and tried to fill out applications for loans. Then they started getting aggressive and they told me when i wanted to catch up my payments I spoke to ******* and he told me that all they wanted was my truck as they could sell it for more. then they hired a private investigator who called me while i was at work who i hung up on left a visious voicemail on my phone on how i needed to grow up and mature, how i couldnt keep the truck how he was going to go down my street offer money to anyone that can tell him where the truck was and that he was going to go to my church tell everyone and i wasnt going to find a hole deep enough to crawl into. This was the first time I had a repo, and was disgusted with their treatment of me. I asked them to unlock an account that i did the shared branching with to send payments and they would not. I sent a payment of $1000.00 that i borrowed from my parents and they kept it. Then a couple of days later on fathers day they went to my church and picked up the truck. I was so embarrassed.

Desired Settlement: my vehicle back

Business Response: A+FCU tries to work with all members to keep them in their cars whenever possible and makes sense financially by lowering payments, allowing them to find their own buyers, etc.  It takes co-operation on both sides to be successful for all parties.  Communication and commitment from the borrower is most important.  Communication, at times, was difficult when *** ****** did not return our calls or ended calls early.  The department ********** and *** both tried to work with her, but again she did not keep her commitments.  Insurance issues, being 90 days past due and not meeting commitments left us no choice but to repossess the vehicle.  The credit union was not aware of any of the details mentioned in her complaint regarding the repossession firm (not a private investigator) and is investigating the independent contractor.  The $1,000 has been applied to the unpaid balance to reduce *** ******’s remaining obligation.  For any further discussion, please contact **** ********, *** **** ********* **** **********, at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have always had Insurance on my vehicle full coverage. Also I had asked for items in writing as far as how much I owed I was told they were going to email and mail paperwork which I never received. Also a lawyer told me they shouldn't have cashed the check if they were also taking the vehicle it's stealing. They did wait for me to make a payment but then got very ugly and rude.i would like a+fcu to not be backed by the bbb because they don't work together with the clients. I have worked with other credit unions but this one tops as the worst bank to deal with.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

For any further discussion, please contact **** ********, *** **** ********* **** ********** at ***** ******** or ****** *******, ***** ******* ******* ** ***** *********

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Family bank account was closed without informing member of family. Was told that even though account had funds that due to account "inactivity" that the account was charged "inactivity" fees until the account was emptied. Money that was kept in the account was deducted and then account was closed. "Inactivity" meaning that no deposits or withdrawals were done to the account for several months. Just because a customer does not actively do any deposits or withdrawals for several months does not allow a bank to charge a fee for lack of activity much less shutting down the account. When refund of money from the closed account was requested, store supervisor and customer service rep refused to offer refund or to reactivate family account. Family member was not notified via letter statements about the closing of account. The customer service representative refused to deposit a new check that family member had come in to deposit into the account. When family member requested to reopen account the request was denied. Was informed that all statements were emailed to deceased family member's email account which current family member does not have access to. Therefore family member was not informed of any changes to account or charges to account due to lack of activity by customer. A bank should be a safe place where a customer can store their money. A customer should not have to fear that the bank would take a customer's money without their consent

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the family account reactivated and to have all amounts taken by the bank returned to the account. Also I would request a change in bank policy regarding account "inactivity". A customer should not have to worry about a bank taking a customer's money just because the customer didn't do any transactions for a few months

Business Response:

The June 2013 statement indicated that the inactive fee would be assessed on the account and to contact us for more information.  We do not email account statements for security reasons.  We only send an email notifying members that their statement is available to view by logging into their account online.  It is each member’s responsibility to review their statement, request a different delivery method or to update their email address.  Our Fee Schedule indicates that a $10 monthly inactive fee is assessed on accounts with 12 months of no activity.  Please click on following link to view our fee schedule - https://aplusfcu.org/about-us/fee-schedule.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have never received any warnings (whether written, verbal, email, statement, etc) regarding any policy or charges for non activity by the bank where my family had an account.  If I had been notified, then I would have done some form of account activity to keep the account open and to have the account not be charged any form of fee.  Due to not being made aware of any policy that a customer has to do regular banking activity in order to keep a customer's money safe in a bank account, I do not feel that my issue has been resolved.  

