Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Best Home Improvements Inc

Phone: (210) 341-5560 Fax: (210) 341-4768 View Additional Phone Numbers 1355 Basse Rd, San Antonio, TX 78212


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Best Home Improvements Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Best Home Improvements Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Best Home Improvements Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1990 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 08/01/1997 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aaron D Acosta, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron D Acosta, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Contractors - General Home Improvements Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors

Industry Tips
Before You Build Your Home Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the transition and quality of work has been unprofessional. i paid $6200 for a new roof not only on my house but my shed as well, but received less than quality work. The roof looks like patched up work. The shingles shift when they are step on, I'm in the process of putting on panels but am unable of my roof is not stable. My shed has nail protruding from the roof, and to make matters worse, silicone was applied over them. How is that suppose to help? Is that going to prevent rust or worse water leaks? I've made several calls and they made several visits, but without good results. I'm upset with there handling of this matter and their unprofessionalism towards me as their customer.

Desired Settlement: I believe the company should come and fix my roof and do what was promise for the price i paid. i really think the work should of been done right the first time and if done so correctly, all of this should of and would be avoided.

Business Response: This letter is a respond to a complaint id #********- 07/26/2016
The complaint is from ********* ******* on **** ***** ***** ******** ** *****
We did the work according to manufactory method to nail roof on existing deck.
All roofs are done on determination of the second story wall has metal flashing underneath of the siding or brick. The insurance company didn't cover to replace the flashing and the standard method is to run unneath the flashing then nail the shingles on top of the flashing and seal nail head with silicone and that is exactly the way we performed this job. At the customers request she didn't want to see nails on top of the flashing ,we installed shingles on top of the flashing with plastic roof cement . It's pretty much standard to use silicone to cover nail head . This job was done according to customer's request.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I do not agree with this response.  I made a contract with this company to replace my to roof and all I want is what was promised to me.  First of all, the mere mention of a “insurance company didn’t cover to replace”, just further leads to believe that this is some standard response given to anyone who has a complaint to this said company.  I did not use my insurance company to pay for my roof. It was pay out of pocket. I to make matters worse I never received a receipt when I paid the last $3700.  And as far as the roof I didn’t agree to have nails showing and the felt paper, I paid for that too and I’m feel that wasn’t even use too. I even call three separate roofing companies and come to take a look at my house to give me their opinion on my roof. Every single one of them agreed that roof was done poorly.  I have their names and number. And as far as the fact that I’m not allowed to mention “personally identifiable information” is the only reason I’m not listing their names here. But I have them and I’m willing to give you said name.



Regards,

********* *******

Business Response: IF THIS CUSTOMER CHOOSES TO HIRE ANOTHER CONTRACTOR TO REVIEW THE WORK THAT WAS DONE ,AMERICAN BEST WOULD LIKE THE OPPORTUNITY TO MEET WITH HER CONTRACTOR TO SEE THE ERRORS SHE CLAIMS WERE DONE .WE NEED A TIME AND DATE .WE ARE WILLING TO MAKE EVERY EFFORT TO RESOLVE THIS MATTER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and I'm to ready move forward with this next step.  I'm fully prepared to hire a third party contractor to review together and come to understanding and resolve this matter. I just need to know who do I need to contact with time and date. I do call the company itself or do I still go through BBB Company. I do this help in this resolve. I also need to know if a representative from BBB will also be at this appointment because I don't need any trouble or misunderstanding at this meeting. I just want to make this clear, this is NOT me accepting this issue resolve. This is just the next step moving forward so we can reach a resolution. BBB only has two options to continue. Accept or Reject.  So I simply choose accept.  Once again please let me know who do I need to speak with the time and date and the name of the contractor so when can set our new appointment. Thanks


