BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Austin Siding and Remodeling include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Siding and Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Siding and Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 25, 2011 Business started: 03/29/1993 Business started locally: 03/29/1993 Business incorporated: 04/23/2011 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E 41st St, Austin TX 78751
Phone Number: (800) 845-6584
info@tsbpe.state.tx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Palmer, Manager Ms. Mary Murphy, Manager Mr. Robert Walker, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Palmer, Manager
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Windows - Installation & Service Doors Fence Contractors Contractor - Water Conditioning Energy Conservation Products & Services Lawn Maintenance Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Carports Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Electricians Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Home Builders Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Plumbers Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Green Shield First Safety First Walk in Tubs USA's Green Shield, LLC
Industry Tips
Advice on choosing a lawn care company Foundation repair tips Selecting a plumber or plumbing contractor Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    -----

    Volente, TX 78641

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 681-2709(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: In summer 2011 ****************** ****** *** ********** ****** ******* and my family signed a contract for a high energy efficient rebuild which included City of Austin rebates and solar paneling. ***** ****** assured me that he understood Austin's rebate program for energy and has not provided anything to date to ensure that the rebates promised will be honored. Upon investigation Mr. ****** stated that he misquoted the “rebates” I would obtain from the federal government stating it was actually a tax credit and he needed to stop saying that when he is explaining the government energy program. Mr. ****** does not understand the COA rebate program and he is misrepresenting the US Government program regarding tax credits. This company to date has not provided my family who will be the energy contractor as he is not a listed contractor for this program with the City of Austin. Mr. ****** took my deposit for $8000 in August of 2011 and further insisted I provide two separate payments of $20,000 and $35,000 to him so he could custom order prefab for our addition. This was never done and later Mr. ****** stated they decided to go with “stick construction”. I was never informed of this. Mr. ****** then hired a subcontractor and did not properly follow through with the subcontractor. In addition he took $3556 in cash for our appliances and to date has not refunded the money or delivered the appliances. Details: Before the Christmas holiday Mr. ****** stated that the appliances, which were never included in the original contract of $80,000, needed to be procured. I then gave him $3556 in cash with a stated receipt for high end stainless steel appliances (Fridge, Dish Washer, Stove, Microwave, Oven Hood) with assurances they would be delivered on time for the builders to demo the kitchen for remodel, which would happen over the Christmas holiday while we were out of town. Over the Christmas holiday of 2012 he assured my family that our bathroom, which was totally unusable at that point, would be fixed so it was usable upon our return. In addition he stated the roof would be replaced, the kitchen demo’d , the slab would be poured and most of the framing would be completed. Upon return from the holiday nothing had been completed and Mr. ****** stated he had no idea that nothing had been done. At this time Mr. ****** stated that the subcontractor had been in the hospital and he would follow up with him to get a timeline. Upon further investigation it appeared we were having trouble with the subcontractors who were not being paid for the work they were doing. At that point I got a call from the subcontractor stating that the checks had not cleared the bank as expected and a lean was going to be placed on my property. I would like to add that Mr. ****** had at that time $66,556 of our money, so there should have been no money issues on any level. After some negotiation the money was directly transferred into the subcontractor’s account. At this point the subcontractor was refusing to do any more work unless a certified check or cash deposit was made prior to work being done. At this point Mr. ****** and we worked out that I would be paying the subcontractors directly. Mr. ******, after following up numerous times, transferred $35,000 in March of 2013. ($20,000 had already been paid out to the subcontractors for work that still had not been completed). Mr. ****** still had $8,000 in cash and the appliance money ($3556). Mr. ****** assured me that he would have the appliances in time for the rebuild. February of 2013 we still had no slab poured and the permits were incomplete. Mr. ****** had not followed up appropriately and the City of Austin was refusing to allow the slab to be poured until a survey and numerous other things were done. Mr. ****** had never done the survey as requested and the subcontractor agreed to do this for me in return for guaranteed payment. When I investigate further I found that Mr. ****** had hand written the measurements on a piece of notebook paper for the architect to do the blueprints off with assurances that the official survey had been completed. It was then that I asked the subcontractors to handle the COA problems with assurances that I would pay the extra costs, which to date figure close to $5,000. At this point the subcontractors were refusing to work with Mr. ****** due to the disorganization of the project and insufficient funds. Mr. ****** agreed that I could assist in managing the project going forward. At this point I managed the project but still wanted to work out the problems with Mr. ******. Mr. ****** at one point told me that he was no longer going to help and I could just have the sub-contractor handle everything from here. During March and April of 2013 I spend numerous hours with the subcontractor and the COA to rectify the permit process and we finally poured the foundation two weeks ago. The subcontractor has agreed to take over as contractor with the understanding that the budget might change (has already changed). I have asked for three extensions from the bank and paid thousands of dollars in extra expenses due to the delay of this project including a POD rental, extra construction dumpster rental, two separate plumbing incidents totaling over $800, thousands of dollars in extra fees to the COA and survey companies and untold amount of personal hardship for me and my family. My family and I have been living in four rooms with a non- functioning bathroom since Christmas of 2012. Mr. ****** was well aware of this and stated he understood and was on top of it. I will not go into the numerous promises made by Mr. ******. This project has turned into a total failure and Mr. ****** and I have agreed to part company, but he still has not delivered our appliances or refunded the unspent money to date. Mr. ****** has assured me on numerous occasions that this would be taken care of. Mr. ****** and I spoke on numerous occasions about how the project has gone over budget due to mismanagement and Mr. ****** assured me that he would cover any expenses that went over the $80,000 contracted amount. He assured me that I would get all the things that we contracted for but I have lost confidence that this will happen and now would like the rest of the unspent money ($8,000 and $3556 for the appliances) totaling $11,5556 immediately. In return I will release him from the contract and not hold him to the promise of covering anything that is over the $80,000 contracted amount. I have been assured by several contractors that this project will not come in under budged, or even on budget. This project has destroyed my family and my health. Mr. ****** is not an A+ BBB company. I hired him because of his A+ rating. This is very disappointing.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the unspent money given Mr. ****** totalling $11,556 immediately. In return I will release him from the contract and not hold him to expenses over the $80,000 contracted amount that he promised to cover.

2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service