Family money was kept in a family account, a bank should not be allowed to take money out of a family account without permission


Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: As stated previously, the June 2013 statement included a warning that the inactive fee would be assessed on the account.  Additionally, on statements dated August 2013, September 2013, December 2013 and March 2014, the inactive fee was assessed and disclosed. Per our fee schedule, the inactive fee is assessed after 12 months of inactivity, accounts under $100.00 and no loans.  Fee information is provided in the account disclosures and fee schedule, which is provided at account opening and as changes occur or at any time via our website or upon request.  If there is anything else you would like to discuss with us, please send an email to our administration email box at administration@aplusfcu.org or call ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The account was owned by a father, mother, and daughter.  Following mother's death, the father and daughter took over the account.  When father became ill, daughter presented bank with a power of attorney document and requested all info that would normally be sent to father be sent to daughter.  After father passed away, daughter presented bank with Letters of Testamentary and death certificate with request that all information and pertinent information regarding family account be streamlined to daughter. Daughter presented bank with personal contact information and informed bank that father's email and telephone service would be discontinued.  Following several in person conversations and transactions following the change of account ownership, no warnings or statements regarding the family account was relayed by the bank to the daughter.  The daughter did not receive any statements from the bank regarding any issues by email, mail, telephone call, in person, etc.  No statements were received, no warnings were given.  Daughter had previously informed the bank in person that daughter did not have access to any online account due to daughter not knowing father's passwords.  The issue of any online account was supposed to have been addressed when daughter presented bank with Letters of Testamentary.  

Account holder was not notified of any warnings, did not receive any statements, and requests a refund of the account funds.

Regards,

******** *****

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On approximately June 4, 2013, I initiated a transfer from my savings account at A+ FCU to an external bank (an FI transfer). When I did so, there was a message stating that there would be a $3.00 fee for the transaction. I understood this to mean that the transfer would be reduced by $3.00 for that fee. I was fine with this, so I proceeded with the transfer. It turns out that what this really meant was that there would be an additional withdrawal of $3.00 from my savings account for that fee. Had I understood that was the process, I would have either: (1) made sure there was an extra $3.00 in my savings account to cover the fee; or (2) reduced the amount of the withdrawal by $3.00 so that the $3.00 would still be in the account when the fee hit. I was surprised when, a few days later, I logged into my account and saw that my savings account was overdrawn because the $3.00 fee was not treated as a reduction of the transfer amount. I was charged a $35.00 NSF fee because of this misunderstanding. I contacted A+ FCU and explained that this was a misunderstanding and asked that the fee be reversed. I have never incurred any NSF fees with this bank, but the request was denied. In addition, A+ FCU disabled my ability to make any transfers either to or from an external (non A+ FCU) account. Since A+ FCU does not offer true "pay online" options for their loans and they do not send out payment coupons, this was how I had been making payments on my line of credit (an inbound transfer from an external account to my savings account which was then transferred as a payment to my line of credit). I asked if the ability to make FI transfers could be reinstated on my account considering this was all just a $3.00 misunderstanding, but I was told that this could not be considered for 6 months...and even then it would only be "maybe" based on criteria that could not be disclosed to me. The phone rep assured me that I could just call in an make payments via phone as I had done a couple of times in the past. This was inconvenient, but there was nothing I could do to change it. I called in today to make a payment over the phone expecting that the process would be no different than when I'd done this in the past, but was told that I would now have to pay at $7.50 fee in order to make the payment! Because of the change in process of making this payment and the inconvenience of having to call during the credit unions hours and generally having to spend about 30 minutes on the phone waiting for a rep and making the payment, I ended up making the payment late...so late that it was only 2 days before it would report to the credit bureau as a late payment. Therefore, I felt I had no option but to pay the $7.50 fee. I asked the rep whether any notice had been sent out to members about this fee and she stated that there was not a notice at all and that the reps are simply informing members as they call in. This not only created a situation where I felt that I had to pay this extra $7.50, but it will do the same with many other members who call to make a payment either just before a late fee hits their account, or like me, who for whatever reason made the payment so late that not paying the $7.50 fee would result in a ding to their credit score. Further, I have attempted to settle these issues via the online messaging service and I find that either the reps are incompetent in reading an entire message and fully responding...or they simply don't send a response. It seems that there is no management of the messaging center and it should either be completely turned off or assurances should be made that supervisors are monitoring timeliness and effectiveness of responses to messages.

