BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tip Top Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tip Top Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tip Top Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1996 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/1996 Business incorporated: 04/02/1996 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Anderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Anderson, President
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Windows - Installation & Service Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Windows

Products & Services

Tip Top Construction Inc offers the following product(s): Insulation, Patio Covers, Pergolas, Radiant Barrier, Siding, Sunrooms, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Financing provided. Accept all major Credit Cards.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1100 NW Loop 410 Ste 700

    San Antonio, TX 78213 (210) 366-8729 (210) 568-9836

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 366-8729(Phone)
  • (210) 497-7452 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to contact Tip Top Construction Inc regarding work that was done on my home (sunroom was added) but cannot get anyone to answer the phone, return phone calls or answer emails. We have been attempting to contact this company for approximately 4 months with no luck. Numerous messages have been left regarding issues dealing with the door that was installed. We are wanting replacement fins (door sweep) that are on the bottom of the door. We have left messages asking for either the fins/door sweep that go on the door or the company that carries them. I have looked vfor the part myself and have even bought some fins but they are not the right replacement product. I need the correct part and manufacter to get this resolved. I feel that ignoring or failing to return my calls or answer my emails is very unprofessional. The numbers that have been called are the ones listed on their website and the one listed with their entry with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Tip Top Construction Inc to make contact with me to provide me with the needed part and provide me with the necessary information needed to contact the company that supplies the part if I have questions on obtaining the part again in the future.

Business Response: Will contact the homeowner to arrange a service call.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am selling my house the home inspector identified the the ridge vent was not exposed as it was supposed to be when the radiant barrier was installed. I contacted tip top construction and the rep agreed that the ridge should be exposed and they requested pictures. Once I sent pictures I did not receive a response even after many calls.

Desired Settlement: Please repair the radiant barrier installing it as it should have been installed, or give me a written statement that it is installed correctly. Additionally pay me $1000 for improper services and poor customer service

Business Response: I informed this customer that we would have to take a look at the project and we have simply not had a chance to get over there yet. The photos sent to are from difficult angles and make it hard to draw conclusions.
In reviewing the file we note that this customer's 3 year labor warranty has expired many months ago and so we are not obligated to any further action regarding the installation. That being said, we are willing to take a first hand look at his attic and assess if there is any problem with the install.
*** ****** has been calling my personal mobile and I've been traveling a lot of late. I don't generally answer my mobile if I don't recognize the number. He should call our main office number at ************.
If he will show a little patience, I will have someone out to take a look at it.
The demand for $1000 is ridiculous. His warranty has expired so I suggest he take a more professional and conciliatory approach if he would like our assistance. 

Business Response: Repairs completed. My deepest apologies for the delay.
Thank you.

**** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

the repairs have been completed but I am not satisfied in the company. I spent $5800 on a product that was supposed to save me money. Then I find out three years later that it was not installed properly costing me money that I was supposed to be saving.

Regards, 


*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/29/2013 a sales representative was sent to my home to sale a radiant barrier to assist with better insulation for my home that would eventually reduce my monthly cost of heating and cooling my house. We signed a contract with the company which involved installation, products for the entire square footage of my house. The representative stated that there would be no problem covering the entire square footage of the house. The representative obtained square footage of house by the appraisal district, he did not go up to attic to measure. Workers were due out on 05/06/2013 but did not show up till 05/08/2013. The initial job was performed in 2 days in which the worker damaged the sheet rock in the ceiling where his foot went through. On about 05/22/2013 my husband went up to attic to see barrier job. While standing on the ladder looking into the ceiling attic my husband noticed that the radiant barrier was hanging off in numerous places. My husband then went up to attic to see how the other part of the house was as far as insulation coming off and that is when he noticed that the rest of the house was not insulated as promised. I contacted the company representative that was sent to my house and also sent him pictures. The representative informed me that another worker would be sent out on 05/25/2013. The worker did not show up, the worker rescheduled for 05/29/2013 to reattach the previously installed insulation barrier and to finish the part of the house that was not ever insulated. While the worker was complete the job the second time around we noticed that he was using a different type of tape/adhesive to install insulation. The tape that was used initially was duct tape, the tape being used the second time around was flextime tape. The worker informed us that the previous worker was using duct tape and was not given the correct type of tape to use. We have pictures of the attic at this time where the old duct tape was removed and left behind in the attic. After this job was complete, we went up again to see if the job had been performed correctly. We noticed again that the back part of the house which is my game room was not touched at all. We also have pictures where the insulation stops at a certain area of the ceiling attic towards the edges of the roof attic. We were charged the entire sq footage of the house, but the house lacks a very large amount that was not covered. We also have pictures of these areas that were not covered. Since my initial complaint to the representative of the company and the company, I have yet to receive a phone call from a supervisor to address my complaints, nor have one sent out to inspect job. We were charged $9093.00 for this type of job. If we would have never gone up to inspect job all insulation would have probably been completely fallen down without us knowing. I don not feel that we have to continue to go out and inspect this work nor pay for this job when it was not completed as promised.Please not the list of other damages done and work not completed. I also have pictures of all areas that were not covered and damages. 1. Duct tape was used to hold up insulation barrier, pictures are available where insulation was hanging off of attic ceiling, I am well aware that duct tape was not the adhesive that was suppose to be used. The adhesive Flextime tape was the adhesive that should have been used and we were made aware of that the second time around that a worker was sent to fix the first job. We noticed a different type of tape that the worker was using and he explained to us that the Flextime tape was supposed to be used initially, not duct tape. Also please note in the pics that there was trash left behind such as cardboard roles that insulation was on as well as pieces of duct tape that has been previously used. 2.Regular attic insulation was moved around I'm assuming to install radiant barrier and was NEVER put back in place. 3.Duct work has been damaged causing leaks into attic causing main bedroom to not get sufficient air, air is not evenly being distributed where as before there was not an issue. 4.On first attempt to do job workers only did half of the house, we were informed when *** ******** at initial meeting that the whole square footage would be complete, when the second worker came out to do job he did have to bring out MORE rolls of insulation barrier to finish job since the previous worker did not complete job. 5.On initial installation, worker stepped on ceiling sheet rock causing a hole in the ceiling that had to be repaired. 6.The slings that were supporting the duct for the A/C were cut, and left without support. Please note pictures where you can see that it was never put back and the slings were cut. 7.We were charged for the entire sq ft of the house and work does not cover the entire sq ft of the house. Please note there are pictures where there are edges that were not complete possibly due to the workers not being able to get to.There is an area in the back house that we have looked at in the attic and there is no barrier installed. I understand that there are some areas that may be difficult to get to,but I should NOT be charged for this. That entire area is a large portion of my house that was included in the square footage.Mr. ******** contacted the ****** ****** ********* district to get sq ft of house. Mr. ******** also informed us that there would be no problem covering the full sq footage of the house. 8. When I initially received a call to set up appointment I was told that the "Representative" would come out and give information of the product, shoot some type of laser gun into the attic to measure heat, representative did not ever do any of this nor look into the attic. 9. I have made numerous contacts with *** ******** about these complaints. He refuses to send a supervisor to assess job and address my complaints. To me it seems like this company just got their contract signed to receive their money and does not care to stand by their word of the job they promised.

Desired Settlement: Due to the numerous complaints and attempts to have situation resolved and no response, we would like for the company to come pick up their product.

Business Response: We have an appointment set for Friday, June 7th at customers home to address their concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/15/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues