BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service and supply of office machines, copiers, faxes and printers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dahill Office Technology Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dahill Office Technology Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dahill Office Technology Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated: 06/30/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Brad Rollins, President/CEO Priscilla Lopez, VP of Finance and Admin Mr. Tanner Martin, Sales Manager Ms. Diana Martinez, Customer Support Manager Mr. David Riener, Vice President/Sales Mr. Randy Rushing, General Manager Ms. Ronell Uys, Advertising/Ecommerce Ms. Leticia Vazquez, Director, Sales Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Priscilla Lopez, VP of Finance and Admin
Principal: Mr. Brad Rollins, President/CEO
Business Category

Copiers & Copier Supplies Office Furniture & Equipment Office Furniture & Equipment - Installation Office Supplies Copy & Duplicating Service

Alternate Business Names
Dahill Dahill Industries

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We leased a Xerox 7775 copier from Dahill in April of 2012. Since then, we have had over 30 service calls on the machine and they are happening practically every week now, sometimes multiple times a week. I have worked with our ***** ***, ****** ********, and the ***** ******* *******, *** ******. They have been unable to fully correct the issues with the machine. On March 12, 2014, they took our machine to their shop for extensive repairs. They returned it on March 25, 2014. I asked for a list of parts that were replaced and any description of any work done, but never received a response from Dahill. Now our machine is breaking multiple times a week and they don't seem to understand that we need a machine that functions reliably. I have asked nicely multiple times, yet they will not correctly fix the machine, or replace it. Everytime there is a problem, they send a tech out, who puts rebuilt or re-manufactured parts in the machine (the technicians told me directly that he rebuilds the parts himself), but never actually fixes the machine. I should also say that we have dozens of other copiers at our various store, with other companies, that run similar volumes to this machine, and they have a service call about once every 6-8 months. Having a service call every week or every other week, is not acceptable. I'm not sure where to go from here, and I would rather not litigate the issue, but ownership is strongly considering litigation. I figured I would reach out to the BBB to see if they could amicably resolve the issue... keeping the lawyers out of it. Kindest Regards, **** ******* ** ******** *********** ********** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like for Dahill to replace this machine (that they have clearly shown they cannot fix) with a new, or like-new machine (with a low page count) that can handle our volume without continuously breaking. I have been requesting this since our incident in March, but they have not been willing to give us a replacement unit that can handle our volume without breaking.

Business Response: I have contacted the General Service Manager in ******* **** ******** and provided him Mr. *******'s contact inforamtion.  **** will be reaching out and discussing the replacement possibilities.

********* ***** *** ******* * **************

Consumer Response:

Dahill has contacted me about a replacement, and has agreed to replace my machine, that has 600k impressions on it, with a machine with 400k impressions.

They are scheduled to install the different machine this afternoon. Once installed, we will run the machine for a week to verify that every runs as expected. If everything goes as planned, we will send you an update.

 

Thank you,

**** **  *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ******* and I am the steward president of the steward board for ***** ****** *** Church. As the president of the steward board of the church my job is taking care of the finance for the church. In February of 2011, the church leased a copier machine from Dahill. The representative from Dahill met with the pastor of the church and myself to present a contract. In this contract it states that the rental fee for the copier was $155.00 a month for 48 months beginning February 9, 2011. Dahill never did abide by this contract They were not consistent in sending out monthly statements. They would wait several months before sending out a statement and this generated a problem for us because we are a small church and can not afford to pay out large sums at a time. We discussed this with the representative when he issued the contract. They sent out statements ranging from $1,922 through four and six thousands dollars. I personally called Dahill's main office several times to discussed this matter, but no one in that office knew what to do. We sent them checks from $1000 to $1,922 trying to meet the needs as to what they said The pastor and committee members had several meeting with the representative trying to solve the issue. Each time we met with him he indicated that he would get the issue resolved. He indicated that he did not understand why the company could not send the statements as the contract stated. In June of 2013 the pastor communicated to the representative that since they could not abide by their contract they needed to pick up the machine. He was told that the church would pay out the balance of what we owe them and only what we could afford to pay on monthly basis. To our dismay we received a noticed from a collection agency indicating that we owe Dahill $7,606.70. I have all documentation as what we paid Dahill. The balance as what they stated we owe them certainly does not match up with my balance. Their statements they sent us are total confusing. They sent us three statements dated for the same time period and they all have different balances. We only used the machine for 30 months. Calculating 30 months times $155 equals $4,650. When I calculate the checks I sent Dahill, those check add up to $4,652.95. We are willing to pay Dahill anything else we owe them. $7.606.70 is an outrageous amount and according to some of the statements they sent us they did not apply some of the check sent them, however they were cashed by the company. This company did not abide by their contact therefore, it is certainly not trust worthy.

Desired Settlement: We are willing to pay the remainder of the balance to this company on monthly basis and only what we can afford. We balance should be a very small amount according to my records and I have all documents.

Business Response: ***** ****** account has been reviewed in further detail to understand the write-off invoices.  ***** ****** had a monthly rental contract for Serial ********* that began 4/30/13 $155 plus D&H per month.  Prior to this contract the rental agreement was annual on a per click basis which included black and color usage.  Invoice ****** for $4,802.86 was for 6/09/11 - 6/09/12 period, Invoice ****** for $2,761.19 was for  6/19/12 - 4/30/13, both invoices were prior to the monthly agreement. Invoice ****** is monthly charge for 1/09/13-05/09/13 and should be credited. The per click contract prior to the monthly agreement is owed and should have been paid prior to the customer.  we can negotiate payment options.  I can be reached at *************.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This company did not honor the contract they signed with ***** ****** *** Church.  The contract clearly stated that the rental fee was $155.00 monthly.  It did not indicate that it was to be paid annually.
The amount paid to this company has been $4,133.75.  We had several meeting with the representative and to no avail was anything resolved.  We send the company a check  No# 10573 on April 24, 2013 and their accounting office said they did not receive the check, however it was cashed on May 7, 2013.  I find this company not creditable. A memorandum regarding the $1000 was sent to Dahill on April 24, 2013. There is an attachment of that memo.

As stated before, we are a small church and we receive our funds from tithes and offerings.  We certainly do not owe $7,000 to this company.  We should not owe and will not be able to pay no more than $ 2,500 to this company in monthly payments of
$200 until the payment is finished.

Thank you for your help.




Business Response:

Today I spoke with ******* ***************:

******* ******
****** *******
*****************************
office: ************ Toll Free: ************
fax: ************ Toll free Fax: ************
**** ****

** *** ***** ******* ** *****  

 

She is a third party collection agency that has been working with ******** ******* and *** ****** *******.  A proposed settlement of $3,000 was offered to the customer and they accepted.  The customer has explained the financial difficulties that they are facing and **** **** has agreed to accept payments as received.  I did let *** ****** know that I would review the $3,000 amount and determine if that was fair and in the best interest of the customer.

 

My original response, included my contact information in hopes that me and *** ******* could connect, but after speaking with *** ****** it sounds like the concerns have been addressed.

 

At this time I am reviewing the $3,000 and will provide an update to *** ******.

 

Thank you for your help with this matter!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I talked to ****** from *** regarding the Dahill account.  I informed her that ***** ****** *** Church did not have a balance of $ 7,600
because I have invoices of the amount we had paid them.  We settled with $3,000 and I informed her that the church could only pay $200 monthly until it was paid out.

Thank you at the BBB for helping us.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service