Desired Settlement: In order to resolve these issues, I would like A+ FCU to: (1) refund the $35.00 NSF fee; (2) refund the $7.50 fee; and (3) reinstate my ability to make FI transfers. Further, I would like an apology from a superior at A+ FCU. I feel that being as a "member" of A+ FCU, I am treated with less respect than I get at the big banks where I do business. Finally, I would like assurance that company policy is being changed with respect to treatment of all members, that a written notice will be issued to all members regarding the new $7.50 fee and that the online messaging service will be supervised for timeliness and effectiveness of responses.

Business Response:

On August 16 both fees were refunded the $29.50 NSF fee and the $7.50 Convenience fee that were assessed for a total refund of $37.00. The amount that the member requested was incorrect.

She was not assessed a fee of $35.00. The NSF fee was $29.50 not $35.00, and the FI Transfer fee is $3.50 not $3.00. The $35.00 in question was the advance from her home banking activity that was deposited into her savings 01 account.

Additionally her ability to perform FI transfers has been reinstated; however she will still have to set up the external accounts. The fee amount for an FI transfer is $3.50 and not the $3.00 as she indicated.

All members are informed verbally of the “convenience fee” that will be assessed if a credit card is used to make a payment on a loan with A+ FCU and since a very small percentage of our members preform this transaction, there is no need to provide written notice to all members.  As for her request to have a “change” in our company policy “with respect to treatment of all members”, there is no need for a change since we already have a culture of providing excellent member service to all members. We did not understand what she meant in respect to her comment of “and that the online messaging service will be supervised for timeliness and effectiveness of responses” so we were unable to respond to this.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because I am still unable to set up FI transfers on my account.  Further, while I appreciate the refunds being provided by A+ FCU, the remainder of the business' response serves to illustrate just how inferior the commitment to customer service is.  The business found it appropriate to refund the phone payment fee that I was charged and admits that it only notifies members of this new charge when they call in, but does not see it suitable to provide any advance notification to members.  The only reason the amount was refunded on my account is because I opened a complaint with the BBB.  As explained in the original complaint, failure to provide advance notification of this fee may result in other members paying the new fee simply under duress.  Finally, I am appalled that the business acts as though it unable to understand a portion of the complaint written in plain English.  If the business is unable to comprehend written English correspondence, then the online messaging center should be completely done away with - nevermind the original suggestion to actually monitor and require a response to inquiries submitted through the secure message center.

Regards,

******** ****

Business Response: Spoke to member on Friday, September 20th, addressed all concerns to member's satisfaction.

7/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved here in January and I opened both a savings and a checking account with this firm in February. I specifically asked the rep who opened my account if there isn't enough money in my checking account will you automatically transfer money from the savings account. The answer was yes. What she failed to disclose is not only is there a fee for electronic transfers, but there is also a limit on the number of transfers. She then sold me on the debit card program. Use the debit card and receive a $0.05 credit for each use. Result four months later I've racked up $568 in fees. If I had been informed upfront about the ridiculous fees instead of using this account for my debit card purchases I would have continued running my debit card transactions through my *** ***** account. After two days of negotiating on Tuesday, July *, 2013 they agreed to refund $220 of the fees. I said ok, credit my account and I'll be by tomorrow to close it. I received a call Wednesday, July *, 2013 saying because I was closing my account they wouldn't be refunding any of the fees. I said ok, I'll keep the account open. The response, a manager will call you. Haven't heard back. If they hadn't rescinded their agreement to refund $220 I would have closed my account and let the matter drop. I was totally upfront with them at all times, if I didn't receive a full refund I was closing the account, therefore they knew my intentions when the agreed to refund the $220. Since they acted in bad faith I want a refund of the entire $568.

Desired Settlement: A refund of all fees charged to my account and an apology for their bad faith negotiations.

Business Response: July **, 2013

On February **, 2013, Ms. ******** opened both a savings and checking account with A+ FCU. During the opening of her account Ms. ******** was provided a written Truth-in-Savings disclosure that provides a complete listing of all terms and conditions of each of the accounts that were opened.