Regards,

Henrietta Johnson

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hi i am and elderly woman who was approved for my house to get remodled due to my disablity from my heart.. so american best home improvement was selected to rebuild my home... due to them remodling we had a contract stating that after 1 year of the settlement of the foundation there would be a walk thru to adjust all tears and cracks of the floors and walls etc to fix anything ...after that year noone seemed to care and never came out to try and make the last walk thru,so due to that the plumbing has been gone bad and hving so many issues with sewer back up and so i called the city development services and found out that american best home improvement got permits for everything but plumbing,hve tried to contact american best home improvement and the gentleman Mr. Aaron Acosta and he wants to send the same plumber out but charge me fees...i am on a fixed income of social secruity so i am unable to pay plus i dnt want the same plumber that didnt hve a permit to begin with messing with the plumbing again...i am very sad and disgusted cause i hve to live in all this mess until i get this all fixed...cant shower in peace and hve to use a bucket for potty and thats horrible...please help me and others who are i am sure in the same boat now...not fair to us...

Desired Settlement: i want to get a brand new licensed plumber come out and redo this plumbing with a permit and let this company american best home improvement know that we can an will not be taken advantage of us disabled and elderly people...i am sure more hve been affected by this company....

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** **** i am so sorry but what ** ****** and Better Home Improvementwould not be having any of these issues if he had done the job correctly as stated in the contract...NHS did add in the contract bout the whple plumbing had to be done and NHS did pay to have BEtter HOMe Improvemnt to repair...and no its not NHS job to have gotten the permit for the plumbing to get done it was the contractor Better Home Improvement job...so in not doing that has led to the plumbing being horrible...yes i feel Better Home Improvement got paid to do the job and did not do it correctly and should be held responsible for what needs to be repaired again...and as for all the other repairs needing to be done to the house,Better Home Improvement and *** ****** has not attempted to try and contact me for any more repairs...yes the contract was for a year but i did attempt to contact NHS and Better Home Improvement for the final walk thru of the property but never happened due to noone answering or calling back...so no i feel Better Hme Improvement should be held responsible for what should hve been done the first time sorry...so nothing is being done by Better Home Improvement and *************

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted this company to do the work, fence, shower, ducts, improvement to the shed. I have never seen how bad the work is. They left nails, lumber, lunches and they have not even taken the post which they were suppose to. I trip over it and my lawn mower got the best of it. They had a medal post sticking over six inches and the lawm mower may have shaft and blade issues. Also, the chain saw I was using broken with some medal wire and other medal items that were close to the bushes I was cutting

Desired Settlement: That they finish the fence and ducts work and cancel the contract.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

09/14/2015

This letter is in reference to the complain of Mr. ****** ******** and enclosed is a
letter he signed confirming that everything he had issues with was taken care of.
The job was complete to his satisfaction and was also paid for any and all
damages that might of happen to any of his lawn tools the enclosed letter also
confirms that.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: On the shed there other type of material rather then wood was put on. I check with Tuff Shed and they advised me they only use plywood, not the material used in the shed. This material will rott soon and it will be back to getting it fixed again. I did not notice that till after I had spoken to Mr. *******. The shed looks good but the material use to repair it was not the same as the shed had. Request that material used in the shed be replace with the same material it was made with. Other then that there is one window to the back bathroom which I belive the glass was reverse. You cannot look outside but you can look from the outside it. Those two are the only issues left and if repaired everything else will be fine.

Regards,

******* ********

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

This is an answer to the complain by Mr. ***** ***** on Slate Valley , First and foremost the complaint has nothing to do with the contract that American Best had with Mr. ***** in 2013.We have a reciept that was signed where the last amount owed was paid in full . The complaint he has is with a subcontractor that Mr. ***** hired on the side without the knowledge of American Best no contract was ever done for the extra work because it did not have anything to do with American Best.  We have no knowledge of what traspired between Mr. ***** and the subcontractor, we were not aware of any extra work being done at any time or what was suppose to be done . We are not liable for any work done without a contract to any customer when they decide to hire someone on their own .This is a risk the consumer takes when hiring someone on their own time and where no contract exists.  American Best did speak to the subcontractor and the subcontracor stated that he was in fact hired by Mr.***** to do some extra work on his own time, The subcontractor also stated that the work he did for Mr. ***** has nothing to do with American Best . If the BBB wants the phone number to contact the subcontractor we are willing to provide that information anytime it is requested.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Best Home Improvements Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)