During the opening process Ms. ******** was verbally informed by the employee the benefits and features of how the savings and checking accounts were designed to be compatible. The type of checking account that was opened provides the member a $.05 rebate for each time a non-PIN based transaction was conducted.

Ms. ******** was also asked if she wished to opt-in for our “no bounce” checking account service that is named *******. During the discussion it was explained verbally and in writing that in the event a check/debit card purchase is presented for payment and there are insufficient funds to cover the amount, ******* would pay the amount overdrawn and assess a service fee for the service ($29.50 per item).

The result of this service is the merchant/individual is paid as agreed eliminating a fee or embarrassment for Ms. ********. The disclosure to the ******* service is one page and was signed by Ms. ******** indicating that she was made aware of all the terms, conditions and fees if this service was utilized.

During the first week of July, Ms. ******** contacted one of our branch offices and requested 100% of the auto transfer and ******* service fees be refunded. Upon further review of the account, from March *, 2013 to June **, 2013 an auto transfer fee was assessed 24 times ($4.00 per occurrence), and from March **, 2013 to June **, 2013 the ******* service was utilized 16
times.

Over this three month period the fees were assessed, Ms. ******** had received three monthly statements providing full documentation of the transactions on her account and also had at her disposal 24/7 access to her account status through our home banking feature on our website.

Ms. ******** indicates in her correspondence to the Better Business Bureau that A+ FCU acted in “bad faith.” As an organization we take exception to this claim. A+ FCU takes pride in the fact that we currently serve over 100,000 members and consistently receive high service ratings from our members.

To promote goodwill and provide Ms. ******** some relief of the fees that were created, a deposit of $225.00 was placed into her account on
July *, 2013.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because it is misleading and misrepresents the actual events when I opened my account with them.  Additionally, I believe they only deposited the partial refund into my account after they were informed I filed a complaint with the your agency.

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: All issues that this individual had, have been addressed and resolved to the satisfaction of all.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9608470, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I accidently went into overdraft in my checking accout. I went into the bank to discuss this with them. They told me to set up notifications via text to help me keep track of my balance. I went online and and set up a test message notification to let me know when my account went below $20.00. I received a letter on April 25th from the bank that was dated April 12th stating that my account was $350 in the negagtive. I never received the text message stating my account was under the $20, nor did I receive any kind of notification of NSF charges in the mail to notify me of my balance before it got to that point. Now because I was not notified I am $900+ in the negative. If I would have been notified like they had agreed I would not have gotten into this spot.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the bank return all nsf charges.

Business Response:

Ms. ******** account balance fell below $20 on April 7, 2013.  According to our records, eAlerts were sent to the cell number address she provided, via home banking ***********************
several times during the day almost on a daily basis between April 7, 2013 to April 28, 2013.  Additionally, overdraft balance letters were sent on April 12, 2013 and April 25, 2013.  Ms. ****** “opted in” to allow
for overdraft for debit card charges which is where most of the fees initiated.  She had similar issues previously and was counseled.  We will refund $*** in fees if Ms. ****** will “opt out” of the debit card overdraft
program.  Upon opting out, she will no longer have access to overdraft funds through the use of her debit card and will be denied purchases at checkout.  She can contact *** ******* ********** ******* ******** at
************ to make the change on her account and get the refund.

4/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 11, 2012 I paid off an $24.00 amount due to A+ Federal Credit Union (even though I do not feel I owed this debit). I have the receipt and bank statements showing where the amount was paid . On April 23, 2013 I checked my annual credit and found that A+ Federal Credit Union has not taken the negative credit report off my credit report. The negative report is still show the $24.00 amount. This is also on my mothers credit report still. The date of this complaint is April 24, 2013. This has remained on my credit report for almost six months after being paid off.

Desired Settlement: Have the negative credit report removed from my credit report and my mothers credit report.

Business Response:

Mr. *******,

A charged off account stays in the Credit Bureau System for 7
years from the date of charge off.  Your account was charged off on 10/2/2007 and
the negative balance of $24.89 was paid off on 11/03/2012. Currently your status shows
as “paid in full”. As a courtesy, due to the amount you owed and the time that
has passed since it was reported, we will delete the record from the credit
report today, April 25, 2013. It may take a few days before the credit bureaus
record the change.

A+Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******




















8